Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Knowledge Base Entries
For your knowledge base assignments, especially famous figures and instructional theories, some options are:
- Google Scholar: look for heavily cited authors, either current or historical (books will show up in Google Scholar results in particular for an historical angle).
- Library Book Catalog: current distance ed directors, you can try somewhat the same thing. Try searching for books on distance education via the library and see who is currently writing about distance education and if they are at a university with a large distance ed program
- Also, for current leaders, look at major conferences in a particular field and see who is listed as a keynote speaker.
Using Google Scholar?
Sync your Google account with USU. This will get you past paywalls for articles USU subscribes to by having you login with your A# and password.
A large, online digital library focused on a broad range of educational topics in scholarly articles, news, magazines and trade journals.
PsycINFO via EBSCOhost
One of the top resources for research in psychology and the behavioral and social sciences. Includes information on topics ranging from education to pharmacology.
Digest of Education Statistics
A compilation of statistical information covering the field of U.S. education from pre-K through graduate school. Contains data on a variety of topics, including the number of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates, in addition to educational attainment, finances, and federal funds for education, libraries, and international comparisons
ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library
Full-text access to complete ACM journal collection. Full-text is not yet available for every proceedings article published before 1991.
Multidisciplinary scholarly search engine. Covers peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities, and other scholarly organizations. Includes links to USU resources when on campus.
Find print and electronic books available from USU Libraries, as well as videos and other materials.
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary services to request a copy from another library.