Presidential Records and Materials: Presidents from 1865 to 1929

The Library of Congress houses a collection of Johnson's papers from primarily his presidency. Bulk date range: 1864-1869. Collection not digitized.

The Ulysses S. Grant Presidential Library, housed at Mississippi State University Libraries hosts "the largest and most comprehensively published collection of Ulysses S. Grant correspondence." Date range: 1822-1885. Digital materials available. Commercial reprints widely available.

The Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Library and Museum, an independent non-profit that predates the modern presidential library system, houses collections related to Hayes's pre-presidential career, presidency, and post-presidency. Bulk dates: 1830s-1893. Digital materials available.

The Library of Congress houses a collection of Garfield's papers from primarily his pre-presidential career and presidency. Bulk date range: 1848-1881. Collection not digitized.

Many of Arthur's papers were destroyed just prior to his death. The Library of Congress houses a limited collection of Arthur's papers from his pre-presidency, presidency, and post-presidency. Date range: 1881-1926. Collection not digitized. This links to a published Index of the materials.

The Library of Congress houses a collection of Cleveland's papers from primarily his pre-presidential career and presidency. Bulk date range: 1885-1908. Collection not digitized. Cleveland served two non-consecutive terms as president.

The Library of Congress houses a collection of Harrison's papers from primarily his pre-presidential career, presidency, and post-presidency. Bulk date range: 1853-1901. Collection not digitized.

The Library of Congress houses a collection of Cleveland's papers from primarily his pre-presidential career and presidency. Bulk date range: 1885-1908. Collection not digitized. Cleveland served two non-consecutive terms as president.

The Library of Congress houses a collection of McKinley's papers from primarily his pre-presidential career and presidency. Bulk date range: 1897-1901. Collection not digitized.

The Theodore Roosevelt Center, hosted by Dickinson State University, aims to digitize all Roosevelt materials held by a variety of institutions. Not all materials have been digitized.

The Library of Congress houses a collection of Taft's papers from primarily his pre-presidential career, presidency, and post-presidency, including his service as Chief Justice of the Supreme Court. Bulk date range: 1880-1930. Collection not digitized.

The Library of Congress houses a collection of Wilson's papers from his pre-presidential career and presidency. Bulk date range: 1879-1924. Collection not digitized.

The Ohio Historical Center houses a collection of Harding's papers from primarily his pre-presidential career and presidency. Date range: 1920-1966. Collection not digitized.

The Library of Congress houses a collection of Johnson's papers from primarily his presidency. Bulk date range: 1915-1932. Collection not digitized.