Presidential Records and Materials: Presidents from 1789 to 1865

The Library of Congress holds the "largest collection of original Washington papers in the World." The collection spans Washington's pre-presidential career, presidency, and post-presidency. Bulk date range: 1745-1799. Digitized materials available.

The Massachusetts Historical Society holds the papers of the Adams family. The collection spans Adam's pre-presidential career. Bulk date range: 1753-1804 with gaps. Digitized materials available.

The Library of Congress holds the "largest collection of original Jefferson papers in the world." The collection spans Jefferson's pre-presidential career, presidency, and post-presidency. Bulk date range: early 1760s-1826. Digitized materials available.

The Library of Congress houses a collection of Madison's papers. The collection spans Madison's pre-presidential career, presidency, and post-presidency. Bulk date range: 1723-1859. Digitized materials available.

The Library of Congress houses a collection of Monroe's papers. The collection spans Monroe's pre-presidential career and presidency. Bulk date range: 1758-1839. Digitized materials available.

The Massachusetts Historical Society holds the papers of the Adams family. The collection spans Adam's pre-presidential career. Bulk date range: 1779-1848 with gaps. Digitized materials available.

The Library of Congress houses a collection of Jackson's papers. The collection spans Jackson's pre-presidential career, presidency, and post-presidency. Bulk date range: 1785-1845. Digitized materials available.

The Library of Congress houses a collection of Van Buren's papers. The collection spans Van Buren's pre-presidential career, presidency, and post-presidency. Bulk date range: 1820s-1851. Digitized materials available.

The Library of Congress houses a collection of Harrison's papers. The collection spans Harrison's pre-presidential career and presidency. Bulk date range: 1812-1841. Digitized materials available.

The Library of Congress houses a collection of Tyler's papers, though many were destroyed by fire in 1865. The collection spans Tyler's pre-presidential career, presidency, and post-presidency. Bulk date range: 1757-1918. Many materials are from the Tyler family. Digitized materials available

The Library of Congress houses a collection of Polk's papers. The collection spans Polk's pre-presidential career, presidency, and post-presidency. Bulk date range: 1830-1849. Digitized materials available.

Many of Taylor's papers were "destroyed or disbursed during the American Civil War." The Library of Congress houses a limited collection of Taylor's papers from his military career, presidency, and post-presidency. Bulk date range: 1840-1861. Digitized materials available.

Millard Fillmore's papers have been collected by a variety of archives. The Library of Congress has a listing of resources related to Fillmore's life and presidency.

The Library of Congress houses a collection of Pierce's papers. The collection spans Pierce's pre-presidential career, presidency, and post-presidency. Bulk date range: 1820-1869. Digitized materials available.

James Buchanan's papers have been collected by a variety of archives. The Historical Society of Pennsylvania has a collection and a list of other institutions' collections related to Buchanan's life and presidency.

The state of Illinois maintains the Papers of Abraham Lincoln project and hosts links to other Lincoln collections as well. Not all materials have been digitized.