Journal Articles
Tip:
Looking for examples of program evaluations?
Consider including the phrase "program evaluation" (with the quotes) as part of your keywords.
You can combine this keyword with others using Boolean operators.
For example, if you're looking for articles about effective programs for HIV/AIDS prevention, a comprehensive keyword search might look like this:
"program evaluation" AND (HIV OR "human immunodeficiency virus" OR AIDS) AND prevention
For more help, see this guide to Boolean logic and other search strategies.
Multidisciplinary databases
The following databases include scholarship from a number of disciplines. Scopus collects peer-reviewed scholarly articles with a number of filters to refine your search. If you prefer Google Scholar, be mindful that you cannot limit your results by type of source. To check for yourself whether or not an article comes from a peer-reviewed journal, consult our library research guide about peer review.
- Scopus
This link opens in a new window
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles. Full text is not included, but Article Linker provides access to full-text articles when available. - Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary scholarly search engine. Covers peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities, and other scholarly organizations. Includes links to USU resources when on campus.
Tip:
Using Google Scholar?
Sync your Google account with USU. This will get you past paywalls for articles USU subscribes to by having you login with your A# and password.
Subject-specific databases
These databases are curated by subject. For example, if you're researching mental health-related programs, PsycINFO might be a good place to search. If your research topic has to do with education, ERIC would be a great place to go. And if you're looking for research about public health interventions, try PubMed. For more database recommendations, see our list of Social Work databases.
- PsycINFO via EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
One of the top resources for research in psychology and the behavioral and social sciences. Includes information on topics ranging from education to pharmacology. - ERIC via EBSCO Host
- This link opens in a new window
A large, online digital library of education research and information, inlcuding scholarly journals and education related documents, including reports, policy papers, dissertations, conference papers and others. Some full text is available. Provided with an EBSCO interface. - PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
A free resource from the US National Library of Medicine and a key resource for medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Tip:
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary services to request a copy from another library.
Help for Statewide Campus/Online Students
As a USU Statewide or Online student, you can access all of the library's databases, articles, and e-books from home or anywhere with Internet. To access library resources from the USU Libraries website, a research guide (like this!), or your Canvas course, you will be prompted to enter your A number and password. For more information on how to order physical books, get research help, and other time-saving tips, visit the Library Services for Statewide and Online Users website.
Library Help
