Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where To Search?
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Search for the name of a journal in your field, select the correct title from the results page, then select "Abstract/Indexing" from the drop-down menus beneath Basic Description. Look for major databases where it is indexed.
For example, if major journals for my identified topic were "Rehabilitation Counseling" and "Journal of Rehabilitation Research and Development" the major databases I would search would be: MedLINE and Scopus because they index these journals.
How Many Databases is Enough?
Check with your professor but typically 3 major databases is sufficient in conjunction with searching conference proceedings, clinical trials and hand-searching when necessary for your topic.
Finding Scholarly Articles
A key resource for journal articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and the preclinical sciences. You can also access Medline articles free in the Pubmed database.
PsycINFO via EBSCOhost
One of the top resources for research in psychology and the behavioral and social sciences. Includes information on topics ranging from education to pharmacology.
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles. Full text is not included, but Article Linker provides access to full-text articles when available.
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary services to request a copy from another library.
A large, online digital library focused on a broad range of educational topics in scholarly articles, news, magazines and trade journals.
ERIC via EbscoHost
This database provides access to ERIC's collection, in a friendly interface many of you will be familiar with.
Multidisciplinary scholarly search engine. Covers peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities, and other scholarly organizations. Includes links to USU resources when on campus.
Using Google Scholar?
Sync your Google account with USU. This will get you past paywalls for articles USU subscribes to by having you login with your A# and password.