LibGuides: WATS: Research in Watershed Sciences: Government Information

Government Resources - State

State Government: Visit the government website for each state to learn how policies and laws differ between states.
Utah Department of Environmental Quality: includes excellent information including the Utah Division of Drinking Water which has information on fluoridation and laws regarding drinking water. The Utah DEQ also includes the Division of Water Quality which includes information ranging from water quality assessment to fish and waterfowl consumption advisories.
Utah Department of Natural Resources: includes the Division of Water Rights which appropriates and distributes the state's water resources.
Division of Water Resources which deals with water conservation, education and more.

U.S. Geological Survey: contains data on water levels, conditions and quality.
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers: Navigation Information Connection: The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers is in charge of waterway improvements in the United States. Here you can obtain information on bridges, dams, policies and more.
U.S. Department of the Interior: WaterSMART: The U.S. Department of the Interior has a large repository of data (typically called a clearinghouse) that has information on water resources planing and management.
U.S. Department of the State: Water Issues: The U.S. Department of the State contains vast amounts of information on water as a foreign policy priority. Includes water policies and water resources.
U.S. EPA: Watershed Information: The Environmental Protection Agency maintains an enormous amount of information about watersheds and water quality. This site is easy to use and intuitive.
U.S. EPA: STORET / WQX: The Environmental Protection Agency hosts two databases, STORET and WQX (Water Quality Exchange), which house data on water quality. WQX is used to upload data on water quality and STORET is used as a "home" for that data.