Find Articles
The Library provides access to a few hundred research databases, which are specialized search engines used for locating citations to articles and other research material related to specific topics. Keep in mind that as you do scholarly research, you should look for peer-reviewed resources and think very carefully about how to evaluate your sources. For research in history, I recommend starting with the following options, depending on your focus. (Contact me directly for other specialized tools.)
- America: History and Life
This link opens in a new window
Citations to the literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the early 20th century. - Historical AbstractsWorld history and culture citation-and-abstract database.
- International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)IMB Indexes books, articles, book chapters, and other publications on the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500 (USU's subscription is provided through the Tanner Endowment Fund).
- JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary journal collection, including the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. - L'Anne PhilologiqueThis database, published by the Socit Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, is a specialized bibliographic collection of scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. The online database includes all volumes of the annual index, beginning with Volume I published in 1928.
Tip:
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary loan to request a copy from another library.
Find Books (scholarly monographs, edited volumes, etc.)
- Library Catalog
- This link opens in a new window
Find print and electronic books available from USU Libraries, as well as videos and other materials.
- WorldCat DiscoveryIdentify resources at your library and in the collections of the world's libraries.
Tip:
Need a book we don't own?
Use interlibrary loan to request books, articles, and more from other libraries.
Do you need tips on how to use WorldCat? Watch the video below.
Find Background Information
When you are looking for background information, it is often useful to use a specialized encyclopedia or other reference tool. There are literally thousands of these types of works that can help you grab a quick fact or get a scholarly overview of a topic. Try some of the sources below or contact me directly if you would like help identifying a useful background source.
- Oxford Reference OnlineSearch hundreds of e-books at once for introductory information on research topics. Oxford Reference also offers detailed searchable timelines.
- Cambridge HistoriesExtensive essays and annotated bibliographies arranged topically from the renowned print series published since the 1960s.
- eBooks (Gale)Search hundreds of e-books at once for introductory information on research topics.
Subject Guide
Need Quick Help?
Chat with a Librarian:
