Databases for Journal Articles & Other publications
- CCOHS: Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety* USU only has access to MSDS, CHEMINFO, RTECS, HSELINE, and OSHLINE
* Several databases that link to MSDS, toxicity information, and citations to articles. - PubMed (Medline)* From the National Library of Medicine, the premier index to journals in clinical medicine.
* Note the "Quick start guide" and "PubMed Tutorials" links for help using the database.
* See the ArticleLinker button to help find full text (this will display only if you connect to PubMed from the URL above to signify that you're with USU). - SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)* Premier database for chemistry related journal articles, conference papers, patents, and other publications.
* Covers publications from 1907 - present.
* Requires an account to log in; click HERE to set up your account.
- ScopusDatabase of peer-reviewed journal articles. Full text is not included, but Article Linker provides access to full-text articles when available.
- Business Source PremierA large collection of business information, including articles from scholarly, business and trade publications, SWOT analyses, and book chapters.
- HazMapHaz-Map® is an occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the adverse effects of workplace exposures to chemical and biological agents. The main links in Haz-Map are between chemicals and occupational diseases. These links have been established using current scientific evidence.
Reading the Scientific Literature
Reading a scientific paper isn't like reading a book. Hint: Don't try to read it straight through from beginning to end!
Here are some tips to help you become skilled:
How to Read a Scientific Paper - Infographic from Elsevier
How to Read a Scientific Article by Mary Purugganan, Ph.D. and Jan Hewitt, Ph.D., Cain Project in Engineering and Professional Communication at Rice University
How to Read a Scientific Paper - Minimally modified from John W. Little and Roy Parker at the University of Arizona (which is no longer retrievable). This version is from a Biology course from by taught by Professor Devoto Fall 2011 at Wesleyan University.
How to read and understand a scientific paper: a guide for non-scientists
Peer Review in Three Minutes
Subject Guide
Class Examples
This file contains the examples and sites we visited in class.
- PUBH 5500 Spring 2018Class outline and links
Off Campus Access
You can access library article collections and databases, e-journals and most electronic books by entering your A number and password when prompted.
- Off-Campus AccessRead more about accessing library resources from home, and contact us from that page for troubleshooting help.
