Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Established by the American Geosciences Institute (AGI) in 1966, GeoRef is the most comprehensive database of geoscience literature. The database indexes journal articles, maps, and other types of literature, including all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Master's theses and dissertations from institutions in the U.S. and Canada are indexed. Date coverage for North American sources reaches back to 1669; worldwide coverage begins with 1933.
Full-text of forty of the leading journals in earth sciences. Made available by a nonprofit collaborative effort by 7 geoscience organizations. The journals come from 27 publishers, and the site provides full text access to the current issues and archives of these titles.
A citation and abstracting database covering more than 19,000 journals and including several trade publications, book series, and conference proceedings. Tracks citation activity as well.
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary services to request a copy from another library.
Google Scholar & More
Multidisciplinary scholarly search engine. Covers peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities, and other scholarly organizations. Includes links to USU resources when on campus.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (Digital Dissertation Abstracts)
Electronic version of Dissertation Abstracts. Includes over 1 million full-text dissertations and 3 million searchable citations.
Using Google Scholar?
Sync your Google account with USU. This will get you past paywalls for articles USU subscribes to by having you login with your A# and password.
How Do I...?
Develop Search Strategies?
Conduct a Lit Review?