Fact Checking Websites
- FactCheck.org"FactCheck.org is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. The APPC was established by publisher and philanthropist Walter Annenberg to create a community of scholars within the University of Pennsylvania that would address public policy issues at the local, state and federal levels."
Tip:
Looking for a Missing Website?
Use the Internet Archive Wayback Machine. You can use the Wayback Machine to see previous versions of a website. It is maintained by the Internet Archive, a digital archive of webpages, books, audio, video, images, etc. Internet Archive has been archiving websites for over 20 years in an effort to preserve the digital information of the internet. Simply copy and paste the old URL into the Wayback Machine and select the date you want to view
- PolitiFact"PolitiFact started in 2007 as an election-year project of the Tampa Bay Times (then named the St. Petersburg Times), Florida’s largest daily newspaper.... PolitiFact focuses on looking at specific statements made by politicians and rating them for accuracy."
- PunditFact"PunditFact is a project of the Tampa Bay Times and the Poynter Institute, dedicated to checking the accuracy of claims by pundits, columnists, bloggers, political analysts, the hosts and guests of talk shows, and other members of the media.
We define a pundit as someone who offers analysis or opinions on the news, particularly politics and public policy. One can engage in punditry by writing, blogging or appearing on radio or TV. A pundit is not an elected official, not a declared candidate nor anyone in an official capacity with a political party, campaign or government." - Snopes"Snopes got its start in 1994, investigating urban legends, hoaxes, and folklore.... it’s the oldest and largest fact-checking site online, widely regarded by journalists, folklorists, and readers as an invaluable research companion. Snopes.com is an independent publication owned by Snopes Media Group."
- Verification JunkieWeb 2.0 tools to help fact check current news and user-generated content.
Find Articles
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
This link opens in a new window
A key resource for scholarly research in communication studies and mass media.
Tip:
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary loan to request a copy from another library.
- ProQuest Congressional
- This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database of U.S. Legislative information contains the full-text of bills (1989 to date), laws (1988 to date), the Federal Register (1980 to date), the Code of Federal Regulations, the National Journal (1980 to date), information on members of congress, committees, and congressional publications. - ProQuest Newsstand (Global Newsstream)
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to US and international news sources. Includes coverage of The New York Times and The Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, 1851 - 2018New York Times in full text and full image from 1851 to 3 years ago. For current New York Times coverage, please use ProQuest U.S. Newsstream.
- CQ Researcher and CQ Global Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of in-depth and fact-checked reports on pressing domestic and international issues. Covers 1923-present.
Find Books & Background Info
- Library Catalog
- This link opens in a new window
Find print and electronic books available from USU Libraries, as well as videos and other materials.
- Encyclopedias & DictionariesGather background information from various general and specialized reference books, including dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Tip:
Need a book we don't own?
Use interlibrary loan to request books, articles, and more from other libraries.
Need Help?
Library Help
Contact:
Subjects: Accounting, Agriculture, Animal, Dairy & Veterinary Sciences, Anthropology, Applied Economics, Applied Sciences, Technology, & Education, Arts, Automotive Mechanics, Aviation & Technical Education, Biological Engineering, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Communication Studies, Communicative Disorders & Deaf Education, Computer Science, Concurrent Enrollment/High School, Cosmetology, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement, Data Management, Data Sets, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias, Digital Humanities, Economics & Finance, Education, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Engineering, Engineering Education, English 1010/2010, Environment & Ecology, Geography, Geosciences, Human Development & Family Studies, Images, Instructional Technology & Learning Sciences, Interior Design, Intersectional Gender Studies & Research, Journalism & Communication, Kinesiology & Health Science, Landscape Architecture, Languages & Cultures, Library & Information Science, Management, Marketing & Strategy, Mathematics & Statistics, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, Music, Newspapers, Nursing, Nutrition, Dietetics & Food Sciences, Philosophy, Physics, Plant, Soils & Climate, Political Science & Law, Psychology, Research Tips, Social Work, Sociology and Anthropology, Special Education and Rehabilitation Counseling, Statistical Information, Technology, Design, and Technical Education, Theater Arts, Theses & Dissertations, Utah's Online Library, Veterinary Medicine, Visual Arts, Watershed Science & Fisheries, Welding, Wildlife, Range and Forestry
Access & Troubleshooting
Having problems accessing resources?
See our Online Access page for help.
