Naxos Music Library
- Naxos Music Library
This link opens in a new window
Naxos Music Library is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 143,000 CDs with more than 2,223,000 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Over 600 new CDs are added to the library every month.
Benefits of listening via Naxos include:
- Access on- or off-campus
- Listen online or with the free mobile app
- Choose from top performers and labels
- Create your own playlists or listen to your instructors'
- Read detailed liner notes
- Check out helpful extras (via the "Resources" tab) like opera libretti and synopses, a pronunciation guide, a glossary, and work analyses
This guide contains instructions for the following topics:
Note: The USU Libraries Naxos subscription has a limit of 10 simultaneous users. When you're done with your listening session, please log out of Naxos and close your browser to free a spot for someone else. If you have questions or concerns, contact the music librarian.
Streaming Video
- Alexander Street Academic Video OnlineThis database provides access to more than 64,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas. Try a keyword search, or browse the categories under "Music & Performing Arts," which include: American music, Classical music, dance, film, jazz, popular music, theater, and world music.
Want to search our other streaming resources? Use the library catalog, selecting Streaming video as the material type.
CDs and DVDs
To find CDs and DVDs in the library collection, start your search from the library catalog.
Select Music recording (CDs) and/or DVD as the material type. CDs are located on the 2nd floor near the Course Reserves Desk, and DVDs are located on the 2nd floor near the New Books Reading Lounge.
Free Online Resources
- British Library SoundsCollections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and include music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
- Collection:LiveVideo interviews and performances from the Grammy Museum.
- EuroArtsChannelYouTube channel with "high-quality music concerts, performances and documentaries within the area of classical music, ballet, dance, world music, jazz and pop entertainment" from EuroArts Music.
- EVIA Digital Archive ProjectA digital archive of ethnographic field video, including music and dance.
- FolkstreamsDocumentary films about American Roots cultures.
- The Global JukeboxAn archive of free, streaming field recordings of music, dance, and speech from around the word, recorded by hundreds of pioneering ethnographers and presented through interactive maps and visualizations.
- Kennedy Center Digital StageFree, full video of performances and more from the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts.
- Live Music ArchiveAudio recordings from the Internet Archive.
- National JukeboxStreaming historical sound recordings from Library of Congress collections.
- National Screening RoomVideos from the Library of Congress.
- PBSPerformances, documentaries, and more from PBS.
- Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra videoFree concert performances, mini-documentaries, and interviews from the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra.
- UCSB Cylinder Audio ArchiveDigital collection of more than 10,000 cylinder recordings held by the UCSB Library.
Library Help
Library Help
Contact:
Subjects: Accounting, Agriculture, Animal, Dairy & Veterinary Sciences, Anthropology, Applied Economics, Applied Sciences, Technology, & Education, Arts, Automotive Mechanics, Aviation & Technical Education, Biological Engineering, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Communication Studies, Communicative Disorders & Deaf Education, Computer Science, Concurrent Enrollment/High School, Cosmetology, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement, Data Management, Data Sets, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias, Digital Humanities, Economics & Finance, Education, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Engineering, Engineering Education, English 1010/2010, Environment & Ecology, Geography, Geosciences, Human Development & Family Studies, Images, Instructional Technology & Learning Sciences, Interior Design, Intersectional Gender Studies & Research, Journalism & Communication, Kinesiology & Health Science, Landscape Architecture, Languages & Cultures, Library & Information Science, Management, Marketing & Strategy, Mathematics & Statistics, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, Music, Newspapers, Nursing, Nutrition, Dietetics & Food Sciences, Philosophy, Physics, Plant, Soils & Climate, Political Science & Law, Psychology, Research Tips, Social Work, Sociology and Anthropology, Special Education and Rehabilitation Counseling, Statistical Information, Technology, Design, and Technical Education, Theater Arts, Theses & Dissertations, Utah's Online Library, Veterinary Medicine, Visual Arts, Watershed Science & Fisheries, Welding, Wildlife, Range and Forestry
Access & Troubleshooting
Having problems accessing resources?
See our Online Access page for help.
