Key Article Databases
- RILM Abstracts of Music LiteratureRILM (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale) Abstracts is an index of scholarly articles in music research. It also includes reviews, books, and dissertations. The scope of the database is international and covers from 1967 to the present. Use Article Linker to check to see if USU has full text, and if not, request things you find in RILM through InterLibrary Loan.
When searching RILM, you can use Subject Major Headings to search for articles in broad areas of music research. Combining a Major Topic with a keyword helps you refine your results more efficiently. Examples of Major Topics include:
- 24 Renaissance music
- 39.21 Popular music of North Africa
- 54 Performance practice in the 20th & 21st centuries
- 64 Form and genre analysis
- 97 Music and Islam
Look up the Major Topics associated with your research question on RILM's Classification System website.
Articles in RILM are also tagged with Subjects, which tell you more specifically what an article is about. You can also search by Subject to find more articles on that narrower topic. The following example shows how Major Topics and Subjects work together to classify an article:
- Oxford Music OnlineOxford Music Online allows you to search across top music reference sources, including The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. Here you'll find detailed composer biographies, historical background, analysis, works lists, and more.
- JSTOR
This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary journal collection, including the social sciences, humanities, and sciences.
Other Databases
- PsycINFO via EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
One of the top resources for research in psychology and the behavioral and social sciences. Includes information on topics ranging from education to pharmacology. - Project MuseMultidisciplinary e-journal collection for humanities and social sciences. Muse contains nearly 600 quality journal titles from 120 scholarly publishers and is operated by the Johns Hopkins University Press.
- Historical AbstractsWorld history and culture citation-and-abstract database.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (Digital Dissertation Abstracts)Electronic version of Dissertation Abstracts. Includes over 1 million full-text dissertations and 3 million searchable citations.
- IPA SourceIPA Source is the largest collection of literal translations and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions on the web, with 12,135 titles available. The goal of IPA Source is to promote the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content.
- ERIC via the US Department of EducationA large, online digital library of education research and information, including scholarly journals and education related documents, including reports, policy papers, dissertations, conference papers and others. Some full text is available. Provided with the open access interface (freely available to everyone).
Newspapers and Magazines
Newspapers
- Newspaper databasesList of newspaper databases available through the USU Libraries.
Music magazine examples
- Opera NewsNews and reviews of opera companies worldwide, productions, hi-fi equipment, performers, records, travel and information on telecasts and radio broadcasts from the Metropolitan Opera. Full text available from 1990 to the present.
- Rolling StoneFind full text coverage of Rock & Roll and national affairs, feature stories, reviews, classified ads, and popular music charts from 2009 to the present.
- The EtudeThe Etude was a monthly American music magazine "for the musician, the music student, and all music lovers" that was published from 1883 to 1957. This free repository allows you to search digitized issues of the Etude from 1901 to 1957.
How Do I...?
Access Articles?
- Finding Full-Text via Article LinkerEver find an article but for some reason you can't access the full text? If so then this guide is here to help walk you through getting access!
- Finding Specific JournalsThis guide will help you find journals by title - either in print or online.
Develop Search Strategies?
- Choosing Keywords (video)This video will walk you through how to choose and effectively use keywords to find articles in library databases.
Conduct a Lit Review?
- Finding Related SourcesThis guide will walk you through how to find sources related to your topic and the research you are doing.
For more help, check out all our Research Tips.
Library Help
Library Help
Contact:
Subjects: Accounting, Agriculture, Animal, Dairy & Veterinary Sciences, Anthropology, Applied Economics, Applied Sciences, Technology, & Education, Arts, Automotive Technology, Aviation & Technical Education, Biological Engineering, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Communication Studies, Communicative Disorders & Deaf Education, Computer Science, Concurrent Enrollment/High School, Cosmetology, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement, Data Management, Data Sets, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias, Digital Humanities, Economics & Finance, Education, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Engineering, Engineering Education, English 1010/2010, Environment & Society, Geography, Geosciences, Human Development & Family Studies, Images, Instructional Technology & Learning Sciences, Interior Design, Intersectional Gender Studies & Research, Journalism & Communication, Kinesiology & Health Science, Landscape Architecture, Library & Information Science, Management, Marketing & Strategy, Mathematics & Statistics, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, Music, Newspapers, Nursing, Nutrition, Dietetics & Food Sciences, Philosophy, Physics, Plant, Soils & Climate, Political Science & Law, Psychology, Research Tips, Social Work, Sociology and Anthropology, Special Education and Rehabilitation Counseling, Statistical Information, Technology, Design, and Technical Education, Theater Arts, Theses & Dissertations, Utah's Online Library, Veterinary Medicine, Visual Arts, Watershed Sciences, Welding, Wildland Resources, World Language and Cultures
