General
- Statista
This link opens in a new window
General quantitative data on an easy-to-use searchable platform. Covers thousands of sources and topics, with infographics that are easy to share or embed on a webpage.
- Our World in DataAn open access and open source collection of data and research in many different areas.
- Social Explorer
- This link opens in a new window
Current and historical census data and demographic information for the United States with tools to create thematic maps, interactive maps, and customized reports.
- Measure of AmericaInteractive maps, charts, and reports about well-being, opportunity, health, education, and living standards in America.
- Statistical Abstracts of the U.S.
- This link opens in a new window
Statistical reference database containing information on social, political, and economic conditions, collected by the United States Census Bureau; includes downloadable graphs and charts. - ICPSR DatabaseA data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. ICPSR hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Note: To download data files you must create a free user account while on campus or logged in via the USU VPN. Click here for account creation instructions.
U.S. Census
For a comprehensive guide to understanding, finding, and using U.S. Census data, see this Census Basics Guide.
- Data.census.govThe primary way to access Census Bureau data.
- Census DataAmerican Census data for different geographies about topics such as education, employment, health, and housing.
- State Data CentersThe Census Bureau's directory of all state data centers, which coordinate affiliate agencies within their regions to provide access to demographic data and tools.
- Statistical AtlasA free, interactive visualization of U.S. Census Bureau data at many levels.
Utah
- Utah State Data CenterThe Utah State Data Center, providing access to demographic data, studies, and reports on trends within the state.
- Utah DataOpen access to publicly available and reusable data sets on education, employment, public health and more.
- Utah Department of Health DataLinks to a number of Department of Health resources on public health and vital records information.
- Utah Department of Workforce ServicesThis state website provides access to information about Utah workers, industries, wages, and business well-being.
- Utah State Board of EducationThe Utah State Board of Education (USBE) collects and analyzes information about Utah K-12 schools, student progress, graduation rates, districts, and more.
- Utah System of Higher EducationThe Utah System of Higher Education collects data from all eight of the public institutions of higher education in the state to help in planning, management, and reporting.
Health
- CDC Data & StatisticsData, statistics, and tools from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
- Center for Disease Control WONDERAccess to a wide array of public health information from the CDC for public health research, decision making, priority setting, program evaluation, and resource allocation.
- NIMH StatisticsStatistics from the National Institute of Mental Health on prevalence, treatment, and cost of mental disorders.
- Substance Abuse & Mental Health Data from SAMHSAData from the Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration.
Children and Families
- Child Welfare Information GatewayU.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services' reports, databases, and demographics on topics such as prevention, permanency, child abuse, neglect, foster care, and adoption.
- Youth.govAccess to youth facts, funding information, and tools. Assess community assets, generate maps of local and federal resources, search for evidence-based youth programs, and more.
- ChildStats.govFind info on conditions and trends related to child and family well-being from '23 U.S. Federal agencies.
- Kids Count Data CenterData on child and family well-being in the U.S. from 2000 to the present, about the nation, states, and more.
Criminal Justice System
- Bureau of Justice StatisticsStatistics on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
- National Criminal Justice Reference ServiceInformation from the U.S. Dept. of Justice on crime, prevention, corrections, courts, law enforcement, and more.
- National Archive of Criminal Justice DataInformation on crime and justice, including data from NCVS, UCR, NIBRS, and PHDCN.
- Statistical Briefing Book: Office of Juvenile Justice and DelinquencyInformation about juvenile crime and the juvenile justice system
Education
- Digest of Education StatisticsA compilation of statistical information covering the field of U.S. education from pre-K through graduate school. Contains data on a variety of topics, including the number of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates, in addition to educational attainment, finances, and federal funds for education, libraries, and international comparisons
International
- UNdataInternational statistical databases with a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations and other international agencies.
- World Bank Open DataFree and open access to global development data.
- CIA World FactbookBasic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
- UNICEF DataData available by country and topic, including nutrition, migration, disability, education, violence, health, and more.
- Migration Data PortalTimely, comprehensive migration statistics and reliable information about migration data globally.
- World Health OrganizationAccess to national and international data, reports, emergencies, and individual country information related to health topics compiled by the WHO.
Library Help
Library Help
Contact:
Subjects: Accounting, Agriculture, Animal, Dairy & Veterinary Sciences, Anthropology, Applied Economics, Applied Sciences, Technology, & Education, Arts, Automotive Mechanics, Aviation & Technical Education, Biological Engineering, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Communication Studies, Communicative Disorders & Deaf Education, Computer Science, Concurrent Enrollment/High School, Cosmetology, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement, Data Management, Data Sets, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias, Digital Humanities, Economics & Finance, Education, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Engineering, Engineering Education, English 1010/2010, Environment & Ecology, Geography, Geosciences, Human Development & Family Studies, Images, Instructional Technology & Learning Sciences, Interior Design, Intersectional Gender Studies & Research, Journalism & Communication, Kinesiology & Health Science, Landscape Architecture, Languages & Cultures, Library & Information Science, Management, Marketing & Strategy, Mathematics & Statistics, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, Music, Newspapers, Nursing, Nutrition, Dietetics & Food Sciences, Philosophy, Physics, Plant, Soils & Climate, Political Science & Law, Psychology, Research Tips, Social Work, Sociology and Anthropology, Special Education and Rehabilitation Counseling, Statistical Information, Technology, Design, and Technical Education, Theater Arts, Theses & Dissertations, Utah's Online Library, Veterinary Medicine, Visual Arts, Watershed Science & Fisheries, Welding, Wildlife, Range and Forestry
