Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of Social Work
Co-published by the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, this online encyclopedia is widely considered the cornerstone of reference in the field. Contains four hundred subject entries and two hundred brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work.
The Social Worker's Desk Reference (2015)
E-book available to multiple users. 159 short chapters with links to further resources, collaboratively written by major figures in the field.
The Grand Challenges for Social Work
12 challenges from the American Academy of Social Work & Social Welfare (AASWSW). Supporting documents, articles, and resources for each of the challenge focus areas.
Current and historical census data and demographic information for the United States with tools to create thematic maps, interactive maps, and customized reports.
Academic journal articles
Social Services Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts current research in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
PsycINFO via EBSCOhost
One of the top resources for research in psychology and the behavioral and social sciences. Includes information on topics ranging from education to pharmacology.
Resources for clinical practice
Psychotherapy.net Video Collections
High-quality streaming videos on counseling, psychotherapy, and addiction. The majority of the videos show therapists conducting therapy and demonstrating clinical skills, along with pre and post discussions. Most of the leading figures in the field are included in this collection. Also includes downloadable instructor manuals.
A list of e-book versions of treatment planners available through the USU Libraries.
Resources for writing
Resources after graduation
Accessing research after graduation can be difficult, though it's important as a practitioner. Here are some tips:
- Install a browser extension that can help find Open Access versions of content:
- Unpaywall A product of the nonprofit Impactstory, Unpaywall is available for Chrome and Firefox. It matches the content of a journal site or database record against a repository of free, legal versions of published articles.
- Open Access Button Funded and supported by various scholarly groups, the OA Button searches a repository of free-legal versions of published articles and, if none is available, facilitates placing a request to the author to add a legal version to that repository. The OA Button is implemented as a bookmarklet, which users save to their browser’s bookmarks bar for use on a journal or database site.
- Kopernio Now owned by Clarivate Analytics, which also now owns Web of Science, Kopernio is a browser extension for Chrome and Firefox that finds a free version of a published article when clicked from a page about the article. The Kopernio button also allows users to download a citation of the article.
- Search Open Access journals directly. More info about Open Access is available on this guide. For Social Work-specific resources, check out the Open Social Work project and their list of open access journals (compiled 4/2020).
- Search Google Scholar, which includes Open Access versions of articles, sometimes, since it has very good indexing of institutional repositories. Microsoft Academic is an alternative and sometimes turns up different results.
- Contact authors directly for papers. Often a compliment for scholars, who like to know their work is being read!
- Access electronic resources on campus at the USU library or another college or university library. Most if not all academic libraries have public access terminals for this specific purpose.