It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journal articles in sociology and related social sciences, as well as abstracts for dissertations, conference proceedings, and book chapters. A resource for topics as wide-ranging as environmental sociology, criminology, social work, race and ethnic studies, women and gender studies, and social justice.
One of the top resources for research in psychology and related areas, featuring sophisticated filters (e.g., methodology, age group) for advanced searching.
Specialized article databases
These databases have a more specific focus and can help you deepen your literature search. For example, those interested in school social work might benefit from exploring the educational literature collected in ERIC or Education Source.
Includes information on a broad range of topics in psychiatry, psychology, and anthropology. Some example topics are mental processes, emotional & behavioral characteristics, and observational & experimental methods.
The UK's largest online database of information on all aspects of social work and social care. Includes legislation, government documents, practice and guidance, systematic reviews, research briefings, grey literature, reports, and journal articles.
A large, online digital library of education research and information, inlcuding scholarly journals and education related documents, including reports, policy papers, dissertations, conference papers and others. Some full text is available. Provided with an EBSCO interface.
A free resource from the US National Library of Medicine and a key resource for medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Need strategies for reading academic journal articles?
Use this reading guide from the library to help you understand the major sections of academic articles and develop strategies for quickly understanding them. Or check out the handout linked below for more details.
Did you find something you need that we don't own? You can request it from another library, whether it's an article scan or a book.
Just login to your inter-library services account with your A# and password to make your request.
According to PLOS, meta-research is "the scientific study of research practices...an emerging field that aims to characterize existing standards and ultimately improve the quality and reliability of scientific research." Learn about methods, reporting, bias, reproducibility, evaluation, and policy from this curated PLOS collection of meta-research articles.