USU's own digital Outdoor Recreation collection!
USU has a unique research tool in the Outdoor Recreation Archive that the library and the OPDD program are building together. Click here to go to the guide to using the Outdoor Recreation Archive. Check it out for your research (and it is fun and interesting to look at too)!
Key Databases
Art and Design Resources
- Art Full Text/Art Index Retrospective
This link opens in a new window
Featuring full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an international array of publications, this database is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more. This international database indexes hundreds of peer-reviewed journals and art dissertations and offers full text of articles dating back to 1995. - Hobbies & Crafts SourceThis database offers detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of a variety of hobby enthusiasts, with full text magazines and books.
- WGSNWGSN is a leader in consumer and design trends, with two modules Fashion and Insight they provide global trend insights, expertly curated data and industry expertise.
Note: You must register with a USU email account to access WGSN
- Home Improvement Reference Center"How do you make that?" Check out the Home Improvement Reference Center to find out. This database features full-text content from leading home improvement magazines, images, and videos covering all manner of home improvement/repair projects.
Outdoors, Health, and Physical Activity Databases
- Wildlife and Ecology Studies WorldwideThis database includes a global perspective on wild mammals, birds, reptiles and amphibians.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
- This link opens in a new window
This database includes the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. - Health Source: ConsumerProvides access to consumer-health magazines like American Fitness, Vegetarian Times, and Muscle & Fitness.
Technology Databases
- CRCnetBASEHandbooks give information about procedures and processes in research and fabrication, and also provide reference data such as properties of materials. Search the word "design" in this database to get a sense of the wide variety of topics it covers.
- AccessEngineering
- This link opens in a new window
This database is a reference tool that provides access to a collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. - IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)Search IEEE publications.
Tip:
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary services to request a copy from another library.
Google Scholar & More
- Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary scholarly search engine. Covers peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities, and other scholarly organizations. Includes links to USU resources when on campus. - Academic Search Ultimate
- This link opens in a new window
This is a multidisciplinary collection of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and other sources. - MasterFILE CompleteMultidisciplinary article database focusing on non-scholarly content.
Tip:
Using Google Scholar?
Sync your Google account with USU. This will get you past paywalls for articles USU subscribes to by having you login with your A# and password.
How Do I...?
Access Articles?
Develop Search Strategies?
Conduct a Lit Review?
Your Librarian
Access & Troubleshooting
A Few Select E-Books for OPDD
Materials and Technology for Sportswear and Performance Apparel
Edited BySteven George Hayes, Praburaj Venkatraman
https://doi-org.dist.lib.usu.edu/10.1201/b19359
Textile and Clothing Design Technology
Edited ByTom Cassidy, Parikshit Goswami
