Accessing The New York Times, Salt Lake Tribune, and Washington Post
- AP Stylebook OnlineThis stylebook provides fundamental guidelines for spelling, language, punctuation, usage and journalistic style and is the definitive resource for journalists. At more than 600 pages, the AP Stylebook is widely used as a writing and editing reference in newsrooms, classrooms and corporate offices worldwide.
- The New York Times via ProQuest Global NewsstreamNew York Times in full text and full image.
- Salt Lake Tribune ArchiveFull text of the Salt Lake Tribune. To search for articles, click on the tab marked "Search Within Publication."
- Washington PostFull text of the Washington Post.
For instructions on how to navigate to various digital newspapers, please see below using NYT as an example.
1. Starting at the Library’s main page, select Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers under the Find section.
2. In the first search bar type “New York Times" and select Search.
3. You will then see a page that lists all the different databases where you can access The New York Times. Select the first result titled Gale Academic OneFile.
4. On the next page, you can access any issue dating from 1985 to the present. Just click on a date on the left side of the screen.
5. Once you have selected an issue, the next screen gives you full-text access to all of the articles in that issue.
Find Articles
- ProQuest Newsstand (Global Newsstream)
This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to US and international news sources. Includes coverage of The New York Times and The Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis including US Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. - Academic Search Ultimate
- This link opens in a new window
This is a multidisciplinary collection of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and other sources. - Communication & Mass Media Complete
- This link opens in a new window
A key resource for scholarly research in communication studies and mass media. - CQ Researcher and CQ Global Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of in-depth and fact-checked reports on pressing domestic and international issues. Covers 1923-present.
Tip:
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary loan to request a copy from another library.
Find Journals
- Journalism & Mass Communication QuarterlyCovers 1955 to present.
- Mass Communication and SocietyCovers 1998 to present
- Public Opinion QuarterlyCovers 1937 to present
- Howard Journal of CommunicationsCovers 1988 to present
- Journal of Broadcasting & Electronic MediaCovers 1985 to present
- Journal of CommunicationCovers 1951 to present
Find Books & Background Info
- Library Catalog
- This link opens in a new window
Find print and electronic books available from USU Libraries, as well as videos and other materials.
- Encyclopedias & DictionariesGather background information from various general and specialized reference books, including dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Tip:
Need a book we don't own?
Use interlibrary loan to request books, articles, and more from other libraries.
Need Help?
Need Quick Help?
Chat with a Librarian:
