Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of Social Work
Co-published by the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, this online encyclopedia is widely considered the cornerstone of reference in the field. Contains four hundred subject entries and two hundred brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work.
The Social Worker's Desk Reference (2015)
E-book available to multiple users. 159 short chapters with links to further resources, collaboratively written by major figures in the field.
The Grand Challenges for Social Work
12 challenges from the American Academy of Social Work & Social Welfare (AASWSW). Supporting documents, articles, and resources for each of the challenge focus areas.
Academic journal articles
Social Services Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts current research in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary services to request a copy from another library.
PsycINFO via EBSCOhost
One of the top resources for research in psychology and the behavioral and social sciences. Includes information on topics ranging from education to pharmacology.
A free resource from the US National Library of Medicine and a key resource for medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Phrase searching and Boolean operators can help target your search.
For example, if you're looking for articles about effective programs for HIV/AIDS prevention, a comprehensive keyword search might look like this:
"program evaluation" AND (HIV OR "human immunodeficiency virus" OR AIDS) AND prevention
For more help, see this guide to Boolean logic and other search strategies.
The following databases include scholarship from a number of disciplines. Scopus collects peer-reviewed scholarly articles with a number of filters to refine your search. If you prefer Google Scholar, be mindful that you cannot limit your results by type of source. To check for yourself whether or not an article comes from a peer-reviewed journal, consult this library research guide.
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles. Full text is not included, but Article Linker provides access to full-text articles when available.
Multidisciplinary scholarly search engine. Covers peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities, and other scholarly organizations. Includes links to USU resources when on campus.
Using Google Scholar?
Sync your Google account with USU. This will get you past paywalls for articles USU subscribes to by having you login with your A# and password.
Books and e-books
Find print and electronic books available from USU Libraries, as well as videos and other materials.
Need a book we don't own?
Use interlibrary loan to request books, articles, and more from other libraries.
Help for Statewide Campus/Online Students
As a USU Statewide or Online student, you can access all of the library's databases, articles, and e-books from home or anywhere with Internet. To access library resources from the USU Library website, a research guide (like this!), or your Canvas course, you will be prompted to enter your A number and password. For more information on how to order physical books, get research help, and other time-saving tips, visit the library services for statewide and online users website.