LibGuides: Bear Lake Class Cohort Grant Research Bibliography: Land Use/Landscape History

Land Use/Landscape - Text

Bureau of Land Management. “Pocatello Proposed Resource Management Plan and Final Environmental Impact Statement, Idaho Falls District,” 1987. Call #3 9060 01246 3112, Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University.

This is a research management plan organized by the Department of the Interior’s US Bureau of Land Management, and headed by Lloyd H. Ferguson and Delmar D. Vail (State Director of Idaho). It gives information on five alternative plans for managing 264,481 Acres of BLM land and 648,901 acres of Federal mineral estate in the Idaho Falls District, which includes the Idaho portion of Bear Lake. It contains descriptions of each plan, scanned letters in the back showing citizens support of different plans, and three maps which lay out details of Plan 3 around Bear Lake Idaho side.

USDA and Forest Service. “Implementation Maps for the Caribou National Forest and Curlew National Grassland; Land and Resource Management Plan,” 1985. Call #3 9060 01868 5080, Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University.

Report which uses the FORPLAN analysis model to provide stratified map displays of the managed areas outlined in the Caribou National Forest’s Land and Resources Management Plan (1985). Maps including Bear Lake and surrounding counties are included on pages 67, 68, 75 and 76. The Bear Lake Outlet is also pictured (see management area index for page numbers). Map keys are provided in the beginning of the record as guides for arranged management prescriptions, special area prescriptions, and the 16 different land types classified by the forest service.

Bear Lake Regional Commission. "Bear Lake County Land Use Guide,” 1979. Call #3 9060 02137 7642, Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University.

A collection of summaries about the resources in and surrounding Bear Lake in 1979, including: slope percentages, general soils, hydrology, wildlife (In particular, Sage Grouse leks, see Figure 7), waterfowl, local trails, ownership maps, irrigation, fault lines, scenery, etc. It begins with a history of white settlers around the Bear Lake Basin and includes a record of how citizen involvement contributed to this collection. The intended purpose is to give information and instruction regarding the potential use of the area and its resources to come to an agreement on public policy that can be developed. Some of the topics covered in this source include Geology, Hydrology, Slope, Soils, Wildlife, Land Ownership, Land Use, Population, Economy, Housing, Public Services, Transportation, and Recreation.

USDA Natural Conservation Service, Bear River Resource Conservation and Development Council. “Bear River Resource Conservation and Development Project Program of 4 Action, 1975.” Call #3 9060 02136 9045, Merrill-Cazier Library, Special Collections, Utah State University.

These documents describe goals and plans for the Franklin, Oneida counties in Idaho and Cache, Rich and Box Elder counties in Utah for further development. It was made by the Bear River Resource Conservation and Development Project to layout current demography, ways and areas to conserve and ways these counties can further develop. Of special interest is page 95d, where Bear Lake is proposed as a water-based recreation development location. The proposal notes that residents and travelers would enjoy a public beach shore, as private land ownership had taken over much of the lakefront at that point. It notes that this proposal was adopted. Each of these counties have ties to Bear Lake and it offers a glimpse into how at the time they were thinking of the natural resources in the area and how Bear Lake would further be utilized.

“Bear Lake Nomination for Aquatic Study Site in the Desert Biome,” 1974, Special Collections and Archives. Utah State University Merrill-Cazier Library. Logan, Utah. Utah State University Desert Biome project reports, proposals, and other materials USU_17.24:73.

A report on Bear Lake for the nomination of its use in the Desert Biome Project. The report contains a list of prior scientific research on the lake, multiple maps of Bear Lake and the surrounding areas, present research activity on the lake, and proposed future developments for research. It also contains characteristics of the lake, current facilities and personnel, and a list of potential study areas Bear Lake can be used for. Contains several illustrations on pages 1 and 4-5 detailing land usage and physical characteristics such as 9 depth, elevation, and notable sites around the lake. submitted cooperatively by Brigham Young University, Idaho State University, Utah State University, University of Utah, Weber State College.

Desert Biome Project Special Reports Report Nos. 1-4, Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, 17.24 Box 2, November 1976.

This is a collection of differing reports that talk of a proposal to nominate Bear Lake as a study site in the desert biome. The reports consist of several different studies from neighboring universities, including Utah State University, Idaho State University, and Weber State College. This source can be useful in showing the different species of aquatic life in the lake and surrounding area.

Bear Lake Regional Commission, “Bear Lake Basin Recreation Study” 1975, Special Collections & Archives, General Book Collection. Utah State University Merrill-Cazier Library. Logan, Utah. 979.27 B38.

This booklet goes lists different recreation activities that are available in the Bear Lake area, in both Rich County, Utah and Bear Lake County, Idaho, and was published by the Bear Lake Regional Commission. It gives a description of the area with the common wildlife, climate, and vegetation. It lists different recreation areas, campground, and visitor usage over a few years prior to publication. It also talks about privately owned recreation facilities that are near Bear Lake including Beaver Mountain and Bear Lake hot springs. It also provides a few maps in the appendix providing the location of these attractions and other attractions within the vicinity of Bear Lake. Discusses various animals, parks, plants, and recreation. It shows data on tourists, etc. It also has information on Cache National Forest, campgrounds nearby and recreational facilities available such as the Bear Lake hot springs, trailer court, Fish Haven resort, Sweetwater park, and the Beaver Mountain ski area.

Bear Lake Regional Commission. Discover Bear Lake Idaho/Utah, (Fish Haven, Idaho) 1993. Special Collections, Merrill-Crazier Library, Utah State University. 979.2711 B38h.

This small book was prepared by the Bear Lake Regional Commission in 1993 as a historical summary and base operations report. It begins with a short history of the development of the area, then goes into problems the area is facing, such as water quality problems. A significant portion of the book targets the “Bear Lake Preservation Project” and details what the project is and how it is to be carried out. The purpose was to control pollution and preserve the natural beauty of the lake. It discusses the needs of the county and potential projects that they are proposing, including its operational structure, and projects it has undertaken regarding conservation of Bear Lake. Within the booklet, there are different news articles that are pictured that outline their problems. They discuss the preservation of Bear Lake, including the preservation of the watersheds. There are also pictures showing the problems they are discussing throughout the booklet. The primary purpose of this plan is to 15 find the areas in the economy that are doing well in regions with the greatest likelihood of success. The region has missions and goals to achieve and objectives and strategies to help them get to where they want to go. Briefly explains how Bear Lake was formed.

Bear Lake Regional Commission. “The Bear Lake Preservation Project, 1983.” Utah State University, Quinney Natural Resources Library, TD 223.6 .B388X 1983.

This brochure is a document that takes on informing people about the Bear Lake Preservation Project and discussing how the plan on helping the lake. They discuss problems like Upper Bear River Management, watershed and land use impacts, and even misuse of resources. For each of the problems they delve into a couple of solutions that they are offering. They even provide a map near the end of the Bear Lake area.

“Pocatello Resource Management Plan and Environmental Impact Statement, Idaho Falls district, draft”, 1987. Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, I 1.98:p75 1987.

This draft describes a resource management plan by the BLM in great depth. The land they want to set apart is 264,481 acres that includes the land surrounding Pocatello, the Utah State line in the south, and the Wyoming state line in the east, which includes Bear Lake. There are several issues listed for this plan such as land ownership adjustments, legal and physical access to public lands, rangeland management, protection of wildlife habitat, protection of riparian habitat and water quality, and fire management.

Welsh, Stanley L., Naegle, James R. “Papers from the Citizens for the Protection of Logan Canyon and the Logan Canyon Coalition,” 18 May 1987, Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, Collection 314, Box 1, Folder 1.

This is a collection of letters sent back and forth between multiple people including Stanley Welsh and James Naegle. Many come from the Citizens for the Protection of Logan Canyon discussing the downsides that the construction on US HWY-89 will have on the environment in the canyon and Bear Lake.

Andrews, Wade H. “Wade H. Andrews Papers,” 1949-1969, Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, 17.16.17.

Collection of papers regarding the Bureau of Reclamation's Bear River Project. The papers consist of interviews, maps, and historical overviews. Though the collection is given a range date, many of the individual papers are undated.

C. Johnson & D. Brown, Cottonwood Campground Bear Lake State Park, Utah restoration plan. College of HAAS, Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, 14.6/6:63, Box 5, no.51. 2003.

This small booklet containing a 2003 three phase, thirty year restoration plan for Cottonwood campground near Bear Lake. The introduction explains the campground’s current problems. It also has a diagram of potential planting areas. Throughout the book there are colored photographs, these photographs line up with areas in the diagram. There is also a 3-phase description for this 30-year plan. Folder- No. 45- A Wildlife Conservation Manual for Urbanizing Areas in Utah- an article on wildlife habitats and how to maintain them with urbanization. Mentions of wetlands and animal species in the Wasatch mountains 2- Cottonwood Campground Bear Lake State Park, Utah Restoration Plan, March 2003 A plan to plant cottonwood trees at Bear Lake campgrounds to provide shade for campers.

17.24:73 Desert Biome Special Report #2, c.2 Natural Resources Imprint [Logan, Utah] : [Utah State University Ecology Center], [1968?] Merrill-Cazier Special Collections & Archives, Archives (Lower Level) Call No. 17.24 no. 2.

"This proposal is to nominate Bear Lake as an aquatic study site associated with the northern desert biome studies of the International Biological Productivity Program in the United States."

Edgar Bentley Mitchell, “Executive Secretary Memos.” 1957. COLL Box 2 Fd8. Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library.

This collection contains memos from the Executive Secretary of the 89’ers International Highway Association, Inc. Mentioned in the memos is the production and design of a sixteen-page brochure of popular vacation destinations in five U.S. western states, Canada, and Mexico called “Guide to Vacationlands of the International West.” Bear Lake is mentioned as one of the vacation destinations and details are described of the Executive 23 Secretary traveling to Logan and Bear Lake to prepare the brochure for publication. This box included correspondences between Bentley Mitchell, M.H. Cantwell, and others concerning a promotional film for Highway 89, which goes through Logan Canyon and up to Bear Lake.

89’ers Int’l Highway Ass’n- Promotional Mat. & Correspondence. Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, 322 Box #2.

This is a collection of pamphlets, letters, memos, and documents about the development of Highway 89, which goes from the Mexican border to the Canadian border in the North, going through the Bear Lake Valley, including Garden City. The highway’s development influenced the growth of Garden City.

Baker, Doran. “Bear Lake Observatory Cedar Program Report,” 1996, Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, UUS_8.2:2 BAK, Box 52, Folder 30.

Doran Baker was a professor of Electrical Engineering at USU. This study is pulled from a collection of his reports. The study works to demonstrate the need for the Bear Lake Observatory. The project report was used as a way of seeking further support for the observatory. The report also details a physical description of the observatory as well as a summary of refurbishments that had been previously performed on the observatory.

Bear River Heritage Barn Surveys 2002-2016. Merrill-Cazier Library, Special Collections.

Photos and field notes on barns of the Bear Lake surrounding area.

USU Student Folklore Genre collection: Tales and Jokes, 1969-2018. (FOLK COLL 8a: Group 4, Box 12, Folder 17). Utah State University. Special Collections and Archives Department.

This is part of a collection by USU undergraduate students over a 49-year period. This specific entry talks about how long winter lasts in Bear Lake.

(Franklin County, Cache County, and Bear River) Census of agriculture Vol 1. Pt. 11-12 Hawaii-Idaho. Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, C 3.31/9:

This book includes agricultural censuses for all the counties in Hawaii and Idaho from 1978 to 1974. Reports concerning Bear Lake County are found on pages 185-189. The census provides a various amount of information including number of farms and their value. It provides information on farm acreage. Also provides information on the age of farm operators, energy used, livestock farmed, and agricultural products. There are also statistics on the variety of ways land is utilized such as pastureland, woodland, farmland, irrigated land and land where crops failed.

Utah State University College of Natural Resources Forestry and Outdoor Recreation General Reports USU_14.7/2:63, Box 1, Book no. 3. Special Collections and Archives. Utah State University Merrill-Cazier Library. Logan, Utah.

This a collection of reports by the College of Natural Resources about a large array of activities. Specifically, this talks about alternate development programs for Bear Lake in 1976. This includes recreation, environmental and economic consequences of development.

U.S. Department of Agriculture, Forest Service. “Cache National Forest, Utah and Idaho, Boise, Salt Lake and Sixth Principal Meridians, 1969.” Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, Map 40-07.

This map details the boundary of the Cache National Forest across both Utah and Idaho. It includes information on roads, trails, recreation, and utility lines in the area. It also shows part of the Caribou National Forest. This shows the extent of the national forests, roads, utilities, and landmarks around Bear Lake in 1969.

UUS_COLL MSS 517. Jensen Haslem Architects Collection 1981-2004. 96030 Laketown Ward Addition and Remodel circa 1996.

Tom Jensen founded Jensen Haslem Architects, initially named JHCH Architects, in 1980. Jensen’s firm has designed several notable projects in the region, including the Huntsman Cancer Research Hospital in Salt Lake City, American West Heritage Center in Wellsville, Utah, the Logan Transit Center, and several others. This specific set of plans details the remodel and redesign of the Laketown LDS meetinghouse as created by Jensen in 1996.

UUS_COLL MSS 517. Jensen Haslem Architects Collection 1981-2004. 96030 Laketown Ward Addition and Remodel circa 1996.

Holdaway, James N. “James N. Holdaway Papers,” 1856-1945, Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, UUS_COLL MSS 328.

This is a collection of surveys and diagrams conducted by James Holdaway, a public and private surveyor, engineer, and cartographer. Items S-40 and D-11 are maps of Bear Lake. Item D-11 is not dated, but S- 40 is from 1989. There is also a diagram for a retaining wall included with D-11.

“A Look Back – Bear Lake State Park.” Utah State Parks. Accessed April 4, 2024. https: stateparks.utah.gov/2017/01/27/a-look-back-bear-lake-state-park/ #:~:text=Utah%20State%20Parks%20Blog&text=Originally%2C%20Bear%20Lake%20 was%20called,is%20it%20so%20blue%3F%E2%80%9D.

An internet article concerning the history of Bear Lake and why the water is crystal blue.

Helm, William. 1987. Letter to Randy Jukz. MSS 148, Box 27, Folder 9.

Letter written by William Helm to Randy Jukz expressing concern for the trout due to UDOT’s plan to improve the Logan Canyon road. The letter mentions how straightening the road would remove vegetation and have a negative effect on the environment. Includes other documents concerning the development of Highway 89 through Logan Canyon.

Bear Lake Basin: Natural Resource Planning USU SPEC COLL, 979.27 B38n Natural Resources.

This resource contains the planning process flow chart for Bear Lake’s natural resources. This also contains migration routes of birds and possible restraints and objectives to management. This document goes into both state and federal goals for the development.

Sue Nordstrom. “Creating Landscapes for Wildlife - a guide for back yards in Utah.” 1991. Department of Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning, Utah State University. Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, 14.6/6:63. Nos. 42-52.

This text is a guide to wildlife-friendly landscaping in Utah. It includes information on regions and vegetation zones in Utah, native plants, and native wildlife, and describes how this information can be used to landscape backyards to fit the needs of native plants and wildlife. This text provides insight to development and planning history and landscape history of Utah, including Bear Lake.

“Draft Environmental Impact Statement for the Caribou National Forest,” U.S. Forest Service, Circa 1985, Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, 13.92/2: C19.

This environmental impact statement shares a collection of studies and notes regarding social, ecological, and biological effects on a previously proposed Resource Management Plan for Caribou National Forest. The statement documents many ecological factors. The impact statement was undated, though it includes studies from the early 1980s and can therefore be assumed to have been drafted shortly after the most recent cited study in 1985.

Geological Survey, 2008, Special Collections and Archives, Merrill-Cazier Library, Logan, Utah. (2008-03- TQ).

This are reports on the land surrounding Bear Lake, including elevation and roadways.

U.S. Department of the Interior, Bureau of Land Management. Utah, Logan 30 x 60 Minute Series (Topographic). 2013. Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, Map Collection 2013-03-TS(?).

This topographic contour map shows the Cache and Rich Counties in Utah, including the South of Bear Lake. The key details recreational areas and labels enumerated recreational sites. There is a legend detailing land status by color. It shows roads, trails, and paths as well as rivers, streams, and lakes.

Land Use/Landscape - Visual

Logan Boy Scout Troop 5 photograph album, 1915-1925: “Boating and Logan Canyon” (Logan, UT). Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, P0364 box 1, Sheet 42.

Photo album made by Scoutmaster George R. Hill Jr. In this photo album, there are four various pictures showing: 42:01 two cars being pulled across a section of the lake on a raft, 42:02 boy scouts resting on a log in a lake nearby Bear Lake, 42:03 boy scouts in a paddle boat named “Columbia” near the shore of Bear Lake, and 42:04 a second picture of the boy scouts in a paddle boat, farther away from the camera. The pictures may entail how Bear Lake was starting to advance its infrastructure. 42:03 and 42:04 looks like the water is very high, meaning a possible flood in the city of Bear Lake. 43:05 8 boy scouts on the shore of Bear Lake. In the background there are several small barrack looking buildings, including a small dock coming off the shore of the beach. 24:01-06, 24:08 Several photographs of boy scout’s fishing. Most of these photographs are of the boy scouts within boats, they are using nets in almost all the photos. One photo consists of a boat beaching upon a rocky shore with a net full of fish on the boat. 24:05, 24:07 Two photos depicting a boy scout camp around Bear Lake. One photo shows multiple tents pitched in the woods. There are 10 scouts sitting on the ground, sitting on a bench, reading some sort of document and writing. The other photograph has 8 boy scouts taking a nap near a tree line in what looks like the summer or possibly early fall. These boy scouts have backpacking gear and sleeping bags/pads.

“Oversize Postcard,” Photograph Collection P0031, Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, ID: 008, CR-21, Box 2.

This is a postcard with a colorized photograph of Bear Lake from the Idaho side of the lake. The photograph was taken by Arnold Reid, and the caption reads: “This beautiful mountain lake impounding the water of Bear River is 30 miles long and from 5 to 7 miles wide. It lies one-half each in the states of Utah and Idaho. Several modern resorts line its western shore where fishing, boating and swimming are popular sports.” Consists of "real photograph," linen, and various other types of postcards. Most of the images are of Utah or the Intermountain West and date from 1900 to 1940. Also includes portraits and images of LDS religious and historic sites.

“Map of Utah.” George F. Cram. Circa 1906. Chicago, Ill. Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, Map 50-36.

This map details the state of Utah with the different counties displayed in three colors. It shows mountain ranges, canyons, lakes, rivers, roads, and railways. It is missing topological information in Cache, Rich, and Weber Counties. This lack of information might be a point of curiosity regarding information available about Bear Lake in this period.

New Family Atlas of the World. Map of Utah. Circa late 1800s. Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, Map 88(?)

This map details the state of Utah including topology, rivers, mountain ranges, railways, and major roads shown. It details the names of towns, geological features, rivers, and some commentary on the available timber. It includes Bear Lake and the surrounding roads and geological features.

Reynolds Rueben, “H. Reuben Reynolds Photographs, P0004, Box 7, Series 118” 1940-1949. Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University.

This is a series of photographs taken by Rueben Reynolds taken between the years of 1940-1946. These photos depict Bear Lake and some of the direct surrounding area. 118:10 Road winding north to Bear Lake Black and White negative 118:10: Road winding north towards Bear Lake black-and-white negative 1940-1949 118:11: Cemetery, headstones included bearing black-and-white negative 1940-1949 118:12: Car parked on the shore of Bear Lake black-and-white negative 1940-1949 118:13: Road winding north towards Bear Lake black-and-white negative 1940-1949 118:14: Road winding north towards Bear Lake black-and-white negative 118:19: View of field and trees south of Garden City.

Orson Winston Israelsen irrigation photographs: “Trip to Bear Lake” Campground (Bear Lake, UT), 1918. Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, UUS_P0358.

Taken from the 1,495 black & white photographic images documenting Israelsen's long career in irrigation and drainage engineering from roughly 1900 to 1960, including: a picture was taken of several wagons gathered around a campsite in the surrounding Bear Lake mountains. Including period clothing and modes of transportation. Also shows the surrounding landscape around the campsite. Other photographs track the construction of the Hoover Dam, homes around Bear Lake, John W. Gaelson and an unnamed woman on a boat, spillways and outlets, flood-control dams, water drains, flowing wells, and more. The flowing wells were also used to control gravel in irrigation ditches and to keep the gravel out of the farmers' lands.

Raymond C. Somers photograph collection, 1865-1993: “Postcard showing three young men in swimsuits lounge on sand at Ideal Beach on Bear Lake” (Bear Lake, UT). Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, P0324, box 8.

Postcard from Bear Lake showing three men in black and white in swimsuits on the beach. In the background of the postcard, there seems to be a dock, additional people, and small boats docked on the shore.

Utah/Idaho High Altitude Aerial Photograph Collection Photograph Collection (1980-84). Utah State University Merrill-Cazier Library. P0330.

A collection containing two boxes of high-quality aerial photographs of the coast of Bear Lake in 1980 thru 1984. Box one’s folders 16-23 focus on the lake and surrounding areas, along with box two folder 12. The photos show various sides of the lake including significant portions of the land away from the lake. These photos capture the terrain, development, land use, and land type. Commissioned by the USGS National High Altitude Photography (NHAP) program.

P0392 (Clyde T. Hardy Photograph Collection, 1906-1958. Box 1, Folder 4, P0392 1:4:3, Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University.

Collection of photographs taken by the then head of the geology department of USU Clyde T. Hardy. The photos were taken with the purpose of documenting geologic formations and natural disasters; 1:04:04: Photo taken from south of Bear Lake, looking north. 1:04:14: North east corner of Bear Lake, looking north. 1:04:15: North east corner of Bear Lake, looking north. 1:04:17: North east corner of Bear Lake, looking south. 1:04:19: Photo taken from south of Bear Lake, looking north. 1:04:22: East shore of Bear Lake Aerials of Bear Lake, Northern Utah, Southern Idaho, and Delta, Utah areas.

Hansen, D., Staker, E. Gardner, L., 1964. “Hydrographic Survey Bear River, Rich County.” Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, Sheet 76.

This is a map made in 1964 showing an overview of Bear Lake. Map of the West side of Bear Lake from the Office of State Engineer, State of Utah. Contains hydrographic and geographic information about canals, canyons, and developed areas from the Bear Lake area in 1956, as well as land plot ownerships. It shows a small portion of Garden City. Within the city, it is sectioned off into different plots and it labels who owns each lot. It also depicts where each water well is and labels them as well.

U.S. Department of Agriculture. U.S. Forest Service. “Alternative Maps for The Caribou National Forest-Draft Environmental Impact Statement and Proposed Land and Resource Management Plan, 1984.” Special Collections and Archives , Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University. A 13.92/2: C 19/APP.O.

This folder consists of several maps of the Caribou National Forest and relevant environmental impact statements and resource management plans. The maps outlines six areas of us, such as timber and recreation. A map is provided for each alternative plan. These were created in 1984 and created by the U.S. Department of Agriculture and the U.S. Forest Service. This document goes over budgets, harvest schedules, the construction plans. The value of each factor is evaluated in terms of different resource plans. The document also goes over the criticisms regarding the alternative plans.

Bear Lake and Garden City Postcard. Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, P0031 UT:098.

A postcard of Bear Lake from the Utah side, showing the road to Garden City as well. Contains orange leaves and farmland on Bear Lake’s shore. Published by Eric J. Seaich Co., it has an informational paragraph on the back. This postcard features a photo of Bear Lake in the fall, along with text describing the dimensions of Bear Lake and the nearby amenities and recreation opportunities, including information on several resorts.

“Interurban Lines of Utah and Idaho.” J.R. 1914. H.C.E. 1915. Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, Map 05-27.

This 1914 map shows railway lines of Northern Utah and Southern Idaho. It highlights specifically the electric interurban railway system including a key for the single and double tracks. Alongside the interurban lines there are three seals- one for O.L.&I Railway. Company, one for Bamberger Electric and one for The Orem Lines. One portion includes Cache County, Rich County and Bear Lake.

The Stock family boating on Bear Lake, Utah and Idaho, 1908, Utah State University, Merrill-Cazier Library, Special Collections and Archives, The Jensen Living Historical Farm Photograph Collection, P0356 9:04:11;

A photo depicting the Stock family boating on Bear Lake on a nice afternoon. Photo was taken in 1908. Photo contains several boats with over a dozen people pictured.

Sanders, Stan, “Logan Postcards, Postcard Addendum” June 1977, Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, P0649 1:310.

This is a postcard collection showing many pictures of Logan, Logan Canyon, and Bear Lake during various years. Many cards have pictures of the lake with writing on the back. Also includes written notes between individuals.

USU_P0470, Box 1, Folder 10; Rich County Aerial photograph collection; Photograph Collections Special Collections and Archives. Utah State University Merrill-Cazier Library. Logan, Utah.

This is part of a larger collection of aerial photographs from 1959. They consist of high-resolution, high-altitude photographs of Rich County covering the Utah portion of Bear Lake. Includes the topography and any major landmarks in the area.

Oversized Aerials, August-September 1959. Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, PO470 Box #3.

This is a collection of aerial photos taken of Bear Lake between the months of August to September in 1959. The photos are showing the eastern shoreline of the lake and were taken by the U.S. Agricultural Soil Survey.

Department of the Interior US Geological Survey State of Utah, Cartographer A. F. Hassan, 1921 and 1922. Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, I 19.27: UTI c.9.

Map of the State of Utah, including notable cities, national forests, and survey plots. Bear Lake is included, along with Garden City and Laketown. Includes blue areas around Bear Lake, Cache Valley, and other Northern areas. No note of what blue area means, possibly riparian or irrigated area.

Water and Irrigation United States Department of the Interior Geological Survey. “Garden City, Utah-Idaho 41111- H4-TF-024.” Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, Map Collection, Jan 1 1995.

This topographical map shows the area of Garden City, Utah and Idaho, and some of the surrounding wilderness and lake. It also indicates highways, other cities, canyons, rivers and other natural features, such as beaches. It extends as far as the edge of Wasatch-Cache National Forest and the top of the map ends at the Idaho Border.

“Bear Lake PostCard” Published by Eric J Sealch Co.

This postcard is a panorama of the Idaho side of the Lake with houses in the front, the crystal blue lake, and the mountainous backdrop.

Aerial Photographs. 1984. Call # P0330 Box #12, Folders 13 and 14.

This collection of photos showing photos taken from an airplane above Bear Lake. The colors are altered. Done by the Citizens for the Protection of Logan Canyon Materials. 1989.

Bear Lake Views. 1930s. Call # A2532.

This picture shows a view of Bear Lake from the Logan Canyon Road. The road from where the picture was taken is made of dirt. The photo shows rural homes and farmland around the lake.

Potter, Albert F. Grazing Lands, Western United States. 1905. Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, Map 31-01(b?).

This map details the types of grazing lands in the United States from the Pacific coast to the 100° meridian. It designates different types of grazing land through green tones and red cross hatching as well as unused desert lands and cultivated lands as separate categories. It includes the region around Bear Lake.

U.S. Department of the Interior, Bureau of Land Management. Idaho-Wyoming-Utah, Preston 30 x 60 Minute Series (Topographic). 1983 or 1990. Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, Map 91-8.

This topographic contour map shows the region between Idaho, Wyoming, and Utah including the North of Bear Lake. It has a key designating what minerals may be found in federally owned lands. Land status is designated by colors, including roads, trails, and paths as well as rivers, streams, and lakes.

U.S. Department of the Interior, Bureau of Land Management. Idaho-Wyoming-Utah, 30 x 60 Minute Series (Topographic). 2004. Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, Map Collection 2005-04-TQ(?).

Topographic contour maps of Cache and Rich Counties in Utah, and Franklin and Bear Lake Counties in Idaho. It has an in-depth key detailing recreational areas and labelling certain recreational sites by number. Land status is designated by colors. It shows roads, trails, and paths as well as rivers, streams, and lakes.