LibGuides: Mormonism (Religious Studies): Databases

Off-Campus Access to Library Resources: Step by Step Instructions

If you are off campus you will need to establish a VPN connection to the libraries resource. By following the instructions below you will be able to install and run the USU VPN installer which will give you access to all electronic resource available through the library.

Instructions for setting up the VPN can be found on the library website.

Step-by-step and other specific instructions are available on the IT website.

Instructions for running the automatic installation

Instructions for manually installing the VPN

Religious Studies Databases

The Library provides access to a few hundred research databases, which are specialized search engines used for locating citations to articles and other research material related to specific topics. NOTE: If you are off-campus, all of these databases will require authentication. For research on topics related to Medieval European histoy, I recommend the following:

Studies in Mormon History
This database is one of the first places to start your research in Mormonism. it contains citations to articles, books, theses, and Ph.D. dissertations dealing with the Mormon history, written from 1830 to the present. However the database does not include much pejorative works.
ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2
The database contains almost 15,000 primary and secondary resource texts covering the time period of 1894 to 1923.
Relgion and Philosophy Collection
This database will not have as much information on Mormonism as does ATLA but is worth searching for additional resources. With more than 300 full text journals for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.

E-Journal Collections

E-Journal collections are a great resource for finding articles and scholarly information online. Below are two E-Journal databases, both with full-text journals available.

JSTOR
Multi-disciplinary full-text electronic journal collection. Most recent 2-5 years generally not included. This is a good resource for finding article on Mormonism published outside of specific Mormon Journals.
Project Muse
Multi-disciplinary e-journal collection for humanities and social sciences with access to current issues.

Search for a Dissertation or Thesis

Search our subscription full text dissertation database directly here (searches citations and abstracts):

Enter your search terms:

For a more robust searching interface, go directly to Dissertations & Theses Full Text, which includes citations to almost 1 million dissertations and theses from around the world. Dissertations published since 1997 are generally available in full text but require Adobe Acrobat Reader to view.

About Dissertations

A dissertation in history represents the culmination of many years of research and writing by a successful PhD candidate. The topics must be unique, narrowly focused, and undergo an exhaustive literature review. Thus, mining bliographies of dissertations is often a wonderful way to begin to assemble a list of secondary sources for your own research project.