Finding and Evaluating Sources
These guides, videos lesson plans help with searching for and evaluating sources, skimming articles, and creating an annotated bibliography.
Finding Articles
- How-to Guide: Using ProQuest CentralStep-by-step guide to searching and features of our multidisciplinary subscription database.
- How-to Guide & Video: Choosing Keywords2 min video and screenshots show gives tips and examples effective keywords for research. It's trickier than you'd think!
- How-to Guide & Video: Narrowing or Broadening your Search3 min video and tips to narrow or broaden your database search using keywords, limiters, and boolean operators.
- How-to Guide & Video: Finding Full-Text via Article-LinkerArticle Linker tool helps connect you to the full-text available through USU subscriptions.
- How-to Guide: Requesting Materials through Interlibrary LoanUSU Libraries can borrow items we do not have access to from a partner institution. Includes both shipping physical items or providing e-book or PDF access.
Finding Peer Reviewed Sources
- How-to Guide & Video: Connect Google Scholar to USU Libraries1 min video and step-by step instructions. Save time by getting links to USU subscriptions within Google Scholar search results.
- How-to Guide & Video: Finding Peer-Reviewed Sources3 min video defines and explains peer review. Screenshots show how to filtering search results and verify if a publication uses peer review.
- How-to Guide & Video: Finding Related Sources2 min video and tips for scanning article Reference Lists and using Google Scholar to find additional articles.
Finding Newspapers
- How-to Guide: Finding Specific Journals & NewspapersHow to find a specific newspaper, journal, or magazines to browse current or past issues.
- How-to Guide: New York Times USU AccessUSU students and employees can set up free access to the NYT.
Finding Books & Other Media
- How-to Guide: Finding Books & MediaSearching the USU Libraries catalog for books, e-books, music, videos, etc.
- How-to Guide: Finding a Book on the ShelfUSU Libraries organizes books by their Library of Congress call number. Learn how to read these complex call numbers and locate a book in USU Libraries.
Finding Primary Sources
- Video: What is a Primary Source?4 min video from North Carolina State University helps explain the complexity of what a "primary" source.
- How-to Guide: Finding Primary SourcesTips for searching for primary sources in USU's library archives and databases.
- ENGL 2010 Canvas Module Preview: Identifying Primary SourcesMaybe useful as background info for ENGL 1010 instructors. Teaches how to find, evaluate, and use primary sources in their own research.
- How-to Guide: Government Information Quick LinksLearn tips for finding government Information such as census data, reports, Senate or House Committee hearings, bills, which may be useful as primary source material.
Evaluating Sources
- Lesson Plan: How To Skim an ArticleUsing an online NYT article about DACA and Dreamers, students are guided in the practice of skimming by scanning headlines, captions, 1st and last sentences of paragraphs in order to find main ideas & begin to evaluate a source.
- How-to Guide with Video: Evaluating SourcesUsing questions on our Evaluation Wheel infographic, students learn to Stop and check their emotions & prior knowledge before looking closely at the Who, What, Where, and Why of any given source. Also includes a table illustrating the Spectrum of Sources.
- How-to Guide: Creating an Annotated BibliographyStep by step process with screenshots showing each part (and its purpose) in an annotated bibliography.
- ENGL 2010 Canvas Module Preview: Evaluating SourcesMay be useful as background info for ENGL 1010 GIs. Teaches source evaluation skills to help determine the relevance and credibility of a variety of sources. Includes examples of where to find info in articles to help with evaluation.
Need Help?
Library Help
Contact:
Subjects: Accounting, Agriculture, Animal, Dairy & Veterinary Sciences, Anthropology, Applied Economics, Applied Sciences, Technology, & Education, Arts, Automotive Mechanics, Aviation & Technical Education, Biological Engineering, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Communication Studies, Communicative Disorders & Deaf Education, Computer Science, Concurrent Enrollment/High School, Cosmetology, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement, Data Management, Data Sets, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias, Digital Humanities, Economics & Finance, Education, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Engineering, Engineering Education, English 1010/2010, Environment & Ecology, Geography, Geosciences, Human Development & Family Studies, Images, Instructional Technology & Learning Sciences, Interior Design, Intersectional Gender Studies & Research, Journalism & Communication, Kinesiology & Health Science, Landscape Architecture, Languages & Cultures, Library & Information Science, Management, Marketing & Strategy, Mathematics & Statistics, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, Music, Newspapers, Nursing, Nutrition, Dietetics & Food Sciences, Philosophy, Physics, Plant, Soils & Climate, Political Science & Law, Psychology, Research Tips, Social Work, Sociology and Anthropology, Special Education and Rehabilitation Counseling, Statistical Information, Technology, Design, and Technical Education, Theater Arts, Theses & Dissertations, Utah's Online Library, Veterinary Medicine, Visual Arts, Watershed Science & Fisheries, Welding, Wildlife, Range and Forestry
