Guide to Books in the Fife Folklore Archives: Home

These folklore collections include books or other print volumes as a primary format. Click a collection name below to jump to its title list further down this page.

Core book collections (1–9)

• Folk Collection 1 – Fife Donated Book Collection
  Books from the original gift of Austin and Alta Fife, which were used in establishing the Folklore Archives.
• Folk Collection 2 – Collected Publications of Austin and Alta Fife
  A compilation of the published works of Austin and Alta Fife.
• Folk Collection 3 – Folklore Reference Collection
  Contains general folklore books, folklore theses, and related volumes. This collection continues to have materials added.
• Folk Collection 9 – The Olive Burt Collection
  Books purchased by USU Libraries for the Fife Folklore Archives.

Additional book and monograph collections (10–19)

• Folk Collection 10 – The Dr. Rachael D. Yocom and Gertrude Shurr Collection
  Volumes gifted to the Folklore Archives.
• Folk Collection 11 – The Skaggs Foundation Cowboy Poetry Book Collection
  A growing collection of books on cowboy poetry and related topics. Each winter this library travels to Elko, Nevada, for the National Cowboy Poetry Gathering.
• Folk Collection 12 – The Don Yoder Collection
  A compilation of materials from Professor Don Yoder’s personal research library, containing many books on folklore and related topics.
• Folk Collection 13 – The Wayland D. Hand Memorial Collection
  Arranged by general categories (belief, custom, Native American, regional, etc.), this collection primarily contains current works in folklore and related topics. This collection continues to have materials added.
• Folk Collection 14 – The Folklore Journals Collection
  A collection of folklore journals. This collection continues to have materials added.
• Folk Collection 15 – Newsletters on folklore and related topics
  A collection of newsletters on folklore and related topics. This collection continues to have materials added.
• Folk Collection 16 – The John I. White Book Collection
  Over 200 books and pamphlets on cowboy and western folksongs and ballads, donated by the J. I. White family.
• Folk Collection 17 – The Jay Anderson Foodways Collection 
  Donated by folklorist Jay Anderson. The collection includes historic cookbooks.
• Folk Collection 18 – The American Folklore Society Book Collection
  Books published by the AFS Publications Series. This collection continues to have materials added.
• Folk Collection 19 – The G. Malcolm Laws Ballad Collection
  Formerly the private research library of ballad scholar G. Malcolm Laws, purchased by the USU Library.

Thematic and donor book collections (20–29)

• Folk Collection 20 – The Barre Toelken Native American Collection
  Books and pamphlets used in Professor Barre Toelken’s research.
• Folk Collection 22 – The Utah State University Scholarly Press Folklore Collection
  A donation of all the folklore books published by USU Press. This collection continues to have materials added.
• Folk Collection 23 – The Elliott Oring Book Collection
  Books donated by folklorist Elliott Oring on a wide range of folklore topics.
• Folk Collection 24 – Andy Gibbons Quilt Collection
  Books and slides on quilting. This collection continues to have materials added.
• Folk Collection 25 – The Wolfgang Mieder Proverb Collection
  Books on proverbs donated by proverb scholar Wolfgang Mieder, as well as purchased books on proverbs and proverb scholarship. This collection continues to have materials added.

Cowboy, western, and regional book collections

• Folk Collection 30 – Sam Agins Book Collection
  Donated by the Agins family, consisting of books on American cowboy music and lifestyle.
• Folk Collection 35 – The Barre Toelken Book Collection
  An extensive book collection donated by Barre Toelken, consisting of books on American, German, and Native American folklore.
• Folk Collection 38 – Latino/a books
  A collection of Latino/a books associated with the Latinx Voices Project.
• Folk Collection 40 – Peggy Seeger Folk Song Collection (Books)
  Published books from folk song collectors and singers Peggy Seeger and Ewan MacColl.
• Folk Collection 41 – The John S. and Orpha S. Boyden Family Native American Book Collection
  Books donated to Utah State University by the Boyden family. The collection is accessible through the Libraries’ online catalog.
• Folk Collection 49 – Western and Ranch books
  Western and ranch-related books associated with the Ranch Family Documentation Project.

Later named book collections

• Folk Collection 54 – Polly Stewart Book Collection
  A gift from the estate of folklorist Polly Stewart, including volumes from her folklore and ethnographic research library. A list of books in this collection can be found indexed in the Library catalog.
• Folk Collection 77 – Jan Brunvand Book Collection
  Approximately 300 books collected by folklorist Jan Brunvand, focusing on American urban legends and folklore.