Skip to Main Content

Guide to Books in the Fife Folklore Archives: Folk Coll 30

This guide provides an overview of the books housed within the folklore collections in Utah State University’s Special Collections and Archives (SCA). Many of these book groupings were assembled by folklorists, donors, and researchers over several decades

Folk Collection 30 - Sam Agins Collection

The alphabetized sections are expandable and collapsible. Click a letter range to view the titles in that section. For quick searching, use Ctrl+F (Windows) or Command+F (Mac) to find keywords or specific titles on the page. To request an item, look up the title in the USU Libraries online catalog to confirm the exact record and call number, then submit your request through Special Collections and Archives.

Folk Coll 30 – A–Z Book List

A–Z Titles
  • A ceremony on bare ground : poems / by C.L. Rawlins.
  • A cowboy on the last frontier / by Bill May.
  • A dude ranch is-- 1874-1986.
  • A thousand acres of nothing / [by] 'Aim Morhardt [and] Lee Early.
  • AFF word.
  • An annotated epic poem : saga of a mountain man (the true life story of a real pioneer) / William B. May.
  • Arizona cowboy poets : a rendezvous / [compiled, edited, produced by Sally Harper Bates].
  • Arizona pictorial / Joseph Miller, publisher.
  • Back home again / words and pictures by Joe Clark, hbss.
  • Buck : stories by Lloyd "Buck" Bader / collected by Jim Garry.
  • Bunkhouse logic / Ben Stein.
  • Catalog of Western music, 1990-1991 / Western Music Association.
  • Collected poems of Robert Service.
  • Cowboy Corral catalog : authentic 1880 cowboy and old west products.
  • Cowboy artists of America 30th anniversary exhibition : Phoenix Art Museum, October 20 through November 19, 1995.
  • Cowboy dances : a collection of western square dances / by Lloyd Shaw ; with a foreword by Sherwood Anderson ; appendix cowboy dance tunes arranged by Frederick Knorr.
  • Cowboy lyrics / by Robert V. Carr.
  • Cowboy poetry / by Colen H. Sweeten Jr.
  • Cowboy poetry : a gathering / edited and with an introd. by Hal Cannon.
  • Dorothy's collection of quips, quotes and good clean jokes, no. 1 / [Dorothy Galyean].
  • Dry Creek rhymes / John Cutler Dofflemyer.
  • Folksinger's wordbook / compiled and edited by Irwin and Fred Silber.
  • Heart songs : dear to the American people, and by them contributed in the search for treasured songs conducted by Joe Mitchell Chapple in the National magazine.
  • Horses, hitches, and rocky trails / by Joe Back.
  • How to tie the diamond hitch / by Joe W. Back.
  • In the trail of the wind : American Indian poems and ritual orations / edited by John Bierhorst.
  • Molybdenum / Sam Agins.
  • Mooching moose and mumbling men / by Joe Back.
  • Moods and inspirations of a showman / by Harry A. Lucas.
  • Mountain ballads for social singing / collected and selected by James Watt Raine ; music collected by Cecil J. Sharp.
  • Mountain songs.
  • Old West Outfitters catalog no. 1.
  • Old cowboys never die / Everett Brisendine.
  • Orejana bull (pronounced oh-re-han-ńah) for cowboys only / by Gail I. Gardner.
  • Over the bridge / with Bill May.
  • Projectile point types of the American Indian : price guide / by Robert K. Moore.
  • Quips and quotes and cleaned up jokes, no. 2 / Dorothy Galyean.
  • Red Fenwick's West: yesterday and today / with illus. by H. Ray Baker, Frank Johnson [and] Bill Brown.
  • Seven half-miles from home : notes of a Wind River naturalist / Mary Back.
  • Sittin' and a-thinkin'/ by Ernst Peterson and Glenn Chaffin.
  • Soda for the sourdoughs / by Fern K. Nelson.
  • Songs of Wyoming / by Hans Kleiber.
  • Songs of the sage the poetry of Curley Fletcher / Curley Fletcher ; with a preface by Hal Cannon.
  • Starlight on the rails : and other songs / by U. Utah Phillips.
  • Tales of California from the history and folklore of the Far West / Hector Lee ; illustrated by Sam Sirdofsky.
  • Th' cottonwoods / by Bill May.
  • The Nevada cowboy's album of songs : Folio No.8 / Dallas Turner.
  • The cowboy and horses / by Van Holyoak.
  • The good old boys / Elmer Kelton.
  • The good times / Russell Baker.
  • The old guide remembers & the young guide finds out / Joe Back and Vic Lemmon.
  • The sucker's teeth / Joe Back.
  • The time the bears won / story by Bill May. Illustrated by David Bowie May.
  • The time traveler in old Colorado : legends, tales and stories about Pikes Peak country / by Jim Easterbrook.
  • The toastmaster : special issue : going after laughter.
  • This was Jackson's Hole : incidents & profiles from the settlement of Jackson Hole / Fern K. Nelson.
  • Variety from the sourdough jug / Fern K. Nelson.
  • Western heart throbs : a select collection of favorite songs; words and music complete; full piano arrangements and guitar diagrams.
Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License