Skip to Main Content

Guide to Books in the Fife Folklore Archives: Folk Coll 9

This guide provides an overview of the books housed within the folklore collections in Utah State University’s Special Collections and Archives (SCA). Many of these book groupings were assembled by folklorists, donors, and researchers over several decades

Folk Collection 9 - The Olive Burt Collection

The alphabetized sections are expandable and collapsible. Click a letter range to view the titles in that section. For quick searching, use Ctrl+F (Windows) or Command+F (Mac) to find keywords or specific titles on the page. To request an item, look up the title in the USU Libraries online catalog to confirm the exact record and call number, then submit your request through Special Collections and Archives.

Folk Coll 9 – A–Z Book List

A–Z Titles
  • A guide to American folklore / Levette J. Davidson.
  • A treasury of Mississippi River folklore; stories, ballads, traditions, and folkways of mid-American river country. Foreword by Carl Carmer.
  • America in legend: folklore from the colonial period to the present [by] Richard M. Dorson.
  • American ballads. Folk treasures of the American past in verse and song. Compiled by Charles O'Brien Kennedy with the assistance of David Jordan.
  • Ballad makin' in the mountains of Kentucky / by Jean Thomas; with music arranged by Walter Kob.
  • Ballads of the great West / edited with commentary by Austin & Alta Fife. ; with line drawings by Glen Rounds.
  • Comic ballads / by Thomas Hood.
  • Down East : another cargo of Tales told under the old town clock / by William C. Borrett.
  • Folk music; a catalog of folk songs, ballads, dances, instrumental pieces, and folk tales of the United States and Latin America on phonograph records.
  • Folk tale, fiction and saga in the Homeric epics / by Rhys Carpenter.
  • Folklore of the great West : selections from eighty-three years of the Journal of American folklore / edited with extensive commentary by John Greenway ; with line drawings by Glen Rounds.
  • Folksongs of Mississippi and their background / by Arthur Palmer Hudson.
  • Fun in American folk rhymes / with drawings by Ed Hargis and an introduction by Carl Carmer.
  • God bless the devil! Liars' bench tales [by] James R. Answell, Julia Willhoit, Jennette Edwards [and others] of the Tennessee writers' project; with illustrations by Ann Kelley of the Tennessee art project.
  • Hawaiian wonder tales / Post Wheeler; illustrated by Jack Matthew.
  • Historical & legendary ballads & songs / by Walter Thornbury.
  • Indian folklore tales / retold by Bernice Insley; illustrated by Russell Insley.
  • Irish folk songs and tales / Henry M. Tichenor.
  • Korea sings; folk and popular music and lyrics / Tae-hfung Ha.
  • Negro slave songs in the United States / by Miles Mark Fisher ; with a foreword by Ray Allen Billington.
  • Old ballads.
  • Paul Bunyan, last of the frontier demigods / Daniel G. Hoffman.
  • Read 'em and weep. A treasury of American songs - With an album of elegant art / Foreword by Richard Rodgers.
  • Russian folk-songs as sung by the people, and peasant wedding ceremonies customary in northern and central Russia/ From authentic material collected and tr. by Mme. Eugenie Lineff, with a preface on Russian folk-songs by H. E. Krehbiel.
  • Sea songs of sailing, whaling, and fishing / Burl Ives.
  • Singing family of the Cumberlands / Jean Richie ; Illustrated by Maurice Sendak.
  • Songs of the cowboys / comp. by N. Howard Thorp ("Jack" Thorp) with an introduction by Alice Corbin Henderson.
  • Spanish ballads / translated with an introd. by W. S. Merwin.
  • Survival of legends; legends and their relation to history, literature, and life of the Southwest / Roselle Williams Crawford.
  • Tales of a dude wrangler / Gene Hoopes; with an introd. by Charles Franklin Parker and illus. by George Phippen.
  • Tales of the Western World f: folk tales of the Americas / collected by Ruth Elgin Suddeth and Constance Gay Morenus ; illustrated by Warren Hunter.
  • Texas folk and folklore / edited by Mody C. Boatright, Wilson M. Hudson [and] Allen Maxwell. Drawings by José Cisneros.
  • Texas folk songs / William A. Owens ; music arrangements by Willa Mae Kelly Koehn.
  • The history and legends of Rogues' Hollow / Russell W. Frey.
  • The Nonabel song collection complete./ Compiled by Effie Louise Koogle, Archibald Humboldt.
  • Who blowed up the church house? and other Ozark folk tales / with notes by Herbert Halpert. Illus. by Glen Rounds.
Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License