Skip to Main Content

Guide to Books in the Fife Folklore Archives: Folk Coll 41

This guide provides an overview of the books housed within the folklore collections in Utah State University’s Special Collections and Archives (SCA). Many of these book groupings were assembled by folklorists, donors, and researchers over several decades

Folk Collection 41 - The John S. and Orpha S. Boyden Family Native American Book Collection

The alphabetized sections are expandable and collapsible. Click a letter range to view the titles in that section. For quick searching, use Ctrl+F (Windows) or Command+F (Mac) to find keywords or specific titles on the page. To request an item, look up the title in the USU Libraries online catalog to confirm the exact record and call number, then submit your request through Special Collections and Archives.

Folk Coll 41 – A–Z Book List

A–Z Titles
  • A brief history of Navajo silversmithing / by Arthur Woodward ; with field notes by Richard Van Valkenburgh. — Woodward, Arthur, 1898-1986
  • A history of the Indians of the United States / by Angie Debo. — Debo, Angie, 1890-1988
  • A history of the Northern Ute people / by Fred A. Conetah ; edited by Kathryn L. MacKay and Floyd A. O'Neil. — Conetah, Fred A., 1924-1980
  • A pictorial history of the American Indian / by Oliver La Farge. — La Farge, Oliver, 1901-1963
  • A short history of the Navajo people / by Richard Van Valkenburg. — Van Valkenburg, Richard F.
  • A treasury of American Indian herbs : their lore and their use for food, drugs, and medicine / Virginia Scully. — Scully, Virginia
  • American Indians in the Pacific : the theory behind the Kon-Tiki Expedition / by Thor Heyerdahl. — Heyerdahl, Thor
  • Among the Mescalero Apaches : the story of Father Albert Braun, O.F.M. / Dorothy Emerson. — Emerson, Dorothy
  • An introduction to southwestern Indian arts & crafts / by Tom Bahti ; photography by K. Camille den Dooven. — Bahti, Tom
  • Book of the Hopi / by Frank Waters ; drawings and source material recorded by Oswald White Bear Fredericks. — Waters, Frank, 1902-1995
  • Book of the Hopi / by Frank Waters ; drawings and source material recorded by Oswald White Bear Fredericks. — Waters, Frank, 1902-1995
  • Bury my heart at Wounded Knee : an Indian history of the American West / by Dee Brown. — Brown, Dee, 1908-2002
  • Cliff dwellings of the Mesa Verde : a story in pictures / Don Watson. — Watson, Don
  • Culture in crisis : a study of the Hopi Indians / Laura Thompson ; with a foreword by John Collier, & a chapter from the writings of Benjamin Lee Whorf. — Thompson, Laura, 1905-2000
  • Dictionary of the American Indian / by John L. Stoutenburgh, Jr. — Stoutenburgh, John, 1921-
  • Famous Indian tribes / by William Moyers and David C. Cooke ; illustrated by William Moyers. — Moyers, William
  • Famous Indians : a collection of short biographies. — United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs
  • First families of the Southwest / edited by J.F.H. — Harvey, Fred
  • Fort Laramie National Monument, Wyoming / by David L. Hieb. — Hieb, David L.
  • Gallup, New Mexico : the land of enchantment : Gallup, New Mexico, the Indian capital. — Inter-Tribal Indian Ceremonial Association
  • Good medicine : memories of the real West / Charles M. Russell ; with an introduction by Will Rogers and a biographical note by Nancy C. Russell. — Russell, Charles M. (Charles Marion), 1864-1926
  • Handbook of northern Arizona pottery wares / by Harold Sellers Colton and Lyndon Lane Hargrave. — Colton, Harold Sellers, 1881-1970
  • Handbook of northern Arizona pottery wares / by Harold Sellers Colton and Lyndon Lane Hargrave. Supplement no. 1. Colored plates of San Juan red ware and Tsegi orange ware / by Virgil Hubert. — Colton, Harold Sellers, 1881-1970
  • He walked the Americas / L. Taylor Hansen. — Hansen, L. Taylor (Lucile Taylor)
  • Hopi customs, folklore, and ceremonies.
  • Hopi ethics : a theoretical analysis / Richard B. Brandt. — Brandt, Richard B.
  • Hopi history. — Museum of Northern Arizona
  • Hopi kachina dolls : with a key to their identification / by Harold S. Coltoon ; color photographs by Jack Breed. — Colton, Harold Sellers, 1881-1970
  • Hopi miniature baskets / by Byron Harvey and Suzanne de Berge. — Harvey, Byron
  • Hopi songs / by Benjamin Ives Gilman. — Gilman, Benjamin Ives, 1852-1933
  • Hopi songs / by Benjamin Ives Gilman. — Gilman, Benjamin Ives, 1852-1933
  • How : sign talk in pictures / by Iron Eyes Cody assisted by Ye-was ; illustrated by Clarence Ellsworth; posed by Iron Eyes and Ye-was. — Cody, Iron Eyes, 1904-1999
  • Hunting habits of the early Nevada Paiutes / Harry W. Gilmore. — Gilmore, Harry W.
  • Hunting habits of the early Nevada Paiutes / Harry W. Gilmore. — Gilmore, Harry W.
  • In a sacred manner we live : photographs of the North American Indian / by Edward S. Curtis ; introduction & commentary by Don D. Fowler ; selection of photography by Rachel F. Homer. — Curtis, Edward S., 1868-1952
  • Indian and Eskimo artifacts of North America / Charles Miles ; with a foreword by Frederick J. Dockstader. — Miles, Charles, 1894-
  • Indian art of the Americas / LeRoy H. Appleton. — Appleton, LeRoy H.
  • Indian art of the United States / by Frederic H. Douglas and Rene d'Harnoncourt. — Douglas, Frederic H. (Frederic Huntington), 1897-1956
  • Indian art of the United States / by Frederic H. Douglas and Rene d'Harnoncourt. — Douglas, Frederic H. (Frederic Huntington), 1897-1956
  • Indian man : a life of Oliver La Farge / D'Arcy McNickle. — McNickle, D'Arcy, 1904-1977
  • Indian painters & white patrons / by J. J. Brody. — Brody, J. J.
  • Indian self-rule : first-hand accounts of Indian-white relations from Roosevelt to Reagan / edited by Kenneth R. Philp ; with a foreword by Alvin M. Josephy, Jr. and E. Richard Hart. — Philp, Kenneth R., 1941-
  • Indians and outlaws : settling of the San Juan frontier / by Albert R. Lyman. — Lyman, Albert R. (Albert Robison), 1880-1973
  • Indians at work. — United States. Office of Indian Affairs
  • Indians at work. — United States. Office of Indian Affairs
  • Indians in Washington.
  • Indians of the Mesa Verde / Don Watson. — Watson, Don
  • Indians of the Pacific Northwest / by Ruth Underhill. — Underhill, Ruth, 1883-1984
  • Indians of the Southwest / by Harold and Delaine Kellogg ; with photographs by the authors. — Kellogg, Harold
  • Isleta paintings / with introd. and commentary by Elsie Clews Parsons ; edited by Esther S. Goldfrank. — Goldfrank, Esther Schiff
  • John S. Boyden : three score and ten in retrospect / [by Orpha Sweeten Boyden ... and others]. — Boyden, Orpha Sweeten
  • Know the Navajo / compiled by Sandford W. Hassell ; illustrated by Paul Bringle. — Hassell, Sandford W.
  • Land of the moon-children : the primitive San Blas culture in flux / Clyde E. Keeler. — Keeler, Clyde E. (Clyde Edgar), 1900-1994
  • Little herder in autumn / by Ann Nolan Clark ; illustrated by Hoke Denetsosie. — Clark, Ann Nolan, 1896-1995
  • Little herder in spring = Dáago nańiłkaadí yázhí / Ann Clark ; illustrated by Hoke Denetsosie ; linguistics by John P. Harrington [and] Robert W. Young ; edited by Willard W. Beatty. — Clark, Ann Nolan, 1896-1995
  • Little herder in summer = Shíigo nańiłkaadí yázhí / Ann Clark ; illustrated by Hoke Denetsosie ; linguistics by John P. Harrington [and] Robert W. Young. — Clark, Ann Nolan, 1896-1995
  • Little herder in winter = Haigo nańiłkaadí yázhí / Ann Clark ; illustrated by Hoke Denetsosie ; linguistics by John P. Harrington [and] Robert W. Young ; a publication of the Education division, U.S. Office of Indian affairs. — Clark, Ann Nolan, 1896-1995
  • Little Man's family = Diné yázhí ba'áłchíní : primer / by J.B. Enochs ; illustrated by Gerald Nailor. — Enochs, J. B. (James Byron), 1913-1993
  • Masked gods : Navaho and Pueblo ceremonialism / Frank Waters. — Waters, Frank, 1902-1995
  • Me and mine : the life story of Helen Sekaquaptewa / as told to Louise Udall ; illustrated by Phillip Sekaquaptewa. — Sekaquaptewa, Helen, 1898-1991
  • Mineral Creek site and Hooper Ranch Pueblo : eastern Arizona / Paul S. Martin, John B. Rinaldo [and] William A. Longacre. — Martin, Paul S. (Paul Sidney), 1899-1974
  • Modern Hopi pottery / by Kathryn A. Sikorski. — Sikorski, Kathryn A. (Kathryn Ann), 1930-
  • Montezuma Castle National Monument, Arizona / by Albert H. Schroeder and Homer F. Hastings. — Schroeder, Albert H.
  • Navaho Indian rugs : an information pamphlet of the Indian Arts and Crafts Board. — United States. Indian Arts and Crafts Board
  • Navaho weaving today / by Bertha P. Dutton. — Dutton, Bertha P. (Bertha Pauline), 1903-1994
  • Navajo native dyes : their preparation and use / recipes formulated by Nonabah G. Bryan, Navajo ; compiled by Stella Young ; illustrated with drawings by Charles Keetsie Shirley, Navajo. — Young, Stella
  • North American Indian portraits : 120 full-color plates from the McKenney-Hall Portrait Gallery of American Indians / by James D. Horan. — Horan, James D. (James David), 1914-1981
  • Of utmost good faith / edited by Vine Deloria. — Deloria, Vine
  • Our brother's keeper: the Indian in white America / Edgar S. Cahn, editor. — Cahn, Edgar S.
  • Prehistoric Indians of the Southwest / by H. M. Wormington. — Wormington, H. M. (Hannah Marie), 1914-1994
  • Pueblo crafts / by Ruth Underhill. — Underhill, Ruth, 1883-1984
  • Quill and beadwork of the western Sioux / by Carrie A. Lyford ; edited by Willard W. Beatty. — Lyford, Carrie A. (Carrie Alberta)
  • Quill and beadwork of the western Sioux / by Carrie A. Lyford ; illustrated with photographs and drawings. — Lyford, Carrie A. (Carrie Alberta)
  • Scouting for the Mormons on the great frontier / by Sidney Alvarus Hanks and Ephraim K. Hanks. — Hanks, Sidney Alvarus
  • Seven arrows / Hyemeyohsts Storm. — Storm, Hyemeyohsts
  • Silver jewelry of the Navaho and Pueblo Indians / an information pamphlet of the Indian Arts and Crafts Board. — United States. Indian Arts and Crafts Board
  • So you want to buy a Navajo rug? / [by Edward S. Merry]. — Merry, Edward S.
  • Social organization of the western pueblos / by Fred Eggan. — Eggan, Fred, 1906-1991
  • Southwestern Indian ceremonials / by Tom Bahti. — Bahti, Tom
  • Sun chief : the autobiography of a Hopi Indian / edited by Leo W. Simmons. — Talayesva, Don C., 1890-1985
  • Sun in the sky / by Walter Collins O'Kane. — O'Kane, Walter Collins, 1877-1973
  • Tapestries in sand : the spirit of Indian sandpainting / paintings and interpretation by David V. Villaseñor ; photography by Los Angeles County Museum ; prefaced by Vinson Brown. — Villaseñor, David
  • Tendoy : chief of the Lemhis / by David L. Crowder. — Crowder, David L.
  • The ABC of Navaho / Robert W. Young [and] William Morgan. — Young, Robert W., 1912-2007
  • The American Indian. — American Association on Indian Affairs
  • The art of North America / by Wolfgang Haberland. — Haberland, Wolfgang
  • The bark canoes and skin boats of North America / Edwin Tappan Adney and Howard I. Chapelle. — Adney, Tappan, 1868-1950
  • The book of Indian crafts & Indian lore / by Julian Harris Solomon; with many illustrations by the author and others. — Salomon, Julian Harris, 1896-1987
  • The Boyden Kachina doll collection. — Boyden, Orpha Sweeten
  • The Boyden Kachina doll collection. — Boyden, Orpha Sweeten
  • The crafts of the Ojibwa (Chippewa) / by Carrie A. Lyford — Lyford, Carrie A. (Carrie Alberta)
  • The Eastern Cherokees : how they live today, their history.
  • "The first Americans" : Indians of New Mexico. — New Mexico. State Tourist Bureau
  • The fourth world of the Hopis / Harold Courlander ; decorations by Enrico Arno. — Courlander, Harold, 1908-1996
  • The Goldwater Kachina Doll Collection : presented to the Heard Museum by Barry M. Goldwater. — Harvey, Byron
  • The Goldwater Kachina Doll Collection : presented to the Heard Museum by Barry M. Goldwater. — Harvey, Byron
  • The Hopi Indians : their history and their culture / by Harry C. James ; illustrations by Don Perceval. — James, Harry C. (Harry Clebourne), 1896-1978
  • The Hopi-Tewa and his reservation / compiled by the Branch of Adult Education, Bureau of Indian Affairs, Hopi Indian Agency.
  • The Hopis : portrait of a desert people / by Walter Collins O'Kane ; with photographs in color by the author. — O'Kane, Walter Collins, 1877-1973
  • The Indian : America's unfinished business / compiled by William A. Brophy and Sophie D. Aberle [and others]. — Aberle, Sophie D., 1899-1996
  • The last of the Indian wars / Forbes Parkhill. — Parkhill, Forbes, 1892-1974
  • The Navaho / Clyde Kluckhohn and Dorothea Leighton ; revisions made by Lucy H. Wales and Richard Kluckhohn. — Kluckhohn, Clyde, 1905-1960
  • The Navaho / Clyde Kluckhohn and Dorothea Leighton ; revisions made by Lucy H. Wales and Richard Kluckhohn. — Kluckhohn, Clyde, 1905-1960
  • The Navaho door : an introduction to Navaho life / Alexander H. Leighton [and] Dorothea C. Leighton ; foreword by John Collier. — Leighton, Alexander H. (Alexander Hamilton), 1908-2007
  • The Navajo Indians and Federal Indian policy, 1900-1935 / [by] Lawrence C. Kelly. — Kelly, Lawrence C.
  • The Navajos / Ruth M. Underhill. — Underhill, Ruth, 1883-1984
  • The northern Paiute Indians of California and Nevada / by Ruth Underhill ; illustrated by Velino Herrera (Ma-pe-wi) ; edited by William W. Beatty. — Underhill, Ruth, 1883-1984
  • The Papago Indians of Arizona and their relatives the Pima / by Ruth Underhill ; illustrated with photographs from the Bureau of American Ethnology and drawings by Velino Herrera (Ma-pe-wi). — Underhill, Ruth, 1883-1984
  • The Seminole Indians of Florida : a summary of Seminole Indian history, Indian Service activities, and social, religious, educational and economic conditions. — United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Seminole Agency
  • The soul of the Indian : an interpretation / by Charles Alexander Eastman (Ohiyesa). — Eastman, Charles A., 1858-1939
  • The story of the Blackfeet / by John C. Ewers. — Ewers, John C. (John Canfield), 1909-1997
  • The Ute system of government. — Uintah-Ouray Ute Tribe
  • The Utes : a forgotten people / Wilson Rockwell. — Rockwell, Wilson
  • The Zũni Indians / Matilda Coxe Stevenson. — Stevenson, Matilda Coxe, 1850-1915
  • Truth of a Hopi and other clan stories of Shung-Opovi / by Edmund Nequatewa ; edited by Mary-Russell F. Colton. — Nequatewa, Edmund, approximately 1880-1969
  • Universal Indian sign language of the Plains Indians of North America : together with a simplified method of study, a list of words in most general use, a codification of pictographic symbols of the Sioux and Ojibway, a dictionary of synonyms, a history of sign language, chapters on smoke signaling, use of idioms, etc., and other important co-related matter / [by William Tomkins]. — Tomkins, William
  • Utah historical quarterly. — Utah State Historical Society
  • Utah Indian stories / by Milton R. Hunter. — Hunter, Milton R. (Milton Reed), 1902-1975
Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License