Skip to Main Content

Guide to Books in the Fife Folklore Archives: Folk Coll 14

This guide provides an overview of the books housed within the folklore collections in Utah State University’s Special Collections and Archives (SCA). Many of these book groupings were assembled by folklorists, donors, and researchers over several decades

Folk Collection 14 - The Folklore Journals Collection

Folk Collection 14 consists primarily of folklore and ethnology journals, but it also includes a small number of individually published items such as pamphlets, folktales, or standalone reports. Call numbers in this collection often end with short alphabetical suffixes that identify specific periodical titles (for example, JAFL for Journal of American Folklore or SO for Sing Out!).

The alphabetized sections are expandable and collapsible. Click a letter range to view the titles in that section. For quick searching, use Ctrl+F (Windows) or Command+F (Mac) to find keywords or specific titles on the page. To request an item, look up the title in the USU Libraries online catalog to confirm the exact record and call number, then submit your request through Special Collections and Archives.

Folk Coll 14 – A–Z Journal List

A–F Titles
  • A manual for field workers / by Edward D. Ives.
  • A motif index for lost mines and treasures applied to redaction of Arizona legends, and to lost mine and treasure legends exterior to Arizona / Byrd Howell Granger.
  • A motif-index of Luis Rosado Vega's Mayan legends / by Jim C. Tatum.
  • ARV : Scandinavian Yearbook of Folklore 1981 Vol. 37 / Bengt R. Jonsson, editor.
  • Abstracts of folklore studies.
  • Acoustic musician magazine.
  • Am Ur-Quell.
  • Am Urds-Brunnen : Mittheilungen für Freunde Volksthümlich-wissenschaftlicher Kunde.
  • An index to "The proverb" / by Archer Taylor.
  • Attitudes and interpretations in comparative religion / by Rene Gothoni.
  • Bericht über die Sammlung deutscher Volkslieder... / erstattet vom Volksliedausschuss des Verbandes deutscher Vereine für Volkskunde.
  • Between the living and the dead / by Roger D. Abrahams.
  • Bodylore / Katherine Young and Barbara Babcock, guest editors.
  • Boots.
  • Bulletin of the Folk-Song Society of the Northeast.
  • Bulletin of the Folksong Society of the Northeast (reprint) : with introduction by Samuel P. Bayard.
  • California folklore quarterly.
  • Child murderess and dead child traditions : a comparative study / by Anne O'Connor.
  • Collectanea : papers in folklore, popular & expressive culture.
  • Colorado folksong bulletin.
  • Contemporary legend : the journal of the International Society for Contemporary Legend Research.
  • Cultural analysis : an interdisciplinary forum on folklore and popular culture.
  • Culture & tradition.
  • Current anthropology.
  • Daedalus : proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.
  • Das estnisch-ingermanlandische Maie-lied : eine vergleichende untersuchung mit der unterstutzung des Alfred-Kordelinschen fondes / von Antti Aarne.
  • Das lied vom angeln der jungfrau Vellamos : eine vergleichende untersuchung / von Antti Aarne.
  • Dem andenken Kaarle Krohns : rede in der sitzung der Finnischen akademie der wissenschaften am 16. mai 1934 / von Uno Harva.
  • FF communications.
  • Folklore Americas.
  • Folklore and folk music archivist.
  • Folklore and mythology studies.
  • Folklore annual of the University Folklore Association.
  • Folklore forum.
  • Folklore forum. Bibliographic and special series.
  • Folklore in use : applications in the real world.
  • Folklore.
  • Folkminnen och folktankar.
  • Folkways.
  • Foxfire.
  • Frets.
G–L Titles
  • Greating the source through folkloristic fieldwork : a personal narrative / by Bente Gullveig Alver.
  • Gwerin.
  • Heritage of Kansas.
  • Hessische Blätter für Volkskunde.
  • Humor.
  • ISFNR newsletter.
  • Il Folklore italiano : archivio trimestrale per la raccolta e lo studio delle tradizioni popolare italiane.
  • Indiana folklore and oral history.
  • Indiana folklore.
  • Intermountain acoustic musician.
  • Interpreting oral narrative / by Anna-Leena Siikala.
  • JEMF newsletter.
  • JEMF quarterly.
  • Jahrbuch für ostdeutsche Volkskunde.
  • Jewish folklore and ethnology.
  • Journal of applied folklore.
  • Journal of folklore research.
  • Journal of popular culture.
  • Journal of the English Folk Dance & Song Society.
  • Journal of the Folk-Song Society ...
  • Journal of the Folklore Institute.
  • Katahdin : wigwam's tales of the Abnaki Tribe and a dictionary of Penobscot and Passamaquoddy words with French and English translations / by Molly Spotted Elk.
  • Kentucky folklore record.
  • Keystone folklore : a publication of the Pennsylvania Folklore Society.
  • Keystone folklore quarterly.
  • La Tradición popular.
  • Letters to Ambrose Merton.
  • Louisiana folklore miscellany.
M–R Titles
  • Maledicta : the international journal of verbal aggression.
  • Man myth & magic : an illustrated encyclopedia of the supernatural.
  • Mandolin magazine : a quarterly magazine for mandolin players & enthusiasts.
  • Mandolin quarterly.
  • Marvels & tales.
  • Michigan folklife annual / Michigan State University Museum, Michigan State University.
  • Mid-America folklore.
  • Mid-South folklore.
  • Midwest folklore.
  • Midwestern folklore.
  • Midwestern journal of language and folklore.
  • Min jian wen hua lun tan = Forum on folk culture.
  • Mississippi folklore register.
  • Missouri Folklore Society journal.
  • Moral fictions : Tamil folktales from oral tradition / by Stuart Blackburn.
  • Motif, type and genre : a manual for compilation of indices & a bibliography of indices and indexing / by Heda Jason.
  • NIF newsletter.
  • NIF papers / Nordic Institute of Folklore.
  • Narratives in society : a performer-centered study of narration / by Linda Dégh.
  • New York folklore quarterly.
  • New York folklore.
  • Nihon minzokugaku / Nihon Minzoku Gakkai.
  • North Carolina folklore journal.
  • North Carolina folklore.
  • Northeast folklore : essays in honor of Edward D. Ives / edited by Pauleena MacDougall and David Taylor ; with the assistance of Elizabeth Hedler.
  • Northeast folklore.
  • Northwest folklore.
  • Old time New England : the bulletin of the Society for the Preservation of New England Antiquities.
  • Oral tradition.
  • People's songs : bulletin of People's Songs Inc., organized to create, promote, and distribute songs of labor and the American people.
  • Pickin'.
  • Proceedings of the Association for Living History, Farm, and Agricultural Museums (ALHFAM) conference and annual meeting
  • Proceedings of the annual meeting / the Association for Living Historical Farms and Agricultural Museums.
  • Proverbia septentrionalia : 900 Balto-Finnic proverb types with Russian, Baltic, German and Scandinavian parallels / by Matti Kuusi, in cooperation with Marje Joalaid ... [and others] ; [translated by Nigel Brigden].
  • Proverbium.
  • Quarterly west.
  • Revue de folklore français : organe de la Société du folklore français.
  • Revue de folklore français et de folklore colonial : organe de la Société du folklore français et du folklore colonial.
S–Z Titles
  • Scottish studies.
  • Selected writings on proverbs / by Archer Taylor ; edited by Wolfgang Mieder.
  • Sheet music magazine. Easy piano.
  • Sing out!
  • Sommeils et veilles dans le conte merveilleux grec / par Marilena Papachristophorou.
  • Southern folklore quarterly.
  • Southern folklore.
  • Southwest folklore.
  • The Arizona quarterly.
  • The Bend in the River reality.
  • The Journal of American folk-lore.
  • The Matti Kuusi international type system of proverbs / by Outi Lauhakangas.
  • The New Mexico folklore record.
  • The New-England galaxy.
  • The ballad of Heer Halewijn : its forms and variations in Western Europe : a study of the history and nature of a ballad tradition / by Holger Olof Nygard.
  • The black gentleman : manifestations of the Devil in Estonian folk religion / by Ülo Valk ; [translated by Ülle Männart].
  • The black ox : a study in the history of a folk-tale / by Archer Taylor.
  • The children's folklore review.
  • The Coon in the box: a global folktale in African-American context / by John Minton and David Evans.
  • The halfchick tale in Spain and France / by Ralph Steele Boggs.
  • The morphology of North American Indian folktales / by Alan Dundes.
  • The new comparative method : structural and symbolic analysis of the allomotifs of Snow White / by Steven Swann Jones.
  • The types of the folktale : a classification and bibliography / Antti Aarne ; translated and enlarged by Stith Thompson.
  • Tools & tillage.
  • Towards an international type-system of proverbs / by Matti Kuusi ; translated [from Finnish] by Robert Goebel.
  • Tradiciones de Guatemala.
  • Typenverzeichnis der bulgarischen Volksmärchen / von Liliana Daskalova Perkowski ... [and others] ; bearbeitet und herausgegeben von Klaus Roth ; [Übersetzung von Klaus Roth, Juliana Roth und Gabi Tiemann].
  • West Virginia folklore.
  • Western folklore.
  • Winterthur portfolio.
  • Yearbook of the International Folk Music Council.
  • Zeitschrift für Volkskunde / im Auftrage des Verbandes Deutscher Vereine für Volkskunde.
Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License