Skip to Main Content

Guide to Books in the Fife Folklore Archives: Folk Coll 2

This guide provides an overview of the books housed within the folklore collections in Utah State University’s Special Collections and Archives (SCA). Many of these book groupings were assembled by folklorists, donors, and researchers over several decades

Folk Collection 2 - Collected Publications of Austin and Alta Fife

The alphabetized sections are expandable and collapsible. Click a letter range to view the titles in that section. For quick searching, use Ctrl+F (Windows) or Command+F (Mac) to find keywords or specific titles on the page. To request an item, look up the title in the USU Libraries online catalog to confirm the exact record and call number, then submit your request through Special Collections and Archives.

Folk Coll 2 – A–Z Book List

A–Z Titles
  • A ballad of the Mountain Meadows Massacre / Austin E. Fife.
  • A rope skipping rhyme / A. E. Fife.
  • American folk arts and folk life exhibit / Austin E. Fie.
  • Ballads of the great West / edited with commentary by ...stin & Alta Fife. ; with line drawings by Glen Rounds.
  • Ballads of the Little Big Horn / Austin E. Fife.
  • Bill Bailey came home : as a farm boy, as a stowaway a... by William A. Bailey; edited by Austin and Alta Fife.
  • Birthmarks and psychic imprinting of babies in Utah folk medicine / by Austin E. Fife.
  • BYU Mormon missionary project index, USU Mormon missionary project index, BYU collection projects index.
  • Catalogue of the phonograph recordings of the Fife col... the Utah Humanities Research Foundation / A. E. Fife.
  • Christian swarm charms from the ninth to the nineteenth centuries / Austin E. Fife.
  • Circular tales / A. E. Fife.
  • Collected works of Austin E. and Alta S. Fife.
  • Comments on "The Homeric picture of the king" / by Austin E. Fife.
  • Comments on "The kingdom and the church in the Middle Ages" / by Austin E. Fife.
  • Comments on "The nature of mediaeval kingship" / by Austin E. Fife.
  • Comments on "The social basis of the medieval church" / by Austin E. Fife.
  • Comments on "The theory of the state in the Middle Ages" / by Austin E. Fife.
  • Comments on "The theory of the two swords in the Middle Ages" / by Austin E. Fife.
  • Comments on "The triumph of the papacy" / by Austin E. Fife.
  • Comments on Medieval history / by Austin E. Fife.
  • Cowboy ballads and cattle songs of the Rockies / Austin and Alta Fife.
  • Cradle songs of the West / Austin E. and Alta S. Fife.
  • Discography, fiddle music and songs of the West / by Austin E. Fife.
  • Falsity and truth in legend : a comparative study of legend and myth as exemplified by the legends of the Three Nephites and various Old World parallels / Austin E. Fife.
  • Field recordings and folk music collections related to Mormonism / Austin E. Fife.
  • Folk balladry and the cowboy / by Austin E. Fife.
  • Folk belief, folklore and legend in the West / by Austin E. Fife.
  • Folkways of the American cowboy / by Austin E. Fife.
  • Happiness in old age / A. E. Fife.
  • High school projects in folklore / Austin E. Fife.
  • Hints for fieldworkers in folklore / Austin E. Fife.
  • How Brigham Young likely acquired the Mountain Meadow cattle / by Austin E. Fife.
  • How to collect folksongs / by Austin and Alta Fife.
  • How to collect folkways / by Austin E. Fife.
  • How to collect religious and regional folklore / by Austin E. Fife.
  • Images of the West in American folklore / Austin E. Fife.
  • Index to the phonograph recordings in the famous Utah folk music collection / collected and edited by Austin and Alta Fife.
  • Informant index to the Utah State University folklore collections / by Austin E. and Alta S. Fife.
  • Introduction to folklore study / Austin E. Fife.
  • John D. Lee, scapegoat for the Mountain Meadows Massacre / by Austin E. and Alta S. Fife.
  • Legends of the West / Austin E. Fife.
  • Linguistic features of religious folklore / Austin E. Fife.
  • Little black horse / Austin E. Fife.
  • Logan, Utah : city of the Saints / by Austin E. Fife.
  • Lyrics of the American West / gathered and edited by Austin E. and Alta S. Fife.
  • Modern Mormon missionary ballads / by Austin E. Fife.
  • Mountain Meadows Massacre in history and folk legend / by Austin E. and Alta Fife.
  • New approaches to the historiography of the Mountain Meadows Massacre / by Austin E. and Alta S. Fife.
  • New folklore perspectives on the Mountain Meadows Massacre / by Austin E. and Alta S. Fife.
  • Notes on cowboy folksongs / by Austin E. Fife.
  • Observations on Mormon folkways / by Austin E. Fife.
  • Of mimeo music & printed music : a study of home-made student songbooks before the age of the photocopier and of printed manuals and songbooks previously used by them / by Austin E. Fife.
  • On the history of cowboy poetry / by Austin E. Fife.
  • Phonograph recordings for the study of folk music / compiled by Austin E. and Alta S. Fife.
  • Pioneer ballads of the Rockies / Austin E. and Alta S. Fife.
  • Pioneer legends of the Rockies / Austin E. and Alta S. Fife.
  • Pioneer songs of the Rockies / Austin E. and Alta S. Fife.
  • Popular culture: an exercise in definition / Austin E. Fife
  • Proverbial lore and its relationship to folklore / Austin E. Fife.
  • Religious folklore in the West / Austin E. Fife.
  • Religious folklore study in Utah / Austin E. Fife.
  • Religious folkways in the West / Austin E. Fife.
  • Religious songs of the Latter-day Saints / Austin E. and Alta S. Fife.
  • Sam Cowley and the Idaho desperado Harry Orchard / by Austin E. Fife.
  • Some religious folkways of the West / Austin E. Fife.
  • Studies in Mormon legendary history / Austin E. & Alta S. Fife.
  • Studies in religious folklore / by Austin E. Fife.
  • Studies in religious folklore of the Rocky Mountain West / Austin E. and Alta S. Fife.
  • Studies in Western country music / by Austin E. and Alta S. Fife.
  • Survey of Western Mormon ballads / by Austin E. Fife.
  • The ballad and the ballad singer in a Rocky Mountain region / Austin E. Fife.
  • The ballad of the Three Nephites / by Austin and Alta Fife.
  • The cowboy myth and the American consciousness / by Austin E. Fife.
  • The cowboy who wanted to be buried in the sky / by Austin E. and Alta S. Fife.
  • The cowboys and Mormon graveyards / by Austin E. and Alta S. Fife.
  • The development of Mormon folklore study / Austin E. and Alta S. Fife.
  • The disciplinary function of Mormon legends / Austin E. and Alta S. Fife.
  • The folklore of the Latter-day Saints / by Austin and Alta Fife.
  • The folklore of the Mormon country / by Austin E. and Alta S. Fife.
  • The folkways of the American cowboy / Austin E. and Alta S. Fife.
  • The Lewis and Clark expedition in story and song / Austin E. Fife.
  • The Mormon ghost / by Austin E. and Alta S. Fife.
  • The Mountain Meadows Massacre in history and folk legend / Austin E. and Alta S. Fife.
  • The religious significance of Mormon legends / Austin E. Fife.
  • The strawberry roan and his progeny / Austin E. Fife.
  • The tempo of the range : an interview with J. Frank Dobie / Austin E. Fife.
  • The Three Nephites : studies of a Mormon legend.
  • The three Nephites : the substance and significance of the legend in folklore / Hector Lee.
  • The three Nephites in popular tradition / Wayland D. Hand.
  • "The Trail to Mexico" Analysis / by Austin E. Fife.
  • The Western folklore conference : selected papers / Austin E. Fife.
  • The wild girl of the Santa Barbara Channel Islands / A. E. Fife.
  • Two variants of the Charlie Chaplin rhyme / A. E. Fife.
  • Utah Carroll : hero of the cattle stampede / Austin E. Fife.
  • Utah State University Folklore Collection / A. E. Fife.
  • Virginia folkways from a Mormon journal / A.E. Fife.
  • Wordplay, in highway-side nomenclature / A. E. Fife.
  • Yarns of air warfare / A. E. Fife.
Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License