LibGuides: Guide to Books in the Fife Folklore Archives: Folk Coll 35

Folk Collection 35 - The Barre Toelken Collection

The alphabetized sections are expandable and collapsible. Click a letter range to view the titles in that section. For quick searching, use Ctrl+F (Windows) or Command+F (Mac) to find keywords or specific titles on the page. To request an item, look up the title in the USU Libraries online catalog to confirm the exact record and call number, then submit your request through Special Collections and Archives.

Folk Coll 35 – A–Z Book List

A–L Titles

A Chetco Athabaskan myth text from southwestern Oregon / Elizabeth D. Jacobs.
A Doré treasury : a collection of the best engravings of Gustave Doré / edited and with an introduction by James Stevens.
A Siberian tale teller / Mark Azadovskiĭ ; translated by James R. Dow.
A book of country things. Told by Walter Needham. Recorded by Barrows Mussey.
A brief guide to folklore collecting / by Suzi Jones for the Archives of Northwest Folklore, University of Oregon.
A confederacy of dunces / John Kennedy Toole ; foreword by Walker Percy.
A cry from the earth : music of the North American Indians / by John Bierhorst.
A forest of time : American Indian ways of history / Peter Nabokov.
A guide for collectors of folklore in Utah / Jan Harold Brunvand.
A guide for collectors of folklore in Utah / Jan Harold Brunvand.
A handbook of Greek mythology : including its extension to Rome / by H.J. Rose.
A history of the Vikings / Gwyn Jones.
A magic dwells : a poetic and psychological study of the Navaho emergence myth / by Sheila Moon.
A manual for educators of Russian Old Believer children in Oregon / compiled by Marion County Russian Resource Committee.
A river in the desert / April Teresa Chabries Haws.
A sense of time and place : cultural persistance in American Indian literature / Barre Toelken.
A shared space : folklife in the Arizona-Sonora borderlands / by James S. Griffith.
A treasury of Afro-American folklore : the oral literature, traditions, recollections, legends, tales, songs, religious beliefs, customs, sayings, and humor of peoples of African descent in the Americas / [compiled] by Harold Courlander ; decorations by Enrico Arno.
A tree accurst : Bobby McMillon and stories of Frankie Silver / Daniel W. Patterson.
Aboriginal victors of the desert crusade / Robert Tonkinson.
Acculturation psychology, or, Modern Indian psychology : experimental text / John F. Bryde.
Achte deines Bruders Traum! : Gespräche mit nordamerikanischen Indianern 1978-1985 / hrsg. von Hartmut Lutz und der Indianerprojektgruppe Osnabrück.
African folklore [compiled by] Richard M. Dorson.
After the fact : two countries, four decades, one anthropologist / Clifford Geertz.
Agayuliyararput : kegginaqut, kangiit-llu = Our way of making prayer : Yup'ik masks and the stories they tell / transcribed and translated by Marie Meade ; edited by Ann Fienup-Riordan.
Agricultural and hunting methods of Navajo Indians / by W.W. Hill.
Agricultural and hunting methods of Navajo Indians / by W.W. Hill.
Alaska native writers, storytellers and orators / guest editors, Nara Dauenhauer, Richard Dauenhauer, Gary Holthaus ; executive editors, Ronald Spatz, James Jacób Liszka ; with an introduction by Rayna Green.
Alive and wailing in Vietnam : an alternative history of the Vietnam War from the vernacular voice / Matthew K. Irwin.
Allegro ma non troppo : die Rolle der Gewürze (insbesondere des Pfeffers) für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung des Mittelalters ; die Prinzipien der menschlichen Dummheit / Carlo M. Cipolla ; aus dem Italienischen von Moshe Kahn.
Allerleirauh : viele schöne Kinderreime / versammelt vom H.M. Enzensberger.
Allgemeines deutsches Kommersbuch / ursprünglich hrsg. von Hermann und Moritz Schauenburg unter musikalischer Leitung von Friedrich Silcher und Friedrich Erk.
Alraun, Beifuss und andere Hexenkräuter : Alltagswissen vergangener Zeiten / Dieter Beckmann, Barbara Beckmann.
Altars and icons : sacred spaces in everyday life / [compiled] by Jean McMann.
American Indian archery / by Reginald and Gladys Laubin ; photographs by Gladys Laubin ; drawings by Reginald Laubin.
American Indian authors : a representative bibliography / compiled by Arlene B. Hirschfelder.
American Indian fiction / Charles R. Larson.
American Indian literature : an anthology / edited and with an introd. by Alan R. Velie ; illustrated by Danny Timmons.
American Indian medicine / by Virgil J. Vogel.
American Indian prose and poetry : an anthology / edited and with an introductory essay by Margot Astrov.
American Indian prose and poetry : we wait in the darkness / edited and introduced by Gloria Levitas, Frank Robert Vivelo, Jacqueline J. Vivelo.
American Negro folktales / collected with introd. and notes by Richard M. Dorson.
American contradictions : interviews with nine American writers / edited by Wolfgang Binder and Helmbrecht Breinig.
American folk architecture : a selected bibliography / by Howard Wight Marshall ; with the assistance of Cheryl Gorn and Marsha Maguire.
American folk medicine : a symposium / edited, with introduction, by Wayland D. Hand.
American folk tales and songs: and other examples of English-American tradition as preserved in the Appalachian Mountains and elsewhere in the United States / Compiled, with introd. and notes ; drawings by Joshua Tolford. Music edited with the assistance of Raymond Kane McLain, Annabel Morris Buchanan, and John Powell.
American proverbs, maxims & folk sayings / compiled & edited by Elmer L. Smith.
Amerikanische Gettoliteratur : zur Literatur ethnischer, marginaler und unterdrückter Gruppen in Amerika / herausgegeben von Berndt Ostendorf ; unter Mitarbeit von Wolfgang Binder ... [and others]
Amish society / by John A. Hostetler.
Amors wilde Pfeile : Liebes- und Ehegeschichten zwischen den Kulturen / herausgegeben von Dianne Dicks ; aus dem Englischen von Annette Keller.
Amulette und Talismane : Symbole des magischen Alltags / Astrid und Joachim Knuf.
An American sampler / by Twilo Scofield.
An anthropology of everyday life : an autobiography / Edward T. Hall.
An historical event text from a Galice Athabaskan in Southwestern Oregon / Melville Jacobs.
An introduction to the Ukrainian-Canadian immigrant folksong cycle / by Robert B. Klymasz ; texts prepared and recorded by the author ; music transcriptions by Walter P. Klymkiw.
An oral canon for the Child ballads : construction and application / J. Barre Toelken.
Ancient songs and ballads : from the reign of King Henry the Second to the Revolution / collected by Joseph Ritson.
Angst und Hoffnung : Grundperspektiven der Weltauslegung / Vorträge von Wolfgang Blankenburg ... [and others] ; herausgegeben von Günter Eifler, Otto Saame und Peter Schneider ; Redaktion und Textgestaltung, Manfred Moser.
Anmerkungen zur kulturellen Identität von Deutsch-Amerikanern / Konrad Köstlin.
Annäherung an die Fremde / Konzeptidee und Projektleitung, Margret Poggemeier ; Redaktion/Konzeption, Angela Gutzeit, Birgit Sommer, Petra Appelhans ; Herausgeber, Stadt Osnabrück, Kulturamt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Frauenbüchercafé "Mother Jones."
Anthology of ancient Greek popular literature / edited by William Hansen.
Antike Wasserkultur / Renate Tölle-Kastenbein.
Arbeiterkultur seit 1945, Ende oder Veränderung? / herausgegeben von Wolfgang Kaschuba, Gottfried Korff und Bernd Jürgen Warneken.
Arbeitslosigkeit als Thema der Bild-Zeitung / Thomas Riedmiller.
Architecture of Acoma Pueblo : the 1934 Historic American Buildings Survey project / by Peter Nabokov.
Arrows four : prose and poetry by young American Indians / edited by T.D. Allen.
Art of the northern Tlingit / Aldona Jonaitis.
Arv.
Asian folklore studies.
Askeladden / [Jan H. Brunvand].
Assomption sash / by Marius Barbeau.
Aunt (ānt) Phyllis / by Beverly J. Robinson.
Ausländer : die verfemten Gäste / Christian Habbe (Hg.)
Ausländer, Inländer : Arbeitsmigration und kulturelle Identität / herausgegeben von Hermann Bausinger.
Ausstellung "Freut euch des Lebens" : anlässlich des 75-jährigen Jubiläums des Deutschen Volksliedarchivs, Freiburg i. Br. : Universitätsbibliothek Freiburg i. Br. 3. April bis 7. Mai 1989.
Australien / [Robert Tonkinson].
Auswanedererschicksal im Lied / Lutz Röhrich.
Autobiographische Aufzeichnungen des münsterländischen Bauern Philipp Richter (1815-1890) / hrsg. von Helmut Müller.
Available light : anthropological reflections on philosophical topics / Clifford Geertz.
Ballads and sea songs of Newfoundland / collected and edited by Elisabeth Bristol Greenleaf ; music recorded in the field by Grace Yarrow Mansfield and the editor.
Ballads and songs from Utah / collected and edited by Lester A. Hubbard ; music transcription by Kenly W. Whitelock.
Bauernballaden : lustige und traurige Begebenheiten, Heldengsäng, Moritaten und Spitzbubenstückln nach dem Volksmund des Alpenlandes / gesammelt und hrsg. von Walter Schmidkunz ; mit Bildern von Paul Neu.
Baum / [Donald Ward].
Bayerische Blätter für Volkskunde.
Bayerische Sagen : Sagen aus Altbayern, Schwaben und Franken / hrsg. von Günther Kapfhammer.
Bänkelsang und Moritat : [Ausstellung der Staatsgalerie Stuttgart, Graphische Sammlung, vom 14. Juni bis 24. August 1975 / Katalog : Ulrike Eichler].
Bärensohn / [Donald Ward].
Bedürfnis / [Hermann Bausinger].
Beginning Chinese / by John DeFrancis, with the assistance of Yung Teng Chia-yee.
Begräbnis / [Rudolf Schenda].
Beliefs and holy places : a spiritual geography of the Pimería Alta / James S. Griffith.
Berg / [Donald Ward].
Bergleute und Hüttenmänner in deutschsprachigen Untersuchungen von 1945 bis 1964 : Eine montanethnographische bibliographie von Helmut Wilsdorf. In Zusammenarbeit mit Herta Uhlrich.
Berichte.
Besprechungen.
Between sacred mountains : Navajo stories and lessons from the land / storytellers and teachers, Claudeen Arthur (Tsé Níjíkiní) ... [and others] ; seekers who asked and understood, Judy Apachee (Táchiiʻnii), Rex Lee Jim (Kin Łichíiʻnii) ; artists who looked and drew, Rudy Begay (Kin Łichíiʻnii), Wayne Charlie (Naaneeshtʻézhí), Hank Willie (Tsiʻnaajinii) ; listeners, learners, and scribes, Sam and Janet Bingham.
Beyond culture / Edward T. Hall.
Beyond the four corners of the world : a Navajo woman's journey / Emily Benedek.
Bibliography of Washington State folklore and folklife : selected and partially annotated / compiled and edited by Robert E. Walls.
Black folktales / Julius Lester ; illustrated by Tom Feelings.
Black rainbow : legends of the Incas and myths of ancient Peru / edited and translated by John Bierhorst ; decorations by Jane Byers Bierhorst.
Blackfoot musical thought : comparative perspectives / Bruno Nettl.
Bless me, Ultima : a novel / Rudolfo A. Anaya.
Bloodstoppers & bearwalkers : folk traditions of the Upper Peninsula / Richard M. Dorson.
Brauchtradition--Erhaltung, Veränderung, Mitgestaltung / Hermann Bausinger.
Brauchtum im Schwarzwald / Albert Reinhardt.
Bulfinch's mythology : The age of fable ; The age of chivalry ; Legends of Charlemagne / [Thomas Bulfinch]
Bunkhouse ballads : a book of verse concerning the trials and tribulations, lives and ways of that red-blooded, outdoor breed of men who have built the Great Northwest of America / by Robert E. Swanson ... ; illus. by Bert Bushell.
Buying the wind : regional folklore in the United States / by Richard M. Dorson.
By rite : custom, ceremony and community in England 1700-1880 / Bob Bushaway.
Calamity Jane and the lady wildcats / by Duncan Aikman ; introduction by Watson Parker with Life and adventures of Calamity Jane, by herself.
Canada today = Canada d'aujourd'hui. Vol. 7, no. 9.
Celtic Britain / Nora K. Chadwick.
Censorship : the search for the obscene / by Morris L. Ernst and Alan U. Schwartz ; with an introduction by Philip Scharper.
Ceramic uncles & celluloid mammies : black images and their influence on culture / Patricia A. Turner.
Changing visions [videorecording] : art of the Salish and Kootenai / director, Frank Tyro.
Chiefly feasts : the enduring Kwakiutl potlatch / edited by Aldona Jonaitis ; with essays by Douglas Cole ... [and others] ; contributions by Stacy Alyn Marcus, Judith Ostrowitz ; and special editorial help by Peter L. Macnair ; color photographs by Lynton Gardiner.
Chiefs of the sea and sky : Haida heritage sites of the Queen Charlotte Islands / George F. MacDonald.
Children's games in street and playground : chasing, catching, seeking, hunting, racing, duelling, exerting, daring, guessing, acting, pretending / by Iona and Peter Opie.
Chinese fables & wisdom : insights for better living / by Tom Te-wu Ma.
Chinese traditional festivals / by Marie-Luise Latsch.
Chugach legends : stories and photographs of the Chugach region / compiled by John F.C. Johnson.
Classical mythology / Mark P.O. Morford, Robert J. Lenardon.
Cogewea, the half blood : a depiction of the great Montana cattle range / by Hum-ishu-ma, "Mourning Dove" ; given through Sho-pow-tan ; with notes and biographical sketch by Lucullus Virgil McWhorter ; introduction by Dexter Fisher.
Collecting legal folk customs in Hungary / by Ernő Tárkány-Szücs.
Columbia River basketry : gift of the ancestors, gift of the earth / Mary Dodds Schlick.
Common-man biography : some notes by the way / Edward D. Ives.
Community music in Alberta : some good schoolhouse stuff! / by George W. Lyon.
Confines of literature, folklore, and folklorism / Vilmos Voigt.
Continuation of tradition in Navajo society / Chien Chiao.
Country wisdom/ by Jerry Mack Johnson.
Coyote tales / collected by William Morgan ; Navaho text and translation by Robert W. Young and William Morgan ; English adaptation by Hildegard Thompson ; illus. by Andrew Tsihnahjinnie.
Creative ethnicity : symbols and strategies of contemporary ethnic life / Stephen Stern and John Allan Cicala, editors.
Creativity and tradition in folklore : new directions / edited by Simon J. Bronner.
Crossroads of continents : cultures of Siberia and Alaska / William W. Fitzhugh and Aron Crowell.
Crystals in the sky : an intellectual odyssey involving Chumash astronomy, cosmology, and rock art / by Travis Hudson and Ernest Underhay ; foreword by Anthony F. Aveni ; illustrated by Campbell Grant.
Cuchulain of Muirthemne : the story of the men of the Red Branch of Ulster / arranged and put into English by Lady Gregory ; with a preface by W.B. Yeats.
Culture matters : how values shape human progress / Lawrence E. Harrison, Samuel P. Huntington, editors.
D. J. O'Malley, "Cowboy poet" / by D.J. O'Malley and John I. White ; edited by Michael Korn.
Dakota odowan = Dakota hymns / [John Poage Williamson, Alfred Longley Riggs, eds.].
Danish ballads and folk songs / selected and edited by Erik Dal ; translated by Henry Meyer ; woodcuts by Marcel Rasmussen.
Dankbarer Toter / [Lutz Röhrich].
Darkness in Saint Louis Bearheart / Gerald Vizenor.
Das Andere Tübingen : Kultur und Lebensweise der Unteren Stadt im 19. Jahrhundert / Autorenkollektiv, Karl Braun ... [and others]
Das Bauernhaus in Brandenburg und im Mittelelbegebiet.
Das Deutsche Volksliedarchiv : Freiburg i. Br.
Das Deutsche Volksliedarchiv Freiburg i. Br.
Das Deutsche Volksliedarchiv Freiburg i. Br. / Otto Holzapfel.
Das Glück ist eine dumme Kuh... : fröhliche Spruchweisheit / gesammelt von Wolfgang Lipp ; illustriert von Ludwig Maria Beck.
Das grosse Liederbuch : 204 deutsche Volks- und Kinderlieder / gesammelt von Anne Diekmann ; unter Mitwirkung von Willi Gohl ; mit 156 bunten Bildern von Tomi Ungerer ; [Redaktion, Claudia Schmölders]
Das verführte und das verführende Mädchen : Liebes- und Sozialkonflikte im älteren erzählenden Volkslied / Lutz Röhrich.
Dämon / [Lutz Röhrich].
Delmarva folklife : a book of readings / edited by Polly Stewart ; contributors, Kenneth A. Basile ... [and others].
Denkmalerzählungen / [Lutz Röhrich].
Der Froschkönig und seine Wandlungen / Lutz Röhrich.
Der Krieg in den Köpfen : Beiträge zum Tübinger Friedenskongress "Krieg, Kultur, Wissenschaft" / herausgegeben von Hans-Joachim Althaus ... [et al.].
Der Lautenmusikant : das Singebuch aller Lauten- und Gitarrespieler / von Walter Götze.
Der Spuk im Grabgewölbe : die merkwürdigsten Fälle aus dem Gebiet des Übersinnlichen von 1800 bis zum Ersten Weltkrieg / Herausgegeben von Enno Nielsen.
Der Wissenschaftler und das Irrationale / hrsg. von Hans Peter Duerr.
Der Wissenschaftler und das Irrationale / hrsg. von Hans Peter Duerr.
Der Witz : Figuren, Formen, Funktionen / Lutz Röhrich.
Der Zupfgeigenhansl / hrsg. von Hans Breuer unter Mitwirkung vieler Wandervögel mit Gitarrebegleitung von H. Scherrer.
Der blinde Hund : Anmerkungen zur Alltagskultur / Hermann Bausinger.
Der himmlische Herrscher und sein Staat : Essays zur Stellung des Tennō im modernen Japan / Klaus Antoni.
Der junge Musikant : Liederbuch für Volksschulen ; Oberstufe / [bearbeitet von Rudolf Kirmeyer]
Der politische Witz in der DDR : Humor als Gesinnungsventil / Erik Florian (Hrsg.).
Designs and factions : politics, religion and ceramics on the Hopi Third Mesa / Lydia L. Wyckoff.
Deutsche Volkslieder : Texte und Melodien / hrsg. von Lutz Rörich und Rolf Wilhelm Brednich.
Deutsche Volkslieder : Texte und Melodien / hrsg. von Lutz Rörich und Rolf Wilhelm Brednich.
Deutsche Volkssagen / Hrsg. und erläutert von Leander Petzoldt.
Deutscher Sagenkatalog : X. der Tod und die Toten, Vorabdruck / [von Ingeborg Müller und Lutz Röhrich ; Vorbericht von Gisela Burde-Schneidewind und Ina-Maria Greverus]
Deutsches Volksliedarchiv : Arbeitsstelle für internationale Volksliedforschung.
Die Ballade von den zwei Schwestern : zwei bisher unbeachtete mitteleuropäischche Fassungen / von Klaus Roth.
Die Bundesrepublik Deutschland ist (k)ein Einwanderungsland : [Dokumentation, Kongress d. Sozialdemokratischen Wählerinitiative am 14./15. November 1981 in Berlin ; Memorandum, Referate, Thesenpapiere] / mit Beiträgen von Günter Grass ... [and others]
Die Endinger Kornhalle von 1617 / von Karl Kurrus.
Die Entwicklung der deutschen Friedhöfe von der Reformation bis 1870 / Barbara Happe.
Die Geschichte vom Rotkäppchen : Ursprünge, Analysen, Parodien eines Märchens / Hans Ritz.
Die Maus im Jumbo-Jet : neue sagenhafte Geschichten von heute / Rolf Wilhelm Brednich.
Die Neue Welt in den Schätzen einer alten europäischen Bibliothek : Ausstellung der Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel = The New World in the treasures of an old European library : exhibition of the Duke August Library Wolfenbüttel / [Ausstellung und Katalog, Yorck Alexander Haase, Harold Jantz]
Die Postkutschenreise / Klaus Beyrer.
Die Spinne in der Yucca-Palme : sagenhafte Geschichten von heute / Rolf Wilhelm Brednich.
Die Türkei und die Türken in Deutschland / mit Beiträgen von Volker Höhfeld ... [and others] ; Redaktion, Hans-Georg Wehling.
Die Winterzählungen der Oglala / von Wilhelm Wildhage.
Die alemannisch-schwäbische Fasnet / Johannes Künzig.
Die deutsche Familie : Versuch einer Sozialgeschichte / Ingeborg Weber-Kellermann.
Die heilige Droge / [von Friedrich Abel].
Discovering oral performance and measured verse in American Indian narrative / Dell Hymes.
Diskussion / [Hermann Bausinger ... [and others]].
Documenting ourselves : film, video, and culture / Sharon R. Sherman.
Doing fieldwork : warnings and advice / Rosalie H. Wax.
Dorfentwicklung : aktuelle Probleme und Weiterbildungsbedarf : Referate einer Arbeitstagung des Deutschen Instituts für Fernstudien an der Universität Tübingen / herausgegeben und mit Materialien versehen von Eckart Frahm und Wiklef Hoops.
Du verstehst unsere Herzen gut : Fritz Rumpf (1888-1949) im Spannungsfeld der deutsch-japanischen Kulturbeziehungen / [herausgegeben von Hartmut Walravens]
Early American home remedies / photographs by Mel Horst ; compiled by Elmer L. Smith.
Earth & sky : visions of the cosmos in Native American folklore / edited by Ray A. Williamson and Claire R. Farrer.
Earth, water, and fire : the prehistoric pottery of Mesa Verde / Norman T. Oppelt.
Ee Neishoodii Bitsii Nez : the compassion and conflicts of the Reverend Harold Baxter Liebler, missionary to the Utah Navajo, 1943-1982 / Wendy M. Zarara.
Ehe / [Lutz Röhrich].
Einfache Form(en) / [Hermann Bausinger].
Encyclopedia of religion and religions / by E. Royston Pike.
Erotik, Sexualität / [Lutz Röhrich].
Es wird Zeit, dass wir lieben / gesammelt von Willi Hau und vielen anderen.
Eskimo essays : Yupʼik lives and how we see them / Ann Fienup-Riordan.
Every man his way : readings in cultural anthropology / Alan Dundes.
Everything is a shade of elephant : an alternative to a psychoanalysis of humor / Elliott Orring.
Eyak legends : stories and photographs / compiled by John F.C. Johnson.
F. J. Child : a list of original editions.
Faces of a reservation : a portrait of the Warm Springs Indian Reservation / text and photographs by Cynthia D. Stowell.
Facts and yarns of the Bohemia Gold Mines : the story of Bohemia Mining District, 36 miles southeast of Cottage Grove, Oregon / by Ray E. Nelson.
Fahrrad, Auto, Fernsehschrank : zur Kulturgeschichte der Alltagsdinge / herausgegeben von Wolfgang Ruppert.
Fairy tales from the Isle of Man / Dora Broome ; with illustrations by John Harwood.
Faiths and folklore of the British Isles : a descriptive and historical dictionary of the superstitions, beliefs, and popular customs of England, Scotland, Wales, and Ireland, from Norman times to the end of the nineteenth century, with classical and foreign analogues / by W. Carew Hazlitt.
Faiths and folklore of the British Isles : a descriptive and historical dictionary of the superstitions, beliefs, and popular customs of England, Scotland, Wales, and Ireland, from Norman times to the end of the nineteenth century, with classical and foreign analogues / by W. Carew Hazlitt.
Feldforschung : qualitative Methoden in der Kulturanalyse / herausgegeben von Utz Jeggle.
Feminist messages : coding in women's folk culture / edited by Joan Newlon Radner.
Feminist theory and the study of folklore / edited by Susan Tower Hollis, Linda Pershing, and M. Jane Young.
Fiddle and old-time music contests in Tennessee / Folk Arts Program, Tennessee Arts Commission.
Fischerhude : Dorf der Bauern und Künstler / Hans Wohltmann.
Five hundred Utah place names : their origin and significance / by Rufus Wood Leigh.
Folk nation : folklore in the creation of American tradition / by Simon J. Bronner ; with documents and readings.
Folk remedies : Oakridge, Oregon / Pearl Rohrer, compiler.
Folk song studies in Idaho / Jan Harold Brunvand.
Folk, commercial, and folkloristic aesthetics in the blues / David Evans.
Folk-song restored / [Allan Rodway].
Folketonar frå Selje / ved Torvald Kvamme ; redigert av Knut Djupedal.
Folklife annual : a publication of the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress.
Folklore and John Gay's satire / Dianne Dugaw.
Folklore and fascism : the Reich Institute for German Volkskunde / Hannjost Lixfeld ; edited and translated by James R. Dow.
Folklore and folklife : an introduction / edited by Richard M. Dorson.
Folklore from the working folk of America / selected and edited by Tristram Potter Coffin and Hennig Cohen from the leading journals and archives of folklore.
Folklore handbook for bilingual classrooms / by Richard Dauenhauer.
Folklore in America : tales, songs, superstitions, proverbs, riddles, games, folk drama and folk festivals / selected and edited by Tristram P. Coffin and Hennig Cohen from the Journal of American folklore.
Folklore interpreted : essays in honor of Alan Dundes / edited by Regina Bendix and Rosemary Lévy Zumwalt.
Folklore methodology / formulated by Julius Krohn and expanded by Nordic researchers ; translated by Roger L. Welsch.
Folklore papers of the University Folklore Association, no.9.
Folklore today : a Festschrift for Richard M. Dorson / edited by Linda Dégh, Henry Glassie, Felix J. Oinas.
Folkloristikens aktuella paradigm / redigerad av Gun Herranen.
Folksong as an anthropological province : the anthropological approach / John Greenway.
Folktales of China / edited and translated by Wolfram Eberhard ; foreword by Richard M. Dorson.
Folktales of England / edited by Katharine M. Briggs and Ruth L. Tongue.
Folktales of Germany / edited by Kurt Ranke ; translated by Lotte Baumann.
Folktales of Greece / edited by Georgios A. Megas ; translated by Helen Colaclides ; foreword by Richard M. Dorson.
Folktales of Greece / edited by Georgios A. Megas ; translated by Helen Colaclides ; foreword by Richard M. Dorson.
Folktales of Ireland / edited and translated by Sean O'Sullivan ; foreword by Richard M. Dorson.
Folktales of Mexico / edited and translated by Américo Paredes ; foreword by Richard M. Dorson.
Fools crow / James Welch.
Formen der "Volkspoesie" / von Hermann Bausinger.
Forschungen und Berichte zur Volkskunde in Baden-Württemberg 1974-1977 / Landesdenkmalamt Baden-Württemberg ; hrsg. von Irmgard Hampp und Peter Assion.
Fotodeutsche : zur Ikonographie einer Nation in französischen Illustrierten, 1930-1940 / Ulrich Hägele.
Four generations of oral literary studies at Harvard University / [David E. Bynum].
Fox texts / by William Jones.
Freedom in the Western World : from the Dark Ages to the rise of democracy / Herbert J. Muller.
French rural history : an essay on its basic characteristics / Marc Bloch ; foreword by Bryce Lyon ; translated from the French by Janet Sondheimer.
From the land of the totem poles : the Northwest Coast Indian art collection at the American Museum of Natural History / Aldona Jonaitis ; color photographs by Stephen S. Myers.
Functions and limitations of Alaskan Eskimo wife trading / Lawrence Hennigh.
Gebärde, Metapher, Parodie : Studien zur Sprache und Volksdichtung / Lutz Röhrich.
Gebrauchsanweisung für Amerika : ein respektloses Reisebrevier / Paul Watzlawick ; Zeichnungen, Magi Wechsler.
Generating lives : the construction of an autobiography / Elliott Oring.
George Magoon and the down east game war : history, folklore, and the law / Edward D. Ives.
German Volkskunde : a decade of theoretical confrontation, debate, and reorientation (1967-1977) / edited and translated by James R. Dow and Hannjost Lixfeld.
German devil tales and devil legends / Lutz Röhrich.
Geschichte (1815-1979) in Liedern.
Geschichte : Studienbegleitbrief 2.
Geschichte des Weihnachtsbaumes und ähnlicher weihnachtlicher Formen : ein kultur- und waldgeschichtliche Untersuchung / von Kurt Mantel.
Ghosts of Singapore! / Goh Sin Tub.
God and production in a Guatemalan town / by Sheldon Annis.
Gods, graves, and scholars : the story of archaeology / by C.W. Ceram ; translated from the German by E.B. Garside and Sophie Wilkins.
Goodbye to Poplarhaven : recollections of a Utah boyhood / by Edward A. Geary ; with illustrations by Ralph H. Reynolds.
Graffiti / collected by Robert Reisner.
Green mountains and rock ribs : stories and pictures / arranged by Keith Warren Jennison.
Grundriss der Volkskunde : Einführung in die Forschungsfelder der europäischen Ethnologie / herausgegeben von Rolf W. Brednich.
Grundzüge der Volkskunde / Hermann Bausinger ... [and others]
Guam's patroness : Santa Marian Kamalen / by Marilyn Anne Jorgensen.
Gullible coyote : a bilingual collection of Hopi coyote stories = Una'ihu / Ekkehart Malotki ; Michael Lomatuway'ma, Hopi consultant ; illustrated by Anne-Marie Malotki.
Gum San : land of the golden mountain : an exhibit on Chinese life and labor in the West / text by Jeffrey Barlow and Christine Richardson ; color photography by Barry Peril ; exhibit consultation by Mr. and Mrs. George W. Leong.
Gyaehlingaay : traditions, tales, and images of the Kaigani Haida / by Carol M. Eastman and Elizabeth A. Edwards ; traditional stories told by Lillian Pettviel and other Haida elders ; illustrated by Duane Pasco.
Haa shuká, our ancestors : Tlingit oral narratives / edited by Nora Marks Dauenhauer and Richard Dauenhauer.
Haa tuwunáagu yís, for healing our spirit : Tlingit oratory / edited by Nora Marks Dauenhauer and Richard Dauenhauer.
Handbook for Tennessee folk artists / Patricia Atkinson Wells.
Handbuch der volkstümlichen Boote im östlichen Niederdeutschland. / Wolfgang Rudolph.
Hawaiian legends of ghosts and ghost-gods / collected and translated from the Hawaiian by W.D. Westervelt.
Hawaiian legends of old Honolulu / collected and translated from the Hawaiian by W.D. Westervelt.
Hawaiian legends of volcanoes / collected and translated from the Hawaiian by W.D. Westervelt.
Häberle und Pfleiderer : zur Geschichte, Machart und Funktion einer populären Unterhaltungsreihe / Ulrich Keuler.
Here come the Navaho! / by Ruth Underhill.
Heroes of Serbia : folk ballads retold / by Nada Ćurčija-Prodanović ; illustrated by Dušan Ristić.
Hiakim : the Yaqui homeland / edited by Joseph Carleton Wilder.
Hieronymus Bosch / Walter S. Gibson.
Hiesiges : die Anfänge der Lokalitätspublizistik am Beispiel der "Tübinger Chronik" / Werner Ströbele.
Hindu myths : a sourcebook / translated from the Sanskrit with an introduction by Wendy Doniger O'Flaherty.
Hochzeit in einem ostbulgarischen Dorf : Analyse eines kommunikativen Ereignisses / Juliana und Klaus Roth.
Holy wells and sacred water sources in Britain and Ireland : an annotated bibliography / Arthur Gribben.
Home places : contemporary Native American writing from Sun Tracks / edited by Larry Evers and Ofelia Zepeda.
Homer's traditional art / John Miles Foley.
Honey, mud, maggots, and other medical marvels : the science behind folk remedies and old wives' tales / Robert and Michèle Root-Bernstein.
Hopi animal stories / narrated by Michael Lomatuway'ma, Lorena Lomatuway'ma, and Sidney Namingha ; compiled and edited by Ekkehart Malotki ; with an introduction by Barre Toelken ; illustrations by Ken Gary.
Hopi animal tales / narrated by Michael Lomatuway'ma, Lorena Lomatuway'ma, and Sidney Namingha ; collected, translated, and edited by Ekkehart Malotki ; with an introduction by Barre Toelken ; illustrations by Ken Gary.
Hopi stories of witchcraft, shamanism, and magic / Ekkehart Malotki and Ken Gary ; illustrations by Karen Knorowski.
Hopi und Kachina : indianische Kultur im Wandel / herausgegeben von Albert Kunze.
How to choose a slide rule / by Don Herold.
How to read an oral poem / John Miles Foley.
Humor and satire in early English comedy and Japanese kyōgen drama : a cross-cultural study in dramatic arts / Takeo Fujii.
Humor and the suppression of sentiment / Elliott Oring.
Hunters of the northern forest : designs for survival among the Alaskan Kutchin / Richard K. Nelson.
Hybrid retrospections : myth, fiction, history and the Native American historiographic short story / Helmbrecht Breinig.
I heard it through the grapevine : rumor in African-American culture / Patricia A. Turner.
In honor of Eyak : the art of Anna Nelson Harry / compiled and edited with introduction and commentary by Michael E. Krauss.
In our own image : the child, Canadian culture and our future / Carole Henderson Carpenter.
In the shadow of the midnight sun : contemporary Sami prose and poetry / edited and introduced by Harald Gaski.
In the spirit of the earth : rethinking history and time / Calvin Luther Martin.
Indian oratory : famous speeches by noted Indian chieftains / compiled by W.C. Vanderwerth ; foreword by William R. Carmack.
Indian sign language / by William Tomkins.
Indianer in Amerika : Legende und Wirklichkeit.
Indians of North America / Harold E. Driver.
Indians of the Pacific Northwest : a history / Robert H. Ruby and John A. Brown ; with a foreword by Alvin M. Josephy, Jr.
Instructor's manual : The dynamics of folklore / Barre Toelken.
Intelligence in the ballad of Sir Patrick Spens / John Bremer.
Intensive course in Japanese; elementary. Editor: Japanese Language Promotion Center.
Intensive course in Japanese; elementary. Editor: Japanese Language Promotion Center.
Intercultural communication : a discourse approach / Ron Scollon and Suzanne Wong Scollon.
Internationaler Kongress der Volkserzählungsforscher in Kiel und Kopenhagen, 19.8.-29.8.1959 : Vorträge und Referate / [Herausgeber: Kurt Ranke]
Interpreting folklore / Alan Dundes.
Introduction to mythology : contemporary approaches to classical and world myths / Eva M. Thury, Margaret K. Devinney.
Inuit : glimpses of an Arctic past / David Morrison and Georges-Hébert Germain ; illustrations by Frédéric Back.
Ireland, Sheila and Newfoundland / by Herbert Halpert.
Irish folk history : texts from the north / Henry Glassie ; drawings by the author.
Irish folktales / edited by Henry Glassie.
Irvings Kurzprosa: Kunst und Kunstproblematik im erzählerischen und essayistischen Werk.
Japanese character and culture : a book of selected readings / edited by Bernard S. Silberman.
Japanese folksongs created by child nursemaids / Keiko Wells.
Jeans, Beiträge zu Mode und Jugendkultur / [Redaktion dieses Bandes, Martin Scharfe].
Journal of the Southwest.
Keepers of the game : Indian-animal relationships and the fur trade / Calvin Martin.
Kinder malen Märchen : die schönsten Märchen der Brüder Grimm / herausgegeben, eingeleitet und mit einem Nachwort von Lutz Röhrich.
Knechte und Mägde in Westfalen um 1900 : Berichte aus dem Archiv für Westfälische Volkskunde / herausgegeben von Dietmar Sauermann.
Kokopelli : the making of an icon / Ekkehart Malotki.
Komische Grabpoesie / Lutz Röhrich.
Kommunaler Wohnungsbau für Arbeiter : Massnahmen zur Verbesserung der sozialen Lage der Arbeiterschaft vor dem Ersten Weltkrieg am Beispiel der Stadt Ulm / Karl-Heinz Ruess.
Korean folk songs / [compiled by Kang Nyum Lee]
Korean love songs : from the Klail City death trip = Korea Liebes Lieder : aus dem Klail City Todes Trip / Rolando Hinojosa.
Kultur- und Freizeitpolitik in der Mittelstadt : zum Beispiel, Universitätsstadt Tübingen / Markus Hug.
Kulturelle Identität / Hermann Bausinger.
Kulturelle Identität--Schlagwort und Wirklichkeit / Hermann Bausinger.
Kusiq : an Eskimo life history from the Arctic coast of Alaska / by Waldo Bodfish, Sr. ; recorded, compiled, and edited by William Schneider in collaboration with Leona Kisautaq Okakok and James Mumiġana Nageak.
La terra in piazza : an interpretation of the Palio of Siena / by Alan Dundes and Alessandro Falassi.
Lake Erie fishermen : work, identity, and tradition / Timothy C. Lloyd and Patrick B. Mullen.
Land of seagull and fox : folk tales of Vietnam/ collected and retold by Ruth Q. Sun ; illustrated by Ho Thanh Duc.
Landmarks of healing : a study of House made of dawn / Susan Scarberry-García.
Language and myth / by Ernst Cassirer ; translated by Susanne K. Langer.
Lascaux : paintings and engravings / Annette Laming ; translated by Eleanore Frances Armstrong.
Lawrence Doyle : the farmer-poet of Prince Edward Island : a study in local songmaking / Edward D. Ives.
Ländliche Kindheit in Lebenserinnerungen : Familien- und Kinderleben in einem württembergischen Arbeiterbauerndorf an der Wende vom 19. zum 20. Jahrhundert / Susanne Mutschler.
Ländliches Wohnen vor der Industrialisierung / Volker Gläntzer.
Left Handed : a Navajo autobiography / [recorded and edited by] Walter and Ruth Dyk.
Legacy : Southwest Indian art at the School of American Research / Duane Anderson, editor.
Legends and lore of the Papago and Pima Indians / Dean and Lucille Saxton.
Legends of the earth : their geologic origins / Dorothy B. Vitaliano.
Lexikon der populären Irrtümer : 500 kapitale Missverständnisse, Vorurteile und Denkfehler von Abendrot bis Zeppelin / Walter Krämer, Götz Trenkler.
Library of Congress American Folklife Center : an illustrated guide.
Lies, logs, and loggers / by Finley Hays.
Lincoln wasn't there, or, Lord Raglan's hero / Francis Lee Utley.
Linguistic convergence : an ethnography of speaking at Fort Chipewyan, Alberta / Ronald Scollon, Suzanne B.K. Scollon.
Listening in--Utah storytelling [sound recording] / Utah Arts Council, Folk Arts Program.
Listening in--Utah storytelling [sound recording] / Utah Arts Council, Folk Arts Program.
Literary folkloristics and the personal narrative / Sandra Dolby Stahl.
Literature and folk culture : Ireland and Newfoundland : papers from the Ninth Annual Seminar of the Canadian Association for Irish Studies, at Memorial University of Newfoundland, February 11-15, 1976 / edited by Alison Feder and Bernice Schrank.
Living in a material world : Canadian and American approaches to material culture / edited by Gerald L. Pocius.
Ljudske balade med izročilom in sodobnostjo : zbornik referatov 27. mednarodnega posvetovanja raziskovalcev balad : (SIEF Baladna komisija) : Gozd Martuljek, Slovenija, 13.-19. julij 1997 / uredila Marjetka Golež = Ballads between tradition and modern times : proceedings of the 27th International Ballad Conference : (SIEF Ballad Commission) : Gozd Martuljek, SLovenia, July 13-19 1997 / edited by Marjetka Golež.
Lost country life / Dorothy Hartley.
Louisiana traditional crafts : April 12 through May 11 / F. A. deCaro and R. A. Jordan.
Love medicine / a novel by Louise Erdrich.
Luthers Floh : Geschichten aus der Weltgeschichte / E.W. Heine.

M–Q Titles

Maasaw : profile of a Hopi god / Ekkehart Malotki, Michael Lomatuway'ma ; drawings by Petra Roeckerath.
Make prayers to the raven : a Koyukon view of the northern forest / Richard K. Nelson.
Man and his symbols / Carl G. Jung ... [and others]
Man's rise to civilization as shown by the Indians of North America from primeval times to the coming of the industrial state / Peter Farb.
Markers : the annual journal of the Association for Gravestone Studies.
Mask makers and myth in western Liberia / Warren d'Azevedo.
Masken und Maskenbrauchtum aus Ost- und Südosteuropa./ Im Auftrag der Schweizerischen Gesellschaft für Volkskunde hrsg. von Robert Wildhaber.
Material culture : a research guide / Kenneth L. Ames ... [and others] ; edited by Thomas J. Schlereth.
Maultasche' : in Tübinger Mundart nach bewährten Hausrezepten / zubereitet, abgeschmeckt u. aufgetischt von Heinz-Eugen Schramm.
Mayordomo : chronicle of an acequia in northern New Mexico / Stanley Crawford.
Märchen als Lesestoff für alle : populare Märchenbüchlein in Bulgarien / von Klaus Roth.
Märchen und Wirklichkeit / Lutz Röhrich.
Märchenglück / Hermann Bausinger.
Media, technology and daily life / Hermann Bausinger ; translated by Liliane Jaddou and Jon Williams.
Medieval literature and folklore studies : essays in honor of Francis Lee Utley / edited by Jerome Mandel and Bruce A. Rosenberg.
Mein Heimatland : die schönsten Volks-, Wander-, Trink- und Scherzlieder / Hrsg. von Ludwig Andersen [pseudonym]
Mein Liederbuch : die schönsten und bekanntesten Volkslieder für Akkordeon von 8-120 Bässen / bearb. und mit Fingersatz für Pianoakkordeon versehen von Alfons Holzschuh.
Mennonite folklife and folklore : a preliminary report / Rolf Wilh. Brednich.
Mesoamerican writing systems : propaganda, myth, and history in four ancient civilizations / Joyce Marcus.
Metafolkloristica : an informal anthology of folklorists' humor ; being the compendium of parodies, satires, insults, send-ups, put-downs, reminiscences and general fecetiae designed to put folklore in its place once and for all / edited by Franz Kinder and Boaz the Clown.
Mexican Americans / Joan W. Moore with Alfredo Cuéllar.
Microhistory and the lost peoples of Europe / edited by Edward Muir and Guido Ruggiero ; translated by Eren Branch.
Miwa : der heilige Trank : zur Geschichte und religiösen Bedeutung des alkoholischen Getränkes (Sake) in Japan / Klaus Antoni.
Mobilität und Mobiliar : zur Wohnweise von Binnemigranten in Zeyrek, Istanbul / Claudia Schöning-Kalender.
Mode, Tracht, regionale Indentität : historische Kleidungsforschung heute : Referate des internationalen Symposions im Museumsdorf Cloppenburg, Niedersächsisches Freilichtmuseum / herausgegeben von Helmut Ottenjann ; [Redaktion, Gitta Böth].
Modern Greek humor : a collection of jokes and ribald tales / Ethelyn G. Orso.
Modern Japanese : a basic reader / [by] Howard Hibbett and Gen Itasaka.
Modern Japanese : a basic reader / [by] Howard Hibbett and Gen Itasaka.
Mohave ethnopsychiatry : the psychic disturbances of an Indian tribe / by George Devereux.
Momotarō (the Peach Boy) and the spirit of Japan : concerning the function of a fairy tale in Japanese nationalism of the early Shōwa age / Klaus Antoni.
More snappers, whoppers, japes and drolleries, as the old-timer talks back to Allen R. Foley / [by Allen R. Foley] ; illustrated by John Devaney.
Morgens Deutschland, abends Türkei / Fotos, Gert von Bassewitz ... [and others] ; herausgegeben vom Kunstamt Kreuzberg ; [Redaktion: Krista Tebbe]
Morphology of the folktale / by V. Propp ; translated by Laurence Scott ; with an introd. by Svatava Pirkova-Jakobson.
Mother Earth : an American story / Sam D. Gill.
Mud woman : poems from the clay / Nora Naranjo-Morse.
Museen in Baden-Württemberg / hrsg. vom Württembergischen Museumsverband e. V. Stuttgart mit Unterstützung des Landesdenkmalamtes Baden-Württemberg.
Myth and history : a symposium / edited by M. Hoppál ; [translated by István Ambrózi]
Myth and ritual in Christianity / Alan W. Watts ; [drawings by the author]
Mythological bonds between East and West / by Dorothea Chaplin.
Myths and symbols in pagan Europe : early Scandinavian and Celtic religions / H.R. Ellis Davidson.
Myths from Mesopotamia : creation, the flood, Gilgamesh, and others / translated with an introduction and notes by Stephanie Dalley.
Nachlassverzeichnisse : internationale Bibliographie = Probate inventories : international bibliography / Hildegard Mannheims, Klaus Roth.
Nah-so-mah village, viewed through its fauna / by Roberta L. Hall.
Narrative chance : postmodern discourse on native American Indian literatures / edited by Gerald Vizenor.
Narrative folksong : new directions : essays in appreciation of W. Edson Richmond / edited by Carol L. Edwards and Kathleen E.B. Manley ; with a foreword by Bruce A. Rosenberg.
National Museum of Japanese History English guide / [descriptive texts written by Shigehiro Okada ... et al. ; English texts translated by Gyō Furuta, Paul F. Shepherd ; translation supervision by Gyō Furuta ; edited by National Museum of Japanese History]
Native American architecture / Peter Nabokov, Robert Easton.
Native American art / William C. Ketchum, Jr.
Native American astronomy / edited by Anthony F. Aveni.
Native American literature : a catalog / introduction by Duane Niatum.
Native American religions : an introduction / Sam D. Gill.
Native American songs and poems : an anthology / edited by Brian Swann.
Native American testimony : a chronicle of Indian-White relations from prophecy to the present, 1492-1992 / edited by Peter Nabokov ; with a foreword by Vine Deloria, Jr.
Native American verbal art : texts and contexts / William M. Clements.
Native Americans : Chicanos und Indianer in den USA / herausgegeben von Dieter Herms und Hartmut Lutz ; mit Beiträgen von Alurista ... [et al.].
Navaho coyote tales and their position in the southern Athabaskan group / by W.W. Hill and Dorothy W. Hill.
Navaho witchcraft / Clyde Kluckhohn.
Navajo coyote tales : the Curly Tó Aheedlíinii version / Berard Haile ; Navajo orthography by Irvy W. Goossen ; edited, with an introductory essay, by Karl W. Luckert.
Navajo creation chants [sound recording] / sung by the Son of Bead Chant Singer.
Navajo historical selections : selected, edited and translated from the Navajo / by Robert W. Young and William Morgan.
Nehalem Tillamook tales / [dictated by Clara Pearson], recorded by Elizabeth Derr Jacobs, edited by Melville Jacobs.
Neither heaven nor hell / by Herbert Halpert and Violetta M. Halpert.
Newe Hupia : Shoshoni poetry songs / Beverly Crum, Earl Crum, Jon P. Dayley.
Nimm's leicht, nimm mich / herausgegeben von Eduard Moriz.
Noah und die Arche in der Volkskunst / von Lutz Röhrich.
Nonsense : aspects of intertextuality in folklore and literature / Susan Stewart.
Northward bound : the Mexican immigrant experience in ballad and song / María Herrera-Sobek.
Not by a jugfull : Ozarks tall tales / by Will Townsend ; illustrations by Scott Shadburn.
Notes on the stanzaic division and the metre of "Judas" / Tōru Mitsui.
Nungwutsing, the Southern Paiutes [videorecording] : how the singing came to be / Clifford and Yetta Jake.
Nungwutsing, the Southern Paiutes [videorecording] : how the singing came to be / Clifford and Yetta Jake.
Ńdahooʼaah : relearning/new learning, Navajo crafts/computer design.
Objects of myth and memory : American Indian art at The Brooklyn Museum / Diana Fane, Ira Jacknis, Lise M. Breen.
Occultism, witchcraft, and cultural fashions : essays in comparative religions / Mircea Eliade.
Of trees and dreams : the fiction, fact, and folklore of tree-planting on the Northern Plains / by Roger L. Welsch.
Old greasybeard : tales from the Cumberland Gap / collected and annotated by Leonard Roberts ; illustrated by Leonard Epstein.
On belief systems / M. Hoppál.
On sloping ground / by Aubrey M. Tizzard ; J.D.A. Widdowson, editor.
Opera muliebria : women and work in medieval Europe / David Herlihy.
Oral genres as bridge to written literature / by Francis Lee Utley.
Oral poetry : its nature, significance and social context / Ruth Finnegan.
Oral tradition : a study in historical methodology / by Jan Vansina ; translated by H.M. Wright.
Oregon historical quarterly.
Other cultures; aims, methods and achievements in social anthropology.
Other destinies : understanding the American Indian novel / by Louis Owens.
Out of the black patch : the autobiography of Effie Marquess Carmack, folk musician, artist, and writer / edited by Noel A. Carmack and Karen Lynn Davidson.
Over her dead body : death, femininity, and the aesthetic / Elisabeth Bronfen.
Over their dead bodies : Yankee epitaphs & history / Thomas C. Mann and Janet Greene ; illustrated by George Daly.
Ozark folksongs / collected and edited by Vance Randolph ; edited for the State Historical Society of Missouri by Floyd C. Shoemaker, secretary, Francis G. Emberson, research associate.
Ozark folksongs / collected and edited by Vance Randolph ; edited for the State Historical Society of Missouri by Floyd C. Shoemaker, secretary, Francis G. Emberson, research associate.
Ozark folksongs / collected and edited by Vance Randolph ; edited for the State Historical Society of Missouri by Floyd C. Shoemaker, secretary, Francis G. Emberson, research associate.
Ozark folksongs / collected and edited by Vance Randolph ; edited for the State Historical Society of Missouri by Floyd C. Shoemaker, secretary, Francis G. Emberson, research associate.
Ozark magic and folklore / by Vance Rangolph.
Pacific troller : life on the northwest fishing grounds / Francis E. Caldwell.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Parabola : myth and the quest for meaning.
Paradise Valley, Nevada : the people and buildings of an American place / Howard Wight Marshall.
Patterns of folklore / Hilda Ellis Davidson.
Patterns of life, patterns of art : the Rahr Collection of Native American Art / with an essay by Barbara A. Hail and catalogue by Gregory C. Schwarz.
Pennsylvania Dutch folklore / compiled and edited by Elmer L. Smith ; photographs by Mel Horst.
Pennsylvania German fraktur and printed broadsides : a guide to the collections in the Library of Congress / compiled by Paul Conner & Jill Roberts for the American Folklife Center ; introduction by Don Yoder.
People of the totem : the Indians of the Pacific Northwest / text by Norman Bancroft-Hunt ; photographs by Werner Forman.
People studying people : the human element in fieldwork / Robert A. Georges and Michael O. Jones.
Perspectives on the Jack tales : and other North American Märchen / edited by Carl Lindahl.
Pete Hironaka's Report from round-eye country.
Pieces of white shell : a journey to Navajoland / Terry Tempest Williams ; illustrations by Clifford Brycelea.
Pima and Papago ritual oratory : a study of three texts = Ó'odham ha-ñíokculida : mámce ab wáikk há'icu ámjeḍ / Donald M. Bahr.
Plants, people, and culture : the science of ethnobotany / Michael J. Balick, Paul Alan Cox.
Poetic origins and the ballad / by Louise Pound.
Popular beliefs and superstitions from Utah / collected by Anthon S. Cannon with the help of Jan Harold Brunvand ... and others ; edited, with introduction and notes, by Wayland D. Hand and Jeannine E. Talley.
Populare Autobiographik : empirische Studien zu einer Quellengattung der Alltagsgeschichtsforschung / Bernd Jürgen Warneken.
Populare Schreibkultur : Texte und Analysen / studentische Projektgruppe, Dirk Bredenbeck ... [et al.] ; Leitung, Bernd Jürgen Warneken.
Portraits from the Age of Exploration : selections from André Thevet's Les vrais pourtraits et vies des hommes illustres / edited by Roger Schlesinger ; translated by Edward Benson.
Positively black / Roger D. Abrahams.
Pow-wow : dancer's and craftworker's handbook / by Adolf Hungry Wolf ; with drawings by Okan Hungry Wolf.
Power in the blood : popular culture and village discourse in early modern Germany / David Warren Sabean.
Pre-Columbian literatures of Mexico / by Miguel León Portilla ; translated from the Spanish by Grace Lobanov and the author.
Preface to the Idaho number / [J.H.B.]
Pride of the Indian wardrobe : northern Athapaskan footwear / Judy Thompson.
Primitive rebels : studies in archaic forms of social movement in the 19th and 20th centuries / by E.J. Hobsbawm.
Problems of dragon lore / Lutz Röhrich.
Problems of the European ethnography and folklore : summaries by the congress participants / II Congress of the International Society for European Ethnology and Folklore, USSR, Suzdal, September, 30-October, 6, 1982 ; USSR Academy of Sciences ; N.N. Mikloucho-Maclay Institute of Ethnography.
Proletarier aller Länder, entschuldigt mich : das Ende des Ostblockwitzes / György Dalos.
Proto-eastern interior Salish vowels / M. Dale Kinkade and Clarence Sloat.
Pueblo Indian water rights : struggle for a precious resource / Charles T. DuMars, Marilyn O'Leary, Albert E. Utton.

R–V Titles

Raising the devil : Satanism, new religions, and the media / Bill Ellis.
Reading the fire : essays in the traditional Indian literatures of the Far West / Jarold Ramsey.
Readings from the Journal of the Folklore Institute : folklore and literature / edited, with an introduction by Sandra K.D. Stahl.
Regeneration through violence : the mythology of the American frontier, 1600-1860 / by Richard Slotkin.
Religion in primitive society / Edward Norbeck.
Religions of Mesoamerica : cosmovision and ceremonial centers / Davíd Carrasco.
Religiöse Volkskunst : Votivgaben, Andachtsbilder, Hinterglas, Rosenkranz, Amulette / Manfred Brauneck, unter Mitarb. von Hildegard Brauneck ; u. mit Fotos von Wulf Brackrock.
Requiem for a people : the Rogue Indians and the frontiersmen / Stephen Dow Beckham.
Rethinking Hopi ethnography / Peter M. Whiteley.
Riddle and poetry handbook / by Richard Dauenhauer.
Riddling : occasion to act / Thomas A. Burns.
Robert "Fiddler" Beers and his songs : a study of the revival of a family tradition / Kenneth S. Goldstein.
Rooted in America : foodlore of popular fruits and vegetables / edited by David Scofield Wilson and Angus Kress Gillespie.
Roots of northern Athabascan life : the birch tree / stories as told by Eliza Jones, Katherine Anderson ; [exhibit] guide compiled by Deborah Niedermeyer.
Russian folk literature: Skazki, Liricheskie pesni, Byliny, Istoricheskie pesni, Dukhovnye stikhi / edited by D.P. Costello and I.P. Foote.
Sage und Märchen : Erzählforschung heute / Lutz Röhrich.
Saints of sage and saddle : folklore among the Mormons / by Austin and Alta Fife.
Salmon River saga / Kenneth B. Platt.
Salt in our veins : poems and stories from the Astoria fisher poets gathering / editors: Jon Broderick, Julie Brown, Robert Brown.
Sami culture in a new era : the Norwegian Sami experience / Harald Gaski, ed.
Satire und Roman : Studien zur Theorie des Genrekonflikts und zur satirischen Erzählliteratur der USA von Brackenridge bis Vonnegut / Helmbrecht Breinig.
Scattered in foreign lands : a Greek village in Baltimore / Anna Caraveli.
Scherz- und Spottlieder / Donald J. Ward.
Schramberg 1933 : eine Dokumentation / Redaktion: Agnes Budke, Gisela Lixfeld, Karin Sahr.
Schwabenbilder : zur Konstruktion eines Regionalcharakters : Begleitband zur Ausstellung Schwabenbilder im Haspelturm des Tübinger Schlosses, 18. April bis 1. Juni 1997 / Ludwig-Uhland-Institut für Empirische Kulturwissenschaft der Universität Tübingen, Projektgruppe "Schwabenbilder" ; [redaktion : Angelika Brieschke ... and others].
Scipio storytelling : talk in a southern Indiana community / Margaret Read MacDonald.
Seasonal feasts and festivals / by E.O. James.
Segelboote der deutschen Ostseeküste.
Semantics and semiotics of works of art in high and folk literature / Vilmos Voigt.
Senseless identity / Hermann Bausinger.
Shadow country / Paula Gunn Allen.
Shaping history : ordinary people in European politics, 1500-1700 / Wayne te Brake.
She spoke to them with a stormy heart : the politics of reading ancient (or other) narrative / by Debby Dale Jones.
Shegonaba : a tale of mission work among the Chippewas / by W.G. Polack.
Signs, texts, and oral tradition / John Miles Foley.
Singing for power : the song magic of the Papago Indians of Southern Arizona / Ruth Murray Underhill.
Singing the changes : variation in four traditional ballads / Gerald Porter.
Six thousand years of bread : its holy and unholy history / by H.E. Jacob ; [translated by Richard and Clara Winston]
Sixteen moments of silence in Homer / John Miles Foley.
Smaller classical dictionary / revised from Sir William Smith by E.H. Blakeney and John Warrington.
Society and culture in early modern France : eight essays / by Natalie Zemon Davis.
Some Yoruba Wellerisms, dialogue proverbs, and tongue twisters / by Alan Dundes.
Songprints : the musical experience of five Shoshone women / Judith Vander.
Sources of Indian tradition / compiled by Wm. Theodore De Bary ... (et al.).
Sources of Japanese tradition / compiled by Ryusaku Tsunoda, Wm. Theodore de Bary, Donald Keene.
South from Hell-fer-Sartin : Kentucky mountain folk tales / Leonard W. Roberts.
Southern Arizona folk arts / James S. Griffith.
Speak, bird, speak again : Palestinian Arab folktales / [edited and translated by] Ibrahim Muhawi and Sharif Kanaana.
Spielzeug : Spiegelbild der Kulturgeschichte / Volker Kutschera.
Spontaneity and tradition : a study in the oral art of Homer / Michael N. Nagler.
Step it down : games, plays, songs, and stories from the Afro-American heritage / by Bessie Jones and Bess Lomax Hawes.
Story, performance, and event : contextual studies of oral narrative / Richard Bauman.
Storyteller / Leslie Marmon Silko.
String figures / A. Johnston Abraham.
Studies in the literary imagination.
Studies on mythology / edited by Robert A. Georges.
Sweet words : storytelling events in Benin / Dan Ben-Amos.
Talking Navajo before you know it / [Leon Wall ; William Morgan, translator].
Tall tales from Rogue River : the yarns of Hathaway Jones / edited by Stephen Dow Beckham ; illustrations by Christina Romano.
Teachings from the American earth : Indian religion and philosophy / edited by Dennis Tedlock and Barbara Tedlock.
Texts of the Navajo creation chants.
That New England/ edited by Robb Sagendorph and Judson D. Hale.
The American Indian mind / edited by Barry Lopez.
The American college and university : a history / by Frederick Rudolph.
The Aquarian guide to Native American mythology / Page Bryant ; foreword by Sun Bear ; illustrated by Scott Guynup.
The Aztec empire : the Toltec resurgence / by Nigel Davies.
The Ballad and oral literature / edited by Joseph Harris.
The Bible and the plough : the lives of a Hutterite minister and a Mennonite farmer / Rolf Wilh. Brednich.
The British literary ballad : a study in poetic imitation / G. Malcolm Laws, Jr.
The British traditional ballad in North America / by Tristram P. Coffin.
The Broadman hymnal : great standard hymns and choice gospel songs new and old, for use in all religious services, such as the worship hour, Sunday school, young people's meetings, assemblies, and evangelistic services / B.B. McKinney, music editor.
The Dead Sea scriptures : in English translation / with introd. and notes by Theodor H. Gaster.
The Delphic oracle : its responses and operations with a catalogue of responses / Joseph Fontenrose.
The Eskimo storyteller : folktales from Noatak, Alaska / Edwin S. Hall, Jr. ; drawings by Claire Fejes.
The Eskimos / text by Ernest S. Burch, Jr. ; photographs by Werner Forman.
The Frank C. Brown Collection of North Carolina Folklore : the folklore of North Carolina / collected by Dr. Frank C. Brown during the years 1912 to 1943, in collaboration with the North Carolina Folklore Society ; general editor: Newman Ivey White ; associate editors: Henry M. Belden [and others] ; wood engravings by Clare Leighton.
The Frank C. Brown Collection of North Carolina Folklore : the folklore of North Carolina / collected by Dr. Frank C. Brown during the years 1912 to 1943, in collaboration with the North Carolina Folklore Society ; general editor: Newman Ivey White ; associate editors: Henry M. Belden [and others] ; wood engravings by Clare Leighton.
The Frank C. Brown Collection of North Carolina Folklore : the folklore of North Carolina / collected by Dr. Frank C. Brown during the years 1912 to 1943, in collaboration with the North Carolina Folklore Society ; general editor: Newman Ivey White ; associate editors: Henry M. Belden [and others] ; wood engravings by Clare Leighton.
The Frank C. Brown Collection of North Carolina Folklore : the folklore of North Carolina / collected by Dr. Frank C. Brown during the years 1912 to 1943, in collaboration with the North Carolina Folklore Society ; general editor: Newman Ivey White ; associate editors: Henry M. Belden [and others] ; wood engravings by Clare Leighton.
The Frank C. Brown Collection of North Carolina Folklore : the folklore of North Carolina / collected by Dr. Frank C. Brown during the years 1912 to 1943, in collaboration with the North Carolina Folklore Society ; general editor: Newman Ivey White ; associate editors: Henry M. Belden [and others] ; wood engravings by Clare Leighton.
The Frank C. Brown Collection of North Carolina Folklore : the folklore of North Carolina / collected by Dr. Frank C. Brown during the years 1912 to 1943, in collaboration with the North Carolina Folklore Society ; general editor: Newman Ivey White ; associate editors: Henry M. Belden [and others] ; wood engravings by Clare Leighton.
The Frank C. Brown Collection of North Carolina Folklore : the folklore of North Carolina / collected by Dr. Frank C. Brown during the years 1912 to 1943, in collaboration with the North Carolina Folklore Society ; general editor: Newman Ivey White ; associate editors: Henry M. Belden [and others] ; wood engravings by Clare Leighton.
The German Southwest : Baden-Württemberg : history, politics, economy and culture / edited by Landeszentrale für politische Bildung Baden-Württemberg ; managing editor, Hans-Georg Wehling ; translated by Therese Weiss.
The Gosport tragedy : story of a ballad / by David C. Fowler.
The Greek myths / Robert Graves.
The Greek myths / Robert Graves.
The Greenfield review.
The Grouse Creek cultural survey : integrating folklife and historic preservation field research / by Thomas Carter and Carl Fleischhauer.
The Grouse Creek cultural survey : integrating folklife and historic preservation field research / by Thomas Carter and Carl Fleischhauer.
The Iliad of Homer / translated with an introd. by Richmond Lattimore.
The Indian heritage of America / Alvin M. Josephy, Jr.
The Indians of the Great Plains / text by Norman Bancroft-Hunt ; photographs by Werner Forman.
The Japanese mind : essentials of Japanese philosophy and culture / Charles A. Moore, editor, with the assistance of Aldyth V. Morris.
The Kensington stone : a mystery solved / Erik Wahlgren.
The Mabinogion / translated by Lady Charlotte Guest ; introduction by Rev. R. Williams.
The Macha of Chira : confessions of an anthropologist / Ethelyn G. Orso.
The Mahābhārata. 1, The book of the beginning / translated [from the Sanskrit] and edited by J.A.B. van Buitenen.
The Mardudjara aborigines : living the dream in Australia's desert / by Robert Tonkinson.
The Mexican pet : more "new" urban legends and some old favorites / Jan Harold Brunvand.
The Mountain Meadows Massacre / by Juanita Brooks.
The Navajo Mountain community : social organization and kinship terminology / Mary Shepardson and Blodwen Hammond.
The Navajo Mountain community : social organization and kinship terminology / Mary Shepardson and Blodwen Hammond.
The Navajo Mountain community : social organization and kinship terminology / Mary Shepardson and Blodwen Hammond.
The Navajo Mountain community : social organization and kinship terminology / Mary Shepardson and Blodwen Hammond.
The Nazification of an academic discipline : folklore in the Third Reich / edited and translated by James R. Dow and Hannjost Lixfeld.
The New Mexico Folklife Festival October 21-24, 1993, Young Park, Las Cruces, New Mexico / sponsored by State of New Mexico, Office of Cultural Affairs and the City of Las Cruces.
The New World Dutch barn; a study of its characteristics, its structural system, and its probable erectional procedures.
The Odyssey / Homer ; translated by E.V. Rieu.
The Penitentes of the Southwest / by Marta Weigle ; with etchings by Eli Levin.
The Tewa world : space, time, being, and becoming in a Pueblo society / Alfonso Ortiz.
The Toltecs, until the fall of Tula / by Nigel Davies.
The Ukrainian winter folksong cycle in Canada / by Robert B. Klymasz ; texts prepared and songs recorded by the author ; musical transcriptions by Kenneth Peacock.
The Viking book of folk ballads of the English-speaking world / edited by Albert B. Friedman.
The White Goddess : a historical grammar of poetic myth / by Robert Graves.
The adventures and sufferings of John R. Jewitt : captive of Maquinna / annotated and illustrated by Hilary Stewart.
The adventures of Baron Munchausen / illustrations by Gustave Doré.
The annual meeting of the American Folklore Society, New Orleans, Louisiana, October 23-26, 1975 / [Donald Ward].
The anthropologist looks at myth / compiled by Melville Jacobs ; edited by John Greenway ; foreword by Melville Jacobs ; introd. by John Greenway.
The art of fieldwork / Harry F. Wolcott.
The babes in the wood.
The baby train and other lusty urban legends / Jan Harold Brunvand.
The ballad and the scholars : approaches to ballad study : papers presented at a Clark Library seminar, 22 October 1983 / by D.K. Wilgus, Barre Toelken.
The ballad book / edited by MacEdward Leach.
The ballad of tradition / by Gordon Hall Gerould.
The birth of Europe / Robert S. Lopez.
The birthday of Judas Iscariot : a study in folklore / [Wayland D. Hand].
The black canoe : Bill Reid and the spirit of Haida Gwaii / text, Robert Bringhurst ; photographs, Ulli Steltzer.
The book of signs : which contains all manner of symbols used from the earliest times to the Middle Ages by primitive peoples and early Christians / collected, drawn and explained by Rudolf Koch ; translated from the German by Vyvyan Holland.
The broken spears : the Aztec account of the conquest of Mexico / edited with an introduction by Miguel Leon-Portilla ; English translation by Lysander Kemp ; illus., adapted from original codices paintings, by Alberto Beltran.
The calling and endowment of healers in folk and primitive medicine / Wayland D. Hand.
The challenge of folklore / by Stith Thompson.
The cheese and the worms : the cosmos of a sixteenth-century miller / Carlo Ginzburg ; translated by John and Anne Tedeschi.
The choking doberman and other "new" urban legends / Jan Harold Brunvand.
The city in history : its origins, its transformations, and its prospects / by Lewis Mumford.
The classic myths in English literature and in art : based originally on Bulfinch's "Age of fable" (1855) ; accompanied by an interpretative and illustrative commentary / by Charles Mills Gayley.
The cockfight : a casebook / edited by Alan Dundes.
The comical history of Baldy Green / by William L. Alderson.
The common muse : an anthology of popular British ballad poetry, XVth-XXth century / edited by Vivian de Sola Pinto and Allan Edwin Rodway ; with an introduction and notes.
The content and style of an oral literature : Clackamas Chinook myths and tales / Melville Jacobs.
The critics & the ballad : readings / selected and edited by MacEdward Leach and Tristram P. Coffin.
The cultural experience : ethnography in complex society / James P. Spradley, David W. McCurdy.
The dance of life : the other dimension of time / Edward T. Hall.
The debate over the trustworthiness of oral traditional history / Richard M. Dorson.
The delicacy and strength of lace : letters between Leslie Marmon Silko & James Wright / edited and with an introduction by Anne Wright.
The enriched, fortified, concentrated, country-fresh, lip-smacking, finger-licking, international, unexpurgated foodbook / by James Trager.
The first American : a story of North American archaeology / by C. W. Ceram ; [translated from the German by Richard and Clara Winston].
The flayed God : the mesoamerican mythological tradition : sacred texts and images from pre-Columbian Mexico and Central America / Roberta H. Markman and Peter T. Markman.
The folklore text : from performance to print / Elizabeth C. Fine.
The folklore text : from performance to print / Elizabeth C. Fine.
The folktale / by Stith Thompson.
The fruit of her hands : Saba lace history and patterns / Eric A. Eliason.
The gift : forms and functions of exchange in archaic societies / by Marcel Mauss ; translated by Ian Cunnison ; with an introduction by E.E. Evans-Pritchard.
The god-kings & the Titans; the New World ascendancy in ancient times [by] James Bailey.
The good red road : passages into native America / Kenneth Lincoln with Al Logan Slagle.
The great cat massacre and other episodes in French cultural history / Robert Darnton.
The hidden dimension / Edward T. Hall.
The hidden half : studies of Plains Indian women / Patricia Albers, Beatrice Medicine.
The horn book : studies in erotic folklore and bibliography / by G. Legman.
The horned Moses in medieval art and thought / by Ruth Mellinkoff.
The horse in Blackfoot Indian culture : with comparative material from other Western tribes / by John C. Ewers.
The human imperative / Alexander Alland, Jr.
The idiom of the people : English traditional verse / edited with an introd. and notes from the mss. of Cecil J. Sharp [by] James Reeves.
The image weavers : contemporary Navajo pictorial textiles, an exhibition at the Wheelwright Museum of the American Indian, Santa Fe, New Mexico, May 15 - October 26, 1994 / guest curator: Susan Brown McGreevy ; guest co-curator: D.Y. Begay.
The influence of culture on visual perception / Marshall H. Segall, Donald T. Campbell, Melville J. Herskovits ; with the collaboration of Donald Bender ... [and others].
The interpretation of cultures : selected essays / by Clifford Geertz.
The little man who wasn't there : encounters with the supranormal / Donald Ward.
The living races of man / by Carleton S. Coon with Edward E. Hunt, Jr.
The loom of history / by Herbert J. Muller.
The lore and language of schoolchildren / by Iona and Peter Opie.
The loves ; The art of beauty ; The remedies for love ; and The art of love / Ovid ; translated by Rolfe Humphries.
The magic orange tree, and other Haitian folktales / collected [and told] by Diane Wolkstein ; drawings by Elsa Henriquez.
The masks of God / Joseph Campbell.
The masks of God / Joseph Campbell.
The masks of God / Joseph Campbell.
The masks of God / Joseph Campbell.
The masks of God : creative mythology / Joseph Campbell.
The meaning of Snorri's categories / by Arthur G. Brodeur.
The metamorphosis of the Kappa : transformation of folklore to folklorism in Japan / Michael Dylan Foster.
The moose and its nuggets / by Ruth E. Moulton.
The myth of the birth of the hero and other writings / by Otto Rank ; edited by Philip Freund.
The mythmakers / Mary Barnard.
The mythology of North America / John Bierhorst.
The naked man / Claude Lévi-Strauss ; translated from the French by John and Doreen Weightman.
The names : a memoir / by N. Scott Momaday.
The new Golden bough : a new abridgment of the classic work / edited, and with notes and foreword, by Theodor H. Gaster.
The north Alaskan Eskimo : a study in ecology and society / by Robert F. Spencer.
The old fox and the fairy child : a study in Japanese folklore and Miyazawa Kenji / Masahiro Manabe, Kerstin Vidaeus.
The oral epic : performance and music / Karl Reichl (ed.).
The passing of traditional society: modernizing the Middle East. With the collaboration of Lucille W. Pevsner, and an introd. by David Riesman.
The plight of current folklore theory / by John Wilson Foster.
The portable North American Indian reader / edited and with an introd. by Frederick W. Turner III.
The presence of the past : morphic resonance and the habits of nature / Rupert Sheldrake.
The quest of meaning in folk-narrative research : what does meaning mean and what is the meaning of mean? / Lutz Röhrich.
The raw and the cooked / translated from the French by John and Doreen Weightman.
The remembered earth : an anthology of contemporary Native American literature / edited by Geary Hobson.
The return of the dead lover : psychic unity and polygenesis revisited / Donald Ward.
The rhetoric of nonverbal communication : readings / [compiled by] Haig A. Bosmajian.
The riddle of the runes / by Arthur G. Brodeur.
The rise of the Greek epic / by Gilbert Murray.
The sacred and the profane : the nature of religion / by Mircea Eliade ; translated from the French by Willard R. Trask.
The science of folklore / Alexander Haggerty Krappe.
The silent language / Edward T. Hall.
The singer of tales / Albert B. Lord ; Stephen Mitchell and Gregory Nagy, editors.
The singer of tales / by Albert B. Lord.
The snowmobile revolution : technology and social change in the Arctic / Pertti J. Pelto.
The sociology of small groups [by] Theodore M. Mills.
The study of culture / L.L. Langness.
The study of folklore / Alan Dundes.
The surrounded / D'Arcy McNickle ; afterword by Lawrence W. Towner.
The survival of the pagan gods : the mythological tradition and its place in Renaissance humanism and art / by Jean Seznec ; translated from the French by Barbara F. Sessions.
The symbolic species : the co-evolution of language and the brain / Terrence W. Deacon.
The tape-recorded interview : a manual for field workers in folklore and oral history / Edward D. Ives.
The troubadours & their world of the twelfth and thirteenth centuries / Jack Lindsay.
The truth about Montana winters / edited by Paul Husted ; assisted by Pat Gudmundson ; illustrated by Syd Sonneborn.
The unbroken chain : the traditional arts of Tucson's Mexican-American community = La cadena que no se corta : las artes tradicionales de la comunidad méxico-americana de Tucsón / [text by James S. Griffith ; photography by José Galvez, James S. Griffith, & Cynthia Vidaurri].
The uses of enchantment : the meaning and importance of fairy tales / Bruno Bettelheim.
The vanishing hitchhiker : American urban legends and their meanings / Jan Harold Brunvand.
The voice in the margin : Native American literature and the canon / Arnold Krupat.
The way of the human being / Calvin Luther Martin.
The works of Flavius Josephus: comprising the Antiquities of the Jews; a History of the Jewish wars; and Life of Flavius Josephus, written by himself ... And three dissertations, concerning Jesus Christ, John the Baptist, James the Just, God's command to Abraham, etc./ Translated by William Whiston.
The world of the Crow Indians : as driftwood lodges / by Rodney Frey.
The world of the Kalevala : essays in celebration of the 150 year jubilee of the publication of the Finnish national epic / edited by Michael Owen Jones.
The yellow wall-paper / Charlotte Perkins Gilman ; afterword by Elaine R. Hedges.
Theorizing trivia : a thought experiment / Elliott Oring.
They whisper : a novel / Robert Olen Butler.
Through Navajo eyes : an exploration in film communication and anthropology / Sol Worth [and] John Adair.
Timber down the hill / by Oscar Blake.
Topophilia : a study of environmental perception, attitudes, and values / Yi-fu Tuan ; with a new preface by the author.
Toppler : ein Mordfall im Mittelalter / E.W. Heine.
Totem poles / written & illustrated by Hilary Stewart.
Töpferei im Elsass : dargestellt am Beispiel von zwei Familienbetrieben in Oberbetschdorf und Soufflenheim / Lutz Röhrich, Gertraud Meinel.
Traumzeit : über die Grenze zwischen Wildnis und Zivilisation / Hans Peter Duerr.
Travels in the interior of North America, 1751-1762 / translated and edited by Seymour Feiler.
Truth.
Tuwanasavi : bedrohtes Überleben im Land der Hopi-IndianerInnen / mit Photos von Ulli Steltzer.
Tübinger Beiträge zur Volkskultur / herausgegeben von Utz Jeggle ... [et al.].
Tübinger Gogenwitze / Heinz-Eugen Schramm.
Tübinger Gogenwitze / mit einem Vorwort von Bernd-Jürgen-Warneken und Zeichnungen von Sepp Buchegger.
Twenty tellable tales : audience participation folktales for the beginning storyteller / by Margaret Read MacDonald.
Types of the Scandinavian medieval ballad : some considerations / [David G. Engle].
Typisch saarländisch : Ein- und Ausdrücke aus dem jüngsten Bundesland / zusammengestellt von Gerhard Bungert mit Zeichnungen von Volker Schmidt.
Ugiuvangmiut quliapyuit = King Island tales : Eskimo history and legends from Bering Strait / transcribed and translated by Margaret Seeganna, Gertrude Analoak ; compiled and edited by Lawrence D. Kaplan with assistance from Margaret Yocom ; foreword by Louis L. Renner ; introduction by Ursula Ellanna, Margaret Seeganna, Lawrence D. Kaplan ; photographs by Bernard R. Hubbard.
Unclean spirits : possession and exorcism in France and England in the late sixteenth and early seventeenth centuries / D.P. Walker.
Unugulux tunusangin, oldtime stories : Aleut crafts and traditions as taught to students at the Unalaska City School by Augusta Dushkin, ... [and others] / edited with an introduction by Ray Hudson.
Über den Rassismus : sechzehn Kapitel zur Anatomie, Geschichte und Deutung des Rassenwahns / Léon Poliakov, Christian Delacampagne, Patrick Girard ; mit einer Einleitung von Philipp Wolff-Windegg.
Vance Randolph, the compleat folklorist / by Herbert Halpert.
Verbal art as performance / Richard Bauman ; with supplementary essays by Barbara A. Babcock ... [and others].
Vermont folk-songs & ballads / edited by Helen Hartness Flanders & George Brown.
Vermont is where you find it : stories and pictures / arranged by Keith Warren Jennison.
Village Japan / Richard K. Beardsley, John W. Hall, Robert E. Ward.
Virgin land : the American West as symbol and myth / Henry Nash Smith.
Visions of the people : a pictorial history of Plains Indian life / Evan M. Maurer ; with essays by Evan M. Maurer ... [and others] ; exhibition organized by Evan M. Maurer and Louise Lincoln ; catalogue entries by Evan M. Maurer ... [and others].
Voices from four directions : contemporary translations of the Native literatures of North America / edited by Brian Swann.
Voices of the winds : native American legends / Margot Edmonds, Ella E. Clark.
Volks- und Popularmusik in Europa / Doris Stockmann (Hg.) in Zusammenarbeit mit Andreas Michel ; und Beiträgen von Philip Bohlman ... [and others].
Volks- und Popularmusik in Europa / Doris Stockmann (Hg.) in Zusammenarbeit mit Andreas Michel ; und Beiträgen von Philip Bohlman ... [and others].
Volkskunde : eine Einführung / von Günter Wiegelmann, Matthias Zender, Gerhard Heilfurth.
Volkskunde : von der Altertumsforschung zur Kulturanalyse / Hermann Bausinger.
Volkskunde und Literatur / [Lutz Röhrich].
Volkskunst heute? : Vogelscheuchen, Hobby-Künstler, Vorgarten-Kunst, Fronleichnamsteppiche, Krippen, Graffiti, Motorrad-Tanks, Autobemalungen, Tätowierungen, Punk-Ästhetik : Begleitband zu einer Ausstellung im Haspelturm des Tübinger Schlosses aus Anlass der Landeskunstwochen 1986 vom 16. Mai-29. Juni 1986 / Herausgegeben von Gottfried Korff.
Volkstümliche Feste : ein Führer zu Volksfesten, Märkten und Messen in Deutschland / Leander Petzoldt.
Vom Mummenschanz zum Machttheater : Europäische Festkultur im Mittelalter / Jacques Heers ; aus dem Französischen von Grete Osterwald.
Vom Promenieren zum Spazieren : zur Kulturgeschichte des Pariser Parks / Katharina Oxenius.

W–Z Titles

Wage es, den Frosch zu küssen : das Grimmsche Märchen Nummer eins in seinen Wandlungen / Lutz Röhrich.
Wallfahrt, Tradition und Mode : empirische Untersuchungen zur Aktualität von Volksfrömmigkeit / herausgegeben von Martin Scharfe, Martin Schmolze und Gertrud Schubert.
Warrior women and popular balladry, 1650-1850 / Dianne Dugaw ; with a new preface.
Was ist ein Kulturdenkmal? / [Herausgeber, Hans-Herbert Möller ; Redaktion, Rolf-Jürgen Grote]
Wâskahikaniwiyiniw-âcimowina = Stories of the House People / told by Peter Vandall and Joe Douquette ; edited, translated, and with a glossary by Freda Ahenakew.
Welsh Celtic myth in modern fantasy / C.W. Sullivan III.
Wer ermordete Mozart? Wer enthauptete Haydn? : Mordgeschichten für Musikfreunde / E.W. Heine.
Wer meckert, sitzt : Lachen im realen Sozialismus / Konrad Seyfferth ; illustriert von H.E. Köhler.
What this awl means : feminist archaeology at a Wahpeton Dakota village / Janet D. Spector ; with essential contributions by Chris C. Cavender ... [and others]
When cultures meet : remembering San Gabriel del Yunge Oweenge : papers from the October 20, 1984 conference held at San Juan Pueblo, New Mexico.
When peoples meet : a study in race and culture contacts / edited by Alain Locke and Bernhard J. Stern.
When the rainbow touches down : the artists and stories behind the Apache, Navajo, Rio Grande Pueblo and Hopi paintings in the William and Leslie Van Ness Denman Collection / by Tryntje Van Ness Seymour.
Where the two came to their father : a Navaho war ceremonial / given by Jeff King ; text and paintings recorded by Maud Oakes ; commentary by Joseph Campbell.
Where the two came to their father : a Navaho war ceremonial / given by Jeff King ; text and paintings recorded by Maud Oakes ; commentary by Joseph Campbell.
While I breathe, I hope : personal accounts of cotton mill workers with brown lung disease / compiled by Robert S. McCarl for the Brown Lung Association.
White magic : an introduction to the folklore of Christian legend / by C. Grant Loomis.
Who met the ice lynx : naming stories of the Swampy Cree people / gathered and translated by Howard Norman ; illustrated by Tom Pohrt.
Wie starb Wagner? Was geschah mit Glenn Miller? : neue Geschichten für Musikfreunde / E.W. Heine.
Wild rice and the Ojibway people / Thomas Vennum, Jr.
Winfried Bornemanns Briefmacken / [Winfried Bornemann] ; mit Zeichnungen von Arthur Peters.
Winfried Bornemanns Briefmacken 2 / [Winfried Bornemann].
Wisdom sits in places : landscape and language among the Western Apache / Keith H. Basso.
With a camera in old Navaholand / by Earle R. Forrest ; foreword by Katharine Bartlett.
With good heart : Yaqui beliefs and ceremonies in Pascua Village / Muriel Thayer Painter ; Edward H. Spicer and Wilma Kaemlein, editors.
Witz : für die Sekundarstufe / herausgegeben von Hannjost Lixfeld.
Wo'i bwikam = Coyote songs : from the Yaqui Bow Leaders' Society / recorded, translated, and annotated by Larry Evers and Felipe S. Molina.
Wood, ivory and bone : 1981 native art competition / sponsored by Alaska State Council on the Arts and the Alaska State Museum.
Wordsmanship, a dictionary / by Claurène duGran ; illustrations by George Booth.
Working the water : the commercial fisheries of Maryland's Patuxent River / edited by Paula J. Johnson.
Yaqui myths and legends / collected by Ruth Warner Giddings ; Harry Behn, editor ; illustrated by Laurie Cook.
Yodeling of the Indiana Swiss Amish / Chad L. Thompson ...
Zauber Märchen : Forschungsberichte aus der Welt der Märchen / im Auftrag der Europäischen Märchengesellschaft herausgegeben von Ursula Heindrichs und Heinz-Albert Heindrichs.
Zeit und Geschichte : aus dem Französischen von Perdita Duttke / Philippe Ariès.
Zielformen im Witz : zur Variabilität und Stabilität in der Erzählüberlieferung / Hannjost Lixfeld.
Zu den Funktionen der Mode / von Hermann Bausinger.
Zur Spezifik volkskundlicher Arbeit / von Hermann Bausinger.
Zur ästhetischen L'art pour l'art-Theorie des Witzes / [Hannjost Lixfeld].
Zur mündlichen Komposition von Volksballaden / von Klaus Roth.