LibGuides: Guide to Books in the Fife Folklore Archives: Folk Coll 20

Folk Collection 20 - The Barre Toelken Native American Collection

The alphabetized sections are expandable and collapsible. Click a letter range to view the titles in that section. For quick searching, use Ctrl+F (Windows) or Command+F (Mac) to find keywords or specific titles on the page. To request an item, look up the title in the USU Libraries online catalog to confirm the exact record and call number, then submit your request through Special Collections and Archives.

Folk Coll 20 – A–Z Book List

A–Z Titles

A Creek warrior for the Confederacy : the autobiography of Chief G.W. Grayson / edited with an introduction by W. David Baird.
A Time of gathering : native heritage in Washington State / Robin K. Wright, editor.
A Yaqui life : the personal chronicle of a Yaqui Indian / by Rosalio Moisés, Jane Holden Kelley, and William Curry Holden ; introd. by Jane Holden Kelley.
A guide to B.C. Indian myth and legend : a short history of myth-collecting and a survey of published texts / by Ralph Maud.
A narrative of the life of Mrs. Mary Jemison / James E. Seaver ; with an introduction by June Namias.
A study of Pueblo architecture in Tusayan and Cibola / Victor Mindeleff ; introduction by Peter Nabokov.
A wealth of thought : Franz Boas on Native American art / edited by Aldona Jonaitis.
Absaloka : stories from the little people / edited by John Schwechten and Rena Colleen He Does It.
Alaskan igloo tales / by Edward L. Keithahn ; illustrated by George Aden Ahgupuk ; edited by Kenneth Gilbert.
Algonquin ethnobotany : an interpretation of Aboriginal adaptation in Southwestern Quebec / Meredith Jean Black.
American Indian Policy Review Commission interim report [June, 1976].
American Indian basketry magazine.
American Indian basketry.
American Indian holocaust and survival : a population history since 1492 / by Russell Thornton.
American Indian prophets : religious leaders and revitalization movements / edited by Clifford E. Trafzer.
Amerindian rebirth : reincarnation belief among North American Indians and Inuit / edited by Antonia Mills and Richard Slobodin.
An Anthology of Northwest writing, 1900-1950 / edited by Michael Strelow and the Northwest review staff.
Anglo-Navajo ; culture capsules / J. Dale Miller and Russell H. Bishop.
Angwamas minosewag anishinabeg / gathered by David Martinson.
Apache days and after / by Thomas Cruse ; edited, with an introduction, by Eugene Cunningham.
Apache, Navaho, and Spaniard / by Jack D. Forbes.
Art legacy of the Coast Salish / by Harry Calkins.
Art of the Red Earth People : the Mesquakie of Iowa / Gaylord Torrence and Robert Hobbs.
Arts of the raven: masterworks by the northwest coast Indian ; an exhibition in honour of the one hundredth anniversary of Canadian Confederation / catalogue text by Wilson Duff, with contributory articles by Bill Holm and Bill Reid.
Assu of Cape Mudge : recollections of a Coastal Indian chief / Harry Assu with Joy Inglis.
Aztec thought and culture : a study of the ancient Nahuatl mind / by Miguel León-Portilla ; translated from the Spanish by Jack Emory Davis.
Beads & ribbons.
Beyond the primitive : the religions of nonliterate peoples / Sam D. Gill.
Beyond the vision : essays on American Indian culture / William K. Powers.
Bibliography of language arts materials for native North Americans : bilingual, English as a second language, and native language materials, 1965-1974 / G. Edward Evans, principal investigator ; Karin Abbey, research director ; Dennis Reed, research assistant.
Bibliography of language arts materials for native North Americans : bilingual, English as a second language, and native language materials, 1975-1976, with supplemental entries for 1965-1974 / G. Edward Evans and Karin Abbey.
Big Falling Snow : a Tewa-Hopi Indian's life and times and the history and traditions of his people / by Albert Yava ; edited and annotated by Harold Courlander.
Blood on the moon : Valentine McGillycuddy and the Sioux / by Julia B. McGillycuddy ; introduction by James C. Olson.
Book of the Hopi / by Frank Waters ; drawings and source material recorded by Oswald White Bear Fredericks.
Buffalo Bird Woman's garden : agriculture of the Hidatsa Indians / [as told to] Gilbert L. Wilson ; with a new introduction by Jeffery R. Hanson.
Buffalo Hump and the Penateka Comanches / Jodye Lynn Dickson Schilz and Thomas F. Schilz.
Buried roots and indestructible seeds : the survival of American Indian life in story, history, and spirit / editors, Mark Lindquist, Martin Zanger.
Bury my heart at Wounded Knee : an Indian history of the American West / by Dee Brown.
Cahokia and the hinterlands : middle Mississippian cultures of the Midwest / edited by Thomas E. Emerson and R. Barry Lewis.
Californian Indian nights : stories of the creation of the world, of man, of fire, of the sun, of thunder ... / compiled by Edward W. Gifford and Gwendoline Harris Block ; introduction to the Bison book edition by Albert L. Hurtado.
Captive of the Nootka Indians : the northwest coast adventure of John R. Jewitt, 1802-1806 / edited by Alice W. Shurcliff and Sarah Shurcliff Ingelfinger ; foreword by Richard I. Inglis.
Captured heritage : the scramble for Northwest Coast artifacts / Douglas Cole.
Celebrate native America! : an Aztec book of days / by Richard Balthazar.
Chamulas in the world of the sun : time and space in a Maya oral tradition / [by] Gary H. Gossen.
Changing military patterns of the Great Plains Indians : (17th century through early 19th century) / Frank Raymond Secoy ; introduction to the Bison book edition by John C. Ewers.
Cherokee cavaliers : forty years of Cherokee history as told in the correspondence of the Ridge-Watie-Boudinot family / [edited] by Edward Everett Dale & Gaston Litton ; foreword by James W. Parins.
Chief Henry yugh̳ noholnigee = The stories that Chief Henry told / transcribed and edited by Eliza Jones, Neeltiloyineelno.
Conservatism among the Iroquois at the Six Nations Reserve / Annemarie Anrod Shimony.
Cortez crossroads : a guide to the Anasazi heritage, and scenic beauty of the Four Corners Region / Frederick W. Lange.
Coyote and the Colville.
Crow tribal treaty centennial issue, 1868-1968.
December's child : a book of Chumash oral narratives / edited, with an analysis, by Thomas C. Blackburn.
Diplomats in buckskins : a history of Indian delegations in Washington City / Herman J. Viola ; foreword by Ben Nighthorse Campbell.
Documents of United States Indian policy / edited by Francis Paul Prucha.
Dolores Archaeological Program : Anasazi communities at Dolores : early Anasazi sites in the Sagehen Flats area / compiled by Allen E. Kane and G. Timothy Gross.
Dolores archaeological program : Anasazi communities at Dolores : Middle Canyon area / compiled by Allen E. Kane and Christine K. Robinson ; prepared under the supervision of David A. Breternitz, principal investigator.
Dress clothing of the Plains Indians / by Ronald P. Koch.
Ethnomusicology of the Flathead Indians / by Alan P. Merriam.
Fools Crow / [recorded by] Thomas E. Mails, assisted by Dallas Chief Eagle ; with ill. by the author.
For an Amerindian autohistory : an essay on the foundations of a social ethic / Georges E. Sioui ; translated from the French by Sheila Fischman ; foreword by Bruce G. Trigger.
Geronimo and the end of the Apache wars / edited by C.L. Sonnichsen.
Glacier Bay concerto : a long poem in three movements / by Richard Dauenhauer.
Haiku written in the moon of ripening.
Half-Sun on the Columbia : a biography of Chief Moses / by Robert H. Ruby and John A. Brown ; foreword by Angie Debo ; introduction by Deward E. Walker, Jr.
Harvesting shadows : untold tales from the fur trade / H.D. Smiley.
He who hunted birds in his father's village : the dimensions of a Haida myth / Gary Snyder ; with a pref. by Nathaniel Tarn.
History in their blood : the Indian portraits of Nicholas de Grandmaison / Hugh A. Dempsey ; introduction by J. Russell Harper ; foreword by Frederick J. Dockstader.
Hopi bibliography : comprehensive and annotated / W. David Laird.
Huboo : Lushootseed literature in English / Vi Hilbert.
I stand in the center of the good : interviews with contemporary Native American artists / edited by Lawrence Abbott.
In the shadows of mountains : Ahtna stories from the Copper River / collected & edited by John E. Smelcer ; foreword by Gary Snyder.
Indian education in the American colonies, 1607-1783 / Margaret Connell Szasz.
Indian legends [by] Johanna R.M. Lyback; illustrated by Alexander Key.
Indian life in Texas / written and illustrated by Charles Shaw ; with photographs by Reagan Bradshaw ; foreword by James A. Michener.
Indian revolts in northern New Spain : a synthesis of resistance, 1680-1786 / Roberto Mario Salmón.
Indian summer : traditional life among the Choinumne Indians of California's San Joaquin Valley / Thomas Jefferson Mayfield ; introduction by Malcolm Margolin.
Indians before Columbus : twenty thousand years of North American history revealed by archeology / Paul S. Martin, George I. Quimby, Donald Collier.
Indians of California : the changing image / by James J. Rawls.
Indians of North and South America : a bibliography based on the collection at the Willard E. Yager Library-Museum, Hartwick College, Oneonta, N.Y. / by Carolyn E. Wolf and Nancy S. Chiang.
Indians of the Feather River : tales and legends of the Concow Maidu of California / by Donald P. Jewell.
Jim Whitewolf: the life of a Kiowa Apache Indian. Edited, and with an introd. and epilogue, by Charles S. Brant.
Kassigeluremiut : Kassigelum yui tarenerani ganeruani-llu, katurtelri tarenerailri-llu Leonard Kamerlingam. The people of Kasigluk in pictures and poems / edited and photographed by Leonard Kamerling.
Kinsmen through time : an annotated bibliography of Potawatomi history / by R. David Edmunds.
Kokopelli : fluteplayer images in rock art / Dennis Slifer & James Duffield.
Kusiq : an Eskimo life history from the Arctic coast of Alaska / by Waldo Bodfish, Sr. ; recorded, compiled, and edited by William Schneider in collaboration with Leona Kisautaq Okakok and James Mumiġana Nageak.
Kwakwak̲a'w̲akw settlements, 1775-1920 : a geographical analysis and gazetteer / Robert Galois ; with contributions by Jay Powell and Gloria Cranmer Webster (on behalf of the U'mista Cultural Centre, Alert Bay, British Columbia).
Lewis and Clark among the Indians / James P. Ronda.
Looking at totem poles / written & illustrated by Hilary Stewart ; with a foreword by Norman Tait.
Luther Douglas Navajo Indian ceremonial sandpaintings : [exhibition] Blatchley Gallery of Art, College of Idaho, October 5-23, 1980.
Magic in the mountains : the Yakima shaman, power & practice / by Donald M. Hines.
María : the potter of San Ildefonso / by Alice Marriott ; with drawings by Margaret Lefranc.
Masterpieces of basketry / by Billy C. Lewis.
Medicine women, curanderas, and women doctors / by Bobette Perrone, H. Henrietta Stockel, Victoria Krueger.
Micmac Indian medicine : a traditional way of health / by Laurie Lacey.
Montezuma Castle National Monument, Arizona / by Albert H. Schroeder and Homer F. Hastings.
More Mohave myths.
Myths of the red children / retold by Gilbert L. Wilson, A. M.; illustrated by Frederick N. Wilson.
Narratives of North American Indian captivities : [descriptive bibliography / edited by Wilcomb E. Washburn].
Nations within a nation : the American Indian and the government of the United States / prepared by A. T. Anderson, special assistant, American Indian Policy Review Commission.
Native American architecture / Peter Nabokov, Robert Easton.
Native American basketry : an annotated bibliography / compiled by Frank W. Porter III.
Native American legends : southeastern legends--tales from the Natchez, Caddo, Biloxi, Chickasaw, and other nations / compiled and edited by George E. Lankford.
Native American poetry.
Native American voluntary organizations / edited by Armand S. La Potin.
Navajo biographies / by Virginia Hoffman and Broderick H. Johnson. Illustrated by Hoke Denetsosie, Andy Tsinajinnie, and Clifford Beck, Jr.
Navajo life series / [Navajo version by Robert W. Young and William Morgan ; illustrated by Andrew Van Tsihnajinnie.
Navajo medicine / by Donald F. Sandner.
Navajo taboos / by Ernest L. Bulow.
New worlds from fragments : film, ethnography, and the representation of Northwest Coast cultures / Rosalind C. Morris.
Newe natekwinappeh: Shoshoni stories and dictionary / compiled by Wick R. Miller.
North American Indians / George Catlin ; edited and with an introduction by Peter Matthiessen.
North American native authors catalog.
Northwest Indian basketry / Genevieve Baird.
Northwest Indian coyote tales / edited by Ella E. Clark.
Northwest chiefs : Gustave Sohon's views of the 1855 Stevens treaty councils / by David Nicandri.
Northwest coast Indian art / by Erna Gunther.
Okla Hannali / by R. A. Lafferty.
Oklahoma Seminoles : medicines, magic, and religion / by James H. Howard, in collaboration with Willie Lena.
On second thought : a compilation / by Maurice Kenny ; with a foreword by Joseph Bruchac/Green Corn Moon.
Oral tradition of the Coquille Indians / Roberta L. Hall.
Oregon directory of American Indian resources / compiled and edited by Katherine M. Gorospe Greene, Commission Assistant (Commission on Indian Services).
Otomi parables, folktales, and jokes / edited by H. Russell Bernard and Jesus Salinas Pedraza.
Our chiefs and elders : words and photographs of Native leaders / David Neel.
Our people speak : an anthology of Indian writing / published by students at Humboldt State University with the cooperation of Indian Teacher Education and Preparation Program and the Redwood Writing Project.
Paiute / Sessions S. Wheeler ; new foreword by Robert E. Blesse.
Paths of the people : the Ojibwe in the Chippewa Valley / text by Tim Pfaff.
Patina : an interim publication of the Utah Rock Art Research Association (URARH)
People of Terra Nullius : betrayal and rebirth in aboriginal Canada / Boyce Richardson.
People of the Tonto Rim : archaeological discovery in prehistoric Arizona / Charles L. Redman.
People of the willows : the prehistory and early history of the Hidatsa Indians / Stanley A. Ahler, Thomas D. Thiessen, Michael K. Trimble.
Photographs and poems by Sioux children from the Porcupine Day School, Pine Ridge Indian Reservation, South Dakota. Selected by Myles Libhart and Arthur Amiotte. With an essay by Arthur Amiotte. An exhibition organized by the Indian Arts and Crafts Board of the U.S. Department of the Interior.
Portrait masks from the northwest coast of America / J. C. H. King.
Portraits of "The Whiteman" : linguistic play and cultural symbols among the western Apache / Keith H. Basso ; ill. by Vincent Craig.
Powhatan's mantle : Indians in the colonial Southeast / edited by Peter H. Wood, Gregory A. Waselkov, M. Thomas Hatley.
Prairie smoke / Melvin R. Gilmore ; illustrated by Louis Schellbach ; with a new introduction by Roger L. Welsch.
Prehistoric hunters of the Black Hills / by E. Steve Cassells.
Pueblo architecture of the Southwest : a photographic essay / photographs by William Current ; text by Vincent Scully.
Pueblo crafts / by Ruth Underhill ; edited by Willard W. Beatty.
Pueblo crafts / by Ruth Underhill.
Pueblo stories and storytellers / by Mark Bahti ; [photography by David Burckhalter ; illustrations by Connie Asch].
Quáy-lem u en-chów-men : a collection of hymns and prayers in the Flathead-Kalispel-Spokane Indian language / recorded, transcribed and edited by Thomas E. Connolly.
Reclaiming cultural artifacts / Richard Hill.
Remember native America! : the earthworks of ancient America / by Richard Balthazar.
Returning the gift : poetry and prose from the First North American Native Writers' Festival / Joseph Bruchac, editor, with the support of the Association for the Study of American Indian Literatures.
Rifles, blankets, and beads : identity, history, and the northern Athapaskan potlatch / by William E. Simeone.
Roads to center place : a cultural atlas of Chaco Canyon and the Anasazi / Kathryn Gabriel.
Rock Point landmarks / by Rock Point Middle School.
Rolling thunder : voices from a people / edited by Phyllis Wolf ; photography by Dan Whitesinger.
Sarah Winnemucca of the Northern Paiutes / by Gae Whitney Canfield.
Seevookuk : stories the old people told on St. Lawrence Island / by Roger S. Silook ; with ill. by Florence Malewotkuk.
Selected writings of Edward S. Curtis : excerpts from volumes I-XX of the North American Indian / edited and with an introd. by Barry Gifford.
Shaking the pumpkin : traditional poetry of the Indian North Americas.
Siletz restoration days : 1st annual, November 1977 / sponsored by the Confederated Tribes of the Siletz ; [editor, Robert P. Tom]
Siletz, survival for an artifact / by Leone Letson Kasner ; illustrated by the author.
Singing for power; the song magic of the Papago Indians of southern Arizona [by] Ruth Murray Underhill.
Sitting Bull, champion of the Sioux; a biography.
Sít' Kaa Káx Kana.áa Kaasgéiy X'éidax Sh Kalneek. Glacier Bay history. Edited and transcribed by Nora Florendo.
Songs of Indian Territory : native American music traditions of Oklahoma / edited by Willie Smyth.
Spawning the Medicine River.
[Special issue on American Indian translation] / Kenneth Lincoln, special issue editor.
Spirit of the earth / an exhibition of contemporary Native American art organized by the International Native American Council of Arts ... October 2 - November 7, l980, at the Buscaglia-Castellani Art Gallery of the Niagara University, DeVeaux Campus, Niagara Falls, New York.
Stability and variation in the Hopi song / George List.
Standing in the light : a Lakota way of seeing / by Severt Young Bear and R.D. Theisz.
Star Woman and other Shawnee tales / retold by James A. Clifton.
Stories for my grandchildren / told by Gaither Paul ; transcribed and edited by Ron Scollon.
Summer people, winter people : a guide to Pueblos in the Santa Fe area / Sandra A. Edelman.
Sun chief : the autobiography of a Hopi Indian / edited by Leo W. Simmons ; foreword by Robert V. Hine.
Survival this way : interviews with American Indian poets / Joseph Bruchac.
Talking to the moon / John Joseph Mathews ; foreword by Elizabeth Mathews.
Teaching American Indian students / edited by Jon Reyhner ; foreword by Ben Nighthorse Campbell.
Teaching an Indian language.
Tecumseh's last stand / by John Sugden.
The Art of Native American basketry : a living legacy / edited by Frank W. Porter III.
The Arts in Alaska.
"The Barefoot Trail" : access to "Zuni Heaven".
The Cherokees : a population history / by Russell Thornton, with the assistance of C. Matthew Snipp and Nancy Breen.
The Chippewas of Lake Superior / by Edmund Jefferson Danziger, Jr.
The Clouds threw this light : contemporary native American poetry / edited by Phillip Foss.
The Dine'.
The Dramatic arts of the American Indian / [Edith J.R. Isaacs, editor].
The Forgotten centuries : Indians and Europeans in the American South, 1521-1704 / edited by Charles Hudson and Carmen Chaves Tesser.
The Harris site : a multi-component site of the Uncompahgre Plateau, West-Central Colorado / by Gordon C. Tucker and Chipeta Chapter of the Colorado Archaeological Society, Montrose, Colorado.
The Hohokam : ancient people of the desert / edited by David Grant Noble.
The Incredible survival of Coyote / by Gary Snyder.
The Indian historian.
The Indian peoples of Eastern America : a documentary history of the sexes / edited by James Axtell.
The Indian tipi : its history, construction, and use / by Reginald and Gladys Laubin ; with a history of the Tipi by Stanley Vestal.
The Indians of Yellowstone Park / Joel C. Janetski.
The Indians' book; an offering by the American Indians of Indian lore, musical and narrative, to form a record of the songs and legends of their race. Recorded and edited by Natalie Curtis. Illus. from photos. and from original drawings by Indians.
The Ioway Indians / by Martha Royce Blaine ; with a new preface by the author.
The Kalispel Indians / by John Fahey.
The Navajo yearbook of planning in action.
The Pawnee Indians / by George E. Hyde ; foreword by Savoie Lottinville.
The Pocahontas perplex : the image of Indian women in American culture / by Rayna Green.
The Ponca world / prepared by the Oklahoma Indian Affairs Commission ; project director, Dr. Joy Reed.
The Religious character of native American humanities : an interdisciplinary conference, held April 14-15, 1977.
The Salish people : the local contribution of Charles Hill-Tout / edited with an introd. by Ralph Maud.
The Segesser hide paintings : masterpieces depicting Spanish Colonial New Mexico / by Gottfried Hotz ; translated by Johannes Malthaner.
The Seneca people / by George H. J. Abrams ; scientific editor, Henry F. Dobyns, general editor, John I. Griffin.
The Sons of the wind : the sacred stories of the Lakota / introduction by Vivian Arviso One Feather ; edited by D.M. Dooling from the James R. Walker collection.
The Sound of rattles and clappers : a collection of new California Indian writing / edited by Greg Sarris.
The Tlingit Indians : results of a trip to the northwest coast of America and the Bering Straits. / translated by Erna Gunther.
The Walapai people / by Henry F. Dobyns and Robert C. Euler ; scientific editor, Henry F. Dobyns ; general editor, John I. Griffin.
The Zunis : self-portrayals / by the Zuni people ; Alvina Quam, translator.
The ancient sun kingdoms of the Americas : Aztec, Maya, Inca / illustrated by Alberto Beltrán.
The contemporary culture of the Cáhita Indians / by Ralph L. Beals.
The crooked stovepipe : Athapaskan fiddle music and square dancing in Northeast Alaska and Northwest Canada / Craig Mishler.
The destruction of the people / by Coyote Man.
The excavation of Hummingbird Shelter / by Carl E. Conner and Danni L. Langdon.
The good red road : passages into native America / Kenneth Lincoln with Al Logan Slagle.
The heritage of Klickitat basketry : a history and art preserved / by Nettie Kuneki, Elsie Thomas, and Marie Slockish.
The hoe and the horse on the Plains; a study of cultural development among North American Indians.
The journal of dance.
The last Contrary : the story of Wesley Whiteman (Black Bear) / by Warren E. Schwartz with an introduction by Herbert T. Hoover.
The maiden of Deception Pass : a spirit in cedar / by Kenneth C. Hansen.
The mythology of the Wichita / by George A. Dorsey ; foreword by Elizabeth A. H. John.
The ordering of Wonderland : Yellowstone National Park and the culture of nature aestheticism, 1872-1903 / Chris J. Magoc.
The other southwest : Indian arts and crafts of northwestern Mexico : prepared in coordination with an exhibition by the Heard Museum, May 20, 1977 through August 27, 1977 / by Bernard L. Fontana, Edmond J. B. Faubert, Barney T. Burns ; foreword by Edward H. Spicer.
The primal mind : vision and reality in Indian America / Jamake Highwater.
The responsible center : man and nature in Pueblo and Navaho ritual songs and prayers / Franchot Ballinger.
The same as yesterday : the Lillooet chronicle the theft of their lands and resources / Joanne Drake-Terry.
The seven visions of Bull Lodge / as told by his daughter, Garter Snake ; gathered by Fred P. Gone, edited by George Horse Capture.
The sky clears : poetry of the American Indians / by A. Grove Day.
The spoken word and the work of interpretation / Dennis Tedlock.
The story of Us Wan / by Larry A. George.
The way to independence : memories of a Hidatsa Indian family, 1840-1920 / Carolyn Gilman, Mary Jane Schneider ; with essays by W. Raymond Wood ... [and others].
The ways of an Indian / by Doris Cerveri ; foreword by Donald R. Tuohy.
The whale is coming / by Mary Lou Wickens ; graphic design: T.J. Niemi, illustration: Bill Kastan, art direction and editing: Dennis Green.
The whale is coming : a mobile learning center for the Portland Public Schools' Indian Education Act Project.
The witch of Goingsnake and other stories / by Robert J. Conley ; foreword by Wilma P. Mankiller.
There still are buffalo. Illus. by Andrew Standing Soldier. Edited by Willard W. Beatty.
They call me Agnes : a Crow narrative based on the life of Agnes Yellowtail Deernose / by Fred W. Voget ; assisted by Mary K. Mee.
This path we travel : celebrations of contemporary Native American creativity / with photographs by Walter Bigbee.
This tree grows out of hell : Mesoamerica and the search for the magical body / Ptolemy Tompkins.
To the Chukchi Peninsula and to the Tlingit Indians, 1881/1882 : journals and letters by Aurel and Arthur Krause / translated by Margot Krause McCaffrey.
Tonita Peña : Quah Ah, 1893-1949 / by Samuel L. Gray.
Totem poles : an illustrated guide / Marjorie M. Halpin ; foreword by Michael M. Ames.
Traditional narratives of the Arikara Indians / [edited by] Douglas R. Parks.
Tule technology : northern Paiute uses of marsh resources in western Nevada / Catherine S. Fowler.
Two centuries of art in Washington, 1776-1976 / State Capitol Museum Olympia.
Uniquely American.
United States-Comanche relations : the reservation years / William T. Hagan.
Uses of plants by the Indians of the Missouri River region / Melvin R. Gilmore ; foreword by Hugh Cutler.
Ute traditional narratives / edited by T. Givón.
Views from the Apache frontier : report on the northern provinces of New Spain / by José Cortés ; edited by Elizabeth A.H. John ; translated by John Wheat.
Ways of Indian wisdom / stories retold by Teresa VanEtten.
Western Apache raiding and warfare / from the notes of Grenville Goodwin ; edited by Keith H. Basso, with the assistance of E. W. Jernigan and W. B. Kessell.
When the earth was young : songs of the American Indian / [collected with photos. by] David Yeadon.
Who wants to be a prairie dog? By Ann Clark. Illustrated by Van Tishnahjinnie. A publication of the Education division, U. S. Office of Indian Affairs. Edited by Willard W. Beatty, director of education.
Wigwam evenings : Sioux fold tales retold / by Charles A. Eastman and Elaine Goodale Eastman ; introduction by Michael Dorris and Louise Erdrich.
With the Nez Perces : Alice Fletcher in the field, 1889-92 / by E. Jane Gay ; edited, with an introd. by Frederick E. Hoxie and Joan T. Mark.
Yanktonai Sioux water colors : cultural remembrances of John Saul / Martin Brokenleg and Herbert T. Hoover.
Yellow Jacket : a four corners Anasazi ceremonial center / Frederick Lange ... [and others].
Yesterday still lives-- : our native people remember Alaska / edited by Pat DeMarco.