LibGuides: Guide to Books in the Fife Folklore Archives: Folk Coll 23

Folk Collection 23 - The Elliott Oring Book Collection

The alphabetized sections are expandable and collapsible. Click a letter range to view the titles in that section. For quick searching, use Ctrl+F (Windows) or Command+F (Mac) to find keywords or specific titles on the page. To request an item, look up the title in the USU Libraries online catalog to confirm the exact record and call number, then submit your request through Special Collections and Archives.

Folk Coll 23 – A–Z Book List

A–Z Titles

A preliminary catalogue and edition of German folk ballads : the test of a thematic classification system on 187 narrative folksong types / by David Gray Engle. — Engle, David Gray, 1946-
A separate reality : further conversations with Don Juan / by Carlos Castaneda. — Castaneda, Carlos, 1931-1998
Afro-American folklore collections. — Wayne State University. Folklore Archive
An introduction to folk music in the United States. — Nettl, Bruno, 1930-2020
Anden i lampan : etnologiska perspektiv på ljus och mörker / Jan Garnert. — Garnert, Jan, 1950-
Ballads and other genres = Balladen und andere Gattungen.
Béaloideas : the journal of the Folklore of Ireland Society.
California Indian shamanism / edited by Lowell John Bean.
Civilizations of Black Africa / Jacques Maquet ; rev. and translated by Joan Rayfield. — Maquet, Jacques Jérôme Pierre, 1919-2013
Clan, caste, and club / F.L.K. Hsu. — Hsu, Francis L. K., 1909-1999
Claude Levi-Strauss : the anthropologist as hero / edited by E. Nelson Hayes and Tanya Hayes.
Contributions to the study of contemporary folklore in Croatia = Prilozi proučavanju suvremenog folklora u Hrvatskoj.
Coyote stories of the Navaho people / edited by Robert A. Roessel, Jr. and Dillon Platero ; illustrated by George Mitchell. — Roessel, Robert A.
Dahomean narrative : a cross-cultural analysis / by Melville J. and Frances S. Herskovits. — Herskovits, Melville J. (Melville Jean), 1895-1963
Doing fieldwork : warnings and advice / Rosalie H. Wax. — Wax, Rosalie H.
Explorations in the ethnography of speaking / edited by Richard Bauman and Joel Sherzer.
Fire in the plaça : Catalan festival politics after Franco / Dorothy Noyes. — Noyes, Dorothy
Folklore in the modern world / editor, Richard M. Dorson.
Frame analysis : an essay on the organization of experience / Erving Goffman. — Goffman, Erving, 1922-1982
French folklife in old Vincennes / Ronald L. Baker. — Baker, Ronald L., 1937-2023
Generating lives : the construction of an autobiography / Elliott Oring. — Oring, Elliott, 1945-
German and German-American folklore collections / compiled by Angela Dubicki and Christina S. Rostkowycz ; edited by Philip LaRonge. — Wayne State University. Folklore Archive
Humour, wit, & satire of the seventeenth century / collected and illustrated by John Ashton. — Ashton, John, 1834-1911
I could talk old-story good : creativity in Bahamian folklore / Daniel J. Crowley. — Crowley, Daniel J., 1921-1998
Identity and everyday life : essays in the study of folklore, music, and popular culture / Harris M. Berger and Giovanna P. Del Negro. — Berger, Harris M., 1966-
In the shadow of Tlaloc : life in a Mexican village / Gregory G. Reck. — Reck, Gregory G., 1944-
Indians of the plains / Robert H. Lowie. — Lowie, Robert Harry, 1883-1957
Jewish Moroccan folk narratives from Israel / [edited by] Haya Bar-Itzhak and Aliza Shenhar.
Kibbutz : venture in utopia / Melford E. Spiro. — Spiro, Melford E.
Koestler, Raskin, Attardo ja teised : lingvistiliste huumoriteooriate uuemaist arenguist / Arvo Krikmann. — Krikmann, A.
La légende d'Ulenspiegel et de Lamme Goedzak / par Charles de Coster. — Coster, Charles de, 1827-1879
Language, poetry, and memory reflections on national socialism : Harry H. Kahn Memorial Lectures (2000-2004) / edited by Wolfgang Mieder and David Scrase.
Learning how to ask : a sociolinguistic appraisal of the role of the interview in social science research / Charles L. Briggs. — Briggs, Charles L., 1953-
Limba stories and story-telling / [compiled and translated by] Ruth Finnegan. — Finnegan, Ruth H.
Literature among the primitives / John Greenway. — Greenway, John
Living country blues / by Harry Oster. — Oster, Harry
Magic and schizophrenia / by Géza Róheim ; posthumously edited by Warner Muensterberger, with the assistance of S. H. Posinsky ; foreword by Sandor Lorand. — Róheim, Géza, 1891-1953
Magic, science and religion : and other essays / Bronislaw Malinowski ; with an introduction by Robert Redfield. — Malinowski, Bronislaw, 1884-1942
Mass culture, language and arts in India : papers presented at a symposium at Duke University, Durham, North Carolina / edited by Mahadev L. Apte. — Symposium on Mass Culture, Language, and Arts in India (1970 : Duke University)
Märchen, Phantasie und Wirklichkeit / Hermann Bausinger. — Bausinger, Hermann
Morphology of the folktale / by V. Propp ; translated by Laurence Scott ; with an introd. by Svatava Pirkova-Jakobson. — Propp, V. I︠A︡. (Vladimir I︠A︡kovlevich), 1895-1970
Myth and mythmaking / edited and with an introduction by Henry A. Murray.
Mythology / Jane Ellen Harrison. — Harrison, Jane Ellen, 1850-1928
Myths & legends beyond our borders / by Charles M. Skinner. — Skinner, Charles M. (Charles Montgomery), 1852-1907
Myths and legends of all nations / by Herbert Spencer Robinson and Knox Wilson. — Robinson, Herbert Spencer
Narodna umjetnost.
Nine Dayak nights / W. R. Geddes. — Geddes, W. R. (William Robert)
Patterns of culture / by Ruth Benedict ; with a new preface by Margaret Mead. — Benedict, Ruth, 1887-1948
Polish and Polish-American folklore collections. — Wayne State University. Folklore Archive
Recentering Anglo/American folksong : sea crabs and wicked youths / Roger deV. Renwick. — Renwick, Roger deV., 1941-
Reflections on the Folklife Festival : an ethnography of participant experience / Richard Bauman, Patricia Sawin, and Inta Gale Carpenter ; with Richard Anderson ... [and others]. — Bauman, Richard, 1940-
Story, performance, and event : contextual studies of oral narrative / Richard Bauman. — Bauman, Richard, 1940-
Structural anthropology / Claude Levi-Strauss ; translated from the French by Claire Jacobson and Brooke Grundfest Schoepf. — Lévi-Strauss, Claude
Survivors of Eldorado : four Indian cultures of South America / Johannes Wilbert. — Wilbert, Johannes
Symbolic classification / Rodney Needham. — Needham, Rodney
Tahitian transformation : gender and capitalist development in a rural society / by Victoria S. Lockwood. — Lockwood, Victoria S., 1953-
The Iliad : the story of Achillês / translated by W.H.D. Rouse. — Homer
The Jewish experience of European anti-semitism : Harry H. Kahn Memorial Lectures (1990-1994) / edited by Hazel Kahn Keimowitz and Wolfgang Mieder.
The anthropology of music / [by] Alan P. Merriam. — Merriam, Alan P., 1923-1980
The anthropology of numbers / Thomas Crump. — Crump, Thomas
The decorated body / Robert Brain. — Brain, Robert, 1933-
The feudal transformation : 900-1200 / Jean-Pierre Poly, Eric Bournazel ; translated by Caroline Higgitt. — Poly, Jean-Pierre, 1941-
The films of Bess Lomax Hawes [videorecording].
The folk-tales of the Magyars : selection / [edited by] W. Henry Jones and Lewis L. Kropf.
The hero with a thousand faces / by Joseph Campbell. — Campbell, Joseph, 1904-1987
The legend of the wandering Jew / by Joseph Gaer ; with eight illus. by Gustave Dore. — Gaer, Joseph, 1897-1969
The people of the saints / George Mills. — Mills, George (George Thompson)
The schlemiel as modern hero / Ruth R. Wisse. — Wisse, Ruth R.
Thespis : ritual, myth, and drama in the ancient Near East / Theodor H. Gaster ; foreword by Gilbert Murray. — Gaster, Theodor Herzl, 1906-1992
They studied man / Abram Kardiner and Edward Preble. — Kardiner, Abram, 1891-1981
Traditional British ballads / edited by Bartlett Jere Whiting.
Vom Lachen : einem Phänomen auf der Spur / herausgegeben von Thomas Vogel.