LibGuides: Guide to Books in the Fife Folklore Archives: Folk Coll 16

Folk Collection 16 - The John I. White Collection

The alphabetized sections are expandable and collapsible. Click a letter range to view the titles in that section. For quick searching, use Ctrl+F (Windows) or Command+F (Mac) to find keywords or specific titles on the page. To request an item, look up the title in the USU Libraries online catalog to confirm the exact record and call number, then submit your request through Special Collections and Archives.

Folk Coll 16 – A–Z Book List

A–Z Titles

20,000 feet over history / by John Payne Brennan.
88 most beloved easy-to-play cowboy and western songs : a self instructor for guitar, uke, piano, organ, accordian, etc. / compiled and edited by George Goodwin.
900 miles; the ballads, blues, and folksongs of Cisco Houston. [Edited for publication by Moses Asch and Irwin Silber. Musical transcription by Jerry Silverman. Duets transcribed by Ethel Raim. Additional transcriptions by Happy Traum]
A Montana cowboy poet.
A Montana cowboy poet.
A Texas cowboy, or, Fifteen years on the hurricane deck of a Spanish pony, taken from real life / by Charles A. Siringo ; with bibliographical study & introduction by J. Frank Dobie ; and drawings by Tom Lea.
A Treasury of American folklore : stories, ballads, and traditions of the people / edited by B.A. Botkin ; with a foreword by Carl Sandburg.
A ballad in search of its author / John I. White.
A bibliography of North American folklore and folksong.
A birthday for the calendar / John I. White.
A busted cowboy's Christmas / by John I. White. Portraits for a Western album : I / D.J. O'Malley.
A cowboy poet / by John White.
A day on the cow trail / [by John I. White].
A frontier army surgeon; life in Colorado in the eighties.
A frontier mother / by Owen P. White.
A gallery of dudes.
A guide to American folklore / Levette J. Davidson.
A history and encyclopedia of country, western, and gospel music.
A history of Wickenburg to 1875 / Helen B. Hawkins.
A hitch in time / by John I. White.
A presidential quiz / by John I. White.
A treasury of railroad folklore : the stories, tall tales, traditions, ballads and songs of the American railroad man / edited by B.A. Botkin and Alvin F. Harlow .
A vanishing America; the life and times of the small town. Twelve regional towns by Hodding Carter [and others] Introd. by Wallace Stegner. Edited by Thomas C. Wheeler.
American ballads and folk songs / collected and compiled by John A. Lomax and Alan Lomax; with a foreword by George Lyman Kittredge.
American cowboy songs / edited by Hugo Frey.
American favorite ballads / tunes and songs as sung by Pete Seeger.
American folksong, Woody Guthrie / edited by Moses Asch.
American murder ballads and their stories. Collected and edited by Olive Woolley Burt.
American vignettes : a collection of footnotes to history / John I. White ; original drawings by Jerry Allison.
And that's how a fòlksong' was born / by John I. White.
"And the skies are not cloudy all day" : seeking the origins of a western song classic / by John I. White.
And the windows have no glass / by John I. White.
Anglo-American folksong scholarship since 1898.
Apaches & longhorns : the reminiscences of Will C. Barnes / edited by Frank C. Lockwood ; with a decoration by Cas Duchow.
Appomattox remembered : "Surrender House" is now a tourist attraction / by John I White.
Arizona towns and tales / Lowell Parker.
Arizona's meteorite crater : past, present, future / H. H. Nininger.
Assist for a fallen hero : Mark Twain's rescue of an impoverished general Grant / by John I. White.
Bachelor's dream / by John I. White.
Ballads and folk songs of the Southwest : more than 600 titles, melodies, and texts collected in Oklahoma / by Ethel and Chauncey O. Moore.
Ballads and songs of the shanty-boy / collected and edited by Franz Rickaby.
Ballads of the great West / edited with commentary by Austin & Alta Fife. ; with line drawings by Glen Rounds.
Bankers and cattlemen / Gene M. Gressley.
Baxter Lane's treasured collection of cowboy songs & poems / illustrated by Edwar York, James Brunelle.
Before barbed wire / by Mark H. Brown and W. R. Felton. L. A. Huffman, photographer on horseback.
Botsford collection of folk-songs, with English versions by American poets / compiled and edited by Florence Hudson Botsford; introduction by Carl Engel.
Boy Scout songbook
Bronc to breakfast & other poems / by Mike Logan ; illustrations by Mike Korn.
Buckaroo ballads / Kenneth S. Clark.
Buckaroo ballads. Cover design by Gerald Cassidy.
Buffalo, beavers, and beef : animals that made a difference in how America grew.
Burl Ives : a collection of ballads and folk songs.
Cactus Center; poems / by Arthur Chapman.
Carl T. Sprague: the original singing cowboy / by John I. White.
Cattle-ranch to college; the true tale of a boy's adventures in the far West / by Russell Doubleday.
Christy's bones and banjo melodist : being a collection of the most popular, fashionable, patriotic, Ethiopian comic and humorous songs, speeches, etc. / as sung and delivered by the world renowned Christy's ministrels.
Civilization awheel : an interrupted history.
Country music U.S.A. : a fifty-year history / by Bill C. Malone.
Cow camps & cattle herds / by John A. Lomax. With an introd. by John A. Lomax, Jr. and illus. by William D. Wittliff.
Cowboy lore / by Jules Verne Allen ... illustrated by Ralph J. Pereida.
Cowboy songs / Dane Coolidge.
Cowboy songs and other frontier ballads / collected by John A. Lomax ; with an introduction by Barrett Wendell.
Cowboy songs and other frontier ballads / collected by John A. Lomax and Alan Lomax.
Cowboy songs, folk songs, and ballads from Green grow the lilacs / by Lynn Riggs ; (as produced by the Theatre Guild, Inc.).
Cowboy songs.
Cowboys / by Jay Clark.
Cowboys and Indians : characters in oil and bronze / by Joe Beeler.
Cowboys and cattle country / by the editors of American heritage ; narrative by Don Ward, in consultation with J.C. Dykes.
Curious history of "The Railroad Corral" : story of the American cowboy in verse / by John I. White.
D. J. O'Malley, "Cowboy poet" / by D.J. O'Malley and John I. White ; edited by Michael Korn.
D. J. O'Malley, "Cowboy poet" : [poems ; with his life story] / by John White.
D.J. "Kid" O'Malley...Montana's cowboy poet / by John I. White.
Dictionary of American folklore / Marjorie Tallman.
Drawn from the wood; consolations in words & music for pious friends and drunken companions, collected from curious sources by Frank Shay / magnificently illuminated by John Held, jr.; musical arrangement for any degree of inebriety by Helen Ramsey.
English song book,
Episode of the floating saucers / by John I. White.
Folk music : a catalog of folk songs, ballads, dances, instrumental pieces, and folk tales of the United States and Latin America on phonograph records.
Folk music USA / by Howard Grafman and B.T. Manning. Robert Amft, art editor. With articles by Pete Seeger and Win Stracke.
Folk song fest. Songs and ideas for performance artistry. Folk songs, ballads, blues and blue grass.
Folk songs of Canada / Edith Fulton Fowke, literary editor ; Richard Johnston, music editor ; illustrated by Elizabeth Wilkes Hoey.
Folk-say, a regional miscellany, 1929-32.
Folklore of the great West : selections from eighty-three years of the Journal of American folklore / edited with extensive commentary by John Greenway ; with line drawings by Glen Rounds.
Folksongs on records / compiled and edited by Ben Gray Lumpkin with Norman L. ("Brownie") McNeil.
Folksongs on records / compiled by Ben Gray Lumpkin.
Follow de drinkin' gou'd. Edited by J. Frank Dobie.
Forms upon the frontier : folklife and folk arts in the United States / edited by Austin and Alta Fife and Henry H. Glassie.
Frederic Remington and Owen Wister : the story of a friendship, 1893-1909 / by N. Orwin Rush ; with drawings by Remington.
Frontier ballads / heard and gathered by Charles J. Finger; woodcuts by Paul Honoré.
G. I. songs : written, composed and/or collected by The Men in the Service / edited by Edgar A. Palmer ; illustrated by Richard A. Loederer and Kurt Werth.
Gail Gardner -- Cowboy 'poet lariat' / by John I. White.
Geography and our need of it / by J. Russell Smith.
Get along little dogies / by John I. White.
Git along, little dogies : songs and songmakers of the American West / John I. White ; with a foreword by Austin E. Fife.
Glenn Ohrlin : cowboy singer / Glenn Ohrlin.
Glenn Ohrlin : the Hell-bound train.
Good friends and bad enemies : Robert Winslow Gordon and the study of American folksong / Debora Kodish.
"Great Grandad" the story of a song / by John I. White.
"Great Grandma" / by John I. White.
Great Plains / Ian Frazier.
Guide to Life and literature of the Southwest : revised and enlarged in both knowledge and wisdom / J. Frank Dobie.
Guide to manuscripts in Montana repositories / compiled and edited by Brian Cockhill and Dale L. Johnson.
Happiness was an eight-sided house / by John I. White.
Hear America singing / by William Attaway ; illustrated by Carolyn Cather ; introduction by Harry Belafonte.
Heaven on horseback: revivalist songs and verse in the cowboy idiom / [by] Austin and Alta Fife.
Historic forts of the old West / this map was prepared by the Office of the Chief, Public Affairs, Sixth United States Army, Presidio of San Francisco, California, as a contribution to the celebration of the 200th anniversary of the United States Army in 1975, and the Declaration of Independence in 1976.
"Home on the range" controversy settled.
Horsefeathers : being a jumble of mediocre verse by an old man on the fringe of dotage / pleasingly illustrated by Charles M. Russell, "Shorty" Shope [and others] ; hand lettering in "Shorty's saloon" by Josephine Trigg ; [by] Johnny Ritch.
How the prairie pioneers built their houses / by John I. White.
It's about time! / by John I. White.
It's about time...A Presbyterian minister helped set a standard for our clock-watching / by John I. White.
It's song time! The all-purpose community song book.
Just for the record / by John I. White.
Just me and other poems / by Owen White.
Let's all sing. [Songs for many occasions] Illustrated by Bob Johnstone.
Lincoln and the Russians.
Lost trails of the Cimarron.
Man, bird, and beast.
Mapmaker for millions : for thirty-seven years free road maps produced by Otto Lindberg's General Drafting Company have been a boon to countless Americans at home and abroad / by Arthur W. Baum.
Montana cowboy : Dominick J. O'Malley / by John I. White.
Montana's historical highway markers / compiled by Glenda Clay Bradshaw ; from original text by Robert H. Fletcher ; illustrations by Irvin H. "Shorty" Shope.
More pious friends and drunken companions; songs and ballads of conviviality / collected by Frank Shay; magnificently illuminated by John Held, Jr.; musical arrangement for any degree of inebriety, by Helen Ramsey.
Move slow, dogies / by John I. White.
My dear Wister : the Frederic Remington-Owen Wister letters / by Ben Merchant Vorpahl ; with a foreword by Wallace Stegner.
My father, Owen Wister : and ten letters written by Owen Wister to his mother during his first trip to Wyoming in 1885.
My pious friends and drunken companions : songs and ballads of conviviality / collected by Frank Shay ; magnificently illuminated by John Held, Jr.
My reminiscences as a cowboy / Frank Harris ; illustrations by William Gropper.
Native American balladry : a descriptive study and a bibliographical syllabus / by G. Malcolm Laws, Jr.
Naval scenes in the last war : or, three years on board the frigate Constitution and the Adams; including the capture of the Guerriere / being the true narrative of Moses Smith, a survivor of the "Old Ironsides" crew.
New Colorado and the Santa Fé trail / by A. A. Hayes, jr.
Of maps and mapping.
On the lone prairie / by John I. White.
Only a miner : studies in recorded coal-mining songs / Archie Green.
Orejana bull : for cowboys only / by Gail I. Gardner.
Ostrich ranching was big / by John I. White.
Owen Wister and the dogies / John I. White.
Owen Wister out west: his journals and letters. Edited by Fanny Kemble Wister.
Owen Wister, song writer.
Ozark mountain folks / by Vance Randolph.
Pages from a Nebraska album : the sod house photographs of Solomon D. Butcher / by John I. White.
Panorama; a picture history of southern California / issued on the 60th anniversary of Title Insurance and Trust Company. Compiled and written by W. W. Robinson.
Pardner of the wind : story of the southwestern cowboy / by N. Howard (Jack) Thorp, in collaboration with Neil M. Clark.
Paul Hennessey : cowboy poet of South Dakota / [illustrations by Julian D. Ripple].
Pioneer history of Custer County, Nebraska : with which is combined Sod houses of the Great American Plains / by Solomon D. Butcher ; with an introduction by Harry E. Chrisman.
Pioneers, Indians and buffaloes / by Bayard H. Paine; with foreword by Addison E. Sheldon.
Poet of yesterday's West : Badger Clark / by John I. White.
Portrait for a Western album / by John I. White.
Prairie night before Christmas / written and illustrated by James Rice.
Prairie school house / by John I. White.
Puro mexicano / edited by J. Frank Dobie.
Railroad corral / by John I. White.
Red carpet for a Romanoff : 1872 hunting party - Western style / by John I. White.
Return of the fabulous Texas longhorn / by John I. White.
Rhymes of the mines : a rhyme or two and a line or two of the olden days in the most loved and colorful town on earth and of the kindly folk who lived and live there / by Bill Burke.
Roosevelt, the story of a friendship, 1880-1919.
Saddle songs and other verse / by Henry Herbert Knibbs ...
Sailor chanties and cowboy songs / Charles J. Finger.
Sailor chanties and cowboy songs / Charles J. Finger.
Saving the longhorns / by John I. White.
Sing 'em cowboy, sing 'em! Songs of the trail and range, with accompaniment for the following instruments: voice & piano, guitar, banjo [etc.] / W. J. Glassmacher, editor.
Singing America : song and chorus book / compiled, arranged and edited for the National recreation association by Augustus D. Zanzig.
Singing Rawhide; a book of western ballads / by Harold Hersey, with illustrations by Jerry Delano.
Singing cowboy : a book of western songs / collected and edited by Margaret Larkin ; arranged for the piano by Helen Black.
Sixteen pages of cowboy songs of the ranch and range of radio, stage and screen fame : the most wonderful collection ever written.
Sod and stubble : the story of a Kansas homestead / by John Ise; illustrated by Howard Simon.
Sod house memories, volumes I - II - III; a compilation of sod house experiences, including a definitive history of the period in Nebraska, with maps, photographs, and index. Frances Jacobs Alberts, editor.
Sod houses on the western prairies / by John I. White.
Sod walls; the story of the Nebraska sod house / by Roger L. Welsch.
Some experiences of Boss Neff in the Texas and Oklahoma panhandle / Boss Neff ; illustrated by Harold D.Bugbee.
Songs of the American West / compiled and edited by Richard E. Lingenfelter, Richard A. Dwyer, & David Cohen ; drawings by Steven M. Johnson.
Songs of the cattle trail and cow camp / collected by John A. Lomax, with a foreword by William Lyon Phelps.
Songs of the cowboys / by N. Howard ("Jack") Thorp. Variants, commentary, notes and lexicon by Austin E. and Alta S. Fife. Music editor: Naunie Gardner.
Songs of the cowboys / comp. by N. Howard Thorp ("Jack" Thorp) with an introduction by Alice Corbin Henderson.
Songs of the hill-folk : twelve ballads from Kentucky, Virginia, and North Carolina / collected and simply arranged with accompaniment for piano by John Jacob Niles.
Songs of work and protest / by Edith Fowke and Joe Glazer ; music arrangements, Kenneth Bray.
Southwestern lore / edited by J. Frank Dobie.
Spur jingles and saddle songs; rhymes and miscellany of cow camp and cattle trails in the early eighties. With full-page reproductions from the Prairie series by Ben Carlton Mead.
Stars of country music : Uncle Dave Macon to Johnny Rodriguez / edited by Bill C. Malone and Judith McCulloh.
Straight Texas ... J. Frank Dobie, editor, Mody C. Boatright, associate editor.
Sun and saddle leather : including Grass grown trails and new poems / Badger Clark.
Swing and turn: Texas play-party games / by William A. Owens.
Tales of the chuck wagon / by N. H. (Jack) Thorp.
Tall tales from Texas / by Mody C. Boatright ; illustrated by Elizabeth E. Keefer ; foreword by J. Frank Dobie.
Ten thousand goddam cattle : a history of the American cowboy in song, story, and verse / by Katie Lee ; illustrated by William Moyers.
Texas and southwestern lore / edited by J. Frank Dobie.
Texas folk songs / William A. Owens ; music arrangements by Willa Mae Kelly Koehn.
Texas, an informal biography / by Owen P. White.
That zenith of prairie architecture, the soddy : pioneer families had neither wood nor brick to build with, but there sure was plenty of good earth / by John I. White.
The "everybody sing" book / Edited by Kenneth S. Clark ; A real American collection of songs for group singing in the school, home and community, including a wealth of traditional favorites, hymns and carols, Negro spirituals, "close harmony" numbers, old time popular songs, sailors' chanteys, cowboy songs, mountain ballads, greetings and stunt songs and glee club selections.
The American West : the pictorial epic of a continent / [by] Lucius Beebe and Charles Clegg ; with title page in color by E. S. Hammack and more than 1,000 illustrations.
The American heritage book of the pioneer spirit / by the editors of American heritage, the magazine of history. Editor in charge: Richard M. Ketchum; chapter prologues by Allan Nevins; narrative by Alvin M. Josephy, Jr., Peter Lyon [and] Francis Russell.
The Case of the missing 11 days or if this is the 14th, what happened to the 13th / by John I. White.
The Chisholm Trail / by Wayne Gard.
The Chisholm trail and other routes / by T.U. Taylor.
The Cowboy : six-shooters, songs, and sex / edited by Charles W. Harris and Buck Rainey.
The Father of the automobile / by John I. White.
The Ford-Seldon patent squabble / by John I. White.
The Grass of Uncle Sam / John I. White.
The Great Plains / by Walter Prescott Webb.
The Great West / by the editors of American Heritage and David Sievert Lavender.
The Happy cowboy and his songs of pioneer days / edited by Kenneth S. Clark.
The Leadbelly songbook : the ballads, blues, and folksongs of Huddie Ledbetter / edited by Moses Asch and Alan Lomax ; [musical transcriptions by Jerry Silverman ; introductory essays and biographical sketches by Frederic Ramsey, Jr., Charles Edward Smith, Alan Lomax, Woody Guthrie and Pete Seeger ; foreword by Moses Asch].
The Lincoln reader / edited, with an introduction, by Paul M. Angle.
The Lincoln treasury / compiled by Caroline Thomas Harnsberger.
The Louisiana Purchase.
The Miner sings : a collection of folk songs and ballads of the anthracite miner / transcriptions and musical arrangements by Melvin LeMon ; introduction and editorial notes by George Korson.
The Negro and his songs; a study of typical Negro songs in the South / by Howard W. Odum and Guy B. Johnson.
The Oral tradition of the American West : adventure, courtship, family, and place in traditional recitation / edited by Keith Cunningham ; introduction by W.K. McNeil.
The Ozarks; an American survival of primitive society.
The Rebellious horse conquered / by John I. White.
The Salton Sea; an account of Harriman's fight with the Colorado River / by George Kennan ...
The Tex Ritter story / by Johnny Bond.
The Viking book of folk ballads of the English-speaking world.
The Virginian / Owen Wister.
The Virginian / by John I. White.
The Virginian : a horseman of the Plains / by Owen Wister ; with an introduction by Struthers Burt and illustrations by William Moyers.
The Virginian rides on ... and on : the American West review / by John I. White.
The Virginian; a horseman of the plains. With photos. of the author, his environment and the setting of the book, together with an introd. by John Q. Anderson.
The Virginian; a play in four acts / by Owen Wister and Kirke La Shelle. With an introd. and notes by N. Orwin Rush.
The autobiography of a durable sinner.
The ballad mongers; rise of the modern folk song.
The ballad of America : the history of the United States in song and story / by John Anthony Scott.
The ballads / by M. J. C. Hodgart.
The book of cowboys / by Holling C. Holling ; illustrated by H. C. and Lucille Holling.
The book of the American West / Jay Monaghan, editor in chief. Clarence P. Hornung, art director. Authors: Ramon F. Adams [and others.
The cowboy and his interpreters / Edward Douglas Branch ; illustrated by Will James, Joe de Yong [and] Charles M. Russell ; introduction by Harry Sinclair Drago.
The cowboy; his characteristics, his equipment, and his part in the development of the West / by Philip Ashton Rollins.
The diary of a dude-wrangler / by Struthers Burt.
The ditty bag / Janet E. Tobitt.
The father of the automobile / by John I. White.
The first president takes a trip / by John I. White.
The frontier years : L. A. Huffman, photographer of the plains / by Mark H. Brown and W. R. Felton.
The hell-bound train : a cowboy songbook / Glenn Ohrlin ; with a biblio-discography by Harlan Daniel.
The hobo's hornbook : a repertory for a gutter jongleur / collected and annotated by George Milburn ; decorations by William Siegel.
The log of a cowboy : a narrative of the old trail days / by Andy Adams.
The longhorns / by J. Frank Dobie ; illustrated by Tom Lea.
The lost cause; the Confederate exodus to Mexico / by Andrew F. Rolle. With a foreword by A.L. Rowse.
The march of commerce / by Malcolm Keir.
The old-time cowhand/ Ramon F. Adams ; illustrated by Nick Eggenhofer.
The play-party in Indiana; a collection of folk-songs and games, with descriptive introduction and correlating notes / by Leah Jackson Wolford, M.A.
The private journal of Georgiana Gholson Walker, 1862-1865, with selections from the post-war years, 1865-1876.
The purchase of 'Russian America' / by John I. White.
The range cattle industry / by Edward Everett Dale.
The songs of long ago.
The soul of wit / by John I. White.
The story of American folk song / by Russell Ames ; edited under the supervision of Thomas K. Scherman.
The strange career of "The Strawberry Roan" / by John I. White.
The treeless plains. Written and illustrated by Glen Rounds.
The twenty-seventh wife / by Irving Wallace.
The ups and downs of the zipper / by John I. White.
The vigilantes of Montana; or, Popular justice in the Rocky Mountains. Being a correct and impartial narrative of the chase, trial, capture, and execution of Henry Plummer's road agent band, together with accounts of the lives and crimes of many of the robbers and desperadoes, the whole being interspersed with sketches of life in the mining camps of the "Far West" ... With an introd. by E. DeGolyer.
The year ten days disappeared from October / by John I. White.
The year there were two Thanksgivings / by John I. White.
The zebra dun : a song of a bronc riding that was not in a rodeo / by John I. White.
Them was the days: from El Paso to prohibition / by Owen P. White; with drawings by Ross Santee.
Tone the bell easy / edited by J. Frank Dobie.
Trail dust of a maverick / E. A. Brininstool.
Trail dust of a maverick / by E. A. Brininstool; with an introduction by Robert J. Burdette.
Trailing a ballad / by John White.
Trailing the cowboy : his life and lore as told by frontier journalists / compiled and edited by Clifford P. Westermeier.
Trails plowed under / by Charles M. Russell ; with illustrations in color and line by the author.
Treasure chest of cowboy songs.
Trigger fingers / by Owen P. White...
Union signal communications : innovation and conflict / Paul J. Scheips.
Up the trail in '79. Edited and with an introd. by Wayne Gard.
Vanished Arizona : recollections of the Army life of a New England woman / Martha Summerhayes ; introduction by Dan L. Thrapp.
Views on the miliary history of the Indian-Spanish-American Southwest : 1598-1886 / edited by Bruno J. Rolak.
Washington in Lincoln's time. Edited with an introd., by Herbert Mitgang.
We pointed them north; recollections of a cowpuncher / by E. C. Abbott ("Teddy Blue") and Helena Huntington Smith. With drawings by Nick Eggenhofer.
West of Powder River : tales of the far West told in narrative verse / by "Powder River" Jack H. Lee ; with a foreword by Courtney Riley Cooper, and with illustrations by Paul Honoré.
Western America : the exploration, settlement, and development of the region beyond the Mississippi / by Le Roy R. Hafen and Carl Coke Rister.
Western American literature: a bibliography of interpretive books and articles / by Richard W. Etulain.
Western story; the recollections of Charley O'Kieffe, 1884-1898. With an introd. by A. B. Guthrie, Jr.
Western words : a dictionary of the American West / by Ramon F. Adams.
Westward high! : Chicago to San Francisco / by Llewellyn Brooke White.
When happiness was a sod house / by John I. White.
When we rooked the Russians / by John I. White.
When you and I were young, Nebraska! Edited by Harry E. Chrisman.
Will C. Barnes : also a song plugger / by John I. White.
Will Rogers, his life and times / by Richard M. Ketchum ; in co-operation with the Will Rogers Memorial Commission and staff of the Will Rogers Memorial, Claremore, Oklahoma.
Wires in the wilderness / by John I. White.