Skip to Main Content

Guide to Books in the Fife Folklore Archives: Folk Coll 49

This guide provides an overview of the books housed within the folklore collections in Utah State University’s Special Collections and Archives (SCA). Many of these book groupings were assembled by folklorists, donors, and researchers over several decades

Folk Collection 49 - The Ranch Family Documentation Project (Books)

The alphabetized sections are expandable and collapsible. Click a letter range to view the titles in that section. For quick searching, use Ctrl+F (Windows) or Command+F (Mac) to find keywords or specific titles on the page. To request an item, look up the title in the USU Libraries online catalog to confirm the exact record and call number, then submit your request through Special Collections and Archives.

Folk Coll 49 – A–Z Book List

A–Z Titles
  • Between grass and sky : where I live and work / Linda M. Hasselstrom. — Hasselstrom, Linda M.
  • Beyond the rangeland conflict : toward a West that works / by Dan Dagget ; with portraits by Jay Dusard. — Dagget, Dan, 1944-
  • Born to ride / by Don W. Dunbar. — Dunbar, Don W.
  • Born to ride / by Don W. Dunbar. — Dunbar, Don W.
  • Buckaroo! : the Hispanic heritage of the High Desert / by Robert Boyd, photographs by Charles A. Blakeslee and Kurt Markus. — Boyd, Robert
  • California cowboys / Dane Coolidge ; with photographs by the author. — Coolidge, Dane, 1873-1940
  • Catalog no. 76 : Ray Holes Saddle Company. — Ray Holes Saddle Company
  • Catch rope : the long arm of the cowboy / by John R. Erickson. — Erickson, John R., 1943-
  • Confessions of a horseshoer / by Ron Tatum. — Tatum, Ron, 1933-
  • Cowboy collectibles and western memorabilia / Robert W.D. Ball and Ed Vebell. — Ball, Robert W. D.
  • Cowboy magazine.
  • Cowboys & Indians.
  • Cowboys are people / by Jack Smillie. — Smillie, Jack
  • Cowgirls / by Ubet Tomb ; drawings by Nancy Conkle ; front cover by Donna Neary ; back cover by W.H. Dunton. — Tomb, Ubet
  • Cowgirls : 100 years of writing the range / edited by Thelma Poirier. — Poirier, Thelma
  • Everything you ever wanted to know about portable electric fencing but didn't know who to ask! / by Jim Anderson. — Anderson, Jim
  • F-F-F-Frank Polk : an uncommonly Frank autobiography / illustrated by Joe Beeler ; with a foreword by Slim Pickins. — Polk, Frank, 1908-
  • Forgotten wagon trails of the past / by Philbert C. Lind. — Lind, Philbert C. (Philbert Cornelius), 1890-1977
  • From San Antone to Bannack / by R. W. "Rib" Gustafson. — Gustafson, R. W.
  • Grit : fighting for western land, life and liberty : Range Magazine's two decades of reporting from the front lines / compiled and edited by C.J. Hadley. — Hadley, C. J.
  • Holding the reins : a ride through cowgirl life / by Mark Talbert ; photographs by Barbara Van Cleve. — Talbert, Mark
  • Home land : ranching and a West that works / edited by Laura Pritchett, Richard L. Knight, and Jeff Lee ; introduction by Teresa Jordan. — Lee, Jeff
  • Horse tradin' / by Ben K. Green ; illustrations by Lorence Bjorklund. — Green, Ben K.
  • I see by my get-up / Ron Querry ; with photographs by Elaine Querry ; foreword by Larry L. King. — Querry, Ronald B. (Ronald Burns), 1943-
  • IL Ranch wagon camp, 1988. — Hawkins, Lou
  • J. A. Bivins Saddlery : [catalog]. — J. A. Bivins Saddlery
  • Jo Mora : renaissance man of the West / Stephen Mitchell. — Mitchell, Stephen, 1943-
  • Life in the saddle on the South Idaho desert : the stories of Thomas Ike Gray / compiled and edited by Karen Quinton. — Gray, Thomas Ike, 1877-
  • Loyal to the land : the legendary Parker Ranch / Billy Bergin. — Bergin, Billy
  • Loyal to the land : the legendary Parker Ranch / Billy Bergin. — Bergin, Billy
  • Loyal to the land. Volume 3 : the legendary Parker Ranch, 1970-1992 : agents of change / Dr. Billy Bergin. — Bergin, Billy
  • Miles family history / compiled by Maydene Miles Baxter. — Baxter, Maydene Miles
  • My story : including 40 years with the Forest Service / by Garth Baxter. — Baxter, Garth (Garth Edward), 1936-
  • Nevada moments : whispers in the wind / photographs by Daniel Wiener ; wit and wisdom by Mark Twain. — Wiener, Daniel
  • Old heart of Nevada : ghost towns and mining camps of Elko County / Shawn Hall. — Hall, Shawn, 1960-
  • One man's West / by W.H. Hutchinson ; illustrations by John Pagan. — Hutchinson, W. H. (William Henry), 1910-1990
  • Pack horse in the Rockies : dudes, denims & diamond hitches / Cameron. — Cameron, Stewart, 1912-1970
  • Park Valley : 1977-1997, twenty historic years. — Park Valley Sesquicentennial Book Committee (Utah)
  • Park Valley : 1977-1997, twenty historic years. — Park Valley Sesquicentennial Book Committee (Utah)
  • Park Valley, Utah, 1976 / Harvey A. Carter, Rex A. Pugsley, and Norine K. Carter.
  • Phil Stadtler : I made a lot of tracks / edited by Linda Hussa. — Stadtler, Phil
  • Phil Stadtler : I made a lot of tracks / edited by Linda Hussa. — Stadtler, Phil
  • Roping : trick and fancy rope spinning / by Chester Byers. — Byers, Chester
  • The Canadian cowboy : stories of cows, cowboys and cayuses / Andy Russell ; with illustrations by Don Brestler. — Russell, Andy, 1915-2005
  • The cowboy / photography by Bank Langmore ; text by Ron Tyler. — Langmore, Bank
  • The cowboy boot book / text by Tyler Beard ; photographs by Jim Arndt. — Beard, Tyler, 1954-
  • The cowboy cavalry : the story of the Rocky Mountain Rangers / Gordon E. Tolton. — Tolton, Gordon Errett, 1963-
  • The Dry Creek Arts Fellowship presents the second annual Beyond the 98th Meridian : images of the American West. — Beyond the 98th Meridian (2nd : 1998 : Sedona, Ariz.)
  • The Spanish Ranch rope corral / by Lew Eklund. — Eklund, Lew
  • Tied hard and fast : Apache Adams, Big Bend cowboy / by Don Cadden. — Cadden, Don
  • To build, to create, to produce : Ephraim P. Ellison's life and enterprises, 1850-1939 / William G. Hartley. — Hartley, William G.
  • True unity : willing communication between horse and human / by Tom Dorrance ; edited by Milly Hunt Porter. — Dorrance, Tom
  • Vaqueros, cowboys, and buckaroos / by Lawrence Clayton, Jim Hoy, and Jerald Underwood. — Clayton, Lawrence, 1938-2000
  • Visits with Tom [videorecording] : learning to ride with feel, timing and balance / Produced by John Saint Ryan. — Saint Ryan, John
  • When Indians became cowboys : native peoples and cattle ranching in the American West / by Peter Iverson. — Iverson, Peter
  • Whole cowboy catalog : an entertaining guide to everything western / editors Sue Wallis & Rod McQueary in cooperation with the Western Folklife Center, Elko, Nevada. — McQueary, Rod
  • Wild cow tales / by Ben K. Green ; illustrated by Lorence Bjorklund. — Green, Ben K.
  • Wild Horse Annie : Velma Johnston and her fight to save the mustang / Alan J. Kania. — Kania, Alan J.
  • Wild horse Annie and the last of the mustangs : the life of Velma Johnston / David Cruise and Alison Griffiths. — Cruise, David, 1950-
  • Wire to wire : the Walter Merrick story / by Frank Holmes. — Holmes, Frank, 1947-
Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License