Skip to Main Content

Guide to Books in the Fife Folklore Archives: Folk Coll 22

This guide provides an overview of the books housed within the folklore collections in Utah State University’s Special Collections and Archives (SCA). Many of these book groupings were assembled by folklorists, donors, and researchers over several decades

Folk Collection 22 - The Utah State University Scholarly Press Folklore Collection

The alphabetized sections are expandable and collapsible. Click a letter range to view the titles in that section. For quick searching, use Ctrl+F (Windows) or Command+F (Mac) to find keywords or specific titles on the page. To request an item, look up the title in the USU Libraries online catalog to confirm the exact record and call number, then submit your request through Special Collections and Archives.

Folk Coll 22 – A–Z Book List

A–Z Titles
  • A shared space : folklife in the Arizona-Sonora borderlands / by James S. Griffith.
  • Alas, poor ghost! : traditions of belief in story and discourse / by Gillian Bennett.
  • An epidemic of rumors : how stories shape our perception of disease / Jon D. Lee.
  • Between pulpit and pew : the supernatural world in Mormon history and folklore / W. Paul Reeve and Michael Scott Van Wagenen.
  • Children's folklore : a source book / edited by Brian Sutton-Smith ... [and others].
  • Coyote steals fire : a Shoshone tale / retold and illustrated by the Northwestern Band of the Shoshone Nation.
  • Creative ethnicity : symbols and strategies of contemporary ethnic life / Stephen Stern and John Allan Cicala, editors.
  • Creativity and tradition in folklore : new directions / edited by Simon J. Bronner.
  • Exploring Western Americana / by Austin E. Fife ; edited by Alta Fife.
  • Exploring folk art : twenty years of thought on craft, work, and aesthetics / by Michael Owen Jones.
  • Fairy tale films : visions of ambiguity / Pauline Greenhill and Sidney Eve Matrix, editors.
  • Folk art and art worlds / edited by John Michael Vlach and Simon J. Bronner.
  • Folk culture in the digital age : the emergent dynamics of human interaction / edited by Trevor J. Blank.
  • Folk groups and folklore genres : a reader / Elliott Oring, editor.
  • Folk groups and folklore genres : an introduction / Elliott Oring [editor].
  • Folklore / cinema : popular film as vernacular culture / edited by Sharon R. Sherman and Mikel J. Koven.
  • Folklore and the Internet : vernacular expression in a digital world / edited by Trevor J. Blank.
  • Folklore in Utah : a history and guide to resources / edited by David Stanley.
  • Folklore rules : a fun, quick, and useful introduction to the field of academic folklore studies / Lynne S. McNeill.
  • Folksongs from the Beehive State [sound recording] early field recordings of Utah and Mormon music.
  • Following tradition : folklore in the discourse of American culture / by Simon J. Bronner.
  • Ghosts and the Japanese : cultural experience in Japanese death legends / by Michiko Iwasaka and Barre Toelken.
  • Haunting experiences : ghosts in contemporary folklore / Diane E. Goldstein, Sylvia Ann Grider, Jeannie Banks Thomas.
  • Healing logics : culture and medicine in modern health belief systems / edited by Erika Brady.
  • Heaven on horseback : revivalist songs and verse in the cowboy idiom / Austin and Alta Fife ; with an introduction by William A. Wilson.
  • I heard the old fisherman say [sound recording] : narrative style in context / narratives recorded by Patrick B. Mullen.
  • I heard the old fishermen say : folklore of the Texas Gulf Coast / by Patrick B. Mullen.
  • Imagined states : nationalism, utopia, and longing in oral cultures / edited by Luisa Del Giudice and Gerald Porter.
  • In the blood : Cape Breton conversations on culture / Burt Feintuch ; photographs by Gary Samson.
  • Jack London on the road : The tramp diary, and other hobo writings / edited by Richard W. Etulain.
  • Japanese demon lore : oni, from ancient times to the present / Noriko T. Reider.
  • Legend tripping : a contemporary legend casebook / edited by Lynne S. McNeill, Elizabeth Tucker.
  • Life and land : the Farm Security Administration photographers in Utah, 1936-1941: January 10 - March 6, 1988 / Peter S. Briggs, curator ; Brian Q. Cannon, essay.
  • Life and land : the Farm Security Administration photographers in Utah, 1936-1941: January 10 - March 6, 1988 / Peter S. Briggs, curator ; Brian Q. Cannon, essay.
  • Listening for a life : a dialogic ethnography of Bessie Eldreth through her songs and stories / Patricia Sawin.
  • Living folklore : an introduction to the study of people and their traditions / Martha C. Sims, Martine Stephens.
  • Living with stories : telling, re-telling, and remembering / edited by William Schneider ; with essays by Aron L. Crowell ... [and others].
  • Los dos mundos : rural Mexican Americans, another America / Richard Baker.
  • Mormon healer and folk poet : Mary Susannah Fowler's life of "unselfish usefulness" / Margaret K. Brady.
  • Mother's table, father's chair : cultural narratives of Basque American women / Jacqueline S. Thursby.
  • My life on mountain railroads / William John Gilbert Gould, edited by William R. Gould.
  • Native American oral traditions : collaboration and interpretation / edited by Larry Evers and Barre Toelken ; foreword by John Miles Foley.
  • New approaches to teaching folk and fairy tales / edited by Christa C. Jones, Claudia Schwabe.
  • Of corpse : death and humor in folklore and popular culture / edited by Peter Narváez.
  • On being human : the folklore of Mormon missionaries / by William A. Wilson.
  • Once upon a virus : AIDS legends and vernacular risk perception / Diane E. Goldstein.
  • Oral Patterns of Performance : Story and Song / Barre Toelken.
  • Out of the black patch : the autobiography of Effie Marquess Carmack, folk musician, artist, and writer / edited by Noel A. Carmack and Karen Lynn Davidson.
  • Out of the ordinary : folklore and the supernatural / Barbara Walker, editor.
  • Playing dead : mock trauma and folk drama in staged high school drunk-driving tragedies / Montana Miller.
  • Pole raising and speech making : modalities of Swedish-American summer celebration / Jennifer Eastman Attebery.
  • Practically joking / Moira Marsh.
  • Proverbs are the best policy : folk wisdom and American politics / Wolfgang Mieder.
  • So they understand : cultural issues in oral history / William Schneider.
  • Still, the small voice : narrative, personal revelation, and the Mormon folk tradition / Tom Mould.
  • Still, the small voice : narrative, personal revelation, and the Mormon folk tradition / Tom Mould.
  • Stories of our lives : memory, history, narrative / Frank de Caro.
  • Streaked with light and shadow : portraits of former Soviet Jews in Utah / text and interviews by Leslie G. Kelen with Joyce A. Kelen ; essay by Joseph Brodsky ; photographs by Kent M. Miles and Stacie Ann Smith.
  • Survivance, sovereignty, and story : teaching American Indian rhetorics / edited by Lisa King, Rose Gubele, Joyce Rain Anderson.
  • Tales of Canyonlands cowboys / Richard F. Negri, editor ; foreword by David Lavender.
  • The Roll Away Saloon : cowboy tales of the Arizona strip / Rowland W. Rider as told to Deirdre Paulsen.
  • The anguish of snails : Native American folklore in the West / Barre Toelken.
  • The dynamics of folklore / Barre Toelken.
  • The dynamics of folklore / Barre Toelken.
  • The fierce tribe : masculine identity and performance in the Circuit / Mickey Weems.
  • The flowering thorn : international ballad studies / edited by Thomas A. McKean.
  • The folklore muse : poetry, fiction, and other reflections by folklorists / edited by Frank de Caro.
  • The folkloresque : reframing folklore in a popular culture world / edited by Michael Dylan Foster, Jeffrey A. Tolbert.
  • The journey of Navajo Oshley : an autobiography and life history / edited by Robert S. McPherson ; foreword by Barre Toelken.
  • The marrow of human experience : essays on folklore / by William A. Wilson ; edited by Jill Terry Rudy with the assistance of Diane Call.
  • The meaning of folklore : the analytical essays of Alan Dundes / edited and introduced by Simon J. Bronner.
  • Through the schoolhouse door : folklore, community, curriculum / Paddy Bowman and Lynne Hamer, editors.
  • Tradition in the twenty-first century : locating the role of the past in the present / edited by Trevor J. Blank and Robert Glenn Howard.
  • Usable pasts : traditions and group expressions in North America / edited by Tad Tuleja.
  • Warrior ways : explorations in modern military folklore / edited by Eric A. Eliason and Tad Tuleja.
  • We gather together : food and festival in American life / edited by Theodore C. Humphrey and Lin T. Humphrey.
  • What goes around comes around : the circulation of proverbs in contemporary life / edited by Kimberly J. Lau, Peter Tokofsky, and Stephen D. Winick.
  • When our words return : writing, hearing, and remembering oral traditions of Alaska and the Yukon / edited by Phyllis Morrow and William Schneider.
  • Winter carnival in a western town : identity, change, and the good of the community / Lisa Gabbert.
  • Working on the railroad, walking in beauty : Navajos, Hózhý, and track work / Jay Youngdahl.
  • Worldviews and the American West : the life of the place itself / edited by Polly Stewart ... [and others].
Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License