Skip to Main Content

Guide to Books in the Fife Folklore Archives: Folk Coll 18

This guide provides an overview of the books housed within the folklore collections in Utah State University’s Special Collections and Archives (SCA). Many of these book groupings were assembled by folklorists, donors, and researchers over several decades

Folk Collection 18 - The American Folklore Society Book Collection

The alphabetized sections are expandable and collapsible. Click a letter range to view the titles in that section. For quick searching, use Ctrl+F (Windows) or Command+F (Mac) to find keywords or specific titles on the page. To request an item, look up the title in the USU Libraries online catalog to confirm the exact record and call number, then submit your request through Special Collections and Archives.

Folk Coll 18 – A–Z Book List

A–Z Titles
  • 100 years of American folklore studies : a conceptual history / edited by William M. Clements.
  • African banjo echoes in Appalachia : a study of folk traditions / Cecelia Conway.
  • African-American proverbs in context / Sw. Anand Prahlad.
  • American folklore studies : an intellectual history / Simon J. Bronner.
  • An analysis of Coeur d'Alene Indian myths / with a comparison by Adele Froelich.
  • Bodylore / edited by Katharine Young.
  • Chaseworld : foxhunting and storytelling in New Jersey's Pine Barrens / Mary Hufford.
  • Clambake : a history and celebration of an American tradition / Kathy Neustadt.
  • Conserving culture : a new discourse on heritage / edited by Mary Hufford.
  • Craftsman of the Cumberlands : tradition and creativity / Michael Owen Jones.
  • Creation and procreation : feminist reflections on mythologies of cosmogony and parturition / Marta Weigle.
  • Creativity and tradition in folklore : new directions / edited by Simon J. Bronner.
  • Encyclopedia of urban legends / Jan Harold Brunvand ; artwork by Randy Hickman.
  • English folk poetry, structure and meaning / Roger deV. Renwick.
  • Enterprising women : television fandom and the creation of popular myth / Camille Bacon-Smith ; photographs by Stephanie A. Hall.
  • Feminist messages : coding in women's folk culture / edited by Joan Newlon Radner.
  • Finnish folk poetry and the Kalevala / Thomas A. DuBois.
  • Folk tales of Andros island, Bahamas / By Elsie Clews Parsons.
  • Folk-lore from the Cape Verde Islands / by Elsie Clews Parsons.
  • Folklife studies from the gilded age : object, rite, and custom in Victorian America / edited by Simon J. Bronner.
  • Folklore from Iowa / collected and edited by Earl J. Stout.
  • Folklore from Nova Scotia / collected by Arthur Huff Fauset.
  • Folklore/folklife / edited by Bruce Jackson, Judith McCulloh, and Marta Weigle.
  • Folktales of Newfoundland : the resilience of the oral tradition / Herbert Halpert and J.D.A. Widdowson ; with the assistance of Martin J. Lovelace and Eileen Collins ; music transcription and commentary by Julia C. Bishop.
  • Gender on the market : Moroccan women and the revoicing of tradition / Deborah A. Kapchan.
  • Gender, genre, and power in South Asian expressive traditions / edited by Arjun Appadurai, Frank J. Korom, and Margaret A. Mills.
  • George Magoon and the down east game war : history, folklore, and the law / Edward D. Ives.
  • Good friends and bad enemies : Robert Winslow Gordon and the study of American folksong / Debora Kodish.
  • Handbook of Norse mythology / John Lindow.
  • Handmaidens of the Lord : Pentecostal women preachers and traditional religion / Elaine J. Lawless.
  • Healing traditions : alternative medicine and the health professions / Bonnie Blair O'Connor.
  • Holy women, wholly women : sharing ministries of wholeness through life stories and reciprocal ethnography / Elaine J. Lawless.
  • Jack in two worlds : contemporary North American tales and their tellers / edited by William Bernard McCarthy ; with tales edited by William Bernard McCarthy, Cheryl Oxford, Joseph Daniel Sobol.
  • Japanese peasant songs / compiled and annotated by John F. Embree, with the assistance of Ella Embree and Yukuo Uyehara.
  • Jeannie Robertson : emergent singer, transformative voice / James Porter, Herschel Gower.
  • Manufacturing tales : sex and money in contemporary legends / Gary Alan Fine.
  • Medieval folklore : an encyclopedia of myths, legends, tales, beliefs, and customs / Carl Lindahl, John McNamara, John Lindow, editors.
  • Metaphors of masculinity : sex and status in Andalusian folklore / Stanley Brandes.
  • Miles of smiles, years of struggle : stories of Black Pullman porters / Jack Santino.
  • Morning dew and roses : nuance, metaphor, and meaning in folksongs / Barre Toelken.
  • Myths and tales of the Chiricahua Apache Indians / by Morris Edward Opler ; with an appendix of Apache and Navaho comparative references by David French ; introduction to the Bison book edition by Scott Rushforth.
  • Myths and tales of the Jicarilla Apache Indians / by Morris Edward Opler ; introduction to the Bison book edition by Scott Rushforth.
  • Myths and tales of the White Mountain Apache / [compiled by] Grenville Goodwin ; with a new preface by tribal chairman Ronnie Lupe ; and a new foreword by Elizabeth A. Brandt, Bonnie Lavender-Lewis, and Philip J. Greenfeld.
  • Myths of the Toba and Pilagá Indians of the Gran Chaco / by Alfred Métraux.
  • Nsiirin! Nsiirin! : Jula folktales from West Africa / Eren Giray, with the assistance of Awa Outtarra & Jean Gô.
  • Occasions of faith : an anthropology of Irish Catholics / Lawrence J. Taylor.
  • Old Jewish folk music : the collections and writings of Moshe Beregovski ; edited and translated by Mark Slobin.
  • Passing the time in Ballymenone : culture and history of an Ulster community / Henry Glassie ; photographs and drawing by the author.
  • Plain painters : making sense of American folk art / John Michael Vlach.
  • Public folklore / edited by Robert Baron and Nicholas R. Spitzer.
  • Putting folklore to use / Michael Owen Jones, editor.
  • Rhetorics and politics in Afghan traditional storytelling / Margaret A. Mills.
  • Romancing the real : folklore and ethnographic representation in North Africa / Sabra J. Webber.
  • Russian epic studies / edited by Roman Jakobson and Ernest J. Simmons.
  • Sense of place : American regional cultures / edited by Barbara Allen & Thomas J. Schlereth.
  • Signs from the ancestors : Zuni cultural symbolism and perceptions of rock art / M. Jane Young.
  • Singing in the spirit : African-American sacred quartets in New York City / Ray Allen.
  • Sound and sentiment : birds, weeping, poetics, and song in Kaluli expression / Steven Feld.
  • Spanish folk-tales from New Mexico / by José Manuel Espinosa.
  • Storytellers, saints, and scoundrels : folk narrative in Hindu religious teaching / Kirin Narayan.
  • Studies in Italian American folklore / edited by Luisa Del Giudice.
  • Teaching folklore / edited by Bruce Jackson ; with contributions by Bruce A. Beatie ... [and others].
  • Tewa tales / Elsie Clews Parsons ; with a new foreword by Barbara A. Babcock.
  • The centennial index : one hundred years of the Journal of American folklore / edited and compiled by Bruce Jackson, Michael Taft, and Harvey S. Axlerod ; with contributions from Ronald L. Baker ... [and others].
  • The Conservation of culture : folklorists and the public sector / edited by Burt Feintuch.
  • The folkstories of children / Brian Sutton-Smith, in collaboration with David M. Abrams ... [and others].
  • The lore of New Mexico / Marta Weigle and Peter White.
  • The lost gold mine of Juan Mondragón : a legend from New Mexico / performed by Melaquías Romero ; edited by Charles L. Briggs and Julián Josué Vigil.
  • The lost world of the craft printer / Maggie Holtzberg-Call.
  • The matachines dance : ritual symbolism and interethnic relations in the upper Río Grande Valley / Sylvia Rodríguez.
  • The ribbon around the Pentagon : peace by piecemakers / Linda Pershing.
  • The terror that comes in the night : an experience-centered study of supernatural assault traditions / David J. Hufford.
  • Time & temperature : a centennial publication of the American Folklore Society / edited by Charles Camp.
  • Transforming tradition : folk music revivals examined / edited by Neil V. Rosenberg ; foreword by Alan Jabbour.
  • UFOs and popular culture : an encyclopedia of contemporary myth / James R. Lewis.
  • Verbal arts in Madagascar : performance in historical perspective / Lee Haring.
  • Virginia folk legends / edited by Thomas E. Barden.
  • Virginia Piedmont blues : the lives and art of two Virginia bluesmen / Barry Lee Pearson.
  • Wealth and rebellion : Elsie Clews Parsons, anthropologist and folklorist / Rosemary Lévy Zumwalt ; foreword by Roger D. Abrahams.
  • Wobblies, pile butts, and other heroes : laborlore explorations / Archie Green.
  • Women as ritual experts : the religious lives of elderly Jewish women in Jerusalem / Susan Starr Sered.
  • Women's folklore, women's culture / edited by Rosan A. Jordan and Susan J. Kalčik.
Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License