LibGuides: Guide to Books in the Fife Folklore Archives: Folk Coll 10

Folk Collection 10 - The Dr. Rachael D. Yocom and Gertrude Shurr Collection

The alphabetized sections are expandable and collapsible. Click a letter range to view the titles in that section. For quick searching, use Ctrl+F (Windows) or Command+F (Mac) to find keywords or specific titles on the page. To request an item, look up the title in the USU Libraries online catalog to confirm the exact record and call number, then submit your request through Special Collections and Archives.

Folk Coll 10 – A–Z Book List

A–Z Titles

A catalogue of the American folk art collection of Colonial Williamsburg / collected and presented by Mrs. John D. Rockefeller, Jr. Compiled by Edith Gregor Halpert with a foreword by James L. Cogar.
A Treasury of American folklore : stories, ballads, and traditions of the people / edited by B.A. Botkin ; with a foreword by Carl Sandburg.
A treasury of Irish folklore; the stories, traditions, legends, humor, wisdom, ballads, and songs of the Irish people.
A treasury of Jewish folklore : stories, traditions, legends, humor, wisdom and folk songs of the Jewish people / / edited by Nathan Ausubel.
A treasury of Mexican folkways / by Frances Toor. The customs, myths, folklore, traditions, beliefs, fiestas, dances, and songs of the Mexican people. Illustrated with 10 color plates, 100 drawings by Carlos Merida, and 170 photographs.
A treasury of New England folklore : stories, ballads, and traditions of the Yankee people / edited by B.A. Botkin..
A treasury of railroad folklore; the stories, tall tales, traditions, ballads, and songs of the American railroad man. Edited by B. A. Botkin and Alvin F. Harlow.
A treasury of Southern folklore : stories, ballads, traditions, and folkways of the people of the South / with a foreword by Douglas Southall Freeman.
A treasury of western folklore / edited by B. A. Botkin ; foreword by Bernard De Voto.
Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (Tom Sawyer's comrade) by Mark Twain [pseud]
Arizona's best ghost towns : a practical guide / by Philip Varney ; pref. by Byrd Howell Granger ; maps and drawings by G. E. Wolfe ; photos. by the author.
Chinese ghost & love stories.
Funk & Wagnalls standard dictionary of folklore, mythology and legend.
Funk & Wagnalls standard dictionary of folklore, mythology and legend.
Here come the Navaho! / by Ruth Underhill.
Indians of the Americas; the long hope. (Slightly abridged)
Introduction to American Indian art, to accompany the first exhibition of American Indian art selected entirely with consideration of esthetic value.
Japanese mythology.
Kalevala, the land of heroes / translated [from the original Finnish] by W.F. Kirby ; introd. by J.B.C. Grundy.
Kalevala, the land of heroes / translated [from the original Finnish] by W.F. Kirby ; introd. by J.B.C. Grundy.
Know the Navajo / compiled by Sandford W. Hassell ; illustrated by Paul Bringle.
Laughing Boy / by Oliver La Farge.
Laughing Boy / by Oliver La Farge.
Mythology of the Americas / [by] Cottie Burland, Irene Nicholson [and] Harold Osborne.
National Geographic on Indians of the Americas; a color-illustrated record / [by] Matthew W. Stirling, with contributions by Hiram Bingham [and others] Illustrated with full-color reproductions of 149 paintings by W. Langdon Kihn and H. M. Herget. Foreword by John Oliver La Gorce.
Navajo religion, a study of symbolism.
New Mexico Indians / a pocket handbook.
New York City folklore: legends, tall tales, anecdotes, stories, sagas, heroes and characters, customs, traditions, and sayings / edited, with an introduction, by B.A. Botkin.
North American Indian mythology / Cottie Burland.
Paint the wind / by Alberta Hannum ; illustrated with paintings by Beatien Yazz.
Santos of the Southwest : the Denver Art Museum collection.
Scandinavian mythology / H. R. Ellis Davidson.
The bedside book of famous American stories / edited by Angus Burrell. and Bennett A. Cerf.
The desert year / Decorations by Rudolf Freund.
The eagle, the jaguar, and the serpent : Indian art of the Americas: North America: Alaska, Canada, the United States.
The Green collection of American Indian art.
The Life treasury of American folklore / by the editors of Life; with paintings by James Lewicki.
The man who killed the deer / Frank Waters.
The Navaho / by Clyde Kluckholn and Dorothea Leighton.
The Navajos / Ruth M. Underhill.
The sacred mountains of the Navajo in four paintings by Harrison Begay / explanatory text by Leland C. Wyman.
The storytelling stone; myths and tales of the American Indians.
Traders to the Navajos : the study of the Wetherills of Kayenta / Frances Gillmor and Louisa Wade Wetherill.
Universal Indian sign language of the Plains Indians of North America : together with a simplified method of study, a list of words in most general use; a codification of pictographic symbols of the Sioux and Ojibway, a dictionary of synonyms, a history of sign language, chapters on smoke signaling, use of idioms, etc., and other important co-related matter / William Tomkins.
Walk quietly the beautiful trail; lyrics and legends of the American Indian / edited by C. Merton Babcock. With authentic American Indian art.
Warriors of the rainbow; strange and prophetic Indian dreams / by William Willoya and Vinson Brown. Major artists: Tzo Yazzie (Navajo) [and others] Research assistants: Jerry Erby, Frank Newman.
Windsinger / by Frances Gillmor.
Windsinger / Frances Gillmor, with an introd. by the author ; foreword by N. Scott Momaday.
Zuñi fetiches / Frank Hamilton Cushing. Introd. by Tom Bahti.