Skip to Main Content

Guide to Books in the Fife Folklore Archives: Folk Coll 1

This guide provides an overview of the books housed within the folklore collections in Utah State University’s Special Collections and Archives (SCA). Many of these book groupings were assembled by folklorists, donors, and researchers over several decades

Folk Collection 1 - Fife Donated Book Collection

The alphabetized sections are expandable and collapsible. Click a letter range to view the titles in that section. For quick searching, use Ctrl+F (Windows) or Command+F (Mac) to find keywords or specific titles on the page. To request an item, look up the title in the USU Libraries online catalog to confirm the exact record and call number, then submit your request through Special Collections and Archives.

Folk Coll 1 – A–Z Book List

A–G Titles
  • 1811 dictionary of the vulgar tongue; a dictionary of buckish slang, university wit, and pickpocket eloquence. Unabridged from the original 1811 ed., with a foreword by Robert Cromie. (Northfield, Ill, Digest Books)
  • 44 old time Mormon and far west songs / George F. Briegel. (New York, George F. Briegel)
  • A believing people; literature of the Latter-day Saints [by] Richard H. Cracroft [and] Neal E. Lambert. ([Provo, Utah], Brigham Young University Press)
  • A bibliography of churches of the dispersion / Dale L. Morgan. ([Place of publication not identified], [publisher not identified])
  • A bibliography of jazz / by Alan P. Merriam ; with the assistance of Robert J. Benford. (Philadelphia, American Folk-lore Society)
  • A bibliography of North American folklore and folksong. (New York, Greenberg)
  • A bibliography of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (Strangite) / Dale L. Morgan. ([Salt Lake City], [The Utah Humanities Research Foundation])
  • A book of nonsense songs: over 100 songs, words and music / [edited by] Norman Casden; illustrated with drawings by Charles Keller. (New York, Crown Publishers)
  • A book of the Basques / illustrated with a map and drawings by Marjorie Gallop. (Reno, University of Nevada Press)
  • A buck and pole primer / written and illustrated by Chip Rawlins. ([Place of publication not identified], [The author?])
  • A calendar of American folk art 1976 / comp. by Cyril I. Nelson. (New York, Dutton)
  • A collection of folklore from the United States and Canada / J. Barre Toelken. (Logan, Utah State University)
  • A collection of songs, poems and tributes. Volume 2 : reminiscent of pioneer days in Utah's Dixie / by Moses E. Gifford. ([Salt Lake City, Utah], Deseret News Press)
  • A concise folklore dictionary / [edited by] Kenneth and Mary Clarke. ([Bowling Green, Ky.], [publisher not identified])
  • A concise folklore dictionary / [edited by] Kenneth and Mary Clarke. ([Bowling Green, Ky.], [publisher not identified])
  • A critically annotated bibliography of works published and unpublished relating to the culture of French Newfoundlanders / by Geraldine Barter. ([St. John's, Nfld.], Memorial University of Newfoundland)
  • A critique of Utah's culture and economy : a selection of essays / by Joseph A. Geddes. (Logan [Utah], Utah State University, Merrill Library)
  • A fieldtrip in Dobrogea / Jan Harold Brunvand. ([Bloomington, Ind.], Indiana University, Research Center for Language and Semiotic Studies)
  • A fitting death for Billy the Kid / Ramon Frederick Adams. (Norman, University of Oklahoma Press)
  • A folklore reader / edited by Kenneth and Mary Clarke. (New York, A. S. Barnes)
  • A Foxfire Christmas / edited by Eliot Wigginton and his students. (New York, Doubleday)
  • A guide for collectors of folklore in Utah / Jan Harold Brunvand. (Salt Lake City, University of Utah Press)
  • A guide for collectors of folklore in Utah / Jan Harold Brunvand. (Salt Lake City, University of Utah Press)
  • A guide for collectors of oral traditions and folk cultural material in Pennsylvania / by MacEdward Leach and Henry Glassie. (Harrisburg, Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission)
  • A guide for field workers in folklore / by Kenneth S. Goldstein ; pref. by Hamish Henderson. (Hatboro, Pa., Folklore Associates)
  • A guide to American folklore / Levette J. Davidson. ([Denver, Colo.], University of Denver Press)
  • A history of Moab, Utah / by Faun McConkie Tanner. ([Moab, Utah], [Press of the Times-independent])
  • A manuscript of the folk language / Duncan Emrich. ([s. .], [publisher not identified])
  • A method of collecting and classifying folk sayings / Marjorie M. Kimmerle. ([Berkeley, Calif.], [University of California Press])
  • A Mexican and a Spaniard observe the Shakers / Watt Stewart. ([Place of publication not identified], [publisher not identified])
  • A modern Moses at West Tintic; essay / by Carlton Culmsee. (Logan, Utah State University Press)
  • A modern Moses at West Tintic; essay / by Carlton Culmsee. (Logan, Utah State University Press)
  • A museum of early American tools / by Eric Sloane. (New York, Ballantine Books)
  • A new tradition ballad from Virginia : The Whusamil Bore (Child, no. 27) / Arthur Kyle Davis, Jr. (Jackson, Fla., Southeastern Folklore Society)
  • A Night with the hants and other Alabama folk experiences / collected and edited by Ray B. Browne ; notes by Carlos C. Drake. ([Bowling Green, Ohio], Popular Press)
  • A reverence for wood. (New York, W. Funk)
  • A sketch of Sam Bass, the bandit : a graphic narrative [of] his various train robberies, his death, and accounts of the deaths of his gang and their history / Charles Lee Martin ; with an introd. by Ramon F. Adams. (Norman, University of Oklahoma Press)
  • A survey of Mormon housing traditions in Utah / Jan Harold Brunvand. (Bucarest, Academiei Republicii Socialiste România)
  • A syllabus of Kentucky folk-songs / by Hubert G. Shearin and Josiah H. Combs. (Lexington, Ky, Transylvania Printing Company)
  • A symposium review of Alan Dundes' The Study of Folklore / [edited by Kenneth S. Goldstein ; reviewers: Ray B. Browne ... [and others].] ([Pittsburgh, Pa.], [Pennyslvania Folklore Society], 1966.)
  • A Timpanogos legend / by Muriel Jenkins Heal. ([Provo, Utah], [Tricorp])
  • ABC book of early Americana; a sketchbook of antiquities and American firsts. (Garden City, N.Y, Doubleday)
  • African folklore [compiled by] Richard M. Dorson. (New York, Anchor Books)
  • Air Force airs; songs and ballads of the United States Air Force, World War One through Korea. (New York, Duell, Sloan and Pearce)
  • Al Clauser and his Oklahoma Outlaws : collection of original mountain and range songs. (San Francisco, Cross & Winge)
  • Albert E. Brumley's olde time camp meetin' songs. ([Author])
  • Albert E. Brumley's songs of the pioneers : a collection of songs and ballads of the romantic past. ([s. .], [the author])
  • Alfred Kroeber; a personal configuration. (Berkeley, University of California Press)
  • American balladry from British broadsides : a guide for students and collectors of traditional song / by G. Malcolm Laws, Jr. (Philadelphia, American Folklore Society)
  • American balladry from British broadsides : a guide for students and collectors of traditional song / by G. Malcolm Laws, Jr. (Philadelphia, American Folklore Society)
  • American cowboy songs / edited by Hugo Frey. ([New York], Robbins Music Corp.)
  • American folk art / Ellen S. Sabine ; drawings by the author, color photos. by Hilda Borcherding. (Princeton, N. J., Van Nostrand)
  • American folk art; the art and spirit of a people, from the Eleanor and Mabel Van Alstyne collection / by Peter C. Welsh. Catalog entries prepared by Anne Castrodale. (Washington, D. C., Smithsonian Institution)
  • American folk legend; a symposium. Edited, with a pref., by Wayland D. Hand. (Berkeley, University of California Press)
  • American folk medicine : a symposium / edited, with introduction, by Wayland D. Hand. (Berkeley, University of California Press)
  • American folk music for high school and other choral groups / George Poller Jackson. (Boston, Birchard)
  • American folklore / by Richard M. Dorson. (Chicago, The University of Chicago Press)
  • American folksong : origins, texts and modes of diffusion / Louise Pound. (Lincoln, Neb., [publisher not identified])
  • American folksong, Woody Guthrie / edited by Moses Asch. (New York, Oak Publications)
  • American folksongs of protest / John Greenway. (Philadelphia, University of Pennsylvania Press)
  • American murder ballads and their stories / collected and edited by Olive Woolley Burt. (New York, Oxford University Press)
  • American Negro folktales / collected with introd. and notes by Richard M. Dorson. (Greenwich, Conn., Fawcett Publications)
  • American railroads / by John F. Stover. ([Chicago], University of Chicago Press)
  • Americanisms in the log of a cowboy / Archer Taylor. (Berkeley, Calif, University of California)
  • Among the Mormons : historic accounts by contemporary observers / edited by William Mulder and A. Russell Mortensen. (Lincoln [Neb.], University of Nebraska Press)
  • Among the Mormons : historic accounts by contemporary observers / edited by William Mulder and A. Russell Mortensen. (Lincoln [Neb.], University of Nebraska Press)
  • Amorous games; a critical edition of Les adevineaux amoureux [by] James Woodrow Hassell, Jr. (Austin, Published for the American Folklore Society by the University of Texas Press)
  • An American in California : the biography of William Heath Davis, 1822-1909 / by Andrew F. Rolle. (San Marino, Calif, Huntington Library)
  • An analysis of Coeur d'Alene Indian myths / with a comparison by Adele Froelich. (Philadelphia, American Folk-lore Scoiety)
  • An annotated bibliography of western manuscripts in the Merrill Library at Utah State University, Logan, Utah / Mary Belle Washington. (Logan, Utah, Utah State University Press)
  • Analytical index to Publications of the Texas Folklore Society, volumes 1-36 / [by] James T. Bratcher. (Dallas, Southern Methodist University Press)
  • Analytical index to Publications of the Texas Folklore Society, volumes 1-36 / [by] James T. Bratcher. (Dallas, Southern Methodist University Press)
  • Andy Adams' Campfire tales / edited by Wilson M. Hudson ; ill. by Malcolm Thurgood. (Lincoln, University of Nebraska Press)
  • Arizona sings / edited by Carroll A. Rinehart. (Arizona, The Homemakers Club of Arizona)
  • At the end of the Oregon Trail / H. Merle Smith. (Portland, Oregon, The Arcady Press)
  • Ausstellung die Groteske in der Volkskunst Katalag / edited and compiled by Leopold Schmidt. (Vienna, Austrian Museum of Folklore)
  • Bahama songs and stories : A contribution to folk-lore / by Charles L. Edwards. (New York, G.E. Steckert)
  • Ballad makin' in the mountains of Kentucky / by Jean Thomas; with music arranged by Walter Kob ... (New York, H. Holt)
  • Ballads and folk songs of the Southwest : more than 600 titles, melodies, and texts collected in Oklahoma / by Ethel and Chauncey O. Moore. (Norman, University of Oklahoma Press)
  • Ballads and sea songs from Nova Scotia / collected by W. Roy Mackenzie. (Cambridge, Harvard university press)
  • Ballads and songs / collected by the Missouri Folk-lore Society. (Columbia, University of Missouri)
  • Ballads and songs from Utah / collected and edited by Lester A. Hubbard ; music transcription by Kenly W. Whitelock. (Salt Lake City, University of Utah Press)
  • Ballads and songs of Indiana / collected and edited by Paul G. Brewster, A. M. (Bloomington, Indiana university)
  • Ballads and songs of southern Michigan / collected and edited by Emelyn Elizabeth Gardner and Geraldine Jencks Chickering. (Ann Arbor ; London, The University of Michigan press ; H. Milford, Oxford university Press)
  • Ballads and songs of southern Michigan / collected and edited by Emelyn Elizabeth Gardner and Geraldine Jencks Chickering. (Ann Arbor ; London, The University of Michigan press ; H. Milford, Oxford university Press)
  • Ballads and songs of southern Michigan / collected and edited by Emelyn Elizabeth Gardner and Geraldine Jencks Chickering. (Ann Arbor ; London, The University of Michigan press ; H. Milford, Oxford university Press)
  • Ballads and songs of the frontier folk. (Austin, Texas Folk-Lore Society)
  • Ballads and songs of the shanty-boy / collected and edited by Franz Rickaby. (Cambridge, Harvard University Press)
  • Ballads migrant in New England / by the collectors, Helen Hartness Flanders and Marguerite Olney. With an introd. by Robert Frost. (New York, Farrar, Straus and Young)
  • Ballads of the plains. Jacket design by John Shelby Metcalf. (Dallas, Kaleidograph Press)
  • Bards of the Little Big Horn / Brian W. Dippie. ([s. .], [publisher not identified])
  • Bee prepared with honey : [140 delicious honey recipes plus a guide to backyard beekeeping] / Arthur W. Andersen. (Bountiful, Utah, Horizon Publishers)
  • Bee venom therapy; bee venom, its nature, and its effect on arthritic and rheumatoid conditions / by Bodog F. Beck. (New York ; London, Appleton-Century)
  • Beneath Ben Lomond's peak : a history of Weber County 1824-1900 / Milton R. Hunter. (Salt Lake City, Publishers Press)
  • Between the Comanche and the rattlesnake / by J. Frank Dobie ; drawings by Hal Story. (Dallas, Texas, Southern Methodist University Press)
  • Black rock : mining folklore of the Pennsylvania Dutch / George Korson. (Baltimore, Johns Hopkins Press)
  • Blood on the cable / Ronald C. Ives. (Berkeley, Calif., University of California)
  • Boletín del Instituto de Investigaciones Folklóricas = Bulletin of the Institute of Folklore Research. (Panamá, Universidad Interamericana)
  • Book reviews of Songs of the cowboys by N. Howard ("Jack") Thorpe] (1966-1968.)
  • Bound for glory / by Woody Guthrie ; illustrated with sketches by the author. (New York, E. P. Dutton)
  • Boundaries, portals, and other magical spots in folklore / by Wayland D. Hand. (London, Folklore Society, University College)
  • Bowleg Bill : seagoing cowboy / by Wyatt Blassingame ; illustrated by Herman Vestal. (Champaign, Ill., Garrard Pub. Co.)
  • Brigham's destroying angel : being the life, confession, and startling disclosures of the notorious Bill Hickman. (Salt Lake City, Modern Microfilm Co.)
  • British ballads from Maine : the development of popular songs with texts and airs / by Phillips Barry, Fannie Hardy Eckstorm [and] Mary Winslow Smyth; versions of ballads included in Professor F.J. Child's collection. (New Haven ; London, Yale University Press ; H. Milford, Oxford University Press)
  • British ballads in Ontario / Edith Fowke. ([s. .], [publisher not identified])
  • British West Indian folk drama and the "life cycle" problem / Roger D. Abrahams. (Austin, Texas, University of Texas at Austin, Institute of Latin American studies)
  • Buckaroo ballads / Kenneth S. Clark. (New York, Paull-Pioneer Music Corp.)
  • Buying the wind : regional folklore in the United States / by Richard M. Dorson. (Chicago, University of Chicago Press)
  • Cache Valley: a guide to northeastern Utah / Yvonne Young Merill assisted by Ruth Stanfield Rees. (Logan, Utah, Utah State University Faculty Women's League)
  • Cache Valley: a guide to northeastern Utah / Yvonne Young Merill assisted by Ruth Stanfield Rees. (Logan, Utah, Utah State University Faculty Women's League)
  • California to the New York island : being a pocketfull of brags, blues, bad men ballads, love songs, Okie laments, and children's catcalls / Woody Guthrie ; woven into a script suitable for a concert, clambake, hootenanny or community sing by Millard Lampell. (New York, The Guthrie Children's Trust Fund)
  • California to the New York island : being a pocketfull of brags, blues, bad men ballads, love songs, Okie laments, and children's catcalls / Woody Guthrie ; woven into a script suitable for a concert, clambake, hootenanny or community sing by Millard Lampell. (New York, The Guthrie Children's Trust Fund)
  • Californios, the saga of the hard-riding vaqueros, America's first cowboys / written and illus. by Jo Mora. (Garden City, N. Y, Doubleday)
  • Campfire tales of Jackson Hole / cover design, cartography, and sketches by G. Bryan Harry. (Moose, Wyo, Grand Teton Natural History Association in cooperation with the National Park Service, U.S. Dept. of Interior)
  • Canada's story in song / by Edith Fowke and Alan Mills ; piano accompaniments by Helmut Blume ; music drawn by J.R. Brooks ; illustrations and cover by Leo Rampen. (Toronto, Gage)
  • Canciones de mi padre : Spanish folksongs from southern Arizona / collected by Luisa Espinel from her father Don Federico Ronstadt y Redondo. (Tucson, Ariz., University of Arizona)
  • Catalog 2, March 1984. (Oakland, California, Orn Apicultural Library)
  • Cents and nonsense in the urban folk song movement : 1930-1966 / Ellen Stekert. (Hartboro, Pa., Folklore Associates)
  • Charles Dickens and Shakespeare or the Irish Moor of Venice, O'Thello with music / Charles Haywood. ([s. .], [publisher not identified])
  • Charles Walters : West Indian Autolycus / Roger D. Abrahams. ([Austin, Tex.], Institute of Latin American Studies, University of Texas at Austin)
  • Childhood beliefs from Stockton, California / Mimi Clar. (Berkeley, Calif., University of California)
  • Children of God; an American epic [by] Vardis Fisher. (New York, Harper)
  • Christmas mumming in Newfoundland; essays in anthropology, folklore, and history / edited by Herbert Halpert and G. M. Story. ([Toronto], Published for Memorial University of Newfoundland by University of Toronto Press)
  • Christy's bones and banjo melodist : being a collection of the most popular, fashionable, patriotic, Ethiopian comic and humorous songs, speeches, etc. / as sung and delivered by the world renowned Christy's ministrels. (New York, Dick & Fitzgerald)
  • Chuck wagon trail / by George Loudenback. (New York, N.Y., Mills Music, Inc.)
  • Clareti enigmata : the Latin riddle of Claret / Frederic Peachy. (Berkeley, University of California Press)
  • Climate and disease : the traveler describes America / Michael Owen Jones. ([Baltimore], [Johns Hopkins University Press])
  • Coal dust on the fiddle; songs and stories of the bituminous industry / by George Korson. (Philadelphia, University of Pennsylvania press)
  • Coloquios de pastores from Jalisco, Mexico / ed. with introd. and notes by Stanley L. Robe ; musical transcription by Hermenegildo Corbató. (Berkeley, Univ. of California Press)
  • Come a singing! Canadian folk-songs / by Marius Barbeau, Arthur Lismer [and] Arthur Bourinot. (Ottawa, E. Cloutier, printer to the King)
  • Comparative problems in oral literature / Stith Thompson. (Chapel Hill, North Carolina, [University of North Carolina])
  • Country music U.S.A. : a fifty-year history / by Bill C. Malone. (Austin, published for the American Folklore Society by the University of Texas Press)
  • Cow country / Will James. (New York, London, C. Scribner's sons)
  • Cowboy ballads / Myra E. Hull. (Topeka, Kansas State Historical Society)
  • Cowboy dances : a collection of western square dances / by Lloyd Shaw ; with a foreword by Sherwood Anderson ; appendix cowboy dance tunes arranged by Frederick Knorr. (Caldwell, Idaho, Caxton Printers, ltd)
  • Cowboy lore / by Jules Verne Allen ... illustrated by Ralph J. Pereida. (San Antonio, Tex., Nayor printing company)
  • Cowboy lyrics / by Robert V. Carr. (Chicago, W.B. Conkey Co.)
  • Cowboy meditations / by Wade Lane; illustrations by Lewis E. Wallis. (Los Angeles, San Francisco [etc], Suttonhouse Ltd.)
  • Cowboy poetry : a gathering / edited and with an introd. by Hal Cannon. (Salt Lake City [Utah], G.M. Smith)
  • Cowboy songs and other frontier ballads / collected by John A. Lomax ; with an introd. by Barrett Wendell. (New York, Macmillan)
  • Cowboy songs and other frontier ballads / collected by John A. Lomax and Alan Lomax. (New York, The Macmillan Company)
  • Cowboy songs, and other frontier ballads / collected by John A. Lomax ... with an introduction by Barrett Wendell. (New York, Sturgis & Walton Co.)
  • Creole folk tales; stories of the Louisiana marsh country. (Baton Rouge, Louisiana State Univ. Press)
  • Culture on the moving frontier. (Bloomington, Indiana University Press)
  • Curative practice in folk tales / Wayland D. Hand. (Berlin)
  • Current folklore theories / by Richard M. Dorson. ([Chicago, Ill.], University of Chicago Press)
  • Dairy witchcraft and the ash / Wayland D. Hand. (Berkeley, Calif., University of California)
  • Davy Crockett, American comic legend / selected and edited by Richard M. Dorson ; with a foreword by Howard Mumford Jones. (New York, Spiral Press)
  • Death Valley and its country [by] George Palmer Putnam. (New York, Duell, Sloan and Pearce)
  • Deep like the rivers : stories of my Negro friends / by Martha Emmons. (Austin [Texas], Encino Press)
  • Deep like the rivers : stories of my Negro friends / by Martha Emmons. (Austin [Texas], Encino Press)
  • Deformity, disease, and physical ailment as divine retribution / Wayland D. Hand. (Bonn, Ludwig Röhrscheid Verlag)
  • Denver Art Museum quilt collection / [foreword and collection notes by Lydia Roberts Dunham]. (Denver, The Museum)
  • Desert wed : a story-poem / by Irene Welch Grissom. (Caldwell, Idaho, Caxton Printers)
  • Diamond Bessie & The shepherds / edited by Wilson M. Hudson. (Austin [Texas], Encino Press)
  • Diamond Bessie & The shepherds / edited by Wilson M. Hudson. (Austin [Texas], Encino Press)
  • Die Entwicklung der amerikanise den Volkskonde seit 1935 / Wayland D. Hand. ([s. .], [publisher not identified])
  • Divining from knots in the Carolines / by William A. Lessa. (Wellington, New Zealand, Polynesian Society)
  • Dixie folklore and pioneer memoirs / Arthur Knight Hafen. (St. George, Utah, [publisher not identified])
  • Dixie folklore and pioneer memoirs / Arthur Knight Hafen. (St. George, Utah, [publisher not identified])
  • Early horse trappings of the Navajo and Apache Indians / by LaVerne Harrell Clark. (Tucson, Arizona, University of Arizona Press)
  • Early scenes in church history / designed for the instruction and encouragement of young Latter-day Saints. (Salt Lake City, [Utah], Juvenile Instructor Office)
  • Early Utah furniture / by Connie Morningstar. (Logan, Utah, Utah State University Press)
  • Echoes of the past : tales of old Yavapai / edited and with an introd. by Robert C. Stevens. (Prescott, Ariz, Yavapai Cowbelles)
  • Echoes of the past : tales of old Yavapai / edited and with an introd. by Robert C. Stevens. (Prescott, Ariz, Yavapai Cowbelles)
  • Egypt: a wandering place-name legend / by Herbert Halpert. (Bloomington, Indiana University Press)
  • Eight pamphlets / written and published by Alva Amasa Tanner. (Oakley, Idaho, [publisher not identified])
  • En Amérique : de San Francisco au Canada : avec un index analytique de l'ouvrage / Jules Huret. (Paris, Fasquelle)
  • Ephemeral folk figures: scarecrows, harvest figures, and snowmen / by Avon Neal ; photographs by Ann Parker. (New York, C. N. Potter; distributed by Crown)
  • Eric Sloane's almanac and weather forecaster : with 104 illustrations by the author / [by Eric Sloane] (New York, Hawthorn Books)
  • Eric Sloane's an age of barns. (New York, Ballantine Books)
  • Eskimo dolls / edited by Suzi Jones ; essay, "Eskimo dolls," by Susan W. Fair ; dollmaker photographs by Rob Stapleton ; doll photographs by Chris Arend. ([Anchorage], Alaska State Council on the Arts)
  • Eventful narratives : designed for the instruction and encouragement of young Latter-Day Saints. (Salt Lake City, [Utah], Juvenile Instructor office)
  • Eyes on Texas : fifty years of folklore in the Southwest / Wayland D. Hand. (Austin, Texas Folklore Society)
  • Fatal decision : the tragic story of the Donner Party / by Dr. Walter M. Stookey. (Salt Lake City, Desert Book Co)
  • Federally-financed industrial plants constructed in Utah during World War II / by Leonard J. Arrington and Anthony T. Cluff. (Logan, Utah State University Press)
  • Fiddler's farewell : the legend of the hanged fiddler / D. K. Wilgus. (Budapest, Studia Musicologica)
  • Fife Folklore Archive. (Bowling Green, Ohio, Center for the Study of Popular Culture, Bowling Green State University)
  • Five favorite cowboy ballads about horses / William E. Koch. ([Manhattan, Kan.], [English Dept., Kansas State University])
  • Folk and traditional music of the western continents / Bruno Nettl. (Englewood Cliffs, N.J., Prentice-Hall)
  • Folk art in stone : southwest Virginia / by Klaus Wust. (Edinburg, Va., Shenandoah History)
  • Folk beliefs : knowledge and action / by Michael Owen Jones. ([Gainesville, Fla.], [University of Florida])
  • Folk medical inhalants in respiratory disorders / by Wayland D. Hand. (Berkamsted, [Hertfordshire], Clunbury Press)
  • Folk medicine and the intercultural jest / Américo Paredes. (Austin, Institute of Latin American Studies, University of Texas at Austin)
  • Folk medicine; a Vermont doctor's guide to good health. (New York, Holt)
  • Folk music : a catalog of folk songs, ballads, dances, instrumental pieces, and folk tales of the United States and Latin America on phonograph records. (Washington, Music Division, Recording Laboratory, Reference Department, Library of Congress ; for sale by the Superintendent of Documents, U.S. Govt. Print. Off)
  • Folk song folio / Alton & Rabon Delmore & Wayne Raney. (Texas, Del Rio)
  • Folk song U.S.A. : the 111 best American ballads / collected, adapted, and arr. by John A. Lomax and Alan Lomax ; Alan Lomax, editor ; Charles Seeger and Ruth Crawford Seeger, music editors. (New York, New American Library)
  • Folk song U.S.A. : the 111 best American ballads / collected, adapted, and arr. by John A. Lomax and Alan Lomax ; Alan Lomax, editor ; Charles Seeger and Ruth Crawford Seeger, music editors. (New York, New American Library)
  • Folk songs for conservatives / by Noel E. Parmentel, Jr. [and] Marshall J. Dodge, III. Drawings by David Levine. (New York, Unicorn Press)
  • Folk songs of Canada / Edith Fulton Fowke, literary editor ; Richard Johnston, music editor ; illustrated by Elizabeth Wilkes Hoey. (Waterloo, Ont., Waterloo Music Co.)
  • Folk songs of Mantineia, Greece / Satirios Chianis. (Berkeley, University of California Press)
  • Folk songs of old New England / collected and edited by Eloise Hubbard Linscott. With an introduction by James M. Carpenter. (New York, The Macmillan Co.)
  • Folk traditions of the Upper Peninsula / by Richard M. Dorson. ([Place of publication not identified], [publisher not identified])
  • Folk-lore from Maryland / collected by Annie Weston Whitney and Caroline Canfield Bullock. (New York, American folk-lore society)
  • Folk-song of Nebraska and the central West : a syllabus / by Louise Pound. ([Lincoln, Nebraska], Nebraska Academy of Sciences Publications)
  • Folk-songs of old Quebec / by Marius Barbeau ; song translations by Regina Lenore Shoolman ; illustrations by Arthur Lismer. ([Ottawa], National Museum of Canada)
  • Folk-songs of old Quebec / by Marius Barbeau ; song translations by Regina Lenore Shoolman ; illustrations by Arthur Lismer. ([Ottawa], National Museum of Canada)
  • Folk-songs of the South / collected under the auspices of the West Virginia folk-lore society and edited by John Harrington Cox. (Cambridge, Harvard university press)
  • Folk-songs of the southern United States : (Folk-songs du Midi des Etats-Unis) / edited by D. K. Wilgus. (Austin [Tex.], Published for the American Folklore Society by the University of Texas Press)
  • Folk-songs of the southern United States : (Folk-songs du Midi des Etats-Unis) / edited by D. K. Wilgus. (Austin [Tex.], Published for the American Folklore Society by the University of Texas Press)
  • Folk-tales of the coast Salish / collected and edited by Thelma Adamson. (New York, The American folk-lore society, G. E. Stechert and co., agents)
  • Folklife sourcebook : a directory of folklife resources in the United States / prepared by Peter T. Bartis and Hillary Glatt. (Washington [D.C.], Library of Congress ; For sale by the U.S. G.P.O., Supt. of Docs.)
  • Folklore and folklife : an introduction / edited by Richard M. Dorson. (Chicago, University of Chicago Press)
  • Folklore and folktales around the world / compiled and edited by Ruth Kearney Carlson. (Newark, Del., IRA Library and Literature Committee)
  • Folklore and nationalism in modern Finland / William A. Wilson. (Bloomington [Ind.], Indiana University Press)
  • Folklore and Newfoundland : an informal introduction to the materials and methods of folklore / by Herbert Halpert. ([Toronto], Bibliographical Society of Canada)
  • Folklore and symbolism of flowers, plants and trees / by Ernst and Johanna Lehner. (New York, Tudor Pub. Co.)
  • Folklore as a supplement to Western history. ([Lincoln, Neb.], [Nebraska Historical Society])
  • Folklore from Iowa / collected and edited by Earl J. Stout. (New York, American Folk-lore Society)
  • Folklore from Nova Scotia / collected by Arthur Huff Fauset. (New York, American Folk-Lore Society)
  • Folklore in America : tales, songs, superstitions, proverbs, riddles, games, folk drama and folk festivals / selected and edited by Tristram P. Coffin and Hennig Cohen from the Journal of American folklore. (Garden City, N.Y., Doubleday)
  • Folklore in American literature / John T. Flanagan and Arthur Palmer Hudson. (New York, A. S. Barnes)
  • Folklore in the Bear Lake Valley / [by Bonnie Thompson]. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Granite Publishing Co.)
  • Folklore in the Bear Lake Valley / [by Bonnie Thompson]. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Granite Publishing Co.)
  • Folklore in the Bear Lake Valley / Bonnie Thompson.
  • Folklore of Lunenburg County, Nova Scotia. (Ottawa, E. Cloutier, King's Printer)
  • Folklore of mountain and plain : studies in honor of Austin E. Fife for helping to pioneer the study of folklore and antiquities in the Intermountain West.
  • Folklore of the great West : selections from eighty-three years of the Journal of American folklore / edited with extensive commentary by John Greenway ; with line drawings by Glen Rounds. (Palo Alto, Calif., American West Pub. Co.)
  • Folklore of the North American Indians; an annotated bibliography. Compiled by Judith C. Ullom, Children's Book Section. (Washington, Library of Congress; [for sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. Govt. Print. Off.])
  • Folklore research around the world : a North American point of view / Richard Mercer Dorson. ([Bloomington], [Indiana University Press, c1961])
  • Folklore y artes populares / Robert Diaz Castillo. (Guatemala, Universidad de San Carlos)
  • Folksongs and their makers / Henry Glassie, Edward D. Ives, John F. Szwed. (Bowling Green, Ohio, Bowling Green University Popular Press)
  • Folksongs of Mississippi and their background / by Arthur Palmer Hudson. (Chapel Hill, The University of North Carolina press)
  • Forms and methods of early Mormon settlement in Utah and the surrounding region, 1847 to 1877. (Logan, Utah State University Press)
  • Foxfire 2: ghost stories, spring wild plant foods, spinning and weaving, midwifing, burial customs, corn shuckin's wagon making and more affairs of plain living. Edited with an introd. by Eliot Wigginton. (Garden City, N.Y., Anchor Press)
  • Foxfire 3 : animal care, banjos and dulcimers, hide tanning, summer and fall wild plant foods, butter churns, ginseng, and still more affairs of plain living / edited with an introd. by Eliot Wigginton. (Garden City, N.Y., Anchor Press)
  • Foxfire 4 : fiddle making, springhouses, horse trading, sassafras tea, berry buckets, gardening, and further affairs of plain living / edited with an introd. by Eliot Wigginton ; afterword by Richard M. Dorson. (Garden City, N.Y, Anchor Press)
  • Foxfire 5 : ironmaking, blacksmithing, flintlock rifles, bear hunting, and other affairs of plain living / edited with an introd. by Eliot Wigginton. (Garden City, N.Y., Anchor Press/Doubleday)
  • Foxfire 5 : ironmaking, blacksmithing, flintlock rifles, bear hunting, and other affairs of plain living / edited with an introd. by Eliot Wigginton. (Garden City, N.Y., Anchor Press/Doubleday)
  • Foxfire 6 : shoemaking, gourd banjos, and songbows, one hundred toys and games, wooden locks, a water powered sawmill, and other affairs of just plain living / edited, with an introd. by Eliot Wigginton. (Garden City, N.Y., Anchor Press/Doubleday)
  • Foxfire 7 : ministers, church members, revivals, baptisms, shaped-note and gospel singing, faith healing, camp meetings, footwashing, snake handling, and other traditions of mountain religious heritage / edited with an introduction by Paul F. Gillespie. (Garden City, N.Y., Anchor Press/Doubleday)
  • Foxfire 8 : Southern folk pottery from pug mills, ash glazes, and groundhog kilns to face jugs, churns, and roosters ; mule swapping and chicken fighting / edited by Eliot Wigginton and Margie Bennett ; with an introduction by Eliot Wigginton. (Garden City, N.Y., Anchor Press/Doubleday)
  • Foxfire 9 : general stores, the Jud Nelson wagon, a praying rock, a Catawba Indian potter--and haint tales, quilting, home cures, and log cabins revisited/ edited by Eliot Wigginton and Margie Bennett ; with an introduction by Eliot Wigginton. (Garden City, N.Y., Anchor Press/Doubleday)
  • Fragments of experience / designed for the instruction and encouragement of young Latter-Day Saints. (Salt Lake City, [Utah], Juvenile Instructor Office)
  • French place names in the U.S.A. / Rene Coulet Du Gard. (New York, Cultural Services of the French Embassy)
  • Frontier tales : true stories of real people / Juanita Brooks. (Logan, Utah, Western Text Society)
  • Frontier tales : true stories of real people / Juanita Brooks. (Logan, Utah, Western Text Society)
  • Full dreams and empty mines : is there gold in the mountain west of Spanish Fork? Eight thousand shareholders in the Dream Mine must think so / by John R. Christiansen. ([Provo, Utah], [Tricorp])
  • Fun with string figures / W.W. Rouse Ball. (New York, Dover Publications)
  • Games & pastimes of childhood / engraved by Claudine Bouzonnet Stella ; preface, translations, and notes by Stanley Appelbaum. (New York, Dover Publications)
  • Gardianage en Camargue: défendons la Camargue [par] René Baranger, lettre manuscrite et préface du marquis Folco de Baroncelli-Javon. (Clichy (12, bd Général-Leclerc, 92110), R. Baranger)
  • Gawain and the green girdle / Stoddard Malarkey and J. Barre Toelken. ([Urbana, Ill.], University of Illinois Press)
  • Ghost towns of the west. Supervising editor: Jack McDowell. Design consultants: Fetzer-Conover Graphics. Layout: Henry Rasmussen. Cartography & illus.: Basil C. Wood. (Menlo Park, Calif, Lane Magazine & Book Co)
  • Ghosts, bandits, & legends of old Monterey, ... Carmel, and surrounding areas / by Randall A. Reinstedt ; illustrated by Thornton Harby. (Carmel, Ca, Ghost Town Publications)
  • Gold, guns, & ghost towns / Willie Arthur Chalfant. (Stanford, Calif., Stanford Univ. Press)
  • Goldrush songster : selected songs of the diggings / Hugh Anderson. (Australia, Rams Skull Press)
  • Good morning: after a sleep of twenty-five years, old-fashioned dancing is being revived by Mr. and Mrs. Henry Ford. (Dearborn, Mich., Dearborn Publishing Co.)
  • Grand memories. (Grand County, Utah, Daughters of Utah Pioneers)
  • Gravestone designs : rubbings and photographs from early New York & New Jersey / Emily Wasserman. (New York, Dover Publications)
  • Grenville Goodwin among the western Apache; letters from the field. Morris E. Opler, editor. (Tucson, University of Arizona Press)
H–N Titles
  • Haitian Creole: grammar, texts, vocabulary / by Robert A. Hall, Jr., with the collaboration of Suzanne Comhaire-Sylvain, H. Ormonde McConnell [and] Alfred Métraux. ([Menasha, Wis.], American Anthropological Association)
  • Hangtown ballads : dedicated to the memory of "Old Put" ... born in Missouri as John A. Stone. ([Georgetown, Calif.], [The Forty-niner])
  • Harps in the wind; the story of the singing Hutchinsons / by Carol Brink. (New York, The Macmillan company)
  • Heart throbs of the West / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of the Utah Pioneers)
  • Heart throbs of the West / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of the Utah Pioneers)
  • Heart throbs of the West / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of the Utah Pioneers)
  • Heart throbs of the West / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of the Utah Pioneers)
  • Heart throbs of the West / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of the Utah Pioneers)
  • Heart throbs of the West / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of the Utah Pioneers)
  • Heart throbs of the West / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of the Utah Pioneers)
  • Heart throbs of the West / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of the Utah Pioneers)
  • Heart throbs of the West / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of the Utah Pioneers)
  • Heart throbs of the West / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of the Utah Pioneers)
  • Heart throbs of the West / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of the Utah Pioneers)
  • Heart throbs of the West / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of the Utah Pioneers)
  • Heart throbs of the West / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of the Utah Pioneers)
  • Heart throbs of the West / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of the Utah Pioneers)
  • Heart throbs of the West / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of the Utah Pioneers)
  • Heart throbs of the West / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of the Utah Pioneers)
  • Heart throbs of the West / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of the Utah Pioneers)
  • Heart throbs of the West / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of the Utah Pioneers)
  • Heart throbs of the West / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of the Utah Pioneers)
  • Heart throbs of the West / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of the Utah Pioneers)
  • Heart throbs of the West / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of the Utah Pioneers)
  • Heart throbs of the West / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of the Utah Pioneers)
  • Herder, folklore and romantic nationalism / William A. Wilson. ([Bowling Green, Ohio], Bowling Green State University)
  • Hill country tunes, instrumental folk music of southwestern Pennsylvania / collected and edited by Samuel Preston Bayard. (Philadelphia, American Folklore Society)
  • Hispanic folk songs of New Mexico : with selected songs collected, transcribed & arranged for voice and piano / John Donald Robb. (Albuquerque, University of New Mexico Press)
  • Hispanic riddles from Panama, collected from oral tradition. (Berkeley, University of California Press)
  • History of Lewiston / John Milton Bernhisel III. (Lewiston, Utah, Lewiston City Council)
  • Honey and health; a nutrimental, medicinal and historical commentary / by Bodog F. Beck... (New York, R. M. McBride and company)
  • Horses, hitches, and rocky trails / by Joe Back. (Denver, Colo, Sage Books)
  • Hot irons; heraldry of the range / by Oren Arnold and John P. Hale. (New York, Cooper Square Publishers)
  • How can I keep from singing : Pete Seeger / by David King Dunaway. (New York, McGraw-Hill Book Co.)
  • How lost is my gold mine? / Robert V. Horner and George F. Worts. ([Los Angeles, Calif.], [O. D. Keep])
  • How to make cowboy horse gear. (Cambridge, Md, Cornell Maritime Press)
  • Humaniora : essays in literature, folklore, bibliography ; honoring Archer Taylor on his seventieth birthday / editors: Wayland D. Hand, Gustave O. Arlt. (Locust Valley, N.Y, J. J. Augustin)
  • Hunters & healers : folklore types & topics / edited by Wilson M. Hudson. (Austin [Tex.], Encino Press)
  • Hunters & healers : folklore types & topics / edited by Wilson M. Hudson. (Austin [Tex.], Encino Press)
  • Idaho heritage. (Boise, Id., Idaho Heritage, Inc.)
  • Igloo tales / by Edward L. Keithahn ; illustrated by George Aden Ahgupuk. ([Washington], Department of the Interior, Bureau of Indian Affairs, Branch of Education)
  • In praise of ourselves : stories to tell / William A. Wilson. ([Provo, Utah], [Brigham Young University])
  • In search of truth : comments on the gospel and modern thought / John A. Widtsoe. (Salt Lake City, Deseret Book)
  • Index of Mexican folktales, including narrative texts from Mexico, Central America, and the Hispanic United States [by] Stanley L. Robe. (Berkeley, University of California Press)
  • Indian, pseudo-Indian place names in the Canadian West / C. Meredith Jones. (Winnipeg, Ukrainian Free Academy of Sciences)
  • Introduction to folklore / [by] Robert G. Adams. (Columbus, Ohio, Collegiate Publishing)
  • Ireland, Sheila and Newfoundland / by Herbert Halpert. (St. John's, Newfoundland, Memorial University of Newfoundland)
  • It's an old Wild West custom. (New York, Vanguard Press)
  • Jacob Hamblin : a narrative of his personal experience, as a frontiersman, missionary to the Indians and explorer, disclosing interpositions of providence, severe privations, perilous situations and remarkable escapes / by James A. Little; designed for the instruction and encouragement of young Latter-Day Saints. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Juvenile Instructor Office)
  • Jamaica Anansi stories / by Martha Warren Beckwith ; with music recorded in the field by Helen Roberts. (New York, American Folk-Lore Society)
  • Jewish-American dialect stories on tape / Richard M. Dorson. (Bloomington, Indiana, Indiana University)
  • Jimmy Rogers deluxe album of songs. (New York, Southern Music Pub.)
  • Johnie and I / by Ollie Myrtle Dunehue Strong ; edited by Mary Lou Strong Brinker Stahl. (Houston, Tex, Grass Roots Enterprises)
  • Johnny Appleseed; man and myth. (Bloomington, Indiana University Press)
  • Journal of the Southern Indian Mission : diary of Thomas D. Brown / edited by Juanita Brooks. (Logan, Utah, Utah State University Press)
  • Journey to the green and golden lands : the epic of survival on the wagon trail / Raymond N. Doetsch. (Port Washington, N.Y, Kennikat Press)
  • Kansas folklore / edited by S.J. Sackett and William E. Koch. (Manhattan, Kan., Ted Varney's University Book Store)
  • Kansas folklore / edited by S.J. Sackett and William E. Koch. (Lincoln, University of Nebraska Press)
  • Kingdom of the saints : the story of Brigham Young and the Mormons / by Ray B. West, Jr. (New York, Viking Press)
  • Kiowa tales / by Elsie Clews Parsons. (New York, The American folk-lore society, G. E. Stechert and co., agents)
  • Knots and halfhitches / poems by Pat Henry, the cowboy poet. ([s. .], [publisher not identified])
  • Knots, useful and ornamental. (New York, Bonanza Books)
  • KSTP Sunset Valley barn dance : deluxe edition favorite songs : cowboy songs, home songs, mountain songs, western songs. (Chicago, M. M. Cole)
  • La creencia y la supersticion folkloricas / Hand, Wayland D. ([Coral Gables, Florida], [University of Miami Press])
  • Lamba folk-lore / collected by Clement M. Doke. (New York, American Folk-Lore Society)
  • Land of progress / Irwin Unger, H. Mark Johnson, with the assistance of Bernard A. Weisberger ; consultant, Margaret Stimmann Branson. (Lexington, Mass, Ginn)
  • Lawrence Doyle : the farmer-poet of Prince Edward Island : a study in local songmaking / Edward D. Ives. (Orono, Me., University of Maine Press)
  • Le Far-West d'aujourd'hui. (Paris, Fasquelle)
  • Leather 'n lead : an anthology of desperadoes in the Far West, 1820-1920 / by Craig MacDonald. (Boston, Branden Press)
  • Let 'er buck : a story of the passing of the old West / by Charles Wellington Furlong ... with fifty illustrations taken from life by the author and others. (New York and London, G. P. Putnam's sons)
  • Letters by forty-niners; written from Great Salt Lake City in 1849 / edited by Dale L. Morgan. (Salt Lake City, Utah Humanities Research Foundation)
  • Life sketch and experiences of Lerona A. Wilson : volume one.
  • Limestone and log : a hill country sketchbook / by J. Roy White. With text by Joe B. Frantz. Introd. by Harry H. Ransom. ([Austin, Texas], Encino Press)
  • Literary origin of some Western ballads / Everett A. Gillis. (Berkeley, Calif., University of California)
  • Literature : mythology and folklore / [compiled by] James Burl Hogins. (Chicago, Science Research Associates)
  • Literature of the American Southwest : a selective bibliography. (Los Angeles [Calif.], Occidental College)
  • Lithuanian narrative folksongs; a description of types and a bibliography. (Washington, [s.n.])
  • Looking far West : the search for the American West in history, myth, and literature / edited by Frank Bergon and Zeese Papanikolas. (New York, American Library)
  • Lore : an introduction to the science of folklore and literature / [by] Munro S. Edmonson. (New York, Holt, Rinehart and Winston)
  • Lore : an introduction to the science of folklore and literature / [by] Munro S. Edmonson. (New York, Holt, Rinehart and Winston)
  • Love and the light : an idyl of the Westland / by Orson Ferguson Whitney. (Salt Lake City, The Deseret news)
  • Lulu Belle and Skyland Scotty : mountain songs, western songs, cowboy songs. (Chicago, M. M. Cole)
  • Malign nature and the frontier. (Logan, Utah State University Press)
  • Märchen / Max Lüthi. (Stuttgart, J. B. Metzlersche)
  • Merrily we sing; 105 Polish folksongs. Collected and edited by Harriet M. Pawlowska, with an analysis of the music by Grace L. Engel. Foreword by Emelyn Elizabeth Gardner. (Detroit, Wayne State University Press)
  • Mexican border ballads and other lore / edited by Mody C. Boatright. (Austin, Texas Folk-lore Society)
  • Mexican tales and legends from Los Altos. Introd., classification, and notes by Stanley L. Robe. (Berkeley, University of California Press)
  • Mexico--the name / Gutierre Tibón ; [translated by J. Rantz] (Winnipeg, Canada, Ukrainian Free Academy of Sciences)
  • Mody Boatright, folklorist: a collection of essays / Edited, with an introd., by Ernest B. Speck. Biographical essay by Harry H. Ransom. Foreword by Wayland D. Hand. (Austin, Published for the Texas Folklore Society by the University of Texas Press)
  • Mody Boatright, folklorist: a collection of essays / Edited, with an introd., by Ernest B. Speck. Biographical essay by Harry H. Ransom. Foreword by Wayland D. Hand. (Austin, Published for the Texas Folklore Society by the University of Texas Press)
  • More folk songs of Canada / Edith Fulton Fowke, Richard Johnston; illustrations by Elizabeth Wilkes Hoey. (Waterloo, Ontario, Waterloo Music Company Limited)
  • Mormon central-hall houses in the American West / Richard V. Francaviglia. ([Washington], [Association of American Geographers])
  • Mormon country / by Wallace Stegner. (New York, Duell, Sloan & Pearce)
  • Mormon doctrine, plain and simple, or, Leaves from the tree of life / by Chas. W. Penrose. (Salt Lake City, Juvenile Instructor Office)
  • Mormon songs from the Rocky Mountains : a compilation of Mormon folksong / edited by Thomas E. Cheney. (Austin, Published for the American Folklore Society by the University of Texas Press)
  • Mormonism : a study of Mormon history and doctrine. (Salt Lake City, J. Tanner)
  • Mormonism and Masonry : a Utah point of view / S. H. Goodwin, P. G. M. (Salt Lake City, [publisher not identified])
  • Music and musicians in Kansas / compiled by Edna Reinbach ... (Topeka, The Kansas State Historical Society)
  • Music in the Southwest, 1825-1950 / by Howard Swan. (San Marino, Calif., Huntington Library)
  • My dear Wister : the Frederic Remington-Owen Wister letters / by Ben Merchant Vorpahl ; with a foreword by Wallace Stegner. (Palo Alto, Calif, American West Pub. Co)
  • My first mission / by George Q. Cannon. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Juvenile instructor office)
  • Myth, symbol, and culture / edited by Clifford Geertz. Essays by Clifford Geertz [and others] (New York, Norton)
  • Mythology / Edith Hamilton. (New York, New American Library)
  • Mythology and values : an analysis of Navaho Chantway myths / by Katherine Spencer. (Philadelphia, American Folklore Society)
  • Myths & legends of our own land. Philadelphia, Lippincott, 1896. (Detroit, Singing Tree Press)
  • Myths & legends of our own land. Philadelphia, Lippincott, 1896. (Detroit, Singing Tree Press)
  • Myths and tales of the Jicarilla Apache Indians / by Morris Edward Opler. (New York, The American folk-lore society, G. E. Stechert and co., agents)
  • Myths and tales of the White mountain Apache / by Grenville Goodwin. (New York ; New York, The American folk-lore society, J. J. Augustin, agent ; Kraus Reprint Co.)
  • Name index to the Library of Congress collection of Mormon diaries. (Logan, Utah State University Press)
  • Native American balladry : a descriptive study and a bibliographical syllabus / by G. Malcolm Laws, Jr. (Philadelphia, American Folklore Society)
  • Nebraska folklore / Louise Pound. (Lincoln, University of Nebraska Press)
  • Negro folk songs as sung by Lead Belly, "king of the twelve-string guitar players of the world," long-time convict in the penitentiaries of Texas and Louisiana / transcribed, selected and edited by John A. Lomax and Alan Lomax. (New York, Macmillan)
  • Negro tales from Pine Bluff, Arkansas, and Calvin, Michigan / Richard M. Dorson. (Bloomington, Indiana University Press)
  • Nevada Slim's Western gospel roundup : songs, choruses, poems, pictures / by Dallas Turner. (Reno, Nevada, Ruby Valley Enterprises, Inc.)
  • New witness for God. I, Joseph Smith, the prophet / B. H. Roberts. (Salt Lake City, Deseret News)
  • North American Indian musical styles / Bruno Netti. (Philadelphia, American Folklore Society)
  • North of 36 / by Emerson Hough ... illustrated by W. H. D. Koener. (New York ; London, D. Appleton and company)
  • North of the border : (down Texas way) / words by Leroy E. Lambert ; music by J. Chas. McNeil. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Behive Music Co.)
  • Norwegian settlers in Alberta / Jan Harold Brunvand. (Ottawa, National Museum of Man, National Museums of Canada)
O–Z Titles
  • Observations & reflections on Texas folklore. Edited & with photos. by Francis Edward Abernethy. Line drawings by James R. Snyder. (Austin, Encino Press)
  • Old West barb wire and fence tool handbook / Jay Jenkins. (Fort Worth, Texas, Jenkins)
  • Old, old folk songs / comp. by Fred High. ([Berryville, Ark.], [publisher not identified])
  • On this star. (Reynal & Hitchcock)
  • Once in the saddle: the cowboy's frontier, 1866-1896 / Laurence Ivan Seidman; illustrated with contemporary prints and photos. (New York, Knopf, [distributed by Random House])
  • One hundred and one patchwork patterns; quilt name stories, cutting designs, material suggestions, yardage estimates, definite instructions for every step of quilt making. (New York, Dover Publications)
  • Opportunities in Arizona folklore. (Tucson, Ariz., University of Arizona)
  • Oral Patterns of Performance : Story and Song / Barre Toelken. (Boulder, Published by Utah State University Press, ab imprint of University Press of Colorado)
  • Orejana bull : for cowboys only / by Gail I. Gardner. ([Prescott, Ariz.?], Arizona-Messenger Printing)
  • Orejana bull : for cowboys only / by Gail I. Gardner. ([Place of publication not identified], [Messenger Printing Co.])
  • Orejana bull : for cowboys only / by Gail I. Gardner. ([Place of publication not identified], [Messenger Printing Co.])
  • Origins of Utah place names / compiled and written by Utah Federal Writers' Project, Works Progress Administration. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Utah State Dept. of Public Instruction)
  • Our pioneer heritage / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of Utah Pioneers)
  • Our pioneer heritage / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of Utah Pioneers)
  • Our pioneer heritage / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of Utah Pioneers)
  • Our vanishing landscape / by Eric Sloane. (New York, Ballantine Books)
  • Pardner of the wind : story of the Southwestern cowboy / by N. Howard (Jack) Thorp, in collaboration with Neil M. Clark. (Caldwell, ID, Caxton Printers)
  • Pattern in the material folk culture of the Eastern United States / by Henry H. Glassie. (Philadelphia, University of Pennsylvania Press)
  • Pennsylvania songs and legends / George Korson, editor. (Philadelphia, University of Pennsylvania Press)
  • Phonophotography in folk music; American Negro songs in new notation / by Milton Metfessel ... with an introduction by Carl E. Seashore. (Chapel Hill, The University of North Carolina press)
  • Phuzzles : a new way of looking at things / by Carole Harper. (New York, Golden Press)
  • Physical harm, sickness, and death by conjury : a survey of the sorcerer's evil art in America / by Wayland D. Hand. (Budapest, Akadémiai Kiadó)
  • Pioneer irrigation : Upper Snake River Valley / compiled and edited by Kate B. Carter ; assisted by Clara B. Steele. (Utah, Daughters of Utah Pioneers)
  • Pioneer Pete's Utah scrapbook. ([Utah?], Dan Valentine)
  • Pioneer songs / compiled by Daughters of Utah pioneers; arranged by Alfred M. Durham. Collection of songs used by the pioneers enroute to and in the early settlement of the West. Also songs inspired and composed by the pioneers in memory of their experiences. ([Salt Lake City], Daughters of Utah Pioneers)
  • Pious Tobit and his son in folklore / by Wayland D. Hand. (Los Angeles, University of California, Los Angeles)
  • Poetry and law in Germanic myth / by Stephen P. Schwartz. (Berkeley, University of California Press)
  • Poor Pearl, poor girl! The murdered girl stereotype in ballad and newspaper / [by] Anne B. Cohen. (Austin, Published for the American Folklore Society by the University of Texas Press)
  • Popular cowboy songs : radio, stage, screen. ([s. .], [publisher not identified])
  • Powder-River Jack & Kitty Lee's songbook with music : cowboy, wails and cattle trails of the wild West / Jack H. Lee. (Montana, McKee)
  • Preservation and storage of sound recordings; a study supported by a grant from the Rockefeller Foundation / by A.G. Pickett and M.M. Lemcoe. (Washington, Library of Congress)
  • President Heber C. Kimball's journal : designed for the instruction and encouragement of young Latter-day Saints. (Salt Lake City, [Utah], Juvenile Instructor Office)
  • Prophecy, key to the future. (Salt Lake City, Bookcraft)
  • Proverbial comparisons and similes from California. (Berkeley, University of California Press)
  • Providence and her people / written, compiled and edited under the direction of the Historical Society of Providence. ([Providence, Utah], Historical Society of Providence)
  • Public drama and common values in two Caribbean islands / Roger D. Abrahams. (Austin, University of Texas at Austin)
  • Quarterly west. (Salt Lake City, University of Utah)
  • Railroad songs of yesterday / J. M. Hagen and Harry K. McClintock. (New York, Shapiro, Bernstein & Co.)
  • Range rhymes and recollections, poems-ballads-stories of Oklahoma cowboys / comp. and edited by Bess Truitt. (Enid, Commercial Press)
  • Rawhide rhymes : singing poems of the Old West / S. Omar Barker ; foreword by Fred Gipson ; illustrated by Nicholas Eggenhofer. (Garden City, N.Y., Doubleday)
  • Readings in American folklore / edited by Jan Harold Brunvand. (New York, Norton)
  • Readings in American folklore / edited by Jan Harold Brunvand. (New York, Norton)
  • Record reviews / D. K. Wilgus. ([s. .], [publisher not identified])
  • Reminiscences of an octogenarian folklorists : (an interview of Dr. Hari S. Upadhyaya with Dr. Stith Thompson) / by Hari S. Upadhyaya. ([Tokyo?], Asian Folklore Studies)
  • Revelation in Mormonism : its character and changing forms / by George Bartholomew Arbaugh. (Chicago, Ill., University of Chicago Press)
  • Rhymes o' a driftin' cowboy / by Chuck Haas. (Flagstaff [Ariz.], Northland Press)
  • Rhymes of a Western logger : a book of verse concerning the trials and tribulations, lives and ways of the loggers living and working in the great northwest of America / by Robert E. Swanson. (Vancouver, B.C, The Lumberman Printing Co., Ltd)
  • Rhythmic patterns of the Santo Domingo corn dance / John Donald Robb. ([Ann Arbor, Mich.], [Society for Ethnomusicology])
  • Riding a western trail : (on a mule) / by Olive Dungan. (New York, N.Y., G. Ricordi & Co.)
  • Rocky Mountain collection. (Salt Lake City, The Intermountain Folk Music Council)
  • Rocky mountain reader / edited by Ray B. West, jr. (New York, E.P. Dutton)
  • Rocky Mountain urban politics / edited and introd. by JeDon A. Emenhiser. (Logan, Utah, Utah State University)
  • Sailor chanties and cowboy songs / Charles J. Finger. (Norwood, Pa., Norwood Editions)
  • Sailors' and cowboys' folklore in two popular classics / Jan H. Brunvand. (Edwardsville, Ill, Southern Illinois University)
  • Sam Bass & company / by Will C. Brown [pseudonym]. ([New York], New American Library)
  • Second wind : a sequel after ten years to Folklorist's Progress / Stith Thompson. (Bloomington [Ind.], [publisher not identified])
  • Shakespeare in the nineteenth-century songsters / Ray B. Browne. ([New York], Shakespeare Association of America)
  • Shantymen and shantyboys : songs of the sailor and lumberman / collected and compiled by William Main Doerflinger. (New York, Macmillan Co.)
  • Sheepherder Sam; cartoons. Foreword by Harold Schindler. (Salt Lake City, University of Utah Press)
  • Singin' in the saddle : a new collection of original and standard cowboy songs / Sterling Sherwin. (Boston, Mass., Boston Music Pub.)
  • Singing cowboy; a book of western songs. (New York, Oak Pub.)
  • Sod walls; the story of the Nebraska sod house / by Roger L. Welsch. (Broken Bow, Neb., Purcells)
  • Some still do : essays on Texas customs / edited by Francis Edward Abernethy. (Austin, Encino Press)
  • Some still do : essays on Texas customs / edited by Francis Edward Abernethy. (Austin, Encino Press)
  • Songs and ballads from Nova Scotia / collected by Helen Creighton. (Toronto ; Vancouver, J.M. Dent & sons, limited)
  • Songs and ballads from Nova Scotia / collected by Helen Creighton. (Toronto ; Vancouver, J.M. Dent & sons, limited)
  • Songs and ballads from Nova Scotia / collected by Helen Creighton. (Toronto ; Vancouver, J.M. Dent & sons, limited)
  • Songs and ballads of the anthracite miner : a seam of folk-lore which once ran through life in the hard coal fields of Pennsylvania / George Gershon Korson. ([s. .], Hitchcock)
  • Songs from the Ozarks, and other poems / by J.M. Hickman. (Vicksburg, Press of the Mississippi Printing Co)
  • Songs of horses, an anthology selected and arranged by Robert Frothingham. ([Boston], Houghton Mifflin company)
  • Songs of Stephen Foster, prepared for schools and general use / edited and arranged by Will Earhart ... and Edward B. Birge. ([Pittsburgh], University of Pittsburgh Press)
  • Songs of the American West / compiled and edited by Richard E. Lingenfelter, Richard A. Dwyer, & David Cohen ; drawings by Steven M. Johnson. (Berkeley, University of California Press)
  • Songs of the Butte miners / Wayland D. Hand [and others]. (Berkeley, Calif., University of California)
  • Songs of the cattle trail and cow camp / collected by John A. Lomax ; with a foreword by William Lyon Phelps. (New York, The Macmillan Co.)
  • Songs of the cowboys / comp. by N. Howard Thorp ("Jack" Thorp) with an introduction by Alice Corbin Henderson. (Boston, Houghton Mifflin Company)
  • Songs of the great American West / Compiled and edited by Irwin Silber. Music annotated, edited and arr. by Earl Robinson. (New York, Macmillan)
  • Songs of the old camp ground; genuine religious folk songs of the Tennessee hill country. (Ann Arbor, Mich., Edwards Brothers)
  • Songs of the open range / compiled and edited by Ina Sires. With piano accompaniment by Charles Repper. (Boston, New York, C. C. Birchard & Co.)
  • Songs of the saddle : new and old cowboy songs with original versions / F. Henri Klickmann. (Cleveland, Sam Fox)
  • Songs of the sage / by Curley W. Fletcher ; sketches by Guy M. Welch. (Los Angeles, Calif., Frontier Pub. Co.)
  • Songs of the West : ballads, topical songs [and] folk songs / [Compiled and edited by] Paul Glass and Louis C. Singer. Arr. for voice and piano, with guitar chords. (New York :b Grosset & Dunlap)
  • Songs the forester's sing. ([Moscow, Idaho], Associated Foresters, Univ. of Idaho)
  • Sons of the pioneers : song folio no. 1 / Bob Nolan. (San Francisco, Cross & Winge)
  • Sons of the pioneers : songs of the prairie, folio no. 3 / Bob Nolan. (Hollywood, American Music)
  • South Carolina ballads, with a study of the traditional ballad to-day / collected and edited by Reed Smith. (Cambridge, Harvard University Press)
  • Southwest heritage; a literary history with bibliographies / by Mabel Major and T. M. Pearce. (Albuquerque, University of New Mexico Press)
  • Southwestern literature and culture in the English classroom. (Phoenix, Arizona English Teachers Association)
  • Spanish folk-poetry in New Mexico / by Arthur Leon Campa. (Albuquerque, The University of New Mexico Press)
  • Spanish folk-tales from New Mexico / by José Manuel Espinosa. (New York, American Folk-Lore Society)
  • Spanish songs of old California / collected and translated by Charles F. Lummis ; pianoforte accompaniments by Arthur Farwell. (Los Angeles, Calif, Chas. F. Lummis)
  • Spanish-American folk-songs ... Collected by Eleanor Hague. (Lancaster, Pa. ; New York, The American Folk-lore Society)
  • Spooks of the valley; ghost stories for boys and girls / illus. by Erwin H. Austin. (Boston, Houghton Mifflin Co.)
  • Step it down : games, plays, songs, and stories from the Afro-American heritage / by Bessie Jones and Bess Lomax Hawes. (New York, Harper & Row)
  • Still more of The unfortunate rake / Kenneth S. Goldstein. (Berkeley, Calif., University of California)
  • Story board legends of Palau / collected by Hector H. Lee. ([Place of publication not identified], [publisher not identified])
  • Storytellers I have known / by J. Frank Dobie. (Dallas, Texas, Southern Methodist University Press)
  • Structural analysis of oral tradition / edited by Pierre Maranda and Elli Köngäs Maranda. (Philadelphia [Penn.], University of Pennsylvania Press)
  • Structure and content of Cheremis charms, part one / by Thomas A. Sebeok. (Freiburg, Switzerland, Imprimerie St-Paul)
  • Studies in Biblical and Jewish folklore / edited by Raphael Patai, Francis Lee Utley. Dov Noy. (Bloomington, Indiana University Press)
  • Sun and saddle leather : a collection of poems / by Badger Clark. (Stockton, Calif, Westerners Foundation)
  • Sundown Slim on singin' to 'em / by Ramon F. Adams. ([Phoenix], [Arizona Highway Dept.])
  • Supernatural sanctions and the legend / Herbert Halpert. (Woodbridge, Suffolk ; Totowa, N.J., Boydell and Brewer ; Rowman and Littlefield)
  • Tales from Jalisco, Mexico / by Howard T. Wheeler. (Philadelphia, The American Folk-lore Society)
  • Tales from the cloud walking country. Illustrated by Clare Leighton. (Bloomington, Indiana University Press)
  • Tales of the chuck wagon / by N. H. (Jack) Thorp. (Santa Fe, N. H. (Jack) Thorp)
  • Tales of the Superstitions : the origins of the Lost Dutchman legend / Robert Blair ; with an introduction by Barry M. Goldwater ; photographs by Wink Blair ; maps by Don Bufkin. (Tempe, Arizona Historical Foundation)
  • Tales the western tombstones tell. (Seattle, Superior Pub. Co.)
  • Tall tale America : a legendary history of our humorous heroes / by Walter Blair, illustrated by Glen Rounds. (New York, Coward-McCann)
  • Tamarack : Uintah Basin in the making / [compiled by students of Uintah High School]. (Vernal, Utah, Uintah School District)
  • Tamarack : Uintah Basin in the making / [compiled by students of Uintah High School]. (Vernal, Utah, Uintah School District)
  • Temples of the Most High/ compiled by N. B. Lundwall. (Salt Lake City, N. B. Lundwall)
  • Ten thousand goddam cattle : a history of the American cowboy in song, story, and verse / by Katie Lee ; illustrated by William Moyers. (Flagstaff [Ariz.], Northland Press)
  • Tewa tales / by Elsie Clews Parsons. (New York, The American folk-lore society, G. E. Stechert and co., agents.)
  • Texas and southwestern lore / edited by J. Frank Dobie. (Austin, Tex., Published by the Texas Folklore Society)
  • Texas brags / collected by John Randolph, illustrated by Mark Storm. ([Houston], [publisher not identified])
  • Texas folk medicine : 1,333 cures, remedies, preventives & health practices / Compiled and edited by John Q. Anderson. Woodcuts by Barbara Mathews Whitehead. (Austin, Encino Press)
  • Texas folk songs / William A. Owens ; music arrangements by Willa Mae Kelly Koehn. (Austin ; Dallas, Tex., Texas Folklore Society ; Distributed by University Press in Dallas, Southern Methodist University)
  • Texas graveyards : a cultural legacy / by Terry G. Jordan. (Austin, University of Texas Press)
  • Texas singing schools : and horns on the toads / Everett A. Gillis. ([s. .], [publisher not identified])
  • The adventures of Buffalo Bill / by William F. Cody (Buffalo Bill) (New York, Bonanza)
  • The Alabama folk lyric : a study in origins and media of dissemination / collected and edited with an introd. and notes by Roy B. Browne. (Bowling green, Ohio : Bowling Green University Popular Press)
  • The American cowboy / [catalog compiled by] Lonn Taylor and Ingrid Maar. (Washington [D.C.], American Folklife Center, Library of Congress)
  • The American folk scene : dimensions of the folksong revival / edited and with an introd. by David A. De Turk and A. Poulin, Jr. (New York, Dell Pub. Co)
  • The American songbag / [compiled by] Carl Sandburg. (New York, Harcourt, Brace & Company)
  • The American songbag / Carl Sandburg. (New York, Harcourt, Brace, Jovanovich)
  • The Arkansas Wood-choppers : world's greatest collection of cowboy songs with yodel arrangement. (Chicago, M. M. Cole)
  • The art of the American folk preacher [by] Bruce A. Rosenberg. (New York, Oxford University Press)
  • The articles of faith : a series of lectures on the principal doctrines of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints / by James E. Talmage. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Deseret Sunday School Union)
  • The Ballad image : essays presented to Bertrand Harris Bronson / edited by James Porter ; with a foreword by Wayland D. Hand. (Los Angeles, Center for the Study of Comparative Folklore & Mythology, University of California, Los Angeles)
  • The ballad of the Mountain Meadows Massacre / J. Barre Toelken. (Berkeley, Calif., University of California)
  • The ballads / by M.J.C. Hodgart. (London ; New York, Hutchinson's University Library)
  • The beef bonanza, or, How to get rich on the plains : being a description of cattle-growing, sheep-farming, horse-raising, and dairying in the West / by James S. Brisbin ; with a foreword by Gilbert C. Fite. (Norman, University of Oklahoma Press)
  • The black bull. Illustrated by William E. Loechel. (Garden CIty, N.Y., Doubleday)
  • The Bodega War : and other stories from western lore / Hector H. Lee. (Santa Barbara, Capra Press)
  • The book of cowboys / by Holling C. Holling ; illustrated by H. C. and Lucille Holling. (New York, Platt & Munk)
  • The British traditional ballad in North America / by Tristram P. Coffin. (Philadelphia, American Folklore Society)
  • The Burl Ives songbook : American song in historical perspective / Song versions by Burl Ives, text by Burl Ives, arr. for the piano by Albert Hague, illus. by Lamartine Le Goullon and Robert J. Lee. (New York, Ballantine Books)
  • The cowboy and his interpreters / Edward Douglas Branch ; illustrated by Will James, Joe de Yong [and] Charles M. Russell ; introduction by Harry Sinclair Drago. (New York, Cooper Square Publishers)
  • The cowboy in art / by Ed Ainsworth. (New York, World Pub. Co)
  • The cowboys / by the editors of Time-Life Books, with text by William H. Forbis. (New York, Time-Life Books)
  • The Daina : an anthology of Lithuanian & Latvian folk-songs / with a critical study and preface by Uriah Katzenelenbogen. (Chicago, Lithuanian News)
  • The decline of Cedar Key / by Roger M. Thompson. ([Gainesville, Fla.], [University of Florida])
  • The deeper necessity : folklore and the humanities / William A. Wilson. ([Washington, D.C.], American Folklore Society)
  • The Desert caballeros and orejana bull for cowboys only / Gail I. Gardner. ([s. .], [publisher not identified])
  • The divining rod : a history of water witching : with a bibliography / by Arthur J. Ellis. (Washington [D.C.], Government Printing Office)
  • The Dodge City Cowboy Band / Clifford P. Westermeier. (Topeka, Kansas State Historical Society)
  • The drift fence / Zane Grey. (New York)
  • The drum and the hoe : life and lore of the Haitian people / by Harold Courlander. (Berkeley, University of California Press)
  • The Dugway lament / Ronald C. Ives. (Berkeley, Calif., University of California)
  • The early stone houses of Ulster County, New York / Myron S. Teller. ([Kingston, N.Y.], Ulster County Historical Society)
  • The folk healer : calling and endowment / Wayland D. Hand. ([New York], [H. Schuman])
  • The folk technics of chain carving / by Simon J. Bronner. The tortoise and the hare : tradition and technology in making wooden wheels / by Jennifer Esler. (Oneida, N.Y., Madison County Historical Society)
  • The folklore of Maine / by Horace P. Beck. (Philadelphia, Lippincott)
  • The folklore of Spain in the American Southwest : traditional Spanish folk literature in northern New Mexico and southern Colorado / by Aurelio M. Espinosa ; edited by J. Manuel Espinosa. (Norman, University of Oklahoma Press)
  • The folklore of Spain in the American Southwest : traditional Spanish folk literature in northern New Mexico and southern Colorado / by Aurelio M. Espinosa ; edited by J. Manuel Espinosa. (Norman, University of Oklahoma Press)
  • The folksongs of Virginia : a checklist of the WPA holdings, Alderman Library, University of Virginia / Bruce A. Rosenberg. (Charlottesville, University Press of Virginia)
  • The Foxfire book: hog dressing; log cabin building; mountain crafts and foods; planting by the signs; snake lore, hunting tales, faith healing; moonshining; and other affairs of plain living. Edited with an introd. by Eliot Wigginton. (Garden City, N.Y., Doubleday)
  • The Frank C. Brown Collection of North Carolina Folklore : the folklore of North Carolina / collected by Dr. Frank C. Brown during the years 1912 to 1943, in collaboration with the North Carolina Folklore Society ; general editor: Newman Ivey White ; associate editors: Henry M. Belden [and others] ; wood engravings by Clare Leighton. (Durham, N.C., Duke University Press)
  • The Frank C. Brown Collection of North Carolina Folklore : the folklore of North Carolina / collected by Dr. Frank C. Brown during the years 1912 to 1943, in collaboration with the North Carolina Folklore Society ; general editor: Newman Ivey White ; associate editors: Henry M. Belden [and others] ; wood engravings by Clare Leighton. (Durham, N.C., Duke University Press)
  • The Frank C. Brown Collection of North Carolina Folklore : the folklore of North Carolina / collected by Dr. Frank C. Brown during the years 1912 to 1943, in collaboration with the North Carolina Folklore Society ; general editor: Newman Ivey White ; associate editors: Henry M. Belden [and others] ; wood engravings by Clare Leighton. (Durham, N.C., Duke University Press)
  • The Frank C. Brown Collection of North Carolina Folklore : the folklore of North Carolina / collected by Dr. Frank C. Brown during the years 1912 to 1943, in collaboration with the North Carolina Folklore Society ; general editor: Newman Ivey White ; associate editors: Henry M. Belden [and others] ; wood engravings by Clare Leighton. (Durham, N.C., Duke University Press)
  • The future of folklore research in the United States / Stith Thompson. (Philadelphia, Pa., American Philosophical Society)
  • The gaucho. Photographs by René Burri. Text by José Luis Lanuza. Foreword by Jorge Luis Borges. Translated by J. R. Wilcock. (New York, Crown Publishers)
  • The glorious adventures of Tyl Ulenspiegl / by Charles de Coster ; the first complete translation into English, by Allan Ross Macdougall, with illustration by Richard Floethe. (Haarlem, printed for the members of the Limited editions club by J. Enschedé en zonen)
  • The hand made object and its maker / by Michael Owen Jones. (Berkeley, University of California)
  • The hat-in-mud tale / Jan H. Brunvand. ([Dallas], [Southern Methodist University Press])
  • The hell-bound train : a cowboy songbook / Glenn Ohrlin ; with a biblio-discography by Harlan Daniel. (Urbana, University of Illinois Press)
  • The history of a valley : Cache Valley, Utah-Idaho / editor, Joel E. Ricks; assoc. ed. Everett L. Cooley. (Logan, UT, Cache Valley Centennial Commission)
  • The Hobo news. (New York, Hobo News)
  • The horn book : studies in erotic folklore and bibliography / by G. Legman. (New Hyde Park, N.Y., University Books)
  • The horse in America. (Chicago, Follett)
  • The humorous grace cante fable / by Herbert Halpert. (St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Department of Folklore)
  • The illustrated herbal / Wilfrid Blunt, Sandra Raphael. (New York, N.Y., Thames and Hudson : Metropolitan Museum of Art)
  • The Index of American Design. Introd. by Holger Cahill. (New York, Macmillan)
  • The index of American folk legends / Wayland D. Hand. (Berkeley, University of California Press)
  • The inhabitants / text and photos. by Wright Morris. (New York, Da Capo Press)
  • The inland whale. Foreword by Oliver La Farge. Drawings by Joseph Crivy. (Bloomington, Indiana Universiy Press)
  • The Josiah H. Combs collection of songs and rhymes / edited by D. K. Wilgus. ([Bowling Green, Ky.], Kentucky Folklore Society.)
  • The Klabautermann of the northern seas; an analysis of the protective spirit of ships and sailors in the context of popular belief, Christian legend, and Indo-European mythology [by] Reinhard J. Buss. (Berkeley, University of California Press)
  • The Lane County Bachelor: folksong or not? / by Jan Harold Brunvand. (Emporia, Kan., Emporia State Press)
  • The Leadbelly songbook : the ballads, blues, and folksongs of Huddie Ledbetter / edited by Moses Asch and Alan Lomax ; [musical transcriptions by Jerry Silverman ; introductory essays and biographical sketches by Frederic Ramsey, Jr., Charles Edward Smith, Alan Lomax, Woody Guthrie and Pete Seeger ; foreword by Moses Asch]. (New York, Oak Publications)
  • The life of Nephi, the son of Lehi : who emigrated from Jerusalem, in Judea, to the land which is now known as South America, about six centuries before the coming of our Savior / George Q. Cannon. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Juvenile Instructor Office)
  • The log of a cowboy : a narrative of the old trail days / by Andy Adams. (Garden City, N. Y, Doubleday)
  • The lonesome cowboy songs of the plains and hills / comp. by John White. (New York, George T. Worth)
  • The magical transference of disease / by Wayland D. Hand. ([Chapel Hill, N.C.], North Carolina Folklore Society)
  • The mezcla man / by J. Frank Dobie. (El Paso del Norte, [Carl Hertzog])
  • The Mississippi bubble : how the star of good fortune rose and set and rose again, by a woman's grace, for one John Law of Lauriston; a novel / by Emerson Hough; the illustrations by Henry Hutt. (Indianapolis, Bowen-Merrill)
  • The Moab story / Otho Murphy. ([Moab, Utah?], [publisher not identified])
  • The Mormon graphic image, 1834-1914 : cartoons, caricatures, and illustrations / Gary L. Bunker and Davis Bitton. (Salt Lake City, UT, University of Utah Press)
  • The Mormons. (Chicago, University of Chicago Press)
  • The mythical jayhawk / Kirke Mechem. ([Topeka, Kan.], [State Printer])
  • The nature of the New World artifact : the instance of the dugout canoe / Henry Glassie. ([Basel] ; Bonn, [G. Krebs] ; Komm. Rudolf Habelt)
  • The Nebraska soddy / by Roger L. Welsch. ([Place of publication not identified], [publisher not identified])
  • The new comparative mythology: an anthropological assessment of the theories of Georges Dumézil [by] C. Scott Littleton. (Berkeley, University of California Press)
  • The Oregon trail : sketches of prairie and Rocky-Mountain life / by Francis Parkman. (Boston, Little, Brown and Company)
  • The paradox of Mormon folklore / William A. Wilson. (Provo, Utah, Brigham Young University)
  • The passing of the frontier: a chronicle of the old West / by Emerson Hough. (New Haven, Yale University press [etc., etc.])
  • The Penguin book of American folk songs. Compiled and edited with notes by Alan Lomax. Piano arr. by Elizabeth Poston. (Baltimore, Penguin Books)
  • The Pennsylvania barn / by Alfred L. Shoemaker (and others) (Lancaster, Pennsylvania Dutch Folklore Center)
  • The power of truth / William George Jordon. (London, The Ludo Press)
  • The ragtime songbook / compiled and edited by Ann Charters. (New York, Oak Publications)
  • The Red River Valley : re-examined / Edith Fowke. (Berkeley, Calif., University of California)
  • The reverberant Joaquín Murieta in California legendry / Hector H. Lee. ([Stockton, California], [University of the Pacific])
  • The rites of passage / by Arnold van Gennep ; translated by Monika B. Vizedom and Gabrielle L. Caffe ; introduction by Solon T. Kimball. (Chicago, University of Chicago Press)
  • The ritual theory of myth / Joseph Fontenrose. (Berkeley, University of California Press)
  • The romance of the patchwork quilt in America : in three parts: pt.I. History and quilt patches. pt.II. Quilts - antique and modern, by Carrie A. Hall. pt.III. Quilting and quilting designs, by Rose G. Kretsinger / photographs by Mary Ellen Everhard. (New York, Bonanza Books)
  • The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam / rendered into English verse by Edward FitzGerald ; illustrations by Hamzeh Abd-Ullah Kar. (Cleveland, World Publishing Company)
  • The sacred bee in ancient times and folklore / by Hilda M. Ransome. (Boston, Houghton Mifflin Co.)
  • The saga of Billy the Kid / Walter Noble Burns. (New York, Grosset & Dunlap)
  • The science of folklore / Alexander Haggerty Krappe. (New York, Norton)
  • The Scofield Mine disaster / La Verne J. Stallings. (Berkeley, Calif. : University of California)
  • The shaping of folklore traditions in the British West Indies / Roger D. Abrahams. ([Austin, Tex.], University of Texas at Austin, Institute of Latin American Studies)
  • The Shepherds : an old California Christmas play reproduced from the original manuscript at the Bancroft Library.... (Hollywood, Calif, Homer H. Boelter Lithography)
  • The shepherds' play of the prodigal son (Coloquio de pastores del hijo pródigo) : A folk drama of old Mexico / edited and translated by George C. Barker. (Berkeley, University of California Press)
  • The songs of the gold rush. Edited with introd. by Richard A. Dwyer and Richard E. Lingenfelter. Music edited with guitar arrangements by David Cohen. (Berkeley ; Los Angeles, University of California Press)
  • The star husband tale / by Stith Thompson. ([Oslo], [H. Aschenhoug & Co.])
  • The stars in our heaven, myths and fables / drawings by Anne Marie Jauss. ([New York], Pantheon)
  • The story of American folk song. With a foreword by Helen L. Kaufmann. (New York, Grosset and Dunlap)
  • The story of Home on the range / by Kirke Mechem. ([Topeka, Kan.], [Kansa State Historical Society, 1949])
  • The story of Roy Bean : law west of the Pecos / by C. L. Sonnichsen ; illustrated with photographs. (Greenwich, Conn, Fawcett)
  • The story of Superstition Mountain and the Lost Dutchman Gold Mine. (New York, Pocket Books)
  • The strange career of "The Strawberry Roan" / by John I. White. (Tucson, Arizona, University of Arizona)
  • The study of American folklore : an introduction / Jan Harold Brunvand. (New York f, W. W. Norton)
  • The study of American folklore : an introduction / Jan Harold Brunvand. (New York f, W. W. Norton)
  • The study of folklore / Alan Dundes. (Englewood Cliffs, N. J., Prentice-Hall)
  • The tempo of the range : J. Frank Dobie, 1888-1964. (Berkeley, Calif., University of California Press)
  • The three Nephites : the substance and significance of the legend in folklore / Hector Lee. (Albuquerque, University of New Mexico Press)
  • The three Nephites : the substance and significance of the legend in folklore / Hector Lee. (Albuquerque, University of New Mexico Press)
  • The trail blazer : history of the development of southeastern Idaho. ([Preston, Id.], Cache Valley Newsletter Publishing Co)
  • The treasury of song for the home circle : the richest, best-loved gems, sacred and secular, carefully selected from the best works of the American, English, Scotch [etc.] authors, and containing many of the choicest and grandest harmonies of Handel, Hayden, Mendelssohn [and others] comprising their favorite songs, hymns, glees . . . in delightful variety, chosen expressly for their eminent fitness to promote the happiness of every home to which are appended brief biographies of eminent composers, performers and singers / D. H. Morrison, musical editor. (Philadelphia, Hubbard Brothers)
  • The tree from a riding whip : American version of a tree - origin legend / Herbert Halpert.
  • The true story of Jacob Walzer : a fascinating and romantic tale of an old German prospector known to fame as the Old Dutchman and whose famous gold mine is still a mystery of Superstition Mountain / by Barney Barnard and Charles Frederick Higham ; illustrated by Higham. (Apache Junction, Ariz., Barnard)
  • The types of the folktale in Cuba, Puerto Rico, the Dominican Republic, and Spanish South America / Terrence Leslie Hansen. (Berkeley, University of California Press)
  • The unfortunate rake / Jan H. Brunvand. (Berkeley, Calif., University of California)
  • The Urban experience and folk tradition / edited by Américo Paredes and Ellen J. Stekert. (Austin, Published for the American Folklore Society by the University of Texas Press)
  • The Utah Indian War Veteran's songster. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Skelton Publishing Co.)
  • The Viking book of folk ballads of the English-speaking world. (New York, Viking Press)
  • The waste land as Grail romance : Eliot's use of the medieval Grail legends / [by] Everett A. Gillis. ([Lubbock], [Texas Tech Press])
  • The West of Owen Wister; selected short stories. Introd. by Robert L. Hough. (Lincoln, University of Nebraska Press)
  • The Western hero in history and legend. (Norman, University of Oklahoma Press)
  • The winds of doctrine; the story of the life of Mary Lockwood Kemp in Mormon Utah during the last half of the nineteenth century. (New York, Exposition Press)
  • The wonderful country / Tom Lea ; with a new introd. by Robert Sattelmeyer. (Boston, Gregg Press)
  • The world will turn upside down: an unusual burial explanation in folklore and literature / Herbert Halpert. (Bloomington, Indiana University Press)
  • There was a king in Ireland; five tales from oral tradition. Collected and translated by Myles Dillon. Illustrated by José Cisneros. (Austin, Published for the Texas Folklore Society by the University of Texas Press)
  • They saddled the West / by Lee M. Rice and Glenn R. Vernam ; drawings by the authors : photos. from the Lee M. Rice collection except where noted. (Cambridge, Md, Cornell Maritime Press)
  • They sang for horses : the impact of the horse on Navajo and Apache folklore / illustrated by DeGrazia. ([Tucson, Ariz.], University of Arizona Press)
  • Things that go bump in the night. Illustrated by Erwin Austin. (New York, Hill and Wang)
  • Toil and rage in a new land : the Greek immigrants in Utah / by Helen Zeese Papanikolas. ([Salt Lake City], [Utah State Historical Society])
  • Tombstone : an Iliad of the Southwest / by Walter Noble Burns ; illustrations by Will James and photographs supplied through the courtesy of N. H. Rose of San Antonio, Texas. (New York, Grosset & Dunlap)
  • Touch the earth; a self-portrait of Indian existence / by T. C. McLuhan. (New York, Outerbridge & Dienstfrey; distributed by E. P. Dutton)
  • Toward new perspectives in folklore / Edited by Américo Paredes and Richard Bauman. (Austin, Published for the American Folklore Society by the University of Texas Press)
  • Tradiciones de Guatemala / Universidad de San Carlos de Guatemala, Centro de Estudios Folklóricos. (Guatemala (City), Editorial Universitaria)
  • Traditional ballads and folk-songs mainly from West Virginia / editors: George Herzog and Herbert Halpert, 1939, George W. Boswell, 1964. ([Place of publication not identified], [American Folklore Society])
  • Traditional ballads of Virginia / collected under the auspices of the Virginia Folk-lore Society ; edited by Arthur Kyle Davis, Jr. (Cambridge, Mass., Harvard University Press)
  • Traditional house decoration in Romania / by Jan Harold Brunvand. ([Salt Lake City, Utah], [Utah Chapter, American Institute of Architects and the Graduate School of Architecture, University of Utah])
  • Traditional house decoration in Romania / Jan Harold Brunvand. (New York, NY, The Romanian Library)
  • Traditional music of America / Ira W. Ford. Introduction by Judith McCulloh. (Hatboro, Pa., Folklore Associates)
  • Traditional songs from Nova Scotia / collected by Helen Creighton and Doreen H. Senior. (Toronto, Ryerson Press)
  • Traditions de la paroisse des Avoyelles en Louisiane / Corrine L. Sacier. (Philadelphia, American Folklore Society)
  • Trail of the Lost Dutchman : an authentic history of the fabulous Lost Dutchman and of other originally Spanish mines in the Superstition Mountains of Arizona ... / by Barry Storm. (Phoenix, Ariz., Goldwaters)
  • Trailing the cowboy : his life and lore as told by frontier journalists / compiled and edited by Clifford P. Westermeier. (Caldwell, Idaho, Caxton Printers)
  • Treasures in heaven : designed for the instruction and encouragement of young Latter-day Saints. (Salt Lake City, Utah, George C. Lambert)
  • Treasures in heaven : designed for the instruction and encouragement of young Latter-day Saints. (Salt Lake City, Utah, George C. Lambert)
  • Treasures of pioneer history / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of Utah Pioneers)
  • Treasures of pioneer history / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of Utah Pioneers)
  • Treasures of pioneer history / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of Utah Pioneers)
  • Treasures of pioneer history / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of Utah Pioneers)
  • Treasures of pioneer history / compiled by Kate B. Carter. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Daughters of Utah Pioneers)
  • Trucker : a portrait of the last American cowboy / Jane Stern ; Original photos. by Jane and Michael Stern. (New York, McGraw-Hill)
  • Twenty-four years a cowboy and ranchman in southern Texas and Old Mexico; desperate fights with the Indians and the Mexicans / by Will Hale. [pseudonym] With an introd. by A.M. Gibson. (Norman, University of Oklahoma Press)
  • Two child ballads in the West / Wayland D. Hand. (Berkeley, Calif., University of California)
  • Under Rocky Mountain skies / Irene Welch Grissom. (New York, Pageant Press)
  • Up from the hills / N.C. Hanks, his story. (Heber, Utah, N.C. Hanks)
  • USU receives grant to preserve folklore recordings of Austin and Alta Fife / Utah State Historical Society. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Utah State Historical Society)
  • Utah - resources and activities : supplement to the Utah state courses of study for elementary and secondary schools. (Salt Lake City, Utah, Department of Public Instruction)
  • Utah catalog : historic American buildings survey / Paul Goeldner. (Salt Lake City, Utah Heritage Foundation)
  • Utah folk art : a catalog of material culture / edited by Hal Cannon. (Provo, Utah, Brigham Young University Press)
  • Utah sings : an anthology of contemporary verse. (Provo, Utah, Utah Academy of Sciences, Arts and Letters)
  • Utah's Black Hawk War : lore and reminiscences of participants / Carlton Culmsee. (Logan, Utah State University Press)
  • Utah's ugly duckling : a profile of the Scandinavian immigrant / William Mulder. (Salt Lake City, Utah Historical Quarterly)
  • Vanishing crafts and their craftsmen [by] Rollin C. Steinmetz [and] Charles S. Rice. (New Brunswick, N. J, Rutgers University Press)
  • Vermont folk-songs & ballads / edited by Helen Hartness Flanders. (Brattleboro, VT, Stephen Daye Press)
  • Versos del sombrero blanco : a collection of coplas tradicionales made at Patagonia, Arizona by students of the Patagonia Union High School under the direction of Doris Seibold / edited and with an introduction by Albert William Bork. (Tucson, Ariz., University of Arizona)
  • Vitality of tradition and local song / Herbert Halpert. ([s. .], [publisher not identified])
  • We always lie to strangers; tall tales from the Ozarks. Illustrated by Glen Rounds. (New York, Columbia University Press)
  • Weathervanes & whirligigs / Ken Fitzgerald. (New York, Bramhall House)
  • West of Powder River : tales of the far West told in narrative verse / by "Powder River" Jack H. Lee ; with a foreword by Courtney Riley Cooper, and with illustrations by Paul Honoré. (New York, Huntington Press)
  • Western words; a dictionary of the range, cow camp and trail. (Norman, University of Oklahoma Press)
  • Who blowed up the church house? and other Ozark folk tales / with notes by Herbert Halpert. Illus. by Glen Rounds. (New York, Columbia University Press)
  • Why the Chisholm Trail forks, and other tales of the cattle country / Andy Adams ; edited by Wilson M. Hudson ; with illus. by Malcolm Thurgood. (Austin, University of Texas Press)
  • Why the West was wild : a contemporary look at the antics of some highly publicized Kansas cowtown personalities / by Nyle H. Miller and Joseph W. Snell. (Topeka, Kansas State Historical Society)
  • Willard : a plan for its historic preservation / by Gerald Brown and Teddy Griffith. ([Logan, Utah], Institute for the Study of Outdoor Recreation and Tourism, Utah State University)
  • William Houck, maker of pounded ash Adirondack pack baskets / by Henry Glassie. (Oneida, N.Y, Madison County Historical Society)
  • Windsinger / Gary M. Smith. (San Francisco, Sierra Club Books)
  • With his pistol in his hand, a border ballad and its hero / by Aḿerico Paredes. (Austin, University of Texas Press)
  • Women of the Bible : a series of story and character sketches of the great women who have aided in making Bible history / Prof. Willard Done. (Salt Lake City, Willard Done)
  • Yippy yay, cowboys : your poetry fills a hole in our hearts / by Marily Liddle. (Logan, Utah, Utah State University)
Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License