LibGuides: Guide to Books in the Fife Folklore Archives: Folk Coll 40

Folk Collection 40 - Peggy Seeger Folk Song Collection (Books)

The alphabetized sections are expandable and collapsible. Click a letter range to view the titles in that section. For quick searching, use Ctrl+F (Windows) or Command+F (Mac) to find keywords or specific titles on the page. To request an item, look up the title in the USU Libraries online catalog to confirm the exact record and call number, then submit your request through Special Collections and Archives.

Folk Coll 40 – A–Z Book List

A–N Titles

101 plus 5 folk songs for camp : sea chanties, story ballads, work songs, animal songs, spirituals, songs for fun and nonsense / compiled and edited with notes by Mike Cohen on the use of folk songs in a camp music program.
A bibliography for the study of American folk-songs with many titles of folk-songs (and titles that have to do with folk-songs) from other lands / by Mellinger Edward Henry.
A book of old ballads / selected and with an introduction by Beverley Nichols & illustrated by H. M. Brock, R.I.
A braird o thristles : Scots poems / by Douglas Young ; pictish decorations by George Bain.
A dictionary of American proverbs / Wolfgang Mieder, editor in chief ; Stewart A. Kingsbury and Kelsie B. Harder, editors.
A dictionary of British folk-tales in the English language : incorporating the F.J. Norton collection / Katharine M. Briggs.
A dictionary of catch phrases : British and American, from the sixteenth century to the present day / Eric Partridge.
A dictionary of rhyming slang.
A dictionary of slang and unconventional English : colloquialisms and catch-phrases, solecisms and catachreses, nicknames, vulgarisms, and such Americanisms as have been naturalized / Eric Partridge.
A dictionary of the underworld : British & American, being the vocabularies of crooks, criminals, racketeers, beggars and tramps, convicts, the commercial underworld, the drug traffic, the white slave traffic, spivs / Eric Partridge.
A fine kettle of fish : and 150 other animal expressions / by Michael Macrone.
A great and glorious romance : the story of Carl Sandburg and Lilian Steichen / Helga Sandburg.
A history of surnames of the British Isles : a concise account of their origin, evolution, etymology, and legal status / by C. L'Estrange Ewen.
A new dictionary of Americanisms : being a glossary of words supposed to be peculiar to the United States and the Dominion of Canada / by Sylva Clapin.
A new dictionary of the terms ancient and modern of the canting crew : in its several tribes, of gypsies, beggers, thieves, cheats, & c. with an addition of some proverbs, phrases, figurative speeches, & c., useful for all sorts of people, (especially foreigners) to secure their money and preserve their lives, besides very diverting and entertaining, being wholly new / by B. E. Gent.
A series of American songs rarely found in popular collections.
A story teller's story : the tale of an American writer's journey through his own imaginative world and through the world of facts, with many of his experiences and impressions among other writers--told in many notes--in four books--and an epilogue / Sherwood Anderson.
A Treasury of American folklore : stories, ballads, and traditions of the people / edited by B.A. Botkin ; with a foreword by Carl Sandburg.
A treasury of Jewish folklore : stories, traditions, legends, humor, wisdom and folk songs of the Jewish people / / edited by Nathan Ausubel.
A treasury of New England folklore : stories, ballads, and traditions of the Yankee people / edited by B.A. Botkin..
A treasury of Southern folklore : stories, ballads, traditions, and folkways of the people of the South / with a foreword by Douglas Southall Freeman.
A treasury of western folklore / edited by B. A. Botkin ; foreword by Bernard De Voto.
Across the fields : traditional Norwegian-American music from Wisconsin : fiddle tunes and button accordion melodies / text, Phil Martin ; photographs, Lewis Koch, and from historical collections ; music transcriptions, Bob Wernerehl.
Aeschylus and Athens : a study in the social origins of drama / George Thomson.
Aging artfully : 12 profiles : visual & performing women artists aged 85-105 / Amy Gorman.
Ain't it time we got mad! / Sis Cunningham.
Ain't you got a right to the tree of life? : the people of Johns Island, South Carolina, their faces, their words, and their songs / recorded by Guy and Candie Carawan ; photographed by Robert Yellin ; music transcribed by Ethel Raim ; with a preface by Alan Lomax.
Alamance play-party songs and singing games : a collection of forty-five songs from Alamance County, with directions for their performance / contributed by a cooperating group of teachers in the schools of the county ; edited with an introduction by Fletcher Collins, Jr.
All our lives : a women's songbook / [edited by Joyce Cheney, Marcia Deihl, and Deborah Silverstein].
Allen's synonyms and antonyms / by F. Sturges Allen.
Amelia / by Henry Fielding ; illustrated by Cruikshank.
Amen, brother Ben : a Mississippi collection of children's rhymes / [compiled] by Marice C. Brown.
American anthology of old-world ballads / compiled and edited by Reed Smith ; settings by Hilton Rufty.
American dreams, lost and found / by Studs Terkel.
American experimental music, 1890-1940 / David Nicholls.
American folk guitar / by Alan Lomax and Peggy Seeger.
American folklore / by Richard M. Dorson.
American folklore and its old-world backgrounds / by Carl Carmer ; illustrated by James Daugherty ; Following folk tales around the world by Mary Gould Davis.
American folksong, Woody Guthrie / edited by Moses Asch.
American narrative obituary verse and native American balladry / by Mark Tristram Coffin.
American song sheets, slip ballads, and poetical broadsides, 1850-1870 : a catalogue of the collection of the Library Company of Philadelphia / by Edwin Wolf 2nd.
Anglo-American folksong scholarship since 1898.
Australia's lost folk songs : the treasures that slipped through Percy Jones' fingers / Keith McKenry ; illustrated by Ron Edwards.
Black rock : mining folklore of the Pennsylvania Dutch / George Korson.
Body, boots & britches : folktales, ballads, and speech from country New York / by Harold W. Thompson.
Book of English epithets, literal and figurative : with elementary remarks, and minute references to abundant authorities / by James Jermyn.
Bringing the news from nowhere : 125 songs / by Leon Rosselson ; designed and illustrated by Jini Rawlings.
British calendar customs : England / by A.R. Wright. Edited by T.E. Lones with a preface by Professor S.H. Hooke.
British calendar customs : Scotland / by Mrs. M. Macleod Banks with a preface by the Rev. Canon J.A. MacCulloch, D.D.
Bulletin of the Folk-Song Society of the Northeast.
Buying the wind : regional folklore in the United States / by Richard M. Dorson.
Cabin in the valley : prose and poetry of the Blue Ridge Mountains / by Marie King ; [cover design and sketches by Angie Wright]
California to the New York Island : being a pocketfull of brags, blues, bad-men ballads, love songs, Okie laments, and children's catcalls / by Woody Guthrie ; woven into script suitable for a concert, clambake, hootenanny, or community sing, by Millard Lampell.
Canada's story in song / by Edith Fowke and Alan Mills ; piano accompaniments by Helmut Blume ; music drawn by J.R. Brooks ; illustrations and cover by Leo Rampen.
Canadian folk music bulletin = Bulletin de musique folklorique canadienne.
Carry it on! : the story of America's working people in song and picture / [compiled by] Pete Seeger and Bob Reiser.
Cecil Sharp / by A. H. Fox Strangways and Maud Karpeles.
Celestina, or, The tragi-comedy of Calisto and Melibea / [Fernando de Rojas] ; translated from the Spanish by James Mabbe, anno 1631; also An interlude of Calisto and Melebea (for the first time accurately reproduced from the original copy) printed by John Rastell, circa 1530 ; edited, with introduction on the picaresque novel, and appendices, by H. Warner Allen.
CIO song book.
Classic American graffiti : lexical evidence from folk epigraphy in western North America : a glossarial study of the low element in the English vocabulary / by Allen Walker Read.
Compositions, one / Bernice Johnson Reagon.
Country songs of Vermont / collected by Helen Hartness Flanders ; with piano accompaniments by Helen Norfleet.
Cowboy songs and other frontier ballads / collected by John A. Lomax and Alan Lomax ; Edward N. Waters, music editor.
Culpeper's English physician & complete herbal : arranged for use as a first aid herbal / by Mrs. C.F. Leyel.
Customs and fashions in old New England / by Alice Morse Earle.
Dances from Woodland : square dances from the Catskills / collected and arranged by Norman Cazden.
Death in the dark : a collection of factual ballads of American mine disasters : with historical notes / by James Taylor Adams.
Deep community : adventures in the modern folk underground / Scott Alarik ; with photographs by Robert Corwin.
Dictionary of American slang / compiled and edited by Harold Wentworth and Stuart Berg Flexner.
Discovering the folklore and customs of love and marriage / Margaret Baker.
Earthsong / by Sally Rogers ; illustrated by Melissa Bay Mathis.
Elizabethan rogues and vagabonds / Frank Aydelotte.
English wayfaring life in the middle ages (XIVth century) by J.J. Jusserand; translated from the French by Lucy Toulmin Smith.
Everybody swing [sound recording] : the Fifties: 1947-63.
Ewan MacColl, Peggy Seeger songbook / foreword by Irwin Silber.
Faiths and folklore of the British Isles : a descriptive and historical dictionary of the superstitions, beliefs, and popular customs of England, Scotland, Wales, and Ireland, from Norman times to the end of the nineteenth century, with classical and foreign analogues / by W. Carew Hazlitt.
Folk blues : one hundred and ten American folk blues / compiled, edited, and arranged for voice, piano, and guitar by Jerry Silverman.
Folk music : the basics / Ronald D. Cohen.
Folk music of the United States and Latin America : combined catalog of phonograph records.
Folk songs from Newfoundland / collected and edited by Maud Karpeles ; with pianoforte accompaniments by R. Vaughan Williams, Clive Carey, Hubert J. Foss, and Michael Mullinar.
Folk songs mainly from West Virginia / [compiled] by John Harrington Cox ; introductory essay and supplementary references by Herbert Halpert ; edited by George Herzog and Herbert Halpert ; issued by Folk-Song and Folklore Dept.
Folk songs of Canada / Edith Fulton Fowke, literary editor ; Richard Johnston, music editor ; illustrated by Elizabeth Wilkes Hoey.
Folk songs of Canada / literary editor Edith Fulton Fowke ; music editing and choral arrangements Richard Johnston ; illustrations by Elizabeth Wilkes Hoey.
Folk songs of Peggy Seeger : 88 traditional ballads and songs / photographs by David Gahr.
Folk songs of the Catskills / edited and annotated, with a study of tune formation and relationships, by Norman Cazden, Herbert Haufrecht, Norman Studer.
Folk songs of the Southern Appalachians as sung by Jean Ritchie : 77 traditional songs, tunes, and ballads from the singing of Jean Ritchie and the Ritchie family, with guitar chords and notes on the songs / foreword by Alan Lomax ; [transcriptions by Melinda Zacuto and Jerry Silverman ; music edited by Ethel Raim ; photographs by George Pickow].
Folk songs out of Wisconsin / edited by Harry B. Peters.
Folk-lore from Adams county, Illinois / by Harry Middleton Hyatt.
Folk-lore of women : as illustrated by legendary and traditional tales, folk-rhymes, proverbial sayings, superstitions, etc. / by T. F. Thiselton-Dyer.
Folk-songs of Roanoke and the Albermarle.
Folklore and symbolism of flowers, plants and trees / by Ernst and Johanna Lehner.
Folksongs from southern New Brunswick / collected and edited by Helen Creighton ; musical transcriptions by Kenneth Peacock.
Folksongs of southeast Alaska and the north-northwest : panhandler's songbook volume II by the People of southeast Alaska and the north-northwest.
Folktales of French Canada / Edith Fowke.
For love and for money : the writings of Vance Randolph : an annotated bibliography / by Robert Cochran and Michael Luster ; with a foreword by Herbert Halpert.
Front porch old-time songs, jokes & stories : 48 great Southern sing-along favorites / [compiled] by Wayne Erbsen.
Frontier folksay : proverbial lore of the inland Pacific Northwest frontier / [compiled] by Donald M. Hines.
Gavarni in London : sketches of life and character, with illustrative essays by popular writers / edited by Albert Smith.
Gifts / Anne MacKay.
Grandfather tales: American-English folk tales / Richard Chase ; Illus. by Berkeley Williams, Jr.
Growing up in New Guinea : a study of adolescence and sex in primitive societies / by Margaret Mead.
Hard times : an oral history of the great depression / [by] Studs Terkel.
Henley and Burns : or, The critic censured, being a collection of papers replying to an offensive critique on the life, genius, and achievements of the Scottish poet / collected and edited by John D. Ross.
"Here we go" with the miners : songs for pickets and street collectors from Birmingham Trades Council Miners Support Group.
How to play the MacArthur harp and all numerical harp-zithers : a tutor with instructional cassette / by Margaret MacArthur.
I only say this because I love you : how the way we talk can make or break family relationships throughout our lives / Deborah Tannen.
International catalogue of recorded folk music / edited by Norman Fraser ; with a preface by R. Vaughan Williams ; and introduction by Maud Karpeles = Catalogue international de la musique folklorique enregistrée.
James Beattie's day-book, 1773-1798 / edited with an introduction and notes by Ralph S. Walker.
Jane Hicks Gentry : a singer among singers / Betty N. Smith ; with a foreword by Cecelia Conway.
Jumpin' Jim's '60s uke-in / compiled and arranged by Jim Beloff.
Jumpin' Jim's Ukulele tips 'n' tunes : a beginner's method & songbook / by Jim Beloff.
Keemo, Kimo!, known as, "Polly won't you try me, oh?" : the celebrated banjo song arranged for the piano forte / [composed by W.J. Florence] ; sung by Christy's Serenaders.
Labor's troubadour / Joe Glazer.
Lay my burden down: a folk history of slavery / edited by B. A. Botkin.
Letters from Thomas Percy : D.D., afterwards bishop of Dromore, John Callander of Craigforth, esq., David Herd, and others, to George Paton.
London labour and the London poor : cyclopædia of the condition and earnings of those that will work, those that cannot work, and those that will not work. Volume II, The London Street Folk, comprising street sellers, street buyers, street finders, street performers, street artizans, street labourers / by Henry Mayhew.
Maledicta : the international journal of verbal aggression.
Marrow bones : English folk songs from the Hammond and Gardiner Mss. / selected and edited by Frank Purslow ; layout, John Brune ; Illustrations, Maire Magee.
Memory melodies : a collection of folk songs from middle Tennessee / by Lucien L. McDowell and Flora Lassiter McDowell.
Merry ditties : a collection of delectable songs from various traditional sources / compiled, edited and arranged by Norman Cazden.
Minstrelsy of Maine : folk-songs and ballads of the woods and the coast / collected by Fannie Hardy Eckstorm and Mary Winslow Smyth.
More folk songs of Canada / Edith Fulton Fowke, Richard Johnston; illustrations by Elizabeth Wilkes Hoey.
More wit / Des MacHale.
Music in the USA : a documentary companion / Judith Tick editor with Paul Beaudoin assistant editor.
My Connemara / Paula Steichen.
My shout! : songs and poems / by John Dengate.
My song is my own : 100 women's songs / Kathy Henderson with Frankie Armstrong and Sandra Kerr.
My song is my weapon : People's Songs, American communism, and the politics of culture, 1930-1950 / Robbie Lieberman.

N–Z Titles

Naming names : stories of pseudonyms and name changes with a who's who / by Adrian Room.
New city songster.
New Theatre proudly presents "Reedy River" song book : the songs from the Australian musical drama / prepared by David Milliss and Doreen Bridges ; from the original edition by David Milliss and John Meredith.
New Theatre proudly presents the songs from the Australian musical drama : Reedy River / by Dick Diamond ; prepared by David E. Milliss and John Meredith ; with the assistance of Stan Wakefield and Laurence Morris.
New York City folklore: legends, tall tales, anecdotes, stories, sagas, heroes and characters, customs, traditions, and sayings / edited, with an introduction, by B.A. Botkin.
Notes and sources for Folk songs of the Catskills / Norman Cazden, Herbert Haufrecht, Norman Studer.
Now more than ever, here more than anywhere : 50 years of Scottish songs for nuclear disarmament / [compiled by Penny Stone] written, illustrated and edited by Freddie Anderson ... [and others].
Old Christmas carols of the southern counties / collected and edited by Alice E. Gillington.
Old-time songs of Newfoundland / Gerald S. Doyle.
On realism in music : papers on musical aesthetics / by Norman Cazden.
One voice : my life in song / Christy Moore.
Orlando furioso / translated from the Italian of Lodovico Ariosto ; with notes by John Hoole.
Our singing country : folk songs and ballads / collected and compiled by John A. Lomax and Alan Lomax ; music editor, Ruth Crawford Seeger ; introduction to the Dover edition by Judith Tick.
Pennsylvania folk songs and ballads for school, camp and playground.
People's music network.
Poems / by Alan Seeger, with an introduction by William Archer.
Poems and songs for dreamers who dare / by Edith Segal ; introd. by Ruby Dee ; drawings by Samuel Kamen.
Poetry Scotland. Third collection / edited by Maurice Lindsay.
Proletarian literature in the United States : an anthology / edited by Granville Hicks ... [and others] ; with a critical introduction by Joseph Freeman.
Puget Sound Guitar Workshop 1992 folk song repertoire : great songs not in the blue book / instructor, Flip Breskin.
Race : how Blacks and whites think and feel about the American obsession / Studs Terkel.
Radical and red poets and poetry / compiled and annotated by Edmund and Ruth Frow.
Rainbow warrior woman : songs to celebrate life on earth ; songs for lovers ; songs for keeping the peace ; songs for women / by Chris Carol.
Rebel voices : an IWW anthology / edited, with introductions, by Joyce L. Kornbluh.
Red dust & broadsides : a piece of people's history in songs, poems & prose / by Sis Cunningham ; illustrated by Aggie Friesen, Gordon Friesen, Jane Friesen ; edited by Carol Hanisch.
Red dust & broadsides : a piece of people's history in songs, poems & prose / by Sis Cunningham ; illustrated by Aggie Friesen, Gordon Friesen, Jane Friesen ; edited by Carol Hanisch.
Reels, jigs, and squares : 200 dance tunes for violin and piano. Op. 50.
Reliques of ancient English poetry : consisting of old heroic ballads, songs, and other pieces of our earlier poets, together with some few of later date.
Reliques of ancient English poetry: consisting of old heroic ballads, songs, and other pieces of our earlier poets, (chiefly of the lyric kind.) Together with some few of later date.
Resources for people's culture : a bibliographic newsletter of art and politics. Number 1, Recent songbooks for political singers / Muriel Hogan, editor and publisher.
Roll me in your arms / Vance Randolph ; edited with an introduction by G. Legman.
Roll on Columbia : the Columbia River songs / [Woody Guthrie]
Ronnie Gilbert on Mother Jones : face to face with the most dangerous woman in America / Ronnie Gilbert.
Rounds galore! : captivating rounds, old and new / collected, edited and written by Sol Weber.
Ruth Crawford Seeger : a composer's search for American music / Judith Tick.
Sea enchantress; the tale of the mermaid and her kin / [by] Gwen Benwell & Arthur Waugh.
Sea talk : poems / by George Bruce.
Shakespeare's England : an account of the life & manners of his age.
Shantymen and shantyboys : songs of the sailor and lumberman / collected and compiled by William Main Doerflinger.
Shocking, shocking, shocking : the improper play rhymes of Australian children / [compiled by] Wendy Lowenstein.
Si Kahn songbook : guitar, vocal, acoustic instruments / photographs by Michelle Handler ; edited and produced by Will Schmid.
Sidewalks of America : folklore, legends, sagas, traditions, customs, songs, stories, and sayings of city folk.
Sing a song of social significance / R. Serge Denisoff.
Sing along the way.
Sing for freedom : the story of the Civil Rights Movement through its songs / compiled and edited by Guy and Candie Carawan.
Sing for your life : 44 songs to change the world / chosen by Sandra Kerr.
Sing it pretty : a memoir / Bess Lomax Hawes.
Slang and its analogues past and present : a dictionary, historical and comparative, of the heterodox speech of all classes of society for more than three hundred years. With synonyms in English, French, German, Italian, etc. / compiled and edited by John S. Farmer.
Slang and its analogues past and present : a dictionary, historical and comparative, of the heterodox speech of all classes of society for more than three hundred years. With synonyms in English, French, German, Italian, etc. / compiled and edited by John S. Farmer.
Slang and its analogues past and present : a dictionary, historical and comparative, of the heterodox speech of all classes of society for more than three hundred years. With synonyms in English, French, German, Italian, etc. / compiled and edited by John S. Farmer.
Some ballad folks / by Thomas G. Burton ; Annette L. Burton, music editor.
Songbook 3 : hold the line again / the Hackney and Islington Music Workshop.
Songs and ballads of the Maine lumberjacks : with other songs from Maine / collected and edited by Roland Palmer Gray, Cambridge, Harvard University Press, 1924.
Songs and stories of Canada / [research and writing, Jon Bartlett and Rika Ruebsaat].
Songs for labor.
Songs for peace : a newsletter of political, social, and spiritual transformation through music.
Songs for the nineties / compiled by Pam Bishop and Leon Rosselson for the Political Song Network.
Songs for venturers.
Songs for Wallace.
Songs from Gippsland and beyond / by Brian O'Keefe.
Songs of faith in man / [compiled and edited by Waldemar Hille].
Songs of social justice : changing the world one song at a time / Stephen Wood, Paul Bueno de Mesquita, Kalyana Champlain.
Songs of the Newfoundland outports / collected and edited by Kenneth Peacock.
Songs of the Pacific Northwest / Philip J. Thomas ; music transcription and notation by Shirley A. Cox.
Songs of work / [selected, edited and published by the villagers of Shaker Village Work Camp].
Songs sung in the southern Appalachians : many of them illustrating ballads in the making / collected by Mellinger Edward Henry.
Songwriting : essential guide to lyric form and structure : tools and techniques for writing better lyrics / Pat Pattison.
Songwriting for dummies / by Jim Peterik, Dave Austin, Mary Ellen Bickford ; foreword by Kenny Loggins.
Southern Illinois singing games and songs / by David S. McIntosh.
Southern mountain folk tradition and the folksong "Stars" syndrome / by Don West.
St. Patrick's night / Elsa Corbluth.
Stand together : a new songbook / Hackney and Islington Music Workshop.
Step it down : games, plays, songs, and stories from the Afro-American heritage / by Bessie Jones and Bess Lomax Hawes.
Sweet music : a book of family reminiscence and song / by Helga Sandburg ; preface by Carl Sandburg ; guitar arrangements by Richard Harrison.
Tales and songs of southern Illinois / collected by Charles Neely ; edited with a foreword by John Webster Spargo.
Talking from 9 to 5 : how women's and men's conversational styles affect who gets heard, who gets credit, and what gets done at work / Deborah Tannen.
Talking to myself : a memoir of my times / Studs Terkel.
Ten Christmas carols from the Southern Appalachian mountains / collected and simply arranged with accompaniment for piano by John Jacob Niles.
That's not what I meant! : how conversational style makes or breaks your relations with others / Deborah Tannen.
The Abelard folk song book : more than 101 ballads to sing / edited & arr. for piano and guitar ; illustrated by Abner Graboff.
The acreage of the heart / by Ruthven Todd.
The adventures of Joseph Andrews / by Henry Fielding ; illustrated by Cruikshank.
The American folk scene : dimensions of the folksong revival / edited and with an introd. by David A. De Turk and A. Poulin, Jr.
The American imagination at work: tall tales and folk tales.
The American people in their stories, legends, tall tales, traditions, ballads and songs / edited with an introduction by B. A. Botkin.
The American play-party song : with a collection of Oklahoma texts and tunes / by B.A. Botkin.
The American songbag / [compiled by] Carl Sandburg ; introduction by Garrison Keillor.
The American thesaurus of slang : a complete reference book of colloquial speech / by Lester V. Berrey and Melvin Van den Bark.
The ballad and the folk [by] David Buchan.
The ballad of America : the history of the United States in song and story / by John Anthony Scott.
The best of Broadside, 1962-1988 [sound recording] : anthems of the American underground from the pages of Broadside magazine / produced, compiled, and annotated by Jeff Place and Ronald D. Cohen.
The Carthy chronicles [sound recording] : a journey through the folk revival.
The Celtic harp : a hand-picked collection of the finest old airs & dance tunes from Ireland, Scotland, Brittany, England, Wales, Cornwall & the Isle of Man / selected by John Loesberg ; arrangements by Christine Martin & Siobhán Bhreathnach.
The complete idiot's guide to songwriting / by Joel Hirschhorn.
The complete peddler's pack : games, songs, rhymes, and riddles from mountain folklore / by May Justus ; illustrated by Jean Tamburine.
The Concise Scots dictionary / editor-in-chief, Mairi Robinson.
The constant lovers : more English folk songs from the Hammond & Gardiner Mss. / selected & ed. by Frank Purslow.
The Copper Family song book : a living tradition / introduction by Bob Copper.
The Elliotts of Birtley / Pete Wood.
The enemies of love : poems, 1941-1945 / by Maurice Lindsay.
The English rogue : described in the life of Meriton Latroon, a witty extravagant, being a complete history of the most eminent cheats of both sexes / by Richard Head & Francis Kirkman.
The Erotic muse : [a completely uncensored collection of the songs everyone knows and no one has written down before / compiled and edited by Ed Cray].
The essential Ewan MacColl songbook : sixty years of songmaking / compiled and annotated by: Peggy Seeger ; editing and layout by: Irene Pyper-Scott ; forward by: Pete Seeger.
The fake revolt / G. Legman.
The fatal shore / Robert Hughes.
The five-string banjo American folk styles : the banjo method, with a fine collection of folk songs [including] guitar chords / Peggy Seeger.
The foggy dew : more English folk songs from the Hammond & Gardiner mss / selected & edited by Frank Purslow.
The folklore of fairy-tale / by Macleod Yearsley.
The folklore of terrorism : songs, poems and sketches from a crazy world / Keith McKenry.
The Forget me not songster : Containing a choice collection of old ballad songs as sung by our grandmothers. Embellished with numerous engravings.
The good war" : an oral history of World War Two / Studs Terkel.
The gift to be simple : songs, dances and rituals of the American Shakers / by Edward D. Andrews.
The Great American liar / [edited] by James E. Myers.
The Guinness who's who of folk music / general editor: Colin Larkin.
The history of the life of the late Mr. Jonathan Wild the Great / by Henry Fielding. A sketch of the life of Henry Fielding / by Alfred Trimble ; illustrated by Cruikshank.
The history of Tom Jones, a foundling / by Henry Fielding ; illustrated by Cruikshank.
The invention of tradition / edited by Eric Hobsbawm and Terence Ranger.
The Labor heritage songbook.
The later poems of John Clare, 1837-1864 / general editor, Eric Robinson ; edited by Eric Robinson and David Powell ; associate editor, Margaret Grainger.
The Liberty Bell went ding dong ding : a musical journey, into U.S. history for children / by Jerry Atinsky ; illustrated by Nancy Yasu.
The literature of American music : a fully annotated catalogue of the books and song collections in Exeter University Library / compiled by David Horn.
The Macmillan dictionary of women's biography / compiler and editor, Jennifer S. Uglow ; assistant editor (for science, mathematics and medicine) Frances Hinton.
The Malvina Reynolds songbook / illustrations by Emmy Lou Packard.
The Mark Graham songbook / words & music by Mark Graham ; transcriptions & editing by Sara Hiebert ; design, collages & layout by Paul Kotapish.
The men of the deeps / [compiled by] J.C. O'Donnell ; [cover artwork James Williams ; copyist and illustrator J.M. Williams.].
The migrant farm worker in America : background data on the migrant worker situation in the United States today / [Report by Daniel H. Pollitt [and] Selma M. Levine] Prepared for the Subcommittee on Migratory Labor of the Committee on Labor and Public Welfare, United States Senate.
The new Green Mountain songster : traditional folk songs of Vermont / collected, transcribed & edited by Helen Hartness Flanders [and others] ; introduction by Tristram P. Coffin.
The night side of London / by J. Ewing Ritchie.
The Oxford dictionary of quotations / edited by Angela Partington.
The Peggy Seeger songbook : forty years of songmaking / drawings by Jacky Fleming ; editing and layout by Irene Scott.
The Penguin book of Canadian folk songs / selected and edited by Edith Fowke ; music consultant, Keith MacMillan.
The planet Iceland / Elsa Corbluth.
The private lives of the Tudor monarchs / selected and edited by Christopher Falkus.
The proverbs of Scotland : with explanatory and illustrative notes and a glossary / by Alexander Hislop.
The psychology of women / Margaret W. Matlin.
The quest of the ballad / by W. Roy MacKenzie.
The Scottish songs of Robert Burns : 40 complete songs / collected, arranged and edited by John Loesberg.
The seven journeys : poems / by W.S. Graham.
The Sierra Club survival songbook / collected and edited by Jim Morse and Nancy Mathews ; introduction by Pete Seeger ; illustrated by Jos. A. Smith.
The singing South : folk-song in recent fiction / by Arthur Palmer Hudson.
The singing tradition of Child's popular ballads / edited by Bertrand Harris Bronson.
The Songs of Henry Lawson : with music / compiled by Chris Kempster.
The undying flame : ballads and songs of the Holocaust : 110 songs in 16 languages with extensive historical notes, illustrations, piano arrangements, guitar chords, and singable English translations / [collected and edited by] Jerry Silverman.
The Vietnam songbook / compiled and edited by Barbara Dane and Irwin Silber.
The wanton seed : more English folk songs from the Hammond & Gardiner mss / selected & edited by Frank Purslow.
The whole world of music : a Henry Cowell symposium / edited by David Nicholls.
The works of Mr. Francis Rabelais, Doctor in Physick : containing five books of the lives, heroick deeds and sayings of Gargantua and his sonne Pantagruel : together with the Pantagrueline Prognostication, the Oracle of the Divine Bacbuc, and response of the bottle : Hereunto are annexed the Navigations unto the Sounding Isle and the Isle of the Apedefts, as likewise the Philosophical cream with a Limosin Epistle all done / by Mr. Francis Rabelais, in the French tongue and now faithfully translated into English ... 1653 ; illustrated by W. Heath Robinson.
They knew Paul Bunyan / by E.C. Beck ; illustrated by Anita Eneroth.
Timberbound songbook / songs by John and Kim Cunnick ; cover by Tony Hyde.
Traditional ballads : mainly from West Virginia / [compiled] by John Harrington Cox ; introductory essay and supplementary references by Herbert Halpert ; issued by Folk-Song and Folklore Dept.
'Tis sixty years since : the 1951 Edinburgh People's Festival ceilidh and the Scottish folk revival / editor, Eberhard Bort.
Traditional singers and songs from Ontario / collected and edited by Edith Fowke ; musical transcriptions by Peggy Seeger ; illustrated by Katherine Boykowycz.
Tragical tales : the complete novels / translated by Geoffrey Fenton (anno 1567) with an introduction by Robert Langton Douglas ; modernized and edited with a glossary by Hugh Harris, B. A.
Tutor for the English concertina / The Salvation Army.
Twelve folk songs from Nova Scotia / collected by Helen Crighton and Doreen H. Senior ; with pianoforte accompaniments by Doreen H. Senior.
Twenty ethnic songs from Western Canada / Kenneth Peacock.
Union song book / Sask. Power and Gas Local 16-649, Oil, Chemical and Atomic Workers International Union, AFL-CIO-CLC.
Up yon wide and lonely glen : travellers' songs, stories and tunes of the Fetterangus Stewarts / Elizabeth Stewart ; compiled and edited by Alison McMorland.
Voices from the mountains / Guy and Candie Carawan ; foreword by Gurney Norman.
Way out in Idaho : a celebration of songs and stories / compiled with an introduction by Rosalie Sorrels ; foreward by Robert McCarl.
We shall overcome : songs of protest and peace : for voice and autoharp / compiled by Todd and Jeanne Crowley.
Weather lore : a collection of proverbs, sayings, and rules concerning the weather / comp. and arranged by Richard Inwards.
Westover : giving girls a place of their own / Laurie Lisle.
Where love begins / Helga Sandburg.
Whistling in the dark : memory and culture in wartime London / Jean R. Freedman.
Who blowed up the church house? and other Ozark folk tales / with notes by Herbert Halpert. Illus. by Glen Rounds.
Wolf girls at Vassar : gay and lesbian experiences, 1930-1990 / complied and edited by Anne MacKay.
Women making music : the Western art tradition, 1150-1950 / edited by Jane Bowers and Judith Tick.
Women of the Happy island / Adam Drinan. [pseudonym]
Women who do and women who don't join the women's movement / edited and introduced by Robyn Rowland.
Women's songbook / compiled by Judith Busch and Laura X.
Woody Guthrie : a tribute / by Peter Seeger, Phil Ochs, Gordon Friesen, Josh Dunson.
Working : people talk about what they do all day and how they feel about what they do / Studs Terkel.
Working women's music : the songs and struggles of women in the cotton mills, textile plants, and needle trades, complete with music for singing and playing / by Evelyn Alloy ; [musical notation by Martha Rogers]
You just don't understand : women and men in conversation / Deborah Tannen.
You were always mom's favorite! : sisters in conversation throughout their lives / Deborah Tannen.
You're wearing that? : understanding mothers and daughters in conversation / Deborah Tannen.
Young folk song book / with musical arrangements and notes by Earl Robinson ; introd. by Pete Seeger.